DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 3/3/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2, 7 and 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The examiner notes that claim 7 is dependent upon claim 2 which is one of the non-elected groups and was included in group I as a typo. Therefore, claim 7 is going to be considered to be part of Group II and is considered to be withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2021/0053056, hereinafter Dudokovic.
Regarding claim 1, Dudokovic teaches a cell culture vessel (figure 6) comprising a plurality of compartments (each of the tessellated cells as seen in figure 6) each having a corresponding three-dimensional shape (figure 6) and each configured to be able to retain therein an aqueous liquid by surface tension (figure 6, the liquid is contained in some of the tessellated cells), wherein any adjacent compartments out of the plurality of compartments communicate with each other (paragraph [0027).
Regarding claim 3, Dudokovic teaches wherein the cell culture vessel has an external form having a polyhedral shape (figure 6), said cell culture vessel further comprising a window part (the opening in each of the tessellated cells which face outwards) which is light-transmissive (figure 6) and which is provided so as to be located at positions that correspond to a respective plurality of faces out of faces of the polyhedral shape (figure 6).
Regarding claim 5, Dudokovic teaches wherein the plurality of compartments are placed side by side in at least two directions selected from an X direction, a Y direction, and a Z direction (figure 6).
Regarding claim 6, Dudokovic teaches wherein the plurality of compartments are surrounded by a framework corresponding to sides of a hexahedron.
Regarding claim 8, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Dudokovic and the apparatus of Dudokovic is capable of having at least some of the plurality of compartments filled with a gel composition including a cell or cell tissue. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Dudokovic (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 9, these limitations are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Dudokovic and the apparatus of Dudokovic is capable of having at least some of the plurality of compartments filled with two or more types of the gel composition. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Dudokovic (see MPEP §2114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudokovic in view of United States Application Publication No. 2019/0002812, hereinafter Hagiwara and United States Application Publication No. 2008/0068707, hereinafter Goodman.
Regarding claim 4, Dudokovic teaches wherein the cell culture vessel has an external form having a polyhedral shape (figure 6).
However, Dudokovic fails to teach said cell culture vessel further comprising a shaft part which extends, from any of vertices of the polyhedral shape, outward in a direction that is not parallel to any of lines normal to faces of the polyhedral shape.
Hagiwara teaches a cell culture vessel which utilizes a pair of tweezers which extends, from any of vertices of the polyhedral shape, outward in a direction that is not parallel to any of lines normal to faces of the polyhedral shape (Hagiwara, figure 6).
Goodman teaches that tweezers can be used to manually move a grid from one solution or treatment to the next (Goodman, paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a pair of tweezers (shaft part) which extends, from any of vertices of the polyhedral shape, outward in a direction that is not parallel to any of lines normal to faces of the polyhedral shape because it would allow for the cell culture vessel to be manually moved from one solution or treatment to the next (Goodman, paragraph [0056]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796