Non-Final Rejection
. The Status of Claims:
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-19, 21-22 and 27-28 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-19 are rejected.
Claims 21-22 and 27-28 are withdrawn from consideration.
DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-19 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Priority
2. It is noted that this application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/052163 09/27/2021 , which has a priority of 63084143 09/28/2020.
Drawings
3. The drawings field on 3/28/2023 are accepted by the examiner.
IDS
4. The IDS filed on 3/28/2023 & 9/10/2025 are reviewed by the examiner.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-2, 5, and 7-19 ) on 9/21/26 is acknowledged. Claims 27-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected groups II-III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The elected compound 38 is not allowable
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5 and 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for making salts of the claimed compounds, does not reasonably provide enablement for making solvates of the claimed compounds. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art of synthetic organic chemistry to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. “The factors to be considered [in making an enablement rejection] have been summarized as a) the quantity of experimentation necessary, b) the amount of direction or guidance presented, c) the presence or absence of working examples, d) the nature of the invention, e) the state of the prior art, f) the relative skill of those in that art, g) the predictability or unpredictability of the art, h) and the breadth of the claims”, In re Rainer, 146 USPQ 218 (1965); In re Colianni, 195 USPQ 150, Ex parte Formal, 230 USPQ 546. In the present case the important factors leading to a conclusion of undue experimentation are the absence of any working example of a formed solvate, the lack of predictability in the art, and the broad scope of the claims.
c) There is no working example of any solvate formed. These cannot be simply willed into existence. As was stated in Morton International Inc. v. Cardinal Chemical Co., 28 USPQ2d 1190 “The specification purports to teach, with over fifty examples, the preparation of the claimed compounds with the required connectivity. However ... there is no evidence that such compounds exist... the examples of the '881 patent do not produce the postulated compounds... there is ... no evidence that such compounds even exist.” The same circumstance appears to be true here. There is no evidence that solvates of these compounds actually exist; if they did, they would have formed. Hence, applicants must show that solvates can be made, or limit the claims accordingly.
g) The state of the art is that is not predictable whether solvates will form or what their composition will be. In the language of the physical chemist, a solvate of organic molecule is an interstitial solid solution. This phrase is defined in the second paragraph on page 358 of West (Solid State Chemistry). West, Anthony R., "Solid State Chemistry and its Applications, Wiley, New York, 1988, pages 358 & 365. The solvent molecule is a species introduced into the crystal and no part of the organic host molecule is left out or replaced. In the first paragraph on page 365, West (Solid State Chemistry) says, “it is not usually possible to predict whether solid solutions will form, or if they do form what is their compositional extent". Thus, in the absence of experimentation one cannot predict if a particular solvent will solvate any particular crystal. One cannot predict the stoichiometery of the formed solvate, i.e. if one, two, or a half a molecule of solvent added per molecule of host. In the same paragraph on page 365 West (Solid State Chemistry) explains that it is possible to make meta-stable non-equilibrium solvates, further clouding what Applicants mean by the word solvate. Compared with polymorphs, there is an additional degree of freedom to solvates, which means a different solvent or even the moisture of the air that might change the stabile region of the solvate.
h) The breadth of the claims includes all of the hundreds of thousands of compounds of formula (I). Thus, the scope is broad.
MPEP 2164.01(a) states, “A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557,1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993).” That conclusion is clearly justified here. Thus, undue experimentation will be required to practice Applicants' invention.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating specific diseases by an additional therapeutic agent, does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing a neurologic al disease or disorder . The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Applicants are not enabled for preventing the neurologic al disease or disorder. The only established prophylactics are vaccines not the additional therapeutic agent such as present here. In addition, it is presumed that “prevention” of the claimed diseases would require a method of identifying those individuals who will develop the claimed diseases before they exhibit symptoms. There is no evidence of record that would guide the skilled clinician to identify those who have the potential of becoming afflicted.
“The factors to be considered [in making an enablement rejection] have been summarized as the quantity of experimentation necessary, the amount of direction or guidance presented, the presence or absence of working examples, the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the relative skill of those in that art, the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and the breadth of the claims”, In re Rainer, 146 USPQ 218 (1965); In re Colianni, 195 USPQ 150, Ex parte Formal, 230 USPQ 546. 1) As discussed above, preventing diseases requires identifying those patients who will acquire the disease before chronic and acute pain occurs. This would require extensive and potentially opened ended clinical research on healthy subjects. 2) The passages from line 3 to line 5 on page 51 list the diseases Applicant intend to treat. 3) There is no working example of such a preventive procedure in man or animal in the specification. 4) The claims rejected are drawn to clinical preventive cancer medicine and are therefore physiological in nature. 5) The state of the art is that no general procedure is art-recognized for determining which patients generally will become prevented from getting a cancer before the fact. 6) The artisan using Applicants invention would be a Board Certified physician in the neurologic al disease with an MD degree and several years of experience. Despite intensive efforts, pharmaceutical science has been unable to find a way of getting a compound or its composition to be effective for the prevention of any neurologic al diseases generally. Under such circumstances, it is proper for the PTO to require evidence that such an unprecedented feat has actually been accomplished, In re Ferens, 163 USPQ 609. No such evidence has been presented in this case. The failure of skilled scientists to achieve a goal is substantial evidence that achieving such a goal is beyond the skill of practitioners in that art, Genentech vs. Novo Nordisk, 42 USPQ2nd 1001, 1006. This establishes that it is not reasonable to any agent to be able to prevent any c neurologic al disease generally. That is, the skill is so low that no composition effective generally against any cancers has ever been found let alone one that can prevent such conditions. 7) It is well established that “the scope of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved", and physiological activity is generally considered to be an unpredictable factor. See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970). 8) The claims broadly read on all patients, not just those undergoing therapy for the claimed diseases and on the multitude of composition containing various compounds.
The Examiner suggests deletion of the word “preventing” from the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1-2. 5, 7-8, 10, 13, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated clearly by Shanghai et al (EP 3778588 A1), which is equivalent to Shanghai et al (WO20191850460).
Shanghai et al discloses the following compound and its pharmaceutical composition :
(see page 43, compound# 28d).
This is identical with the claims .
.
6. Claim(s) 1-2. 5, 7-8, 10, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated clearly by PubChem ( Substance Record for SID 36391913, 25 May 2018).
PubChem discloses the following compound:
2-piperidin-3-yl-1,3-benzothiazole hydrochloride
.
This is identical with the claims .
7. Claim(s) 1-2. 5, 7-8, 10, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated clearly by Abraham et al (WO2011/085406).
Abraham et al discloses the following compounds and their pharmaceutical composition :
(see page 126, example 19, compound# 5C).;
. (see page 131, example 229, compound# 13).;
These are identical with the claims .
8. Claim(s) 1-2. 5, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated clearly by PubChem ( Substance Record for SID 423892352, 2020-08-13).
PubChem discloses the following compound:
3-methyl-1-(oxetan-3-yl)piperidine
This is identical with the claims .
9. Claim(s) 1-2. 5, 7-8, 10, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated clearly by PubChem ( Substance Record for CID 45073825, 2010-03-29).
PubChem discloses the following compound:
3-thiophen-2-ylpiperidine
This is identical with the claims .
10. Claim(s) 1-2. 5, 7-8, 10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated clearly by Showell et al ( J. Med. Chem., 1991, 34, 1066-1094).
Showell et al discloses the following compounds:
(see page 1086, compound#9)
(see page 1087, compound#4)
These are identical with the claims .
11. Claim(s) 1-2. 5, 7-8, 10-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated clearly by Stolt et al (WO 2008/3736).
Stolt et al discloses some compounds and their pharmaceutical composition in the following:
(see page 21, Scheme 4, compounds# 25-26; page 53, table , comounds# 26A, 26B).
Furthermore, it teaches a pharmaceutical composition or formulation comprising a compound, is administered concurrently or sequentially or as a combined preparation with another therapeutic agent or agents, for treating one or more of the conditions listed (see page 9, lines 26-28) neuroendocrine, neurological and neuropsychiatric disorders, schizophrenia, memory and learning disabilities, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, anxiety disorders, depressive disorders, neurodegenerative disorders (see page 8, lines 25-28)
These are identical with the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, 10-13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stolt et al (WO 2008/3736).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
Stolt et al discloses some compounds and their pharmaceutical composition in the following:
(see page 21, Scheme 4, compounds# 25-26; page 53, table , comounds# 26A, 26B).
Furthermore, it teaches a pharmaceutical composition or formulation comprising a compound, is administered concurrently or sequentially or as a combined preparation with another therapeutic agent or agents, for treating one or more of the conditions listed (see page 9, lines 26-28) neuroendocrine, neurological and neuropsychiatric disorders, schizophrenia, memory and learning disabilities, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, anxiety disorders, depressive disorders, neurodegenerative disorders (see page 8, lines 25-28)
The instant invention, however, differs from the prior art in that the claimed R2 being methyl is unspecified in the prior art.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
The difference between the instant application and the applied Stolt et al art is that the Stolt et al does not expressly teach the claimed variable R2 being methyl .
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Regarding the instant Claims 11, 17-18, with respect to the lack of disclosing the claimed R2 being methyl,, the prior art is silent about it.
However, the distinction between the prior art and the claimed compound is hydrogen vs. methyl moiety; it is well-established that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen is a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Wood, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S.P.Q. 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978); In re Hoke , 560 F. 2d 436, 195 U.S.P.Q. 148 (C.C.P.A. 1977). Furthermore, such a difference between the prior art and the claimed compound is a minor and can be expected to be prepared by the same method and to have generally the same or similar properties. This expectation is then deemed the motivation for preparing the methyl substituted compound.
So, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to prepare the claimed compound as an alternative in the the Stolt et al method. This is because the skilled artisan in the art would expect such a selection and manipulation to be successful and feasible as guidance shown in the prior art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Stolt et al expressly discloses some compounds and their pharmaceutical composition in the following:
(see page 21, Scheme 4, compounds# 25-26).
Although Stolt et al does not teach that the claimed variable R2 is methyl, the distinction between the prior art and the claimed compound is hydrogen vs. methyl moiety; it is well-established that the substitution of methyl for hydrogen is a known compound is not a patentable modification absent unexpected or unobvious results. In re Wood, 582 F.2d 638, 199 U.S.P.Q. 137 (C.C.P.A. 1978); In re Hoke , 560 F. 2d 436, 195 U.S.P.Q. 148 (C.C.P.A. 1977). Furthermore, such a difference between the prior art and the claimed compound is a minor and can be expected to be prepared by the same method and to have generally the same or similar properties. This expectation is then deemed the motivation for preparing the methyl substituted compound.
So, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to prepare the claimed compound as an alternative in the the Stolt et al method. This is because the skilled artisan in the art would expect such a selection and manipulation to be successful and feasible as guidance shown in the prior art.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-19 are rejected.
Claims 21-22 and 27-28 are withdrawn from consideration.
/TAYLOR V OH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625
10/10/2026