DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 3/28/23 has been considered and placed of record. The initialed copy is attached herewith.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the unlabeled rectangular boxes in figures 1-6 should be provided with descriptive text labels. Although the boxes in the figures are numbered which allow a correlation to each box as someone reads the specification, the numbers by themselves do not allow someone to quickly ascertain the concept of the invention. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re claim 13, the limitation “the output of said artificial neural network” in last two lines lacks proper antecedent basis.
Re claim 19, the introduction of two limitations “a first storage battery” and “at least a second storage battery” is confusing because claim 12 already described these two limitations (line 3). It is believed these limitations in both claims 12 and in instant claim are same limitations. Clarification is requested.
Re claims 20-22, they are indefinite because they depend on indefinite claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12, 14-16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tate, Jr. et al. (US 8,532,854).
Re claim 12, Tate discloses a method for managing a network of storage batteries (11, 111) for supplying electric current to an engine (14) of an electrically propelled motor vehicle (col 1, lines 39-52), said network comprising a first storage battery (11) and at least a second storage battery (111) connected in parallel (col 1, line 39-43), each storage battery being connected to the rest of the network via a relay (22, 23) which enables said storage battery to be isolated from every other storage battery (col 1, lines 53-65), and which is controlled by a computer (24; col 3, lines 47-50), said method comprising: acquiring a state of charge for each storage battery (col 1, lines 59-60); determining, by the computer, a control setpoint for each relay based on the acquired states of charge (col 1, lines 59-63); and controlling said relays based on each determined control setpoint (col 1, lines 63-64), wherein: in the acquiring, the computer acquires a value of a first parameter relating to a level of wear of each storage battery (interpreted as an imbalance of charge among the batteries) (col 5, lines 62-65), and in the determining, each control setpoint is determined based on said value of said first parameter (col 5, lines 65-66).
Re claim 14, Tate further discloses the acquiring, the computer acquires a value of at least a second parameter chosen from among a voltage at terminals of each storage battery, a temperature of each storage battery, and a configuration of advance of the motor vehicle, and in the determining, each control setpoint is determined based on the value of each second parameter (col 4, lines 4-21 and 43-46).
Re claims 15 and 16, Tate further discloses the second parameter being the config of advance of the motor vehicle, when the configuration of advance of the motor vehicle corresponds to an acceleration phase (claim 15) or braking phase (claim 16) of said motor vehicle, the control setpoint specifies a closure of the relay associated with the storage battery whose state of charge is highest and an opening of every other relay, provided that the first parameter indicates that the level of wear of the storage battery is lower than that of every other storage battery (regenerative propulsion event: col 2, lines 4-19; col 4, lines 1-5; col 6, lines 20-25).
Re claim 18, Tate further discloses after using the motor vehicle determining by the computer an instruction to charge, in an external power network, the storage battery whose determined state of charge is lowest, provided that the first parameter indicates that the level of wear of the storage battery is lower than that of every other storage battery (col 5, line 58 to col 6, line 30; controller calculates SOC of each battery pack…in which the SOC of the pack 11 is less than other pack 111 (i.e. level of wear is lower)… and because of the scenario of pack 11, it receives the most charge).
Re claim 19, Tate further discloses a power supply unit (ESS 12) having first and second storage battery (11, 111) and a computer (24) implementing method of claim 12 (see explanation above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tate, Jr. et al. (US 8,532,854) in view of Juang et al. (US 10,183,590).
Tate does not disclose determining the control setpoint is implemented by the computer using an artificial neural network, by supplying to an input of said artificial neural network said states of charge, together with the value of the first acquired parameter, said control setpoint being obtained at the output of said artificial neural network. Juang teaches EV battery circuitry controlling the state of estimation via neural network to determine a configuration of the advance of the EV (i.e. acceleration map, braking etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Tate with the teaching of Juang to better model the nonlinear behavior of the batteries due to the unexpected operation of the EV.
Claims 17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tate, Jr. et al. (US 8,532,854).
Re claim 17, Tate further disclose the control setpoint specifies a closure of the relays associated with each of the two storage batteries simultaneously col 4, lines 15-20). However, Tate does not disclose the voltages are substantially equal. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected any appropriate voltage value (i.e. same value) since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claims 20-22, Tate does not disclose the combination of the first and second storage batteries connected to a combination of DC converters (a DC converter is an inherent limitation because EV charger circuit required DC converter) as claimed individually. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected a combination of batteries connected to a combination of dc converters as claimed since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known materiale on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art made of record exemplified state of managing EV batteries.
The Examiner’s SPE is Taelor Kim and he can be reached at 571.270.7166. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087