DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a final action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1-8 are pending in this application.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8 are original.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 30 Jun. 2026 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (US 9,482,618 B2; issued 1 Nov. 2016), in view of Zhou et al. (Anal. Bioanal. Chem.; published 5 Jul. 2019) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 31 Mar. 2026.
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (US 9,482,618 B2; issued 1 Nov. 2016), in view of Zhou et al. (Anal. Bioanal. Chem.; published 5 Jul. 2019), in further view of Kuo et al. (J. Phys. Chem.; published 2018) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 31 Mar. 2026.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that Zhou does not teach a configuration in which the interior of the nanogap is filled with β-CD and a Raman active material. Rather, Zhou discloses β-CD as a functional group attached to the outer surface of Ag@Fe3O4@Ag nanoparticles. β-CD is located on the outer surface of the nanoparticles and functions to capture BBP. Nowhere in Zhou provide suggests relocating β-CD from the particle surface into a nanogap. The substance captured by β-CD in Zhou is primarily BBP and Zhou discloses that β-CD and BBP are in a host guest relationship. Zhou merely uses MG as a SERS probe molecule to evaluate the sensitivity of reproducibility of SERS-active substrate. The function of the β-CD in Zhou is fundamentally different from the function of the material located in the nanogap of Suh. In Suh the polymer located in the nanogap of Suh serves as a spacer for nanogap formation. Zhou does not remedy the deficiencies of Suh with respect to the claimed method for synthesizing nanoparticles recited in claim 6. Zhou does not teach or suggest the claimed sequence of steps. Zhou first prepares an Ag@Fe3O4@Ag particle, then modifies the outer surface of the particle with β-CD, and finally exposes the resulting structure to a BBP-containing sample. Kou does not remedy the deficiencies of Suh and Zhou.
Applicant's arguments filed 30 Jun. 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Suh provides for a nanoparticle comprising all of a Au core and Au shell structure covering the core structure and separated from the core structure by a nanogap and wherein a Raman active molecule is provided on the surface of the core structure and fills the nanogap. Regarding the spacer molecule that helps form the nanogap, Suh exemplifies a thiol or sulfhydryl modified oligonucleotide spacer molecule and also contemplates range of polymer material as a spacer molecule. Regarding the Raman active material, at col. 7, Suh teaches organic Raman active material including malachite green isothiocyanate. Regarding the location of the Raman active material, in one embodiment, Suh teaches and suggests the Raman active material attached to the oligonucleotide whereby ensuring the at the Raman active molecule is located intra gap allowing a Raman signal with the highest uniformity and reproducibility. However, this embodiment would have been expected to require chemical modification of the spacer molecule and/or Raman active molecule whereby increasing complexity and limiting the scope of the Raman active molecules. Zhou provides for HS-β-CD functionalized Ag@Fe3O4@Ag nanoparticles and Zhou teaches surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy. In this case, Zhou teaches the advantageous covalent attachment of HS-β-CD as linker or spacer molecule to the surface Ag@Fe3O4@Ag nanoparticles for purpose of capturing hydrophobic molecules. According to Zhou, β-CD can encapsulate a compound comparable in size with its cavity. β-CD has proven useful in Raman detection because CD is a weak Raman scatterer. At pg. 5696 and Fig. 2, Zhou describes the sensitivity and repeatable of SERS detection using MG, which is comparable in size to BBP, as a SERS probe to evaluate the sensitivity and effectiveness of the SERS substrate. A detection limit of 5x10-8 was achieved, demonstrating the substrate possesses high sensitivity. Zhou demonstrated the ability of Ag@Fe3O4@Ag/β-CD nanoparticles to capture by obtaining SERS spectra of BBP using Ag@Fe3O4@Ag and Ag@Fe3O4@Ag/β-CD. The β-CD modified substrate improves the detection limit of BBP by two orders of magnitude to 10-8. A recognized advantage is strongest reason to combine. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the nanoparticles of Suh so that the spacer molecule that helps form the nanogap is HS-β-CD/Raman active material with a reasonable expectation of success because that spacer molecule would have advantageously enable the capture of a wide range of hydrophobic chemical unmodified hydrophobic SERS probes including MG whereby advantageously positioning the SERS probe in the bandgap at a uniform distance providing Raman signal with the highest uniformity and reproducibility and advantageously without chemical modification of either the spacer molecule or the Raman probe.
Regarding the method of synthesizing a nanoparticle in claim 6, Suh provides and suggests a first step of attaching a spacer molecule onto the surface of a core structure to for a modified core structure, a second step of attaching a Raman active material, and a third step of synthesizing a shell structure on the surface of the modified core structure with the Raman active material and wherein the nanogap filled with Raman active material is provided between the core structure and the shell structure. In view of Zhou, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Suh by attaching a macrocyclic host molecule onto the surface of a core structure to form an unmodified core structure and then insert the Raman active molecule into the macrocyclic host molecule before synthesizing the shell structure because that method would have been expected to enable facile attachment of a chemically unmodified Raman active material into the nanogap to provide a Raman signal with the highest uniformity and reproducibility.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,482,618 B2, in view of Suh et al. (US 9,482,618 B2; issued 1 Nov. 2016), Zhou et al. (Anal. Bioanal. Chem.; published 5 Jul. 2019) and Kuo et al. (J. Phys. Chem.; published 2018) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 31 Mar. 2026.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that claims 1-8 are patently distinct and not rendered obvious by the combination of Suh, Zhou, and Kuo for at least the reasons discussed above.
Applicant's arguments filed 30 Jun. 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The ‘618 patent claims the nanoparticles described above in Suh. The combination of Suh, Zhou, and Kuo were not found deficient for the reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618