DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 6-9, filed 23 March 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-21 under 35 USC 103 over Wilhem not teaching the limitation “wherein said inflation ports are arranged to be permanently sealed once inflated” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20070011989 A1 to Sperry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12, and 14-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4136412 to Wilhelm in view of US 3813716 to Francis and further in view of US 20140000040 A1 to Caminade and further in view of US 20070011989 A1 to Sperry.
Re Claim 1, Wilhelm teaches:
An inflatable mattress (at least [Abstract] “air mattress”) comprising:
a flexible sheet of gas impermeable material forming an inflatable interior volume, the flexible sheet having an upper external surface, an upper internal surface, a lower internal surface and a lower external surface (at least Figs. 1-3 element 1 and [Col. 2 lines 28-50] “an air mattress that essentially consists of two rectangular pieces of a transparent PVC sheet. At least the upper sheet 1”);
wherein: the inflatable mattress has a length and a width (at least Figs. 1-3); each chamber having an inflation port (at least Figs. 1-3 elements 9 and [Col. 2 lines 51-56] “The border bulges 5 and at least one of the air chambers 6 (in the exemplified embodiment both air chambers 6) are provided with filling holes 9 which are equipped with releasable check valves, and which permit the filling of the border bulges and the air chambers with air, as well as the discharge of the air after use”).
Wilhelm does not explicitly teach:
wherein the upper internal surface of the flexible sheet is joined to the lower internal surface of the flexible sheet in a pattern of join lines forming a plurality of inflatable chambers of the inflatable interior volume,
the length of the mattress is from 150 cm to 300 cm; and the width of the mattress is from 50 cm to 250 cm,
wherein said inflation ports are arranged to be permanently sealed once inflated.
However, Francis teaches:
wherein the upper internal surface of the flexible sheet is joined to the lower internal surface of the flexible sheet in a pattern of join lines forming a plurality of inflatable chambers of the inflatable interior volume (at least Figs. 3-4 elements 31, which the same element 31 is on top and on bottom, indicating that it is the same sheet),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by Wilhelm with the permanently seal inflation ports taught by Francis with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a mattress with permanently sealed ports. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because “the camper can blow the tubular member up until it is fully inflated and maintain a positive pressure on the air inside the tubular member while reciprocating the element 41 to closed position with his teeth” (Francis [Col. 5 lines 40-47]). Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to join the flexible sheet together “to provide the inflatable member” (Francis [Col. 4 lines 40-51])
The combination of Wilhelm and Francis does not explicitly teach:
the length of the mattress is from 150 cm to 300 cm; and the width of the mattress is from 50 cm to 250 cm,
wherein said inflation ports are arranged to be permanently sealed once inflated.
However, Caminade teaches:
the length of the mattress is from 150 cm to 300 cm; and the width of the mattress is from 50 cm to 250 cm (at least [0087] “the length and the width of the cells 1 can be respectively in the range 60 centimeters (cm) to 100 cm for the length and in the range 7 cm to 16 cm for the width, in order to form respective mattresses of width lying in the range 60 cm to 100 cm and of length lying in the range 115 cm to 220 cm with sausage-shaped tubes disposed transversely relative to the longitudinal direction of the mattress”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by the combination of Wilhelm and Francis with the dimensions taught by Caminade with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a larger or small mattress. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because it allows a variety of mattress sizes to fit a variety of users more comfortably. Further, it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (MPEP 2144.04.IV.A).
The combination of Wilhelm, Francis, and Caminade does not explicitly teach:
wherein said inflation ports are arranged to be permanently sealed once inflated.
However, Sperry teaches:
wherein said inflation ports are arranged to be permanently sealed once inflated (at least Figs. 4-6 element 52 and [0040-41] “sealing of inflation ports 24 occurs shortly after inflation of the chamber 16 associated with each port. In this manner, gas from inflation nozzle 38 is trapped, i.e., enclosed, within each chamber, resulting in the formation of inflated chambers 62. When sheets 12, 14 of web 10 are formed from a thermoplastic film, the sealing temperature necessary to form longitudinal seal 52 is that which causes the film sheets 12, 14 to weld or fuse together by becoming temporarily fully or partially molten in the area of contact with the heating element 54”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inflatable mattress taught by the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, and Caminade with the heat sealing taught by Sperry with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “In this manner, gas from inflation nozzle 38 is trapped, i.e., enclosed, within each chamber, resulting in the formation of inflated chambers” (Sperry [0040]).
Re Claim 2, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilhelm further teaches:
wherein the inflatable chambers are elongate and extend transverse across the width of the mattress (at least Figs. 1-3).
Re Claim 3, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 2 (detailed with respect to claim 2).
Wilhelm further teaches:
wherein said inflation ports are aligned along a long side of the inflatable mattress so that the inflation ports can be sequentially sealed by passing that long side over, past or through a sealing element (at least Figs. 1-3 element 9).
Re Claim 4, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilhelm further teaches:
wherein said inflatable chambers are adjoined by intermediate flexible portions, preferably wherein the flexible portion is non-inflated (at least Figs. 1-3 elements 4).
Re Claim 5, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Francis further teaches:
wherein the plurality of inflatable chambers are a series of at least ten adjacent inflatable chambers, each of said chambers extending across a width of the inflatable mattress, each chamber having an inflation port, and wherein the inflation ports are aligned along a long edge of the inflatable mattress (at least Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by Wilhelm with the air chambers taught by Francis with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a mattress with permanently sealed ports. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because “the camper can blow the tubular member up until it is fully inflated and maintain a positive pressure on the air inside the tubular member while reciprocating the element 41 to closed position with his teeth” (Francis [Col. 5 lines 40-47]).
Re Claim 6, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
The combination of Wilhelm and Francis does not explicitly teach:
wherein said pattern provides a longitudinal manifold on a long side of the inflatable mattress, said manifold fluidly joining the inflation ports of the inflatable chambers.
However, Caminade teaches:
wherein said pattern provides a longitudinal manifold on a long side of the inflatable mattress, said manifold fluidly joining the inflation ports of the inflatable chambers (at least Figs. 3A-4B and [0100] “the inflation device 14 via pneumatic connection means such as ducts and valves establishing communication between the inflation chambers 8 of all of the cells 1”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by Francis with the manifold taught by Caminade with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a mattress with manifold. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because it is “suitable for conveying inflation fluid (air, in practice) and, where applicable, for transferring it between the inflation cells” (Caminade [0100]).
Re Claim 7, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilhelm further teaches:
comprising polyethylene, polypropylene, polyethylene terephthalate, polyethylene furanoate, polyester, nylon, or polyvinyl chloride (at least [Col. 1 lines 30-40] “PVC”), preferably polyethylene, most preferably low density polyethylene (LDPE) (It is noted that “preferably” indicates optionality).
Re Claim 9, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilhelm further teaches:
wherein the inflatable mattress is non-durable, preferably temporarily reusable, disposable, or single- use (at least [Col. 1 lines 1-25] “Such air mattresses are used in tenting and camping as support for sleeping, as a make-shift bed for overnight stay, or as a soft support for use while sun bathing. The use of PVC sheet as a base material for the fabrication of air mattresses maintains fabrication costs low and reduces the weight as well as the space requirements when in the collapsed state”).
Re Claim 10, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Francis further teaches:
further comprising a sleeve of flexible material dimensioned to retain a head end of the inflated mattress in a pillow format (at least Figs. 1-3 and [Col. 3 lines 52-55] “casing 21”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by Wilhelm with the sleeve taught by Francis with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a mattress with permanently sealed ports. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because “the camper can blow the tubular member up until it is fully inflated and maintain a positive pressure on the air inside the tubular member while reciprocating the element 41 to closed position with his teeth” (Francis [Col. 5 lines 40-47]).
Re Claim 11, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
according to claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Although the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, and Caminade does not explicitly teach: A package of at least 10 inflatable mattresses, removably wound thereon, it would be obvious to duplicate and make separable the mattress to result in the claimed package. This is because it has been held that “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” (MPEP 2144.04.VI.B) and “it would be obvious to make […] removable” (MPEP 2144.04.V.C).
Re Claim 12, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The package of claim 11 (detailed with respect to claim 11).
Although the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, and Caminade does not explicitly teach: wherein two or more of the inflatable mattress are joined by a frangible line, it would be obvious to make integral with a line two mattresses because it has been held making integral is obvious (MPEP 2144.04.V.B).
Re Claim 14, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
as defined in claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Francis further teaches:
A kit of parts comprising an inflatable mattress (at least [Col. 2 lines 50-55] “elements are readily removable”.).
The combination of Wilhelm and Francis does not explicitly teach:
and a inflation device.
However, Caminade teaches:
and a inflation device (at least Figs. 3A-4B and [0100] “the inflation device 14 via pneumatic connection means such as ducts and valves establishing communication between the inflation chambers 8 of all of the cells 1”.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by the combination of Wilhelm and Francis with the manifold taught by Caminade with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a mattress with manifold. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because it is “suitable for conveying inflation fluid (air, in practice) and, where applicable, for transferring it between the inflation cells” (Caminade [0100]).
Re Claim 15, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
A method of making an inflatable mattress according to claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilhelm further teaches:
comprising the steps of: providing a flexible sheet of material having an upper external surface, an upper internal surface, a lower internal surface and a lower external surface; joining the upper internal surface to the lower internal surface to form a plurality of inflatable chambers (at least Figs. 1-3 elements 1-2 and 5-6 and [Col. 2 lines 28-50] “the upper sheet 1 and the lower sheet 2 are connected with one another by a peripheral uninterrupted weld seam 3. The opposite sides of the weld seam 3 are connected by longitudinally-extending, continuous weld seams 4, which define border bulges 5 from the air mattress. Longitudinally-extending air chambers 6 divide the area between the border bulges by means of additional, subdividing weld seams.”).
Re Claim 16, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
The combination of Wilhelm and Francis does not explicitly teach:
wherein: the length of the mattress is from 180 cm to 250 cm; and the width of the mattress is from 70 cm to 220 cm.
However, Caminade teaches:
wherein: the length of the mattress is from 180 cm to 250 cm; and the width of the mattress is from 70 cm to 220 cm (at least [0087] “the length and the width of the cells 1 can be respectively in the range 60 centimeters (cm) to 100 cm for the length and in the range 7 cm to 16 cm for the width, in order to form respective mattresses of width lying in the range 60 cm to 100 cm and of length lying in the range 115 cm to 220 cm with sausage-shaped tubes disposed transversely relative to the longitudinal direction of the mattress”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by the combination of Wilhelm and Francis with the dimensions taught by Caminade with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a larger or small mattress. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because it allows a variety of mattress sizes to fit a variety of users more comfortably. Further, it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (MPEP 2144.04.IV.A).
Re Claim 17, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
The combination of Wilhelm and Francis does not explicitly teach:
wherein: the length of the mattress is from 190 cm to about 220 cm; and the width of the mattress is from 90 cm to 200 cm.
However, Caminade teaches:
wherein: the length of the mattress is from 190 cm to about 220 cm; and the width of the mattress is from 90 cm to 200 cm (at least [0087] “the length and the width of the cells 1 can be respectively in the range 60 centimeters (cm) to 100 cm for the length and in the range 7 cm to 16 cm for the width, in order to form respective mattresses of width lying in the range 60 cm to 100 cm and of length lying in the range 115 cm to 220 cm with sausage-shaped tubes disposed transversely relative to the longitudinal direction of the mattress”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by Francis with the dimensions taught by Caminade with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results to arrive at a larger or small mattress. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because it allows a variety of mattress sizes to fit a variety of users more comfortably. Further, it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (MPEP 2144.04.IV.A).
Re Claim 18, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilhelm further teaches:
wherein said inflation ports are aligned along a long side of the inflatable mattress, so that the inflation ports can be sequentially sealed by passing that long side over, past or through a sealing element (at least Figs. 1-3 element 9).
Re Claim 21, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
A method of making an inflatable mattress according to claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Wilhelm further teaches:
comprising the steps of: providing two flexible sheets of material having an upper external surface, an upper internal surface, a lower internal surface and a lower external surface; and joining the upper internal surface to the lower internal surface to form a plurality of inflatable chambers (at least Figs. 1-3 elements 1-2 and 5-6 and [Col. 2 lines 28-50] “the upper sheet 1 and the lower sheet 2 are connected with one another by a peripheral uninterrupted weld seam 3. The opposite sides of the weld seam 3 are connected by longitudinally-extending, continuous weld seams 4, which define border bulges 5 from the air mattress. Longitudinally-extending air chambers 6 divide the area between the border bulges by means of additional, subdividing weld seams.”).
Re Claim 22, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Sperry further teaches:
wherein the inflation ports are permanently sealed by a seal formed by one or more of heat sealing, conductive sealing, impulse sealing, ultrasonic sealing, welding, crimping, bonding, and adhering (at least Figs. 4-6 element 52 and [0040-41] “sealing of inflation ports 24 occurs shortly after inflation of the chamber 16 associated with each port. In this manner, gas from inflation nozzle 38 is trapped, i.e., enclosed, within each chamber, resulting in the formation of inflated chambers 62. When sheets 12, 14 of web 10 are formed from a thermoplastic film, the sealing temperature necessary to form longitudinal seal 52 is that which causes the film sheets 12, 14 to weld or fuse together by becoming temporarily fully or partially molten in the area of contact with the heating element 54”).
Claim(s) 8 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelm in view of Francis, Caminade, and Sperry and further in view of US 20010042271 A1 to Pearce.
Re Claim 8, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
The combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry does not explicitly teach:
comprising at least 60wt%, based on the total weight of the mattress components, of thermoplastic polymer.
However, Pearce teaches:
comprising at least 60wt%, based on the total weight of the mattress components, of thermoplastic polymer (at least p. 2 Table 3 “Weight Percent A-B-A triblock copolymer 2% to 50% Plasticizing Agent 50% to 98%”. It is noted that it is obvious to use the claimed range of weight percentages, detailed below.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry with the claimed weight percentage of components because it has been held that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists” and “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Re Claim 19, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
The combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry does not explicitly teach:
comprising at least 85wt%, based on the total weight of the mattress components, of thermoplastic polymer.
However, Pearce teaches:
comprising at least 85wt%, based on the total weight of the mattress components, of thermoplastic polymer (at least p. 2 Table 3 “Weight Percent A-B-A triblock copolymer 2% to 50% Plasticizing Agent 50% to 98%”. It is noted that it is obvious to use the claimed range of weight percentages, detailed below.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry with the claimed weight percentage of components because it has been held that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists” and “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Re Claim 20, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
The inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
The combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry does not explicitly teach:
comprising at least 95wt%, based on the total weight of the mattress components, of thermoplastic polymer (at least p. 2 Table 3 “Weight Percent A-B-A triblock copolymer 2% to 50% Plasticizing Agent 50% to 98%”. It is noted that it is obvious to use the claimed range of weight percentages, detailed below.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry with the claimed weight percentage of components because it has been held that “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists” and “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelm in view of Francis, Caminade, and Sperry and further in view of US 20070251190 A1 to Daigle.
Re Claim 13, the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry teaches:
An inflated mattress comprising the inflatable mattress of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
The combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry does not explicitly teach:
wherein inflatable chambers of the mattress are inflated to a gauge pressure of greater than 0.2 bar up to 1 bar and are permanently sealed.
However, Daigle teaches:
wherein inflatable chambers of the mattress are inflated to a gauge pressure of greater than 0.2 bar up to 1 bar and are permanently sealed (at least [0062] “pressure on the order of 0.5 to 10 psi”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mattress taught by the combination of Wilhelm, Francis, Caminade, and Sperry with the pressure taught by Daigle with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because “a regulator (not shown) can be connected between the pump and the air injector to allow users to adjust the air pressure and, hence, the degree of firmness to which the cushions are inflated” (Daigle [0062]).
Conclusion
/GEORGE SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673