DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, and 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,402,436 (Paoli) in view of US 4,092,659 (Ettenberg), US 7,477,669 (Miyachi), and US 2015/0222091 (Futami).
For claim 1 and 16, Paoli teaches a device (method) (fig. 4) comprising:
(providing) a first set of edge-emitting laser diodes, wherein the first set of edge emitting laser diodes comprises two or more first laser diodes (fig. 4, 110) each having a first light emitting region for laser light on a side surface (fig. 4, 116A-116D),
(providing) a second set of edge emitting laser diodes, wherein the second set of edge emitting laser diodes comprises two or more second laser diodes (fig. 4, 120) each having a second light emitting region for laser light on a side surface (fig. 4, 126A-126D),
(arranging) the side surfaces of the first and second laser diodes lie at least substantially in the same plane (fig. 4, front side of 110 and 120; claim 15),
wherein a respective second laser diode (fig. 4, 126A) is associated with a respective first laser diode (fig.4, 116A).
wherein the first diode and associated second laser diode each comprise a resonator configured to generate laser light (laser diodes inherently have a resonator; without a resonator, the device would be a light emitting diode rather than a laser diode),
wherein the first laser diode has a different length (fig. 4, length of 110) than the associated second laser diode (fig. 4, length of 120).
While one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would likely infer that the lengths of the resonator of the first laser diode has a different length than the resonator of the associated second laser diode based on the differing lengths of the first and second laser diode, Paoli does not explicitly state the lengths of the resonator of the first laser diode has a different length than the resonator of the associated second laser diode.
However, Ettenberg teaches using opposite end facets as reflective surfaces in order to form a Fabry-Perot resonator and a feedback mechanism for a diode laser in order to emit coherent radiation (col. 1, l.19-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the end facets of the first and second diode lasers in Paoli as reflective surfaces as taught by Ettenberg in order to form a Fabry-Perot resonator and a feedback mechanism for the diode laser in order to emit coherent radiation. Using the end facets in Paoli as reflective surfaces of the resonators leads to the resonator of the first laser diode having a different length than the resonator of the associated second laser diode due to the different lengths of the lasers.
Paoli does not teach wherein the light emitting regions of the first laser diode and the associated second laser diode are arranged at a distance from one another that is smaller than 10 um.
However, Miyachi teaches a first and second edge emitting laser diode (fig. 1(a) and fig. 5(b)) where the interval between light emitting regions is reduced so that the points are located near an optical axis in order to inhibit aberrations (col. 13, l. 22-27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light emitting regions of the first laser diode and the associated second laser diode of the previous combination arranged at a distance from one another that is smaller than 10 um in order to inhibit aberrations, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
The above combination does not teach the first laser diodes have slightly different emission wavelengths at a distance of 1 nm to 5 nm, and/or the second laser diodes have slightly different emission wavelengths at a distance of 1 nm to 5 nm.
However, Futami teaches a set of laser diodes may be used as a light source ([0005]) and the set of laser diodes (fig. 1) where two or more first laser diodes (fig. 1, 20b and 20c) of the set of laser diodes have slightly different emission wavelengths, in particular at a distance of 1nm to 5nm ([0056]) in order to reduce speckle in the array when used as a light source ([0056] and [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first laser diodes of the previous combination have slightly different emission wavelengths at a distance of 1 nm to 5 nm as taught by Futami, and/or the second laser diodes of the previous combination have slightly different emission wavelengths at a distance of 1 nm to 5 nm as taught by Futami in order to allow the laser diodes to be used as a light source with reduced speckle.
For claim 2 and 17, Paoli teaches a first chip that comprises the first set of laser diodes (fig. 4, 112) and a second chip that comprises the second set of laser diodes (fig. 4, 122), the two chips being arranged one above the other as seen in the height direction in such a manner that the first light emitting region of the first laser diode (fig. fig. 4, 116A) and the second light emitting region of the associated second laser diode (fig. 4, 126A) lie in the same plane (fig. 4, claim 15) and are arranged one above the other as seen along the height direction (fig. 4, vertical direction).
For claim 3, Paoli, in the embodiment of claim 4, does not explicitly state teach the first laser diodes are formed in a layer sequence of semiconductor layers of the first set of laser diodes, the second laser diodes are formed in a layer sequence of semiconductor layers of the second set of laser diodes, and the layer sequence of the second set of laser diodes is arranged above the layer sequence of the first set of laser diodes, as seen in the height direction.
However, Paoli teaches laser diodes are formed in a layer sequence of semiconductor layers for a set of laser diodes in order to form emission points (fig. 1, 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the layers as taught in fig. 1 of Paoli in the embodiment of fig. 4 in Paoli such that the first laser diodes are formed in a layer sequence of semiconductor layers of the first set of laser diodes, the second laser diodes are formed in a layer sequence of semiconductor layers of the second set of laser diodes, and the layer sequence of the second set of laser diodes is arranged above the layer sequence of the first set of laser diodes, as seen in the height direction in order to form emission points 116A-116D and 126A-126D.
For claim 4, the combination of fig. 1 and fig. 4 of Paoli further teaches the first light emitting region is formed on the side surface of a first layer of the layer sequence of the first set of laser diodes (fig. 1, active layer 16; and 4, front side of 112) and the second light emitting region is provided on the side surface of a second layer of the layer sequence of the second set of laser diodes (fig. 1, active layer 16; and 4, front side of 122).
For claim 5, the combination of fig. 1 and fig. 4 of Paoli further teaches the first light emitting region is formed by the side surface of a ridge in the first layer (fig. 1, ridge formed in 16 surrounded by 24 of 112 in fig. 4), and the second light emitting region is formed by the side surface of a ridge in the second layer (fig. 1, ridge formed in 16 surrounded by 24 of 122 in fig. 4).
For claim 6, Paoli further teaches the first light emitting region of the first laser diode is arranged above the second light emitting region of the associated second laser diode as viewed along the height direction (fig. 4).
For claim 7, the combination of fig. 1 and fig. 4 of Paoli further teaches as seen in height direction:
at least one layer with a first doping (fig. 1, 14; col. 6, l. 20, n-type) lies in the layer sequence of the first set of laser diodes (fig. 4, 116A-D) above at least one layer with a second doping (fig. 1, 20; col. 6, l. 27; note contacts 28 in fig. 1 correspond to 118A-D in fig. 4 which has been flipped so the contacts are on the bottom of 110), and vice versa,
at least one layer with the second doping lies in the layer sequence of the second set of laser diodes (fig. 1, 20 of 120 in fig. 4) above at least one layer with the first doping (fig. 1, 14 of 120 in fig. 4).
For claim 8, Paoli further teaches at least one layer of a joint or bonding material is provided between the layer sequence of the first set of laser diodes and the layer sequence of the second set of laser diodes (fig. 4, 130).
For claim 10, Paoli further teaches each laser diode of the first set of laser diodes and each laser diode of the second set of laser diodes is individually operable (col. 7, l. 40-50).
For claim 18, Paoli teaches permanently bonding the first chip (fig. 4, 112) and the second chip (fig. 4, 122) to each other by means of joining and/or by means of compression bonding (fig. 4; abstract, two joined diode lasers).
For claim 19, the combination of fig. 1 and fig. 4 of Paoli further teaches the first set of laser diodes and the second set of laser diodes are manufactured on a respective wafer (fig. 4, col. 7, l. 41-43 and 50 teaches a first single chip 112 and a second single chip 122 while fig. 1 shows a set of laser diodes is manufactured on its own wafer 12).
For claim 20, the combination of fig. 1 and fig. 4 of Paoli further teaches the wafers are arranged and joined one above the other as seen in the height direction in such a way that the first light emitting region of the first laser diode and the second light emitting region of the associated second laser diode lie in the same plane and lie one above the other as seen along the height direction (fig. 4).
However, Miyachi teaches a first and second edge emitting laser diode (fig. 1(a) and fig. 5(b)) where the interval between light emitting regions is reduced so that the points are located near an optical axis in order to inhibit aberrations (col. 13, l. 22-27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light emitting regions of the first laser diode and the associated second laser diode of the previous combination arranged at a distance from one another that is smaller than 10 um in order to inhibit aberrations, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
For claims 22-24, the combination does not teach the light emitting regions of the first and the associated second laser diode are arranged at a distance from each other which is smaller than 5 µm, 3 µm, and 2 µm respectively.
However, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, Miyachi teaches a first and second edge emitting laser diode (fig. 1(a) and fig. 5(b)) where the interval between light emitting regions is reduced so that the points are located near an optical axis in order to inhibit aberrations (col. 13, l. 22-27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light emitting regions of the first laser diode and the associated second laser diode of the previous combination arranged at a distance from one another that is smaller than 5 µm, 3 µm, and 2 µm in order to inhibit aberrations, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,402,436 (Paoli) in view of US 4,092,659 (Ettenberg), and US 2015/0222091 (Futami) and JPH07168040 (Imai).
For claim 12, Paoli teaches an optoelectronic laser device (fig. 4) comprising:
a first set of edge-emitting laser diodes, the first set of edge emitting laser diodes comprising two or more first laser diodes (fig. 4, 110) each having a first light emitting region for laser light on a side surface (fig. 4, 116A-116D),
a second set of edge emitting laser diodes, the second set of edge emitting laser diodes comprising two or more second laser diodes (fig. 4, 120) each having a second light emitting region for laser light on a side surface (fig. 4, 126A-126D),
wherein the side surfaces of the first and second laser diodes lie at least substantially in the same plane (fig. 4, front side of 110 and 120; claim 15),
wherein a respective second laser diode (fig. 4, 126A) is associated with a respective first laser diode (fig.4, 116A).
wherein the first and associated second laser diodes each have a resonator configured to generate laser light (laser diodes inherently have a resonator; without a resonator, the device would be a light emitting diode rather than a laser diode),
wherein the first laser diode has a different length (fig. 4, length of 110) than the associated second laser diode (fig. 4, length of 120).
While one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would likely infer that the lengths of the resonator of the first laser diode has a different length than the resonator of the associated second laser diode based on the differing lengths of the first and second laser diode, Paoli does not explicitly state the lengths of the resonator of the first laser diode has a different length than the resonator of the associated second laser diode.
However, Ettenberg teaches using opposite end facets as reflective surfaces in order to form a Fabry-Perot resonator and a feedback mechanism for a diode laser in order to emit coherent radiation (col. 1, l.19-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the end facets of the first and second diode lasers in Paoli as reflective surfaces as taught by Ettenberg in order to form a Fabry-Perot resonator and a feedback mechanism for the diode laser in order to emit coherent radiation. Using the end facets in Paoli as reflective surfaces of the resonators leads to the resonator of the first laser diode having a different length than the resonator of the associated second laser diode due to the different lengths of the lasers.
The above combination does not teach the first laser diodes have slightly different emission wavelengths at a distance of 1 nm to 5 nm, and/or the second laser diodes have slightly different emission wavelengths at a distance of 1 nm to 5 nm.
However, Futami teaches a set of laser diodes may be used as a light source ([0005]) and the set of laser diodes (fig. 1) where two or more first laser diodes (fig. 1, 20b and 20c) of the set of laser diodes have slightly different emission wavelengths, in particular at a distance of 1nm to 5nm ([0056]) in order to reduce speckle in the array when used as a light source ([0056] and [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first laser diodes of the previous combination have slightly different emission wavelengths at a distance of 1 nm to 5 nm as taught by Futami, and/or the second laser diodes of the previous combination have slightly different emission wavelengths at a distance of 1 nm to 5 nm as taught by Futami in order to allow the laser diodes to be used as a light source with reduced speckle.
The above combination does not teach a light guide device having a set of light guides, said set of light guides comprising at least one light guide having:
a first light guide section, the optical input of which is located in front of said first light emitting region,
a second light guide section, the optical input of which is arranged in front of the second light emitting region, and
a common light guide section, into which the output of the first light guide section and the output of the second light guide section open, and having an optical output at its end opposite the input.
However, Imai teaches an optoelectronic laser device (fig. 2) comprising a light guide device having a set of light guides, said set of light guides comprising at least one light guide (fig. 2, 2b2) having:
a first light guide section (fig. 2, top waveguide at left end of 2b2), the optical input of which is located in front of said first light emitting region (fig. 2,top row of light emitting regions in 1b),
a second light guide section (fig. 2, second waveguide at left end of 2b2), the optical input of which is arranged in front of the second light emitting region (fig. 2,second row of light emitting regions in 1b), and
a common light guide section, into which the output of the first light guide section and the output of the second light guide section open, and having an optical output at its end opposite the input (fig. 2b2, single waveguide at right end of 2b2) in order to increase light emitting density (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the light guide device of Imai with the previous combination in order to increase light emitting density.
For claim 13, Imai further teaches he light guide device is formed integrally, in particular as a monolithic component (fig. 2, 2b2).
For claim 14, Imai further wherein the set of light guides comprises a number of light guides (fig. 2, 2b2 includes 4 waveguides at the left, 2 waveguides in the center and 1 waveguide at the right end), one light guide being associated with each pair of first laser diode and associated second laser diode (fig. 2, shows four pairs of first and second laser diodes in the top two rows of 1b; the top light guide in the center of 2b2 is associated with each pair of first laser diode and associated second laser diode).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable US 5,402,436 (Paoli) in view of US 4,092,659 (Ettenberg), US 7,477,669 (Miyachi), and US 2015/0222091 (Futami) and further in view of US 4,639,924 (Tsunekawa).
For claim 15, the combination of Paoli, Ettenberg, Miyachi, and Futami teaches an optoelectronic apparatus comprising at least one optoelectronic device according to claim 1 (the combination is applied according to the rejection of claim 1 above).
The combination does not teach the apparatus comprises
a display in which the at least one optoelectronic device is integrated and/or
wherein the apparatus is battery powered, and/or
wherein the apparatus is a pair of glasses, in particular virtual reality or augmented reality glasses, comprising at least one spectacle lens with refractive or diffractive structures and at least one optoelectronic device, wherein the light provided by the optoelectronic device can be coupled into the spectacle lens.
However, Tsunekawa teaches a battery (fig. 2, E) as a power supply (col. 2, l. 19) for a laser diode (fig. 2, LD). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Tsunekawa’s battery with the optoelectronic device according to claim 1 in order to power the lasers of the device.
Further, it is noted that the limitations of claim 15 are listed in the alternative “and/or” and therefore only one of the alternative limitations must be met to read on the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 10, 12-20 and 22-24 under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael Carter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828