DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-11 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
The terminal disclaimer filed 28 January 2026 has been disapproved because the applicant name listed on the terminal disclaimer does not match the ADS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris (US 3,451,925) in view of Mead (US 5,171,426).
Regarding claims 1-6, Morris teaches contacting charge oil hydrocarbons with NMP solvent in liquid liquid extraction zone 20 to recover raffinate 2 (aliphatic hydrocarbons) and extract 3 (aromatic and heteroatom containing) (column 3, lines 35-75 and column 4, lines 1-45).
Morris mixes the extract stream 3 with water 9 in extraction zone 23 to separate extract product 8 from water and NMP mixture 10 (column 4, line 28-45). Examiner notes that Morris teaches NMP (solvent) and water (demixing solvent) which are the same as the solvent and demixing solvent identified in Applicant’s instant specification example 1. Thus, Examiner considers the NMP and water of Morris to read on the claim limitations regarding miscibility in heptane and solubility parameters.
Morris teaches separating NMP (solvent) from water (demixing solvent) in tower 22 (column 4, lines 45-60).
Morris recycles NMP 4 from column 22 to extraction step 20 (column 4, lines 45-60).
Morris recycles water 12/9 to extractor 23 (column 4, lines 45-60).
Morris does not disclose multiple repetitions or sub steps of step b.
However, Mead teaches that it is well known in solvent extraction to repeat extraction steps performed on the raffinate or extract phases in order to enhance a desired property (column 1, lines 35-38). The instant specification describes the “incremental” addition as feeding a portion of the solvent in step b1, and another portion of the solvent in step b2. It is not seen where this differs from the Mead staged solvent addition. It is not seen where the instant claims specify a different dosage of solvent in each stage, or throughout the process overall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed repeated demixing steps of extract stream 3 with water 9 in multiple extraction zones, in order to improve the recovery of the solvent from the extract.
Regarding claims 7-8, Morris teaches that raffinate 2 (aliphatic hydrocarbons) can be contacted with water 6 (demixing solvent) to separate aliphatic raffinate 5 from water/solvent 7 (see figure, column 4, lines 10-30).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris (US 3,451,925) in view of Mead (US 5,171,426) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Derks (WO 2018/104443).
Regarding claims 9-11, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose cracking waste plastics to form the feed of claim 1, or feeding the aliphatic (raffinate) recovered to steam cracking.
However, Derks teaches that pyrolysis oil from plastic waste feed may be subject to extraction with NMP to produce a more suitable feed for steam cracking (page 2, line 18-page 3, line 25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have subject the waste plastic derived pyrolysis oil of Derks to the NMP solvent extraction steps of the previous combination, for the benefit of removing contaminants so a more suitable steam cracking feed may be formed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18247103 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to overlapping subject matter regarding solvent extraction and demixing of plastic derived hydrocarbons.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner considers Applicant’s argument to be:
The claims have been amended to indicate “incremental” addition of solvent, which differs from the multiple stages described by Mead. The instant process results in improved results.
In response to Applicant’s argument, Examiner notes that each demixing step uses the same solvent, just repeated. The instant specification describes the “incremental” addition as feeding a portion of the solvent in step b1, and another portion of the solvent in step b2. It is not seen where this differs from the Mead staged solvent addition. It is not seen where the instant claims specify a different dosage of solvent in each stage, or throughout the process overall. In this regard, it is not seen where Applicant has distinguished from the prior art teaching demixing with water (Morris) and the teaching of multi step extraction to improve recovery (Mead). Examiner notes that the prior art teaches the same separation of aliphatic products from solvent and water.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dooley (US 2018/0355256) – subjects waste plastic derived pyrolysis oil to solvent extraction with nmp [0057-0062].
D’Alessandro (US 2007/0221538) -teaches solvent extraction to recover heteroatoms (abstract)>
Farkas (US 2009/0200208) – teaches solvent extraction of hydrocarbons (abstract)>
Sherman (US 4,390,418) – teaches solvent recovery in multiple stages (see figure).
Stover (US 4,271,009) – teaches that multiple batch solvent extraction steps yield improved results over single stage (column 7).
Karnofsky (US 4,239,617) – teaches multi stage solvent extraction
Related applications 18247138, 18246755, 18246997, 17441380, 18248904, 18248758 are similar, but differ because they do not require multiple demixing steps as claimed.
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771