Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0341162).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a cutting insert comprising: a main body extending from a first end toward a second end along a rotational axis, wherein the main body comprises a cutting edge positioned on a side of the first end (figure 1) (please note: the claim recites “on a side of the cutting edge and cutting edge (10) is positioned on a side of the cutting edge), a rake face extending from the cutting edge toward the second end, and a flute (4) extending from the rake face toward the second end (figure 1), the rake face comprises a first surface region (4c) connected to the cutting edge (10) and having a first rake angle, a second surface region (4b) positioned closer to the second end (at least partially) than the first surface region (4c), located away from the cutting edge (10: i.e. spaced away from cutting edge 10) and having a second rake angle, and a third surface region (4a) positioned closer to the second end than the second surface region (4b) and having a third rake angle, the flute (4) is positioned closer to the second end than the second surface region (4b), the third surface region (4a) is adjacent to the flute rearward in a rotational direction about the rotational axis and on a side of an outer peripheral of the main body (figure 2). Watanabe also discloses the first rake angle (of rake face 4c) being a positive angle (paragraphs 167), the second rake angle (of rake face 4b) being negative close to zero or zero degrees (paragraph 158) and the third rake angle (of rake face 4a) being -20 degrees to -10 degrees (paragraph 140), therefore,
[AltContent: textbox ( first rake angle
(positive angle))][AltContent: textbox (<)][AltContent: textbox ( second rake angle
(negative close to zero or zero degrees)]
[AltContent: textbox ( second rake angle
(negative close to zero or zero degrees)]And
[AltContent: textbox (<)][AltContent: textbox ( third rake angle
(-20 degrees to -10 degrees))]
Regarding claim 20, Watanabe discloses wherein an entirety of the second surface region (4b) is not continuous with the cutting edge (10) (figure 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0341162).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe discloses the claimed invention except for the cutting part of the tool being separate from the rest of the tool. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the tool two pieces, since it has been held that forming in two pieces and put together which has formerly been formed in one piece involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the integral tool of Watanabe two pieces for the purpose of prolonging tool like and efficiency of replacement when cutting edges are damaged.
Regarding claim 7, see paragraph 18.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “The Office asserted that a rake face 4b in Watanabe corresponds to the recited "second surface region" of the rake face. Watanabe at paragraph [0127] describes a rack face 4b of the end cutting edge 9. ---Further, Watanabe in FIGs. 1 and 2 illustrates that the rake face 4b connects to the end cutting edge 9. Based on what is discussed and illustrated in Watanabe, the rake face 4b is not located away from the cutting edge”, Examiner points out the claim language recites “a cutting edge positioned on a side of the first end and cutting edge (10) is positioned on a side of the cutting edge and therefore, the second surface region (4b) is located away from the cutting edge (10: i.e. spaced away from cutting edge 10)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-19 are allowed.
The closest prior art of record is (US Pub. No. 2017/0341162) to Watanabe
Regarding claims 8 and 14 , Watanabe discloses a cutting insert comprising: a main body extending from a first end toward a second end along a rotational axis, wherein the main body comprises a cutting edge positioned on a side of the first end (figure 1) (please note: the claim recites “on a side of the cutting edge and cutting edge 10 is positioned on a side of the cutting edge), a rake face extending from the cutting edge toward the second end, and a flute (4) extending from the rake face toward the second end (figure 1), the rake face comprises a first surface region (4c) connected to the cutting edge (10) and having a first rake angle, a second surface region (4b) positioned closer to the second end (at least partially) than the first surface region (4c), located away from the cutting edge and having a second rake angle, and a third surface region (4a) positioned closer to the second end than the second surface region (4b) and having a third rake angle, the flute (4) is positioned closer to the second end than the second surface region (4b), the third surface region (4a) is adjacent to the flute rearward in a rotational direction about the rotational axis and on a side of an outer peripheral of the main body (figure 2). Watanabe also discloses the first rake angle (of rake face 4c) being a positive angle (paragraphs 167), the second rake angle (of rake face 4b) being negative close to zero or zero degrees (paragraph 158) and the third rake angle (of rake face 4a) being -20 degrees to -10 degrees (paragraph 140), therefore,
[AltContent: textbox ( first rake angle
(positive angle))][AltContent: textbox (<)][AltContent: textbox ( second rake angle
(negative close to zero or zero degrees)]
[AltContent: textbox ( second rake angle
(negative close to zero or zero degrees)]And
[AltContent: textbox (<)][AltContent: textbox ( third rake angle
(-20 degrees to -10 degrees))]
Suffice it to say, the patent to Watanabe does not disclose at a boundary between the rake face and the flute, the flute being recessed with respect to the rake face, as claimed in independent claim 8, nor in a side view of the cutting insert, a boundary between the rake face and the flute being convex toward the first end, as claimed in independent claim 14. Furthermore, there is no combinable teaching in the prior art of record that would reasonably motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to so modify the teachings of Watanabe and thus, for at least the foregoing reasoning, the prior art of record does not render obvious the present invention as set forth in independent claims 8 and 14.
a cutting edge positioned on a side of the first end (figure 1),
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 3/19/26