DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gladstone (GB 1229000).
Re claim 31, Gladstone discloses an axial force transmitter for an actuating device of a brake system, comprising: an elongate first component (24) including a sleeve portion; an elongate second component (22), wherein a first end portion of the second component axially protrudes into the sleeve portion, and the sleeve portion and the first end portion of the second component are connected to each other in an axially fixed manner, wherein the sleeve portion has at least one radially inwardly projecting bulge (26), and the end of the second component (22) comprises a dent complementary to the bulge formed in the first end portion, into which the bulge engages radially wherein the sleeve portion comprises at least one deformed region; wherein the at least one deformed region projects radially towards the first end portion of the second component and provides at least in part an axially fixed connection by radially engaging the first end portion of the second component. (See above Re claim 16).
Gladstone does not disclose wherein the sleeve portion is deformed by applying a pressing force onto the sleeve portion such that the sleeve portion has at least one radially inwardly projecting bulge, and wherein the pressing force is transmitted via the bulge to the first end portion of the second component such that a dent complementary to the bulge forms in the first end portion, into which the bulge engages radially. The forming limitations are product-by-process limitations. Product-by-process limitations are not limited to the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. The bulge and complimentary dent are capable of forming by pressing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19, 21, 24, 25, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gladstone (GB 1229000).
Re claim 16, Gladstone teaches an axial force transmitter for an actuating device of a brake system, comprising: an elongate first component including a sleeve portion (24); and an elongate second component (22), wherein a first end portion of the second component axially protrudes into the sleeve portion, the sleeve portion and the first end portion of the second component are connected to each other in an axially fixed manner using pressure forming the sleeve portion, the sleeve portion comprises at least one deformed region; and the at least one deformed region projects radially towards the first end portion of the second component and provides at least in part an axially fixed connection by radially engaging the first end portion of the second component. (Fig. 2)
[AltContent: textbox (Deformed
region)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First end portion – Second component)]
Gladstone does not teach wherein the second component includes an axial bore. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide an axial bore in the second component of Gladstone to reduce weight.
Re claim 17, Gladstone as modified teaches wherein the sleeve portion (24) includes at least one radially inwardly projecting bulge (26) for forming the axially fixed connection.
Re claim 18, Gladstone as modified teaches wherein the sleeve portion (24) includes multiple radially inwardly projecting bulges (26), which are arranged evenly distributed in a circumferential direction of the sleeve portion.
Re claim 19, Gladstone as modified teaches wherein the first end portion of the second component (22) and the sleeve portion (24) are connected to each other in an axially fixed manner pressure forming the first end portion of the second component. (Page 1, Lines 83-86)
Re claim 21, Gladstone as modified teaches wherein the second component (22) includes a groove (26) which extends circumferentially through the second component, wherein the bulge radially engages the groove to form the axially fixed connection.
Re claim 24, Gladstone as modified teaches actuating device for a brake system, comprising: a displaceable axial force transmitter (14) that can be coupled or is coupled to a brake pedal (10); wherein the axial force transmitter including: an elongate first component including a sleeve portion (24), and an elongate second component (22), wherein a first end portion of the second component axially protrudes into the sleeve portion, and the sleeve portion and the first end portion of the second component are connected to each other in an axially fixed manner. Gladstone does not explicitly teach pressure forming the sleeve portion. This limitation is a product-by-process. Product-by-process limitations are not limited to the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. The sleeve portion is capable of forming by pressure forming. (Fig. 2)
Re claim 25, Gladstone as modified teaches wherein the second component (22) is arranged at least in portions in a sleeve-shaped housing portion (28) of the actuating device, and wherein the sleeve portion of the first component (24) is sized such that it can be pushed into the housing portion.
Re claim 29, Gladstone teaches a method for producing an axial force transmitter, comprising the following steps: providing an elongate first component (24) having a sleeve portion; providing an elongate second component (22); arranging the first component and the second component in such a way that a first end portion of the second component axially protrudes into the sleeve portion; and deforming the sleeve portion by means of pressure forming in such a way that the sleeve portion and the first end portion of the second component are connected to each other in an axially fixed manner wherein the sleeve portion comprises at least one deformed region; and wherein the at least one deformed region projects radially towards the first end portion of the second component and provides at least in part an axially fixed connection by radially engaging the first end portion of the second component.. (Fig. 2, Page 1, Lines 83-86, See above re claim 16.)
Gladstone does not teach wherein the second component includes an axial bore. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide an axial bore in the second component of Gladstone to reduce weight.
Re claim 30, Gladstone as modified teaches wherein the sleeve portion is simultaneously subjected to a pressing force for pressure forming at multiple locations that are evenly distributed in the circumferential direction of the sleeve portion. (Fig. 2, Page 1, Lines 83-86)
Claims 16, 17, 19, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basnett (GB 2347388).
Re claim 16, Basnett teaches an axial force transmitter for an actuating device of a brake system, comprising: an elongate first component including a sleeve portion (17); an elongate second component (18), wherein a first end portion of the second component axially protrudes into the sleeve portion, and the sleeve portion and the first end portion of the second component are connected to each other in an axially fixed manner. (Fig. 2)
Basnet does not teach pressure forming of the sleeve portion. The limitation is a product-by-process. Product-by-process limitations are not limited to the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. The sleeve portion is capable of forming by pressure forming.
Basnett does not teach wherein the second component includes an axial bore. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide an axial bore in the second component of Basnett to reduce weight.
Re claim 17, Basnett as modified teaches wherein the sleeve portion (17) includes at least one radially inwardly projecting bulge (28) for forming the axially fixed connection.
Re claim 19, Basnett as modified teaches wherein the first end portion of the second component and the sleeve portion are connected to each other in an axially fixed manner. Basnett does not disclose pressure forming of the first end portion of the second component. The limitation is a product-by-process. Product-by-process limitations are not limited to the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. The first end portion of the second component is capable of forming by pressure forming.
Re claim 22, Basnett as modified teaches wherein an end face of the second component (18) axially abuts against a bottom axially delimiting the sleeve portion (17).
Re claim 24, Basnett teaches an actuating device for a brake system, comprising: a displaceable axial force transmitter that can be coupled or is coupled to a brake pedal (13); wherein the axial force transmitter including: an elongate first component including a sleeve portion (17), and an elongate second component (18), wherein a first end portion of the second component axially protrudes into the sleeve portion, the sleeve portion and the first end portion of the second component are connected to each other in an axially fixed manner, the sleeve portion comprises at least one deformed region; and the at least one deformed region projects radially towards the first end portion of the second component and provides at least in part an axially fixed connection by radially engaging the first end portion of the second component. (See above re claim 16)
Basnet does not teach pressure forming of the sleeve portion. The limitation is a product-by-process. Product-by-process limitations are not limited to the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. The sleeve portion is capable of forming by pressure forming.
Basnett does not teach wherein the second component includes an axial bore. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide an axial bore in the second component of Basnett to reduce weight.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 and 26-28 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gladstone does not teach the newly added limitation which recites “wherein the sleeve portion comprises at least one deformed region; wherein the at least one deformed region projects radially towards the first end portion of the second component and provides at least in part an axially fixed connection by radially engaging the first end portion of the second component”. Applicant appears to argue that the limitations recited are not met due to the functions taught by Gladstone. Gladstone teaches wherein the push rod is strong enough to transmit normal braking forces. The examiner maintains that this condition teaches the “axially fixed” connection and the condition allowing for telescopic collapse only under abnormal compressive forces does not preclude the normal operating structure and condition.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTW
May 19, 2026