DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 PCT of KR2021/013326 filed 09/29/2021. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 09/29/2020. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
This information disclosure statement filed 03/29/2023 have been considered.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via EFS-Web or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via EFS-Web, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Specification
In the event that Applicant petitions to accept color drawings and is denied, or Applicant decides to forego color drawings and submit suitable black-and-white drawings that permit adequate reproduction, Applicant is required to remove reference to colors in the drawings, see 121.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - The Incorporation by Reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) is missing or incomplete. See item 1) a) or 1) b) above.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required incorporation-by-reference paragraph, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO 2020/191239, filed 3/19/2020).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Liu teaches a prime editing genome editing method that uses a nucleic acid programmable DNA binding protein ("napDNAbp") working in association with a polymerase (i.e., in the form of a fusion protein or otherwise provided in trans with the napDNAbp), wherein the prime editing system is programmed with a prime editing (PE) guide RNA ("PEgRNA") that both specifies the target site and templates the synthesis of the desired edit in the form of a replacement DNA strand by way of an extension (either DNA or RNA) engineered onto a guide RNA [0008]. Liu teaches that the fusion protein is a Cas protein (i.e., target specific nuclease)-reverse transcriptase (RT) fusion [0009, 0013]. Liu teaches the use of the MMLV RT [0086, 0233, 0526].
Liu does not specifically use an HIV RT in the examples; however, Liu teaches that it is possible to use reverse transcriptases with lower fidelity to generate regions of mutagenesis within an otherwise invariable library (such as the HIV-I reverse transcriptase) [0783].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the MMLV reverse transcriptase in the fusion protein of Liu with a HIV RT. One of ordinary would be motivated to make the modification for the advantage of generating regions of mutagenesis in the target genome.
Regarding claim 3 and 4, Liu teaches that the method can include providing a nucleic acid encoding a fusion protein with a napDNAbp and a reverse transcriptase, and providing at least one second nucleic acid encoding a PEgRNA [0950].
Regarding claims 5 and 6,vLiu teaches the use of separate vectors comprising the prime editing constructs [0046-0047, 1496, 1522, 2496-2497].
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches where the napDNAbp is Cas9 [0060].
Regarding claim 8-9, Liu teaches where the napDNAbp has a deactivating mutation in an HNH nuclease domain (e.g., H840A) or a deactivating mutation a RuvC nuclease domain (D10A) and is complexed with a PEgRNA and DNA having a target DNA to be edited [0080].
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the engineering of one or more RT domains into the composition [0048, 1264,]. Liu does not teach that the RT domains are different. Liu does teach that RT naturally have several activities, including an RNA-dependent DNA polymerase activity, ribonuclease H activity, and DNA-dependent DNA polymerase activity [0437]. Lui teaches that Variant RT's may comprise a mutation which impacts one or more of these activities (either which reduces or increases these activities, or which eliminates these activities all together) [0437]. Liu teaches that variant RTs may comprise one or more mutations which render the RT more or less stable, less prone to aggregration, and facilitates purification and/or detection, and/or other the modification of properties or characteristics [0437]. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Liu where the HIV variants RTs are different for the advantage of reducing or increasing the a desired activity in the genome editing.
Regarding claim 12, Lui teaches using prime editing components to treat diseases [abstract, 0284].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (WO 2020/191239, filed 3/19/2020) in view of Sarkis (US 2014/0286907 A1).
The teachings of Liu are discussed above as applied to claim 1 and similarly apply to claim 10. Liu does not teach where the HIV reverse transcriptase consist of SEQ ID NO: 1.
Sarkis teaches HIV-1 p66 and p51 as SEQ ID NO:1 [0324]. SEQ ID NO: 1 is 100% identical to SEQ ID NO: 2.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the HIV-1 RT as taught and suggested by Liu with the HIV-1 RT of Sarkis. This modification would amount to a simple substitution of one known HIV-1 RT for another, both performing the same function.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6, 9, 8, 15, 18-20 of copending Application No. 17919588 (reference application) in view of Liu (WO 2020/191239, filed 3/19/2020) and Sarkis (US 2014/0286907 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 6 of the copending application teaches all the limitation of claim 1 except where the reverse transcriptase if an HIV RT. For additional limitations of the instant claims, see the additional teachings of the patented claims. To the extent that there are limitations that are not provided for by the patented claims, the teachings of Liu and Sarkis are discussed above. It would have been obvious to have modified composition of the copending application with the teachings of Liu and Sarkis to arrive at the claimed composition. The combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results supports can support a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP 2143(I). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success since both the copending application and Liu teach prime editing compositions comprising a nuclease, reverse transcriptase and a PEgRNA and Sarkis teaches an alternative HIV-1 RT.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TIFFANY NICOLE GROOMS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637