DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 19-24, 29, 32, 40, 42-44, 59, 60, and 62-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about 5% to about 25%” in claims 19, 20, and 42 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “generally” and “relative” in claim 3 are relative terms that render the claim indefinite. The term “generally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what constitutes a “generally straight” or “generally arched” sensor and to what degree the sensors are relative to the central region.
Claims 21-24, 32, 40, 43-44, 59, 60, and 62-63 are rejected due to dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amir et al. (US 20180192951 A1, as cited by applicant’s IDS filed 03/28/2023), hereinafter Amir in view of Khine et al. (US 20170086709 A1), hereinafter Khine.
Regarding claim 1, Amir discloses a fetal monitoring system (title) comprising: a garment configured to be work by a pregnant woman ([0019]: “fetal monitoring system that can be comfortably worn by a monitored pregnant woman, by wearing a special garment,”); a plurality of sensors positioned or positionable in a predetermined arrangement on the garment to be over the abdomen of the pregnant woman (Fig 1 element 210, [0022]: “textile electrodes, capable of detecting mechanical pressure imposed on the woman's abdomen, may be embedded into the garment”), and detection of movement of at least one of the pregnant movement or an in utero fetus within the abdomen of the pregnant woman ([0022]: “Thus, continuous monitoring of fetal heart rate and uterine contractions (CTG) can be achieved.”, wherein a contraction is movement), wherein the predetermined arrangement includes a central region and at least one of: a central sensor of the plurality of sensors positioned in the central region of the predetermined arrangement and multiple sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central sensor (Fig 2a-2c, wherein two rings of sensors are arranged around a central sensor); or a first portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more first distances and a second portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more second distances greater than the one or more first distances (Fig 2a-2c, wherein two rings of sensors are arranged around a central sensor); one or more conductive wires connecting each sensor of the plurality of sensors ([0106]: “The signals are then transferred via knitted conductive traces along the knitted fabric to an innovative device”); a communication module connected to at least one of the one or more conductive wires and configured to transmit data from the plurality of sensors ([0115]: “typically short range transmitter such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi, facilitating wireless communication between garment-processor 112 and remote-processor 310 of a mobile device 300.”); and a controller configured communicate with the communication module (Fig 5 element 110, [0104]: “includes a garment-control device 110 and preferably, a receiving device such as a mobile device 300, having a remote-processor 310, according to embodiments of the present invention.”), and receive the data from the plurality of sensors transmitted by the communication module ([0120]: “present invention preferably includes a mobile device 300, having a remote-processor 310. Remote-processor 310 receives sensed data from monitoring-garment 100, preferably, at least partially processed, and may further analyze the received data, as needed, and determines if a health hazardous situation, that justifies the issuing of a personal-alert has occurred.”, wherein the control device send the data for processing), and determine and/or distinguish movement sensed by one or more of the plurality of sensors as movement of the pregnant woman or movement of the in utero fetus ([0126]: “motion of the fetus within the mother's uterus, is detected”).
Amir fails to disclose the plurality of sensors includes a plurality of strain gauges configured to sense strain.
Khine discloses a fetal monitoring garment (abstract) including a plurality of strain gauges configured to sense strain ([0109]: “illustrate thin film metal strain gauges”) in order to detect movement of at least one of the pregnant woman or an in utero fetus ([0100]: “along with sensor apparatus 100 is to be worn on the abdomen and to respond to movements of the baby by generating a varying current”).
As Amir discloses a plurality of sensors to detect fetal movement ([0022]), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to substitute the known sensor disclosed by Amir with the known strain gauge as disclosed by Khine for the predictable result of detecting the movement of an in utero fetus.
Regarding claim 2, Amir further discloses wherein the predetermined arrangement includes at least the central sensor of the plurality of sensors positioned in the central region of the predetermined arrangement (Fig 2b central sensing element) and the multiple sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central sensor (Fig 2b elements 210).
Regarding claim 3, Amir further discloses wherein the central sensor is generally straight (Fig 2c central sensing element) and the multiple sensors are generally arched and concave relative to the central region (Fig 2c elements 214).
Regarding claim 4, Amir further discloses the multiple sensors include at least a first portion of the multiple sensors radially arranged around the central sensor and positioned equidistance from adjacent sensors of the first portion of sensors (Fig 2b first ring of sensors); the multiple sensors include the first portion of the multiple sensors radially arranged around the central sensor at one or more first distances (Fig 2b first ring of sensors) and a second portion of sensors of the multiple sensors radially arranged around the central sensor at one or more second distances greater than the one or more first distances (Fig 2b second ring of sensors); the second portion of sensors are arranged around the first portion of sensors such that at least one sensor of the second portion of sensors is positioned circumferentially between two sensors of the first portion of sensors (Fig 2b wherein the second sensors are between the first circumferentially); and the second portion of sensors includes: a first group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal first distance from the central sensor and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the first group of sensors (Fig 2b), each sensor of the first group of sensors being positioned circumferentially between two sensors of the first portion of sensors (Fig 2b); and a second group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal second distance from the central sensor and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the second group of sensors (Fig 2b), the substantially equal second distance being greater than the substantially equal first distance and the second group of sensors being radially aligned with the first portion of the sensors such that the first portion of sensors are between the central sensor and the second group of sensors (Fig 2b), wherein the first group of sensors and the second group of sensors are alternated in the second portion of sensors such that each sensor in the first group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the second group of sensors and each sensor in the second group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the first group of sensors (Fig 2b).
Regarding claim 8, Amir discloses wherein the multiple sensors include: a first group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal first distance from the central sensor and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the first group of sensors (Fig 2b first ring of sensors); and a second group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal second distance from the central sensor and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the second group of sensors, the substantially equal second distance being greater than the substantially equal first distance (Fig 2b second ring of sensors); wherein the first group of sensors and the second group of sensors are alternated in the multiple sensors such that each sensor in the first group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the second group of sensors and each sensor in the second group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the first group of sensors (Fig 2b); wherein sensors of the plurality of sensors are absent between the multiple sensors and the central sensor (Fig 2b); and wherein each sensor of the first group of sensors has a length that is less than a length of each sensor of the second group of sensors (Fig 2b).
Regarding claim 11, Amir further discloses the central sensor is absent from the predetermined arrangement of the plurality of sensors (Fig 6) and the arrangement of the plurality of sensors includes first portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more first distances and the second portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more second distances greater than the one or more first distances (Fig 6, wherein elements 452 and 450 are the first portion and 410 are the second)); the plurality of sensors are generally arched and concave relative to the central region (Fig 6 wherein the elements are angled); the first portion of sensors are radially arranged around the central region and positioned equidistance from adjacent sensors of the first portion of sensors (Fig 6); the second portion of sensors are arranged around the first portion of sensors such that at least one sensor of the second portion of sensors is positioned circumferentially between two sensors of the first portion of sensors, wherein the second portion of sensors includes (Fig 6 elements 410): a first group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal first distance from the central region and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the first group of sensors, each sensor of the first group of sensors being positioned circumferentially between two sensors of the first portion of sensors (Fig 6); and a second group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal second distance from the central region and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the second group of sensors, the substantially equal second distance being greater than the substantially equal first distance and the second group of sensors being radially aligned with the first portion of the sensors such that the first portion of sensors are between the central region and the second group of sensors (Fig 6), wherein the first group of sensors and the second group of sensors are alternated in the second portion of sensors such that each sensor in the first group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the second group of sensors and each sensor in the second group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the first group of sensors (Fig 6), and wherein each sensor of the first group of sensors has a length that is less than a length of each sensors of the second group of sensors (Fig 6).
Regarding claim 41, Amir discloses a method of forming a garment for a fetal monitoring system ([0019]: “fetal monitoring system that can be comfortably worn by a monitored pregnant woman, by wearing a special garment,”), the method comprising: positioning a garment on a pregnant woman with a plurality of sensors positioned in a predetermined arrangement on the garment over the abdomen of the pregnant woman, (Fig 1 element 210, [0022]: “textile electrodes, capable of detecting mechanical pressure imposed on the woman's abdomen, may be embedded into the garment”), wherein the predetermined arrangement includes a central region and at least one of (1) a central sensor of the plurality of sensors positioned in the central region of the predetermined arrangement and multiple sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central sensor (Fig 2a-2c) or (2) a first portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more first distances and a second portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more second distances greater than the one or more first distances (Fig 2a-2c); and detecting movement of at least one of the pregnant movement or an in utero fetus within the abdomen of the pregnant woman ([0022]: “Thus, continuous monitoring of fetal heart rate and uterine contractions (CTG) can be achieved.”, wherein a contraction is movement); transmitting with a communication module at least proximate to the garment, data associated with the movement detected by the strain on the at least one of the plurality of sensors; ([0115]: “typically short range transmitter such as Bluetooth or Wi-Fi, facilitating wireless communication between garment-processor 112 and remote-processor 310 of a mobile device 300.”); receiving, with a controller, the data transmitted by the communication module([0120]: “present invention preferably includes a mobile device 300, having a remote-processor 310. Remote-processor 310 receives sensed data from monitoring-garment 100, preferably, at least partially processed, and may further analyze the received data, as needed, and determines if a health hazardous situation, that justifies the issuing of a personal-alert has occurred.”, wherein the control device sends the data for processing), and determine and/or distinguish movement sensed by one or more of the plurality of sensors as movement of the pregnant woman or movement of the in utero fetus ([0126]: “motion of the fetus within the mother's uterus, is detected”).
Amir fails to disclose the plurality of sensors includes a plurality of strain gauges configured to sense strain.
Khine discloses a fetal monitoring garment (abstract) including a plurality of strain gauges configured to sense strain ([0109]: “illustrate thin film metal strain gauges”) in order to detect movement of at least one of the pregnant woman or an in utero fetus ([0100]: “along with sensor apparatus 100 is to be worn on the abdomen and to respond to movements of the baby by generating a varying current”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to substitute the known motion sensor disclosed by Amir with the known strain gauge as disclosed by Khine for the predictable result of detecting the movement of an in utero fetus.
Regarding claim 61, Khine further discloses responsive to strain sensed by one or more of the plurality of sensors, the controller is configured to detect and/or distinguish between fetal kicks, fetal flutters, fetal swishes, fetal rolls, and/or fetal seizures by the in utero fetus ([0009]: “(e.g., fetal kicks)”).
Claim(s) 18-24, 29, 32, 40, 42-44, 59-60, and 62-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amir in view of Khine in further view of Lewis et al. (US 20160290880 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Amir as modified by Khine discloses the fetal monitoring system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the plurality of strain gauges are screen printed onto the garment and include a composite material including screen printing ink blended with metal nano-particles, the metal nano-particles including at least nickel coated carbon fibers.
Lewis discloses a strain gauge (abstract) wherein that may be screen printed onto the garment ([0008]: “a method of printing a stretchable strain sensor comprises depositing one or more conductive filaments in a predetermined continuous pattern into or onto a support matrix”) and including a composite material of ink ([0034]: “the filaments may be formed from precursor inks (e.g., conductive inks or fugitive inks) having a suitable composition and rheological properties.”) blended with metal nano-particles, the metal nano-particles including at least nickel coated carbon fibers. ([0041]: “The conductive particles may comprise carbon, silver, nickel, aluminum, gold, platinum, palladium, copper,”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill int eh art prior to the effective filing date to modify the strain gauge disclosed by Amir as modified by Khine to include a composite material of ink blended with metal nano-particles as disclosed by Lewis in order to improve extensibility of the sensors within the garment with use movement (Lewis [0006]).
Regarding claim 19, Lewis further discloses wherein the metal nano-particles includes nickel coated carbon fibers and nickel nanostrands ([0041]), and wherein the composite material includes about 5% to about 25% saturation of the metal nanoparticles ([0041]: “at a concentration of from about 20-22 wt. %”).
Regarding claim 20, Amir discloses a garment for use in a fetal monitoring system (abstract), the garment comprising: a region positioned to cover the abdomen of a pregnant woman ([0019]: “fetal monitoring system that can be comfortably worn by a monitored pregnant woman, by wearing a special garment,”) and a plurality of sensors positioned or positionable in a predetermined arrangement on the garment to be over the abdomen of the pregnant woman (Fig 1 element 210, [0022]: “textile electrodes, capable of detecting mechanical pressure imposed on the woman's abdomen, may be embedded into the garment”) and configured to sense or detect at least one of movement of at least one of the pregnant woman or an in utero fetus within the abdomen of the pregnant woman ([0022]: “Thus, continuous monitoring of fetal heart rate and uterine contractions (CTG) can be achieved.”, wherein a contraction is movement), wherein the predetermined arrangement includes a central region and at least one of: a central sensor of the plurality of sensors positioned in the central region of the predetermined arrangement and multiple sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central sensor (Fig 2a-2c); or a first portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more first distances and a second portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more second distances greater than the one or more first distances (Fig 2a-2c); one or more conductive wires connecting each sensor of the plurality of sensors ([0106]: “The signals are then transferred via knitted conductive traces along the knitted fabric to an innovative device”).
Amir fails to disclose the plurality of sensors includes a plurality of strain gauges configured to sense strain.
Khine discloses a fetal monitoring garment (abstract) including a plurality of strain gauges configured to sense strain ([0109]: “illustrate thin film metal strain gauges”) in order to detect movement of at least one of the pregnant woman or an in utero fetus ([0100]: “along with sensor apparatus 100 is to be worn on the abdomen and to respond to movements of the baby by generating a varying current”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to substitute the known motion sensor disclosed by Amir with the known strain gauge as disclosed by Khine for the predictable result of detecting the movement of an in utero fetus.
Amir as modified by Khine fails to disclose the strain gauges include a composite material of ink blended with metal nano-particles and having about 5% to about 25% saturation of the metal nano-particles.
Lewis discloses a strain gauge (abstract) including a composite material of ink ([0034]: “the filaments may be formed from precursor inks (e.g., conductive inks or fugitive inks) having a suitable composition and rheological properties.”) blended with metal nano-particles ([0041]: “The conductive particles may comprise carbon, silver, nickel, aluminum, gold, platinum, palladium, copper,”) and having about 5% to about 25% saturation of the metal nano-particles ([0041]: “at a concentration of from about 20-22 wt. %”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill int eh art prior to the effective filing date to modify the strain gauge disclosed by Amir as modified by Khine to include a composite material of ink blended with metal nano-particles as disclosed by Lewis in order to improve extensibility of the sensors within the garment with use movement (Lewis [0006]).
Regarding claim 21, Amir further discloses one or more conductive wires connecting each sensor of the plurality of sensors ([0106]: “The signals are then transferred via knitted conductive traces along the knitted fabric to an innovative device”).
Regarding claim 22, Amir further discloses wherein the predetermined arrangement includes at least the central sensor of the plurality of sensors positioned in the central region of the predetermined arrangement (Fig 2b central sensing element) and the multiple sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central sensor (Fig 2b elements 210).
Regarding claim 23, Amir further discloses wherein the central sensor is generally straight (Fig 2c central sensing element) and the multiple sensors are generally arched and concave relative to the central region (Fig 2c elements 214).
Regarding claim 24, Amir further discloses the multiple sensors include at least a first portion of the multiple sensors radially arranged around the central sensor and positioned equidistance from adjacent sensors of the first portion of sensors (Fig 2b first ring of sensors); the multiple sensors include the first portion of the multiple sensors radially arranged around the central sensor at one or more first distances (Fig 2b first ring of sensors) and a second portion of sensors of the multiple sensors radially arranged around the central sensor at one or more second distances greater than the one or more first distances (Fig 2b second ring of sensors); the second portion of sensors are arranged around the first portion of sensors such that at least one sensor of the second portion of sensors is positioned circumferentially between two sensors of the first portion of sensors (Fig 2b wherein the second sensors are between the first circumferentially); and the second portion of sensors includes: a first group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal first distance from the central sensor and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the first group of sensors (Fig 2b), each sensor of the first group of sensors being positioned circumferentially between two sensors of the first portion of sensors (Fig 2b); and a second group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal second distance from the central sensor and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the second group of sensors (Fig 2b), the substantially equal second distance being greater than the substantially equal first distance and the second group of sensors being radially aligned with the first portion of the sensors such that the first portion of sensors are between the central sensor and the second group of sensors (Fig 2b), wherein the first group of sensors and the second group of sensors are alternated in the second portion of sensors such that each sensor in the first group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the second group of sensors and each sensor in the second group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the first group of sensors (Fig 2b); and wherein each sensor of the first group of sensors has a length that is less than a length of each sensor of the second group of sensors (Fig 2b).
Regarding claim 29, Amir further discloses wherein the multiple sensors include: a first group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal first distance from the central sensor and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the first group of sensors (Fig 2b first ring of sensors); and a second group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal second distance from the central sensor and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the second group of sensors, the substantially equal second distance being greater than the substantially equal first distance (Fig 2b second ring of sensors); wherein the first group of sensors and the second group of sensors are alternated in the multiple sensors such that each sensor in the first group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the second group of sensors and each sensor in the second group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the first group of sensors (Fig 2b); wherein sensors of the plurality of sensors are absent between the multiple sensors and the central sensor (Fig 2b); and wherein each sensor of the first group of sensors has a length that is less than a length of each sensor of the second group of sensors (Fig 2b).
Regarding claim 32, Amir further discloses the central sensor is absent from the predetermined arrangement of the plurality of sensors (Fig 6) and the arrangement of the plurality of sensors includes first portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more first distances and the second portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more second distances greater than the one or more first distances (Fig 6, wherein elements 452 and 450 are the first portion and 410 are the second)) ; the plurality of sensors are generally arched and concave relative to the central region (Fig 6 wherein the elements are angled); the first portion of sensors are radially arranged around the central region and positioned equidistance from adjacent sensors of the first portion of sensors (Fig 6); the second portion of sensors are arranged around the first portion of sensors such that at least one sensor of the second portion of sensors is positioned circumferentially between two sensors of the first portion of sensors, wherein the second portion of sensors includes (Fig 6 elements 410): a first group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal first distance from the central region and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the first group of sensors, each sensor of the first group of sensors being positioned circumferentially between two sensors of the first portion of sensors (Fig 6); and a second group of sensors positioned at a substantially equal second distance from the central region and substantially equidistance from adjacent sensors of the second group of sensors, the substantially equal second distance being greater than the substantially equal first distance and the second group of sensors being radially aligned with the first portion of the sensors such that the first portion of sensors are between the central region and the second group of sensors (Fig 6), wherein the first group of sensors and the second group of sensors are alternated in the second portion of sensors such that each sensor in the first group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the second group of sensors and each sensor in the second group of sensors is circumferentially between two sensors of the first group of sensors (Fig 6), and wherein each sensor of the first group of sensors has a length that is less than a length of each sensors of the second group of sensors (Fig 6).
Regarding claim 40, Lewis further discloses wherein the metal nano- particles in the composite material includes at least nickel coated carbon fibers ([0041]).
Regarding claim 42, Amir discloses a method of forming a garment for a fetal monitoring system, the method comprising: (abstract), the method comprising: positioning a plurality of sensors on a region of the garment in a predetermined arrangement to be over an abdomen of a pregnant woman when worn by the pregnant woman (Fig 1 element 210, [0022]: “textile electrodes, capable of detecting mechanical pressure imposed on the woman's abdomen, may be embedded into the garment”) and configured to sense or detect at least one of movement of at least one of the pregnant woman or an in utero fetus within the abdomen of the pregnant woman ([0022]: “Thus, continuous monitoring of fetal heart rate and uterine contractions (CTG) can be achieved.”, wherein a contraction is movement), wherein the predetermined arrangement includes a central region and at least one of: a central sensor of the plurality of sensors positioned in the central region of the predetermined arrangement and multiple sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central sensor (Fig 2a-2c); or a first portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more first distances and a second portion of sensors of the plurality of sensors radially arranged around the central region at one or more second distances greater than the one or more first distances (Fig 2a-2c); and connecting the plurality of sensors with one or more conductive wires. ([0106]: “The signals are then transferred via knitted conductive traces along the knitted fabric to an innovative device”).
Amir fails to disclose the plurality of sensors includes a plurality of strain gauges configured to sense strain.
Khine discloses a fetal monitoring garment (abstract) including a plurality of strain gauges configured to sense strain ([0109]: “illustrate thin film metal strain gauges”) in order to detect movement of at least one of the pregnant woman or an in utero fetus ([0100]: “along with sensor apparatus 100 is to be worn on the abdomen and to respond to movements of the baby by generating a varying current”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to substitute the known motion sensor disclosed by Amir with the known strain gauge as disclosed by Khine for the predictable result of detecting the movement of an in utero fetus.
Amir as modified by Khine fails to disclose the strain gauges include a composite material of ink blended with metal nano-particles (and having about 5% to about 25% saturation of the metal nano-particles.
Lewis discloses a strain gauge (abstract) including a composite material of ink ([0034]: “the filaments may be formed from precursor inks (e.g., conductive inks or fugitive inks) having a suitable composition and rheological properties.”) blended with metal nano-particles ([0041]: “The conductive particles may comprise carbon, silver, nickel, aluminum, gold, platinum, palladium, copper,”) and having about 5% to about 25% saturation of the metal nano-particles ([0041]: “at a concentration of from about 20-22 wt. %”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill int eh art prior to the effective filing date to modify the strain gauge disclosed by Amir as modified by Khine to include a composite material of ink blended with metal nano-particles as disclosed by Lewis in order to improve extensibility of the sensors within the garment with user movement (Lewis [0006]).
Regarding claim 43, Lewis further discloses screen printing the composite material on the region in the predetermined arrangement to form a plurality of strain gauges on the region of the garment in the predetermined arrangement ([0008], as modified by Amir and Khine above).
Regarding claim 44, Lewis further discloses mixing screen printing ink ([0034]: “the filaments may be formed from precursor inks (e.g., conductive inks or fugitive inks) having a suitable composition and rheological properties.”)with metal nano-particles to form the composite material, the composite material including at least nickel coated carbon fibers ([0041]).
Regarding claim 59, Amir further discloses securing the one or more conductive wires to the garment ([0106]: “The signals are then transferred via knitted conductive traces along the knitted fabric to an innovative device”).
Regarding claim 60, Amir further discloses further comprising connecting the one or more conductive wires to a power source and a communication module (Fig 2b element 200 and 220) .
Regarding claim 62, Lewis further discloses the plurality of sensors are screen printed onto the garment ([0008]) and have a thickness of about 0.1 mm to about 1.0 mm ([0038]: “the elastomeric body comprises a thin sheet having a thickness of about 100 mm or less, about 50 mm or less, about 10 mm or less, or about 1 mm or less,”)
Regarding claim 63, Khine further discloses detecting and/or distinguishing, with the controller, between fetal kicks, fetal flutters. fetal swishes, fetal rolls, and/or fetal seizures by the in utero fetus ([0009]: “fetal kicks”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gwengo et al. (US 20240002690 A1) – discloses printing with conductive ink
/KAVYA SHOBANA BALAJI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791