DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claims 1 and 16 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The applicant argues that Lee does not teach the membranes are immersed within AGS and it would not have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have the membranes of Lee in contact with AGS mixed liquor. Lee is no longer used in the current rejection. The rejection is now made in view of Fraser and Ali et al (WO 2020/104944). Ali teaches a membrane bio-reactor unit (submerged gravity-driven membrane) downstream of a AGS reactor (see pg. 3 lines 19-21, fig. 1) wherein the immersed membranes are immersed within the AGS mixed liquor (overflow) within the membrane tank (see fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 16-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (CA 3074480 ) in view of Ali et al (WO 2021/104944).
Regarding Claim 1:
Fraser teaches the wastewater treatment system, comprising: a flow through activated granular sludge (AGS) reactor (ballasted reactor when ballast is activated sludge granules) (see para. 0015, 0008), comprising: a first adsorption zone (first zone) that receives a wastewater input and AGS granules (heavy solid effluent is recycled into basin, therefore the granules are returned) (see para. 0019, 0061, fig. 1); a first unaerated zone, wherein the first unaerated zone is downstream of the first adsorption zone, wherein the first unaerated zone is under anaerobic, anoxic, or both anaerobic and anoxic conditions (second zone under anoxic conditions); a first aerated zone (third zone), wherein the first aerated zone is downstream of the first unaerated zone, wherein the first aerated zone is under aerobic conditions; a second unaerated zone (fourth zone), wherein the second unaerated zone is downstream of the first aerated zone, wherein the second unaerated zone is under anaerobic, anoxic, or both anaerobic and anoxic conditions; and a second aerated zone (fifth zone to re-aerate), wherein the second aerated zone is downstream of the second unaerated zone, wherein the flow through AGS reactor produces and discharges an AGS mixed liquor (see para. 0019, fig. 2); and a membrane bio-reactor unit (barrier separation unit when barrier separation unit is an MBR) (see para. 0012, 0041) downstream of the flow through AGS reactor that receives the AGS mixed liquor discharged from the flow through AGS reactor, wherein the membrane bio-reactor unit filters the AGS mixed liquor by separating the AGS granules from the AGS mixed liquor and producing a clarified permeate passing through the one or more membranes (clarified effluent is further cleaned to remove solids) (see para. 0005).
Fraser does not explicitly teach the membrane bio- reactor unit comprising one or more immersed membranes within a membrane tank.
Ali teaches the membrane bio-reactor unit (GDM) downstream of the flow through AGS reactor that receives the AGS mixed liquor (overflow) discharged from the flow through AGS reactor (see pg. 5 lines 7-10), the membrane bio- reactor unit comprising one or more immersed membranes within a membrane tank (GDM tank 120) (see pg. 9 lines 10-16, fig. 1), wherein the one or more immersed membranes are immersed within the AGS mixed liquor within the membrane tank (see fig. 1), and wherein the membrane bio-reactor unit filters the AGS mixed liquor by separating the AGS granules from the AGS mixed liquor and producing a clarified permeate (treated effluent 170) passing through the one or more immersed membranes (see fig. 1).
Fraser and Ali are analogous inventions in the art of wastewater treatment systems. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the unspecified MBR of Fraser with the immersed (submerged) membrane bioreactor of Ali because it is the simple substitution of one membrane bioreactor type with another membrane bioreactor tank, obviously resulting in the separation of solids and clarified water, with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding Claim 2:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 1, wherein the AGS granules are introduced to the wastewater in the first adsorption zone (return line to reactor) (see Fraser fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 1, further comprising at least one mixing device (mixing device 90) within at least one of the unaerated zones of the flow through AGS reactor, wherein the at least one mixing device can be turned on or off (see Fraser para. 0057, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 1, further comprising at least one aeration device (oxygen sources) within at least one of the aerated zones of the flow through AGS reactor (see Fraser fig. 2, para. 0057).
Regarding Claim 5:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 1, wherein a ballast material is introduced to the wastewater in the first adsorption zone (added to the influent) (see Fraser para. 0059).
Regarding Claim 6:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 5, wherein the AGS granules comprise the ballast material (see Fraser para. 0050).
Regarding Claim 7:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 1, further comprising a selector zone, wherein the selector zone (high rate solids removal zone 50) (see para. 0061, fig. 2) is downstream of the flow through AGS reactor and upstream of the membrane bio-reactor unit, and wherein the selector zone separates the AGS granules and/or a ballast material from the AGS mixed liquor (see Fraser para. 0061, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 8:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 7, wherein separated granules and/or ballast material (heavy solids) are reintroduced in the first adsorption zone of the flow through AGS reactor (see Fraser para. 0061, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 9:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 1,further comprising an excess flow unit, wherein the excess flow unit (high rate solids removal zone) is downstream of the flow through AGS reactor and separate from the membrane bio-reactor unit, and wherein a portion of the wastewater flows to the excess flow unit (see Fraser para. 0061, fig. 2). It is noted that the claims do not require the excess flow unit to be in parallel to the membrane bio-reactor only “separate”. As the high rate solid removal unit is a distinct zone from the membrane bio-reactor, they are “separate”.
Regarding Claim 10:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 1,further comprising two or more flow through AGS reactors operating in parallel (see Fraser para. 0063, fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 11:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 1,wherein the flow through AGS reactor is a multi-pass flow through reactor (solid effluent is returned, therefore it passed though the reactor multiple times). The term “multi-pass” is not defined by the specification, therefore it is interpreted as being open to any recirculating flow.
Regarding Claim 12:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 1, wherein the membrane bio-reactor unit comprises an aeration system (second air blower 109B) (see Ali pg. 19 lines 14-15) fig. 1, para. 0036).
Regarding Claim 13:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 1.
Fraser does not explicitly teach two or more membrane bio-reactor units operating in parallel. Fraser further teaches two or more high rate removal units can be discharged to further downstream processes (see Fraser para. 0063). Therefore it would have been obvious to include two or more parallel membrane bio-reactor units when two or more high rate removal units are used because it is a simple duplication of parts, obviously resulting in an increase in the capacity for the system, with an expectation of success. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 16:
Fraser teaches the method of treating wastewater in a wastewater treatment system comprising: treating the wastewater in a flow through activated granular sludge (AGS) reactor (ballasted reactor when ballast is activated sludge granules) (see para. 0015, 0008), comprising:(a) introducing the wastewater and AGS granules to an adsorption zone of the flow through AGS reactor (added to the influent) (see Fraser para. 0059); (b) subsequent to step (a), distributing the wastewater to a first unaerated zone of the flow through AGS reactor, wherein the first unaerated zone is downstream of the adsorption zone, wherein the first unaerated zone is under anaerobic, anoxic, or both anaerobic and anoxic conditions; (c) subsequent to step (b), distributing the wastewater to a first aerated zone of the flow through AGS reactor, wherein the first aerated zone is downstream of the first unaerated zone, wherein the first aerated zone is under aerobic conditions; (d) subsequent to step (c), distributing the wastewater to a second unaerated zone of the flow through AGS reactor, wherein the second unaerated zone is downstream of the first aerated zone, wherein the second unaerated zone is under anaerobic, anoxic, or both anaerobic and anoxic conditions; and (e) subsequent to step (d), distributing the wastewater to a second aerated zone of the flow through AGS reactor, wherein the second aerated zone is downstream of the second unaerated zone, wherein the second aerated zone is under aerated conditions (see para. 0019, fig. 2); (f) outputting from the flow through AGS reactor an AGS mixed liquor (ballasted mixed liquor effluent) (see para. 0008); and treating the AGS mixed liquor in a membrane bio-reactor unit (barrier separation unit when barrier separation unit is an MBR) (see para. 0012, 0041), comprising: (a1) distributing the AGS mixed liquor to the membrane bio-reactor unit (see para. 0012), and (b1) subsequent to step (a1), filtering the AGS mixed liquor in the membrane bio-reactor unit to produce a clarified permeate.
Fraser does not explicitly teach wherein the membrane bio-reactor unit comprises one or more immersed membranes within a membrane tank.
Ali teaches a membrane bio-reactor unit comprises one or more immersed membranes within a membrane tank, wherein the one or more immersed membranes are immersed within the AGS mixed liquor within the membrane tank (GDM tank 120) (see pg. 9 lines 10-16, fig. 1) and filtering the AGS mixed liquor in the membrane bio-reactor unit by separating the AGS granules from the AGS mixed liquor and producing to produce a clarified permeate (treated effluent) passing through the one or more immersed membranes (see fig. 1).
Fraser and Ali are analogous inventions in the art of wastewater treatment systems. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the unspecified MBR of Fraser with the immersed (submerged) membrane bioreactor of Ali because it is the simple substitution of one membrane bioreactor type with another membrane bioreactor tank, obviously resulting in the separation of solids and clarified water, with an expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding Claim 17:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the AGS granules are introduced to the wastewater in the adsorption zone (added to the influent) (see Fraser para. 0059).
Regarding Claim 18:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising mixing (has a mixing device) the wastewater in the unaerated zones of the flow through AGS reactor (see Fraser para. 0057, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 19:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising aerating the aerated zones of the flow through reactor (see Fraser fig. 2, para. 0057).
Regarding Claim 20:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising introducing a ballast material to the wastewater in the adsorption zone (added to the influent) (see Fraser para. 0059).
Regarding Claim 21:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the AGS granules comprises the ballast material (see Fraser para. 0050).
Regarding Claim 22:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising separating the AGS granules and/or a ballast material from the AGS mixed liquor (high rate solids removal zone 50) (see para. 0061, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 23:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 22, further comprising reintroducing the AGS granules and/or ballast material (heavy solids) to the adsorption zone of the flow through AGS reactor (see Fraser para. 0061, fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 24:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising distributing a portion of the wastewater to an excess flow unit (high rate solids removal) (see Fraser para. 0061, fig. 2). It is noted that the claims do not require the excess flow unit to be in parallel to the membrane bio-reactor. As the high rate solid removal unit is a distinct zone from the membrane bio-reactor, it is considered to be an excess flow unit.
Regarding Claim 25:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the wastewater treatment system comprises two or more flow through AGS reactors operating in parallel, wherein each of the flow through AGS reactors treats the wastewater pursuant to steps (a)-(e) of claim 16 to generate AGS mixed liquor (see Fraser para. 0063, fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 26:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the flow through AGS reactor is a multi-pass AGS flow through reactor (solid effluent is returned, therefore it passed though the reactor multiple times). The term “multi-pass” is not defined by the specification, therefore it is interpreted as being open to any recirculating flow.
Regarding Claim 27:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising aerating the AGS mixed liquor in the membrane bio-reactor unit (second air blower 109B) (see Ali pg. 19 lines 14-15) fig. 1, para. 0036).
Regarding Claim 28:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16.
Fraser does not explicitly teach two or more membrane bio-reactor units operating in parallel. Fraser further teaches two or more high rate removal units can be discharged to further downstream processes (see Fraser para. 0063). Therefore it would have been obvious to include two or more parallel membrane bio-reactor units when two or more high rate removal units are used because it is a simple duplication of parts, obviously resulting in an increase in the capacity for the system, with an expectation of success. The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claim(s) 14, 15, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (CA 3074480 ) in view of Ali et al (WO 2020/104944) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Wett et al (US 2015/0376043).
Regarding Claim 14:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 1.
Fraser does not teach the system further comprising at least one return activated sludge selector unit downstream of the membrane bio-reactor unit, wherein the at least one return activated sludge selector unit is adapted to separate the AGS granules and/or a ballast material from a discharge of the membrane bio-reactor unit.
Wett teaches a return activated sludge selector unit (selector) downstream of a separate separation unit (see fig. 4, 0079), wherein the at least one return activated sludge selector unit is adapted to separate the AGS granules and/or ballast material from a discharge of the membrane bio-reactor unit (see fig. 4, para. 0079, 0078). Wett further teaches that the selector can be placed upstream or downstream of the other separation unit (see figs. 3 and 4, para. 0078 and 0079).
Fraser, and Wett are analogous inventions in the art of wastewater treatment systems. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to add the return activated sludge selector unit of Wett downstream of the membrane bio-reactor of Fraser because gravimetric separation improves the recycling of phosphorous removing granules (see Wett para. 0078).
Regarding Claim 15:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the wastewater treatment system of claim 14, wherein separated granules and/or ballast material from the at least one return activated sludge selector unit is reintroduced to the flow through AGS reactor (see Wett, fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 29:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 16.
Fraser does not teach the method further comprising subjecting an output of the membrane bio-reactor unit to a return activated sludge separation process to recover AGS granules and/or a ballast material.
Wett teaches a return activated sludge selector unit (selector) downstream of a separate separation unit (see fig. 4, 0079), wherein the at least one return activated sludge selector unit is adapted to separate the AGS granules and/or ballast material from a discharge of the membrane bio-reactor unit (see fig. 4, para. 0079, 0078). Wett further teaches that the selector can be placed upstream or downstream of the other separation unit (see figs. 3 and 4, para. 0078 and 0079).
Fraser, and Wett are analogous inventions in the art of wastewater treatment. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to subject the output of the membrane bioreactor of Fraser to the return activated sludge selector unit of Wett because gravimetric separation improves the recycling of phosphorous removing granules (see Wett para. 0078).
Regarding Claim 30:
Fraser, as modified, teaches the method of claim 29, further comprising introducing the AGS granules and/or ballast material that were recovered in the return activated sludge separation process to the flow through AGS reactor (see Wett, fig. 4).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE A NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 1/21/2026