DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A-1, and Species B-1 (reading on claims 1-3, 5-7, 17, and 21-22) in the reply filed on May 4, 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (Species B-2), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "51" (in FIG. 1) and "52" (in FIG. 2) have both been used to designate a “control line”. It appears that reference character “51” should be changed to --52--, which was the reference character used in the specification (at paragraph [0047]).
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because “A method” (at line 1) should be changed to --The method--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 17, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eder (US 2017/0130887 A1) in view of Sato et al. (JP 05-317843 A).
Regarding claim 1, Eder discloses a method for regulatably carrying out a chemical reaction in a process fluid in a reactor (i.e., a method for carrying out an endothermic chemical reaction in a process fluid F in a device 1; FIG. 1-2; paragraphs [0044]-[0050]), comprising:
providing a reactor (i.e., the device 1) comprising:
at least one reaction tube (i.e., at least one electrically conductive pipeline 100), each reaction tube comprising one or more electrically heatable tube sections (i.e., sections defined by limbs 101, 102, 103, wherein the limbs are heatable by means of Joulean heat generated by passing a current through the material of the pipeline); (see paragraphs [0002], [0079], [0084], [0087], [0092]);
several power connections (i.e., at contacts K to an outer conductor L1, L2, L3 of a three-phase current source 2; see FIG. 1, 2, 5; paragraph [0084]), each power connection being connected in a current input area (i.e., in the region of a return bend of a central section 101b, 102b, 103b of a limbs 101, 102, 103); and
at least one connecting element provided in a current output area (i.e., a connecting element at a neutral point S; paragraphs [0079], [0085], [0087]), wherein each tube section 101, 102, 103 is electrically-conductively connected to the connecting element (i.e., the end sections 101a, 101c, 102a, 102c, 103a, 103c of the limbs 101, 102, 103 are connected to the neutral point S);
conducting the process fluid through the at least one reaction tube (i.e., in FIG. 1, a fluid flow F enters the pipeline 100 through an inlet 3 formed by a first end section 101a and exits the pipeline 100 through an outlet 4 formed by a second end section 103c, see paragraph [0084]; or, in FIG. 2, individual fluid flows F, F’, F’’ respectively enter the pipelines through inlets formed by first end sections 101a, 102a, 103a and exit the pipelines through outlets formed by second end sections 101c, 102c, 103c, see paragraph [0087]); and
providing several variable voltages at the several power connections K, L1, L2, L3, wherein the several voltages are provided as phases of a multiphase AC voltage (i.e., preferably, a three-phase alternating current, provided by a AC voltage source 2; FIG. 2; paragraphs [0019], [0034]-[0036]) so that the at least one connecting element forms a star point (i.e., a star circuit is formed; see FIG. 5, paragraph [0009], [0013], [0034]);
wherein the chemical reaction proceeds at least partially at a temperature in the range of 200 °C to 1700 °C (i.e., when used as a reactor for cracking hydrocarbons, the device 1 can include a preheating part for preheating water/steam and hydrocarbons to a temperature of from 550 °C to 700 °C and a reaction part for heating the preheated hydrocarbon/steam mixture to a cracking temperature to form a product gas having a temperature of typically from 800 °C to 880 °C, see paragraphs [0045]-[0046]; alternatively, when used as a reactor for catalytically reforming hydrocarbons, the device 1 can provide heating to a temperature of from 780 °C to 1050 °C, see paragraph [0049]).
While Eder discloses that the heating by the at least one reaction tube 100 can be controlled (paragraph [0097]-[0098]), Eder fails to disclose that the method further comprises:
i) setting the several voltages; ii) detecting one or more measured values corresponding to one or more measured variables; and iii) changing the several set voltages so that the detected measured values correspond to predetermined values or value ranges of the measured variables.
Sato et al. discloses a method for regulatably heating of a process fluid (i.e., water) in a heating apparatus (see FIG. 4-5; translation), comprising:
providing a heating apparatus comprising:
at least one tube (i.e., one or more electrically conductive pipes 9) comprising one or more electrically heatable tube section (i.e., sections of the pipe(s) 9 are heatable by passing an electric current through the pipe(s), wherein the pipe(s) are made to generate heat by resistance heating; see translation at page 4, under paragraph [0015]);
several power connections (i.e., connections to a voltage applying means of a temperature controller 8, with the connections made at the locations corresponding to point A, as shown in FIG. 1), each power connection being connected in a current input area A to a respective tube section 9; and
at least one connecting element in a current output area (i.e., for connections made at the locations corresponding to point B, as shown in FIG. 1), wherein each tube section 9 is electrically conductively connected to the connecting element;
conducting the process fluid through the at least one tube (i.e., conducting the water from a water inlet pipe 1, through the pipe(s) 9, and out through a water outlet pipe 7);
providing several variable voltages at the several power connections, wherein the several voltages are provided as a multiphase AC voltage (i.e., voltages U, V, W from a three-phase AC voltage applying means; FIG. 4-5) so that the at least one connecting element forms a star point (i.e., a star connection; see translation at page 7, first paragraph); and
specifically,
i) setting the several voltages (i.e., setting voltages U, V, W to a predetermined value using the temperature controller 8; see translation at page 5, under paragraph [0025]);
ii) detecting one or more measured values corresponding to one or more measurable values (i.e., detecting a temperature of the conduit 9 using a temperature measuring sensor 4 and detecting a temperature of the heated water using a temperature measuring sensor 6; see translation at page 4, second to last paragraph; page 5, second paragraph); and
iii) changing the several set voltages so that the detected measured values correspond to predetermined values or value ranges of the measured variables (i.e., the temperature controller 8 automatically controls the voltages U, V, W based on a temperature measurement signal received from the temperature measuring sensors 4 and 6, so as to maintain the temperature of the pipe(s) 9 at a predetermined temperature and to further maintain the temperature of the heated water at a predetermined temperature; see translation at page 5, second paragraph; at page 6, fourth, fifth, seventh, and eighth paragraphs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further perform the steps i), ii), and iii) in the method of Eder because the voltages applied to the at least one tube could be automatically controlled based on one or more of the measured variables of the process (i.e., the temperature of the at least one tube and the temperature of the product), so that the temperature of the at least one tube and the temperature of the product can be maintained at their desired predetermined values, as taught by Sato et al.
Regarding claim 2, Sato et al. discloses that the one or more measured variables comprises: at least one temperature (i.e., a temperature of the conduit 9 as measured by a temperature measuring sensor 4 and a temperature of the heated fluid leaving the conduit 9 as measured by a temperature measuring sensor 6; see FIG. 4-5, translation).
Regarding claim 3, Sato et al. discloses that the several voltages are changed in the same way (i.e., the temperature controller 8 controls the voltage applying means to apply the voltages U, V, W in the same way to each of the tubes 9; see FIG. 4-5; translation at page 6, second to fifth paragraphs).
Regarding claim 5, Sato et al. discloses that the one or more measured variables comprises: a tube outlet temperature, measured at a tube outlet of the tube, of the process fluid (i.e., a temperature of the heated fluid leaving the conduit 9 through the discharge pipe 7, as measured by the temperature measuring sensor 6; see FIG. 4, 5; translation); wherein the voltages are changed such that the measured tube outlet temperature is substantially equal to a predetermined tube outlet temperature (i.e., the temperature controller 8 automatically controls the voltages U, V, W applied by the voltage applying means, based on the temperature measurement signal received from the temperature measuring sensor 6, in order to maintain the temperature of the heated water at a constant predetermined value; see translation at page 6, fourth, seventh, and eighth paragraphs).
Regarding claim 17, Sato et al. discloses that the several voltages are changed in the same way (i.e., the temperature controller 8 controls the voltage applying means to apply the voltages U, V, W in the same way to each of the tubes 9; see FIG. 4-5; translation at page 6, second to fifth paragraphs).
Regarding claim 21, Eder discloses that the chemical reaction can comprise steam cracking (see paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 22, Eder discloses a method for regulatably carrying out a chemical reaction in a process fluid in a reactor (i.e., a method for carrying out an endothermic chemical reaction in a process fluid F in a device 1; FIG. 1-2; paragraphs [0044]-[0047]), comprising:
providing a reactor (i.e., the device 1) comprising:
at least one reaction tube (i.e., at least one electrically conductive pipeline 100), each reaction tube comprising one or more electrically heatable tube sections (i.e., sections defined by limbs 101, 102, 103, wherein the limbs are heatable by means of Joulean heat generated by passing a current through the material of the pipeline); (see paragraphs [0002], [0079], [0084], [0087], [0092]);
several power connections (i.e., at contacts K to an outer conductor L1, L2, L3 of a three-phase current source 2; see FIG. 1, 2, 5; paragraph [0084]), each power connection being connected in a current input area (i.e., in the region of a return bend of a central section 101b, 102b, 103b of limbs 101, 102, 103); and
at least one connecting element provided in a current output area (i.e., a connecting element at a neutral point S; paragraphs [0079], [0085], [0087]), wherein each tube section 101, 102, 103 is electrically-conductively connected to the connecting element (i.e., the end sections 101a, 101c, 102a, 102c, 103a, 103c of the limbs 101, 102, 103 are connected to the neutral point S);
conducting the process fluid through the at least one reaction tube (i.e., as shown in FIG. 1, a fluid flow F enters the pipeline 100 through an inlet 3 formed by a first end section 101a and exits the pipeline 100 through an outlet 4 formed by a second end section 103c, see paragraph [0084]; or, as shown in FIG. 2, individual fluid flows F, F’, F’’ respectively enter the pipelines through inlets formed by first end sections 101a, 102a, 103a and exit the pipelines through outlets formed by second end sections 101c, 102c, 103c, see paragraph [0087]); and
providing several variable voltages at the several power connections K, L1, L2, L3, wherein the several voltages are provided as phases of a multiphase AC voltage (i.e., preferably, a three-phase alternating current provided by a AC voltage source 2; FIG. 2; paragraphs [0019], [0034]-[0036]) so that the at least one connecting element forms a star point (i.e., a star circuit is formed; see FIG. 5; paragraph [0009], [0013], [0034]);
wherein the chemical reaction is steam cracking (i.e., the device 1 can be used as a reactor for steam cracking, wherein the device 1 is configured to include a preheating part for preheating water/steam and hydrocarbons to a temperature of from 550 °C to 700 °C and a reaction part for heating the preheated hydrocarbon/steam mixture to a required cracking temperature to produce a product gas having a temperature of typically from 800 °C to 880 °C, see paragraphs [0045]-[0046]).
While Eder discloses that the heating by the at least one reaction tube 100 can be controlled (paragraph [0097]-[0098]), Eder fails to disclose that the method further comprises:
i) setting the several voltages; ii) detecting one or more measured values corresponding to one or more measured variables; and iii) changing the several set voltages so that the detected measured values correspond to predetermined values or value ranges of the measured variables.
Sato et al. discloses a method for regulatably heating of a process fluid (i.e., water) in a heating apparatus (see FIG. 4-5; translation), comprising:
providing an apparatus comprising:
at least one tube (i.e., one or more electrically conductive pipes 9) comprising one or more electrically heatable tube section (i.e., sections of the pipe(s) 9 are heatable by passing a current through the pipe(s), wherein the pipe(s) are made to generate heat by resistance heating; see translation at page 4, under paragraph [0015]);
several power connections (i.e., connections to a voltage applying means of a temperature controller 8, with the connections made at the locations corresponding to point A, as shown in FIG. 1), each power connection being connected in a current input area A to a respective tube section 9; and
at least one connecting element in a current output area (i.e., for connections made at the locations corresponding to point B, as shown in FIG. 1), wherein each tube section 9 is electrically conductively connected to the connecting element;
conducting the process fluid through the at least one tube (i.e., conducting the water from a water inlet pipe 1, through the pipe(s) 9, and out through a water outlet pipe 7);
providing several variable voltages at the several power connections, wherein the several voltages are provided as a multiphase AC voltage (i.e., voltages U, V, W from a three-phase AC voltage applying means; FIG. 4-5) so that the at least one connecting element forms a star point (i.e., a star connection; see translation at page 7, first paragraph); and
specifically,
i) setting the several voltages (i.e., setting voltages U, V, W to a predetermined value using the temperature controller 8; see translation at page 5, under paragraph [0025]);
ii) detecting one or more measured values corresponding to one or more measurable values (i.e., detecting a temperature of the conduit 9 using a temperature measuring sensor 4 and detecting a temperature of the heated water using a temperature measuring sensor 6; see translation at page 4, second to last paragraph; page 5, second paragraph); and
iii) changing the several set voltages so that the detected measured values correspond to predetermined values or value ranges of the measured variables (i.e., the temperature controller 8 automatically controls the voltages U, V, W based on a temperature measurement signal received from the temperature measuring sensors 4 and 6, so as to maintain the temperature of the pipe(s) 9 at a predetermined temperature and to further maintain the temperature of the heated water at a predetermined temperature; see translation at page 5, second paragraph; at page 6, fourth, fifth, seventh, and eighth paragraphs).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further perform the steps i), ii), and iii) in the method of Eder because the voltages applied to the at least one tube could be automatically controlled based on one or more of the measured variables of the process (i.e., the temperature of the at least one tube and the temperature of the product), so that the temperature of the at least one tube and the temperature of the product can be maintained at their desired predetermined values, as taught by Sato et al.
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eder (US 2017/0130887 A1) in view of Sato et al. (JP 05-317843 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hobbs (US 4,536,606 A),
Sato et al. discloses that the one or more measured variables comprises: at least one temperature (i.e., temperatures measured by temperature measuring sensors 4 and 6; see FIG. 4-5, translation), wherein the at least one temperature includes a tube outlet temperature, measured at a tube outlet of the tube, of the process fluid (i.e., a temperature of the heated fluid leaving the conduit 9 through the discharge pipe 7, measured by the temperature measuring sensor 6; see FIG. 4, 5; translation); wherein the voltages are changed such that the measured tube outlet temperature is substantially equal to a predetermined tube outlet temperature (i.e., the temperature controller 8 automatically controls the voltages U, V, W applied by the voltage applying means based on the temperature measurement signal from the temperature measuring sensor 6 to maintain the temperature of the heated water at a constant predetermined value; see translation at page 6, fourth, seventh, and eighth paragraphs).
The combination of Eder and Sato et al. meets the claims because one of the claimed elements in each of the claims has been satisfied.
However, in any event, the combination of Eder and Sato et al. fails to disclose or teach that the one or more measured variables comprises: at least one substance composition; wherein the substance composition is measured at a tube outlet of the at least one reaction tube, of the process fluid; and wherein the several voltages are changed such that the measured substance composition is substantially equal to a predetermined substance composition.
Hobbs discloses a method for regulatably carrying out a chemical reaction in a process fluid in a reactor (i.e., a method for controllably carrying out a steam cracking reaction in a cracking furnace 11; see FIG. 1), comprising:
providing a reactor comprising at least one reaction tube (i.e., a cracking furnace 11 comprising cracking tubes 12), with each reaction tube being heated by means of at least one burner (see column 5, lines 1-7);
conducting the process fluid through the at least one reaction tube (i.e., conducting a mixture of steam and hydrocarbons, e.g., ethane and propane, through the cracking tubes 12, with the steam being provided through a conduit means 16 and the hydrocarbon being provided through a conduit means 15; see column 5, lines 9-32);
detecting one or more measured values corresponding to one or more measured variables (i.e., detecting a temperature of the gaseous mixture withdrawn through a conduit means 19 using a temperature transducer 36 in combination with a temperature sensing device, and detecting a concentration of a component, e.g., ethane, in the gaseous mixture withdrawn through the conduit means 19 using an analyzer transducer 31, which is preferably a chromatographic analyzer; see column 5, line 53, to column 6, line 12); and
controlling the burners so that the detected measured values correspond to predetermined values or ranges of measured variables (i.e., in response to the output signal 37 from the temperature transducer 36 and the output signal 34 from the analyzer transducer 31, the computer means 100 calculates the fuel flow rate to the burners required to heat the cracking tubes 12 to a temperature that maintains the actual ethane conversion substantially equal to the desired ethane conversion, and a control valve 49 on the conduit means 14 is adjusted to maintain the actual fuel flow rate substantially equal to the desired fuel flow rate, represented by the signal 41 sent from the computer means 100 to the flow controller 42; see Abstract; column 6, lines 13-34).
Specifically, Hobbs discloses that the one or more measured variables comprises:
a tube outlet temperature, measured at a tube outlet of the at least one reaction tube, of the process fluid (i.e., a temperature of the gaseous mixture flowing through the conduit means 19, as detected by the temperature sensing device connected to the temperature transducer 36); and
a substance composition measured at a tube outlet of the at least one reaction tube, of the process fluid (i.e., a concentration of a component, e.g., ethane, in the gaseous mixture flowing through the conduit means 19, as detected by the analyzer transducer 31);
wherein the heating of the reaction tube 12 by the burners is changed (i.e., by adjusting the flow rate of fuel to the burners through the conduit means 14) such that the measured tube outlet temperature and/or the measured substance composition is substantially equal to a predetermined tube outlet temperature and/or a predetermined substance composition (i.e., as predetermined by the computer means 100).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the steps of measuring a substance composition at the tube outlet, of the process fluid, wherein the several voltages are changed such that the measured substance composition is substantially equal to a predetermined substance composition in the modified method of Eder because the heating temperature of the at least one tube could then be automatically controlled (by adjusting the several voltages) to maintain an actual conversion of the process fluid to be substantially equal to the desired conversion of the process fluid, as taught by Hobbs (see Abstract).
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eder (US 2017/0130887 A1) in view of Sato et al. (JP 05-317843 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Parker (US 5,574,356 A).
Eder discloses a neutral conductor (i.e., a neutral conductor N electrically conductively connected to the neutral point S; see FIG. 5; paragraph [0079], [0084]).
Eder (at paragraph [0014]) further discloses,
“Advantageously, the neutral point does not conduct a current in the case of uniform loading of the M (for example M=3) outer conductors (in the case of nonuniform loading, only the difference between the currents or in the case of a high-resistance connection of the neutral conductor to the neutral point of the at least one pipeline, a differential voltage), with the result that an otherwise conventional insulation means at the inlet and at the outlet of the pipeline can be dispensed with.”
Eder (at paragraph [0015]) further discloses,
“Preferably, therefore, the at least one pipeline or the plurality of pipelines is configured in such a way that the currents cancel one another out at the neutral point. In other words, therefore, the electrically conductive connections produced (which each comprise part of the at least one pipeline) preferably have the same ohmic resistance between the respective outer conductor of the at least one voltage source and the neutral point, with the result that the individual currents cancel one another out at the neutral point.”
The combination of Eder and Sato et al., however, fails to disclose or teach that the one or more measured variables comprises: at least one current intensity, including one or both of:
a neutral conductor current intensity measured on the neutral conductor N; and two or more power connection current intensities measured at the respective power connections; wherein the several voltages are changed such that: the neutral conductor current intensity is minimized; and/or a sum, calculated taking into account the relative phases, of the power connection current intensities is minimized.
Parker discloses a multi-phase circuit (i.e., a three-phase, four-wire power distribution system; see FIG. 1; column 4, line 66, to column 5, line 31) comprising:
a plurality of loads 4a, 4b, 4c;
several power connections (i.e., via respective distribution conductors 10a, 10b, 10c) connected in a current input area to a respective load 4a, 4b, 4c; and
at least one connecting element provided in a current output area (i.e., connections between the loads 4a, 4b, 4c and a neutral conductor 8);
wherein several variable voltages (i.e., from three equivalent phase power sources 3a, 3b, 3c of a power supply network 2) are provided at the several power connections.
Specifically, Parker discloses a method of controlling the multi-phase circuit, comprising:
measuring a neutral conductor current intensity on the neutral conductor (i.e., measuring a current intensity In of a zero-sequence neutral current 7 flowing through the neutral conductor 8); and
measuring two or more power connection current intensities at the respective power connections (i.e., measuring a current intensity of the phase source currents 6a, 6b, 6c flowing through the distribution conductors 10a, 10b, 10c);
wherein the several voltages are change (i.e., by means of an active neutral current compensator (ANCC) 9; for instance, using an ANCC according to FIG. 2 or FIG. 3) such that the neutral conductor current intensity is minimized, and a sum, calculated taking into account the relative phases 6a, 6b, 6c, of the power connection current intensities is minimized (see column 2, lines 14-28; column 5, line 10 to column 6, line 32).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure one or both of: a neutral conductor current intensity on the neutral conductor and two or more power connection current intensities at the respective power connections, and to change the several voltages such that: the neutral conductor current intensity is minimized, and/or a sum, calculated taking into account the relative phases, of the power connection current intensities is minimized, in the modified method of Eder because, advantageously, the neutral point does not conduct a current, and the individual currents should cancel one another out at the neutral point, as disclosed by Eder (see paragraphs [0014]-[0015]), and the method of Parker would have enabled the system to achieve these results without consuming substantial amounts of real power (see column 2, lines 5-10).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eder (US 2017/0130887 A1) in view of Sato et al. (JP 05-317843 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Santucci (CN 105688770 A).
Sato et al. discloses that the one or more measured variables comprises a tube section temperature measured at a tube section connected to the power connection (i.e., a temperature of a section of the pipe 9 measured by one temperature measuring sensor 4; see FIG. 4-5); wherein the several voltages U, V, W at the respective power connections A are controlled such that the measured tube section temperature corresponds to the predetermined tube section temperature (see translation at page 6, fourth and fifth paragraphs).
Sato et al., however, fails to disclose that two or more tube section temperatures are measured at respective tube sections connected to respective power connections; wherein the several voltages at the respective power connections are controlled such that the two or more measured tube section temperatures correspond to predetermined tube section temperatures.
Santucci discloses a method for regulatably heating a process fluid in a heating apparatus (i.e., a method for heating a fluid in a heating apparatus; see FIG. 3; translation, at page 8, underlined), comprising:
providing a heating apparatus comprising:
at least one tube (i.e., an electrically conductive pipeline 31) comprising one or more electrically heatable tube section (i.e., sections of the pipeline 31 are electrically heatable by passing a current through the pipeline, wherein the pipeline is made to generate heat by the Joule effect);
several power connections (i.e., a plurality of power connections provided between a transformer 34 and the pipeline 31, shown), each power connection being connected in a current input area (i.e., in the area of a bend in the pipeline 31, on a left side of the heating apparatus as shown); and
at least one connecting element provided in a current output area (i.e., a connecting element which connects the ends of the pipeline 31 to neutral on the right side of the heating apparatus, as shown);
conducting the process fluid (see flow arrow) through the at least one tube 31;
setting the several voltages (i.e., by adjusting the voltages using the transformer 34 connected to the downstream of a power control loop 33);
detecting one or more measured values corresponding to one of more measured variables (i.e., detecting a temperature at a plurality of locations on the pipeline 31 using a plurality of temperature sensors 35); and
changing the several set voltages so that the detected measured values correspond to predetermined values or value ranges of the measured variables (i.e., the voltages are continuously adjusted on the basis of the temperatures detected by the temperature sensors 35, in order to maintain the pipeline 31 and the heated fluid at a predetermined temperature).
Specifically, Santucci discloses that the one or more measured variables comprise two or more tube section temperatures measured at respective tube sections connected to respective power connections (i.e., a plurality of the temperature sensors 35 are respectively provided in a plurality of energized sections along the pipeline 31, see FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to measure two or more tube section temperatures at respective tube sections connected to respective power connections, with the several voltages at the respective power connections being controlled such that the measured tube section temperatures correspond to predetermined tube section temperatures, in the modified method of Eder because the several voltages could then be adjusted based on multiple tube section temperatures respectively measured at multiple tube sections along the at least one tube, and a uniform heat distribution could be maintained along the length of the at least one tube to avoid local overheating of the at least one tube, as taught by Santucci (see translation at page 8, sixth paragraph). In addition, the multiplication of parts to predictably produce a multiplied effect was held to be obvious. See MPEP § 2144, VI, B.
The combination of Eder, Sato et al., and Santucci meets the claim because one of the claimed elements has been satisfied.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774