Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 25 recites “an arrest mechanism which retains the travel of the shaft relative said handle at a predetermined limit position to enable locking of the shaft against said handle”. This limitation is a repeat of claim 24, last 3 lines. It is unclear how claim 25 further limits claim 24.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maness (USP 2,977,668).
Regarding claim 1, Maness discloses a hand operated filing tool comprising a gripping handle (20), an elongated shaft extending through the handle (figure 1); the shaft having a first working end (distal right of figure 1) including at least one filing surface along at least part of the length of the first working end of the shaft and a second working end (distal left of figure 1) including at least one filing surface along at least part of the length of the second working end of the shaft; the shaft and handle arranged to allow the handle to move between the working ends of the shaft, thereby allowing user selection of the at least one filing surface at either the first or second working ends (figure 3 and col. 2, lines 3-25).
Regarding claim 2, Maness discloses wherein the handle can be released
from the shaft and repositioned on the shaft at the same or opposite end of the
shaft (figure 3 and col. 2, lines 3-25).
Regarding claim 3, Maness discloses wherein the tool further comprises an arrest mechanism (30) which retains the travel of the shaft relative said handle (20) at a
predetermined limit position to enable locking of the shaft against said handle (figures 3 & 4 and col. 2, lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 4, Maness discloses wherein the arrest mechanism (30) is
provided by a shoulder formation (33/34) which provide an abutment and limits travel of
the handle along the shaft to a predetermined stop position (figures 1, 3 & 5).
Regarding claim 5, Maness discloses wherein the shaft can be rotated
relative to the handle (i.e. once shaft is released from the arrest mechanism 30, it can be rotated).
Regarding claim 6, Maness discloses wherein a keyway is provided in the
handle (i.e. the v shaped cavity 24: see figure 6 below) to match the selected profile of the shaft (col. 2, lines 57-61).
[AltContent: textbox (V shaped cavity 24)][AltContent: ]
Regarding claim 24, Maness discloses a hand operated filing tool comprising a gripping handle (20), an elongated shaft extending through the handle (figure 1); the shaft having a first working end (distal right of figure 1) including at least one filing surface along at least part of the length of the first working end of the shaft and a second working end (distal left of figure 1) including at least one filing surface along at least part of the length of the second working end of the shaft; the shaft and handle arranged to allow the handle to move between the working ends of the shaft, thereby allowing user selection of the at least one filing surface at either the first or second working ends (figure 3 and col. 2, lines 3-25). Maness also discloses the tool further comprises an arrest mechanism (30) which retains the travel of the shaft relative said handle (20) at a predetermined limit position to enable locking of the shaft against said handle (figures 3 & 4 and col. 2, lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 25, Maness discloses wherein the tool further comprises an arrest mechanism (30) which retains the travel of the shaft relative said handle (20) at a
predetermined limit position to enable locking of the shaft against said handle (figures 3 & 4 and col. 2, lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 26, Maness discloses wherein the arrest mechanism (30) is
provided by a shoulder formation (33/34) which provide an abutment and limits travel of
the handle along the shaft to a predetermined stop position (figures 1, 3 & 5).
Regarding claim 27, Maness discloses wherein, the working ends of the shaft when viewed in cross section are selected from at least one of the following profiles; circular, concave, crescent shaped, square, triangular, rectangular, hexagonal, polygonal (figures 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maness (USP 2,977,668).
Maness discloses all aspects of the invention as set forth in the above rejection. Regarding claims 28-31, Maness is silent about the grade(s) of the file. Examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well known in the rasp art to selected from a number of file grades or a combination thereof depending on the type of material the workpiece is made of, desired finishing on the workpiece etc. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to selected from a number of file grades or a combination thereof depending on the type of material the workpiece is made of, desired finishing on the workpiece etc.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SARA ADDISU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 12/27/25