DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenberg et al (US 4,125,494) in view of Brasen et al (US 4,255,308)
Regarding claim 1, Schoenberg teaches a thickener (col. 5, lines 55-62) for a cyanoacrylate based adhesive (Abstract) that comprises a poly(methyl methacrylate) (col. 5, lines 60-65), however, it fails to teach that the poly(methyl methacrylate) has from 0.1 to 5% by mass of an alkyl(meth)acrylate monomer unit having an alkyl group with a carbon number of 4 or more.
Brasen teaches a methyl methacrylate polymer (Abstract, polymer A) which can incorporate up to 15% by weight of alkyl acrylate or methyl acrylates having 2-18 carbon atoms (col. 3, lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the poly(methyl methacrylate) of Schoenberg incorporate the alkyl acrylate or methyl acrylates as taught by Brasen. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of being able to adjust the glass transition temperature of the thickener (Brasen, col. 3, lines 55-65).
Regarding claim 6, Schoenberg teaches an adhesive comprising the thickener for cyanoacrylate-based adhesives according to claim 1 and an alkyl cyanoacrylate (Schoenberg, col. 3, lines 1-10).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenberg et al (US 4,125,494) in view of Brasen et al (US 4,255,308) and Goto (JP 2012-201844, please see machine translation for mapping).
The discussion regarding Schoenberg and Brasen in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 2, Schoenberg fails to teach that the MMA volatilization is 10 ppm or less when 5 mg of the methacrylic resin is heated at 60 C for 10 minutes.
Goto teaches methacrylate polymers which have less than 20 ppm of unreacted monomer (page 15, 4th paragraph). While the measurement techniques in Goto is not the same as presently recited, given that the Goto measurement technique is gas chromatography (page 13), the amount of unreacted monomer measured would be the same as if it were measured via the recited method.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the MMA compound of Schoenberg have the unreacted monomer as taught by Goto. One would be motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of having no odor (page 15, Example 1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Schoenberg teaches that the particle size of the methacrylate polymer is 8.2 microns (Goto, page 13, production example 1) and therefore, given the standard distribution of particle sizes, the number of particles with a particle diameter of 710 microns or more approaches zero probability.
Regarding claim 4, modified Schoenberg teaches that the pH of the thickener dispersed in water can be pH 4 or pH 7 (Goto, page 15).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenberg et al (US 4,125,494) in view of Brasen et al (US 4,255,308) and Saito et al (US 2002/0156196).
The discussion regarding Schoenberg and Brasen in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 5, Schoenberg fails to teach the molecular weight distribution for the thickener.
Saito teaches a method for making methyl methacrylate polymers with a narrow molecular weight distribution (Abstract) of not more than 1.5 ([0166]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the methyl methacrylate polymer of Schoenberg have the molecular weight distribution as taught by Saito. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of using a molecular weight distribution for an adhesive with high industrial value (Saito, [0169]-[0170]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenberg et al (US 4,125,494) in view of Brasen et al (US 4,255,308) and Yosida (US 4,764,545).
The discussion regarding Schoenberg and Brasen in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 7, Schoenberg fails to teach the viscosity of the adhesive.
Yoshida teaches a cyanoacrylate compound which is used in adhesive applications (col. 1, lines 1-15). Yoshida teaches that the visocisty of the adhesive ranges from 10 to 5000 cps ( 0.001 to 5 Pas) (col. 5, lines 25-35).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the adhesive of Schoenberg have the viscosity as taught by Yoshida. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of using a viscosity appropriate for adhesive applications.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18/574,302 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite a thickener for a methacrylic resin with the same monomer makeup.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764