DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination filed on 20 July 2026.
This office action is made Non Final.
Claim 14 has been amended.
All rejections as cited in the previous office action have been withdrawn as necessitated by the amendment.
Claims 14-21 are pending. Claims 14 is an independent claim.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al(US20150165080, 2015) in further view of Sun (US20210269164, EFD 2/28/2020)(Cited on IDS filed on 3/28/23) in further view of Read et al (US20200191458, 6/18/2020) in further view of Gopalkrishna et al (US20100205967, 2010)
As per independent claim 14, Park et al discloses a method comprising:
transmitting a decontamination activation signal of a device connected to an aircraft, the decontamination activation signal for an activation of a decontamination process of the aircraft air conditioning installation, (0048-0049; Claim 6: controller sends (directs operations) conditions/signal for decontamination; FIG 1B; 0039, 0044; 0046-0049: controller/dispenser connected to aircraft system comprising heater/blower; 0072 aircraft environmental system)
wherein, in response to receiving the decontamination activation signal, the aircraft air conditioning installation controls: (A) an operation of the aircraft air conditioning installation such that at least a partial region to be decontaminated of an air distribution system of an aircraft equipped with the aircraft air conditioning installation is heated to a decontamination temperature that is higher than an operating temperature of the at least partial region of the air distribution system during normal operation of the aircraft air conditioning installation (FIG 1B; 0007-0009, 0012, 0039, 0043, 0049-0050: ventilation system, comprising the air heater and air blower receives the instructions/commands/instructions from the controller. Thus, the air heater of the aircraft heats temperature higher to denomination temperature and air blower of the aircraft blows it around)
(B) the operation of the aircraft air conditioning installation for the decontamination of at least a partial region of the air distribution system as a function of an ambient temperature. (0043: discloses air is removed from the aircraft, heated by an air heater and the heated air is blown back into the aircraft via air blower. One of a skilled artisan would have realized that the air being removed from the aircraft is at a current/first (lower) temperature before reaching the heater. The temperature of the removed air is a form of an ambient temperature since it’s the current temperature within the interior aircraft environment. 0062: discloses the decontamination process of the aircraft begins by blowing/flowing air at certain temperature (T1) into the aircraft compartment. 0062 discloses temperature (T1) is higher than the room temperature. Therefore, based on the combination of 0043 and 0062, Park discloses taking the current air temperature (e.g. initial temperature, such as room temperature) of the removed air and heating the removed air to a higher temperature (e.g. temperature T1). Thus, the initial temperature of the air originally within the aircraft (a form of ambient temperature) is heated to a new temperature. Therefore, the ambient temperature is factored into the distribution of the heated air for the decontamination process. )
However, the cited art fails to specifically disclose determining whether a compressor of the aircraft air condition installing is able to heat to the decontamination temperature; the operation of the aircraft air conditioning installation for the decontamination… determining that the compressor is unable to heat to the decontamination temperature, provide air at an increased air temperature to the compressor to enable the compressor to heat to the decontamination temperature. However, Sun et al discloses mixing recirculated air with high temperature engine bleed air in a high temperature mixing chamber resulting in a created a mixed gas having a higher temperature that results in effective sterilization. (0048; Claim 1) This high temperature bleed air combination gas/heat is then provided to the compressor such that the temperature of the mixed gas further increases. The temperature increases and sterilization is performed on harmful bacteria and viruses in the gas Thus, Sun et al discloses heated/increased air temperature is provided to the compressor wherein the compressor further heats the mixed gas to a higher temperature for sterilization. (form of the decontamination temperature) (0050; Claim 1)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the cited art with the cited feature(s) of Sun since it would have provided the benefit of enhancing the air quality of the aircraft cabin supply air, inhibiting the transmissibility of aircraft cabin viruses, and ensuring the health and safety of aircraft passengers and crew on board(0005)
Furthermore, as explained, the compressor in Sun receives heated/increased air temperature in order to further heat the mixed gas to a higher temperature for sterilization. Thus, since Sun discloses the compressor is provided with heated/increased air temperature then one of a skilled artisan would have realized that the compressor was unable to heat the decontamination temperature and needed assistance. Thus, Sun discloses the determination of whether the compressor is able to heat to the decontamination temperature and receives additional heated air at a increased temperature in response.
However, cited art fails to disclose that the additional heat/increased air temperature is needed because of the cold ambient temperature. In other words, the cited art fails to specifically disclose the operation…as a function of an ambient temperature including: when an ambient temperature corresponds to at least a cold ambient temperature, determining that the compressor of the aircraft air conditioning installation is unable to heat to the decontamination temperature (due to the cold ambient temperature). However, Read et al discloses when a heat pump (compressor) is unable to provide adequate heat when the outside air temperature (ambient temperate) is too cold, additional heat is provided. In other words, Read et al provided discloses when the ambient temperature is too low and the heat pump is unable to provide adequate heart, auxiliary heat is obtained for heating spaces. (0031) One of a skilled artisan would have realized that if the heat pump is unable to provide adequate heat, then the heat pump is unable to heat at a certain temperature. Thus, Read also discloses whether a compressor is able to heat to certain temperature and unable to heat at that certain temperature.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the cited art with the cited feature(s) of Read since it would have provided the intrinsic advantage of assisting the compressor/heat pump in getting to the set temperature when the compressor/heat pump has difficulty doing so.
Thus, Read et al in conjunction with Park et al and Sun et al, the combination of the cited art teaches the determining whether a compressor of the aircraft air conditioning installation is able to heat to a decontamination temperature and the operation of the aircraft air conditioning installation for the decontamination of at least a partial region of the air distribution system as a function of an ambient temperature including when an ambient temperature corresponds to at least a cold ambient temperature, determining that the a compressor is unable to heat to the decontamination temperature,… provide air at an increased air temperature to the compressor to enable the compressor to heat to the decontamination temperature.
Furthermore, the cited art fails to specifically disclose when an ambient temperature corresponds to at least a cold ambient temperature, controlling at least one upstream component of the aircraft air conditioning installation to provide air at an increased temperature to the compressor to enable the compressor to heat to the decontamination temperature. However, Gopalkrishna et al discloses that under/during cold ambient conditions, the temperature of inlet air, to an upstream component of the compressor of the turbine engine, increased. (0025, 0043) FIG 1 and 0025, 0043 shows the air being heated, to a higher temperature, prior to the to an upstream of the compressor. One of a skilled artisan would have realized the provided warmer air would enable the compressor to heat the air to a higher temperature.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the cited art with the cited feature(s) of Gopalkrishna et al since it would have provided the intrinsic advantage of ice buildup, protects equipment from damage, and keeps the system running efficiently when the air temperature drops very low allowing the compressor to do its job with better thermodynamic efficiency.
Thus, Gopalkrishna et al in conjunction with the cited art, the combination of the cited art teaches the determining whether a compressor of the aircraft air conditioning installation is able to heat to a decontamination temperature and the operation of the aircraft air conditioning installation for the decontamination of at least a partial region of the air distribution system as a function of an ambient temperature including when an ambient temperature corresponds to at least a cold ambient temperature, determining that the a compressor is unable to heat to the decontamination temperature, controlling at least one upstream component of the aircraft air conditioning installation to provide air at an increased temperature to the compressor to enable the compressor to heat to the decontamination temperature.
As per dependent claim 15, Park et al discloses wherein the aircraft air conditioning installation further controls the operation of the aircraft air conditioning installation such that the decontamination temperature is maintained for a defined period of time in the at least one partial region to be decontaminated of the air distribution system (0032: dispensing and air flowing operations are specifically timed; maintaining temperature; FIG 5: temperature is maintained between t0-t2 and t3-t4)
As per dependent claim 16, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein to activate a decontamination of a bleed air system of the air distribution system, a bleed air system decontamination activation signal is transmitted to the aircraft air conditioning installation, and wherein the aircraft air conditioning installation controls the operation of the bleed air system of the aircraft air conditioning installation in response to receiving the bleed air system decontamination activation signal such that the bleed air system of the air distribution system is heated to a decontamination temperature that is higher than the operating temperature of the bleed air system during normal operation of the aircraft air conditioning installation. However, based on the rejection of Claim 14 and the rationale, along with the motivation, incorporated, Sun discloses an ultra-high-temperature sterilization recirculated air device is added (form of a maintenance control device being added) on the basis of a traditional aircraft air conditioning system to perform ultra-high-temperature sterilization on the recirculated air of the aircraft air conditioning system. (Abstract) 0014 discloses under normal operation conditions of the recirculated air is mixed with cooled engine bleed air fresh air in the mixing chamber through the ordinary recirculated airline, and the mixed gas is supplied to a cabin. 0038 discloses the mixed fresh air cannot be effectively killed and inactivated. 0015 when the ordinary recirculated airline valve is closed, the ultra-high-temperature sterilization recirculated airline valve is opened, and the primary heat exchanger bypass valve is opened, the recirculated air is heated by the heater and then mixed with the high-temperature engine bleed air in the high-temperature injection mixing chamber under the injection action of the injector in the mixing chamber, so that the mixed gas has higher temperature. 0047 discloses the recirculated air enters the ultra-high-temperature sterilization recirculated airline and then is heated by the heater, so that the temperature increases and preliminary sterilization is performed on harmful bacteria and viruses in the gas. Thus, Sun discloses the bleed air temperature is hotter when ultra-high-temperature sterilization recirculated air is used when compared to the recirculated air is mixed with cooled engine bleed air fresh air. In addition, one of a skilled artisan would have realized that the opening and closing of values had to be activated by an input signal.
As per dependent claim 17, based on the rejection of Claims 14 and 16 and the rationale, along with the motivation, incorporated, Sun discloses wherein the decontamination of the bleed air system is controlled by a group consisting of: the aircraft air conditioning installation, or wherein the bleed air system decontamination activation signal is forwarded to the aircraft air conditioning installation, or wherein the bleed air system of the air distribution system is heated to a decontamination temperature between and including 220°C to 240 °C, or a primary heat exchanger, connected to a bleed air line, of the aircraft air conditioning installation is selectively included in a process for decontaminating the bleed air system or is excluded from this process, or any combination thereof. (Table 1: bleed air temperature between 220-240°C; 0015: primary heat exchanger used)
As per dependent claim 18, based on the rejection of Claims 14 and 16 and the rationale, along with the motivation incorporated, Sun discloses wherein to activate a decontamination of a compressor region of the air distribution system, a compressor region decontamination activation signal is transmitted to the aircraft air conditioning installation, and wherein the aircraft air conditioning installation controls the operation of a compressor of the aircraft air conditioning installation in response to receiving the compressor region decontamination activation signal such that the compressor region of the air distribution system is heated to a decontamination temperature that is higher than the operating temperature of the compressor region during normal operation of the aircraft air conditioning installation (0015,0044: The mixed gas enters the compressor through the primary heat exchanger bypass to be compressed by the compressor such that the temperature of the mixed gas further increases; thus higher than before. One of a skilled artisan would have realized that in order for this functionality to occur, a signal had to be initiated for the functionality to occur, such as from the ultra-high-temperature sterilization recirculated air device)
As per dependent claim 20, Park et al discloses wherein to activate a decontamination of a conditioned air supply system of the air distribution system, a conditioned air supply system decontamination activation signal is transmitted to the control system of the aircraft air conditioning installation, and (0048-0049; Claim 6:: controller sends (directs operations) conditions/signal for decontamination)
wherein in response to receiving the conditioned air supply system decontamination activation signal, the aircraft air conditioning installation controls the operation of an air conditioning pack of the aircraft air conditioning installation connected to the conditioned air supply system of the air distribution system, the operation of at least one trim air valve situated in the conditioned air supply system of the air distribution system, or wherein the operation of at least one recirculation air blower situated in the conditioned air supply system of the air distribution system such that the conditioned air supply system of the air distribution system is heated to a decontamination temperature that is higher than the operating temperature of the conditioned air supply system during normal operation of the aircraft air conditioning installation. (FIG 1B; 0007-0009, 0039, 0043, 0049: heated air at a first temperature is flown into the aircraft and blown around (0007, 0039)(form of a conditioned air supply) Then, the air heater of the aircraft heats the air temperature higher to the decontamination temperature and air blower of the aircraft blows it around.)
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al in further view of Sun in further view of Read et al in further view of Gopalkrishna et al in further view of Dreibine et al (US20220242579, EFD 2/2/2019)
As per dependent claim 19, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein the decontamination of the compressor region is controlled by a group consisting of: the aircraft air conditioning installation, or wherein the compressor region decontamination activation signal is forwarded to the aircraft air conditioning installation, or wherein the compressor region of the air distribution system is heated to a decontamination temperature of between and including 210°C to 230 °C, or wherein the compressor region includes a main heat exchanger of the aircraft air conditioning installation, connected to an outlet of the compressor or any combination thereof.
However, Dreibine et al discloses the compressor also comprises an air outlet fluidically connected to a main cooling exchanger, also referred to by the acronym MHX (main heat exchanger) throughout the following, which is arranged in the channel for the circulation of ram air drawn from outside the aircraft. (0073)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the cited art with the cited feature(s) of Dreibine et al since it would have provided the benefit of uniformly distributing the air flows to improve the heat exchange between the primary circuit and the secondary circuit. (0075)
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al in further view of Sun in further view of Read et al in further view of Gopalkrishna et al in further view of Yap et al (“A predictive model of the temperature-dependent inactivation of coronaviruses”, 8/11/2020, 5 pages )
As per dependent claim 21, the cited art fails to specifically disclose wherein the decontamination of the conditioned air supply system is controlled the aircraft air conditioning installation, or both, or wherein the conditioned air supply system decontamination activation signal is forwarded to aircraft air conditioning installation, or wherein the conditioned air supply system of the air distribution system is heated to a decontamination temperature between and including 60°C to 80 °C, or wherein the decontamination temperature in the conditioned air supply system of the air distribution system is determined as a function of an allowable maximum temperature of conditioned air conducted into an avionics region of the aircraft cabin, or any combination thereof. However, Yap et al discloses wherein the decontamination of the conditioned air supply system is controlled by the pack control device, or the central zone control device of the control system of the aircraft air conditioning installation, or both, or wherein the conditioned air supply system decontamination activation signal output by the maintenance control device is forwarded by the central zone control device of the control system of the aircraft air conditioning installation to the pack control device of the control system of the aircraft air conditioning installation, or wherein the conditioned air supply system of the air distribution system is heated to a decontamination temperature of about 60 to 80 °C, or wherein the decontamination temperature in the conditioned air supply system of the air distribution system is determined as a function of an allowable maximum temperature of conditioned air conducted into an avionics region of the aircraft cabin, or any combination thereof. (Abstract, page 4: Table 1: discloses the decontamination temperatures for deactivating virus begins at 60°C)
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to have modified the cited art with the cited feature(s) of Yap et al since it would have provided the benefit of enable a fundamental understanding of their thermal degradation that will help model virus pandemics and mitigate future outbreaks along with accurately predicting the temperature-dependent inactivation of coronaviruses. (Abstract)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 14 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground(s) of rejection(s) since the new ground(s) of rejection(s) was necessitated by Applicant's amendment.
Conclusion
If the Applicant chooses to amend the claims in future filings, the Examiner kindly states any new limitation(s) added to the claims must be described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art in order to meet the written description requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph. To help expedite prosecution, promote compact prosecution and prevent a possible 112(a)/first paragraph rejection, the Examiner respectfully requests for each new limitation added to the claims in a future filing by the Applicant that the Applicant would cite the location within the specification showing support for that new limitation within the remarks. In addition, MPEP 2163.04(I)(B) states that a prima facie under 112(a)/first paragraph may be established if a claim has been added or amended, the support for the added limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where added the limitation is supported.
/ADAM M QUELER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2172
/D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2172