DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a heating part in claim 1 wherein heating is a functional language with the term part being a generic placeholder for means; and a heat dissipation part in claim 1 wherein heat dissipation is a functional language with the term part being a generic placeholder for means.
A heating part is interpreted as a container or a vessel formed with a bottom portion and a side portion (para 49), or equivalents thereof, that holds a heated liquid including electrolyzed water; and a heat dissipation part is interpreted as a layer or a base (para 0008-0011 and 0087-0088), or its equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki et al (JP 2527019) in view of Tadahiko et al (JP 2001-108775).
Maki discloses a boiler claimed including a heating part (8) that provides a heated liquid for heating fluid contained a body part (1) that is overlapped with the heating part, a heating element (9) disposed in the heating part, and a heat dissipation part (shown by a heat transfer plate/base 3) disposed between the heating part and the body part that transfer heat from the heating part to the body part as illustrated in Figure 1. Also, see para 0015. But, Maki does not show the heating part including electrolyzed water heated by an electrode part having a plurality of electrodes as claimed.
Tadahiko discloses it is known to provide a heating part (1) having electrolyzed water (4; electrolyte) disposed therein with an electrode part having a plurality of electrodes (2, 3) applying current to generate thermal energy for heating electrolyte whose thermal energy is then extracted for heating fluid/water in a body part (5). Tadahiko teaches that such heating device allows for low cost thermal energy with a simple structure for hot water supply systems (see Abstract; para 0037-0038).
In view of Tadahiko, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Maki with the heating part having electrolyte (electrolyzed water) heated by a plurality of electrodes as an alternative heating assembly substitution which can be provided with a low cost heating/thermal energy having a simplified structure that also predictably provides a hot water supply from the body part as desired by the user.
With respect to claim 3, Maki discloses at least one region of each of the heating part (3), the body part (1), and the heat dissipation part (3) including a region (shown by extended width region) that extends from a side surface, and overlapping and coupled to each other as illustrated in Figure 1.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki in view of Tadahiko as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0172653).
Maki in view of Tadahiko discloses the device claimed except for the heat dissipation part including an insulating layer formed on one side facing the electrolyzed water.
Kim discloses it is known to provide an insulating layer (shown by a Teflon resin layer) for a body portion (110) that contains or in contact with electrolyzed water (para 0049, 0050).
In view of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Maki, as modified by Tadahiko, with the heat dissipation part (shown by the base 3) that comes in contact with electrolyzed water is provided with an insulating layer such as a resin layer for the protection of the heat dissipation part from corrosion or contamination thereof.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki in view of Tadahiko as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Cardoso (US 2015/0110478).
Maki in view of Tadahiko discloses the device claimed including a plurality of heat transferring tubes (7) disposed in the fluid of the body part but does not show the heat dissipation part with a plurality of heat dissipation protrusions that protrude from the base to face the fluid in the body part.
Cardoso shows it is known to provide a heat exchanging device having a base (150) with a plurality of protrusion (210) that extend from the base as shown in Figure 10.
In view of Cardoso, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Maki, as modified by Tadahiko, with the heat dissipation part having a plurality of heat dissipation protrusions formed to protrude from the base of the heat dissipation part as an alternative substituted arrangement that makes more thermal/heat transfer/exchanging thermal contacts with the fluid to predictably increase or enhance heat transfer from the heat dissipation part to the fluid.
Conclusion
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761