DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 15-19 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bachinski et al. (US 2013/0085551 A1).
As to claim 1, Bachinski et al. discloses a surface electrode for use on a skin (Figure 5A), the surface electrode comprising: electrode units connectable to a power supply (Figures 16B-16C), each electrode unit comprising: a substrate having a front side and a back side (housing connector, depicted as 302 in Figure 16A and 102 in Figure 3), and component electrodes (electrode 130; depicted in Figures 3 and 16A, wherein in Figure 16A, the electrode is comprised of 130a-c and 133a-c) disposed on the front side of the substrate (Figures 3 and 16A) and spaced apart from each other such that a free space volume exists between the component electrodes (Figure 16A), each component electrode (electrode shafts, depicted as 133a-c, and electrode, depicted as 130a-c, in Figure 16A comprise the “component electrode”; [0111]) having a proximal end connected with the substrate (proximal end of shaft 133a-c that connects with the connector 302 of Figure 16A; see Figure 3 for further detail), a distal end configured for contacting the skin (electrode, depicted as 130a-c in Figure 16A; Figures 5A,7A, 9A-9B and 11A-B), and a middle portion between the proximal end and the distal end (shaft, depicted as 133a-c in Figure 16A), wherein the component electrodes are made of a non-expandable material ([0111]; “the electrodes 130a-130c and shafts 133a-133c are rigid, so that when applied to the housing 104 of the device 100, a rigid electrical stimulation device is provided”), and wherein within each of the component electrodes a thickness of the distal end is greater than a thickness of the middle portion (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A), and wherein each of the component electrodes, the proximal end, the middle portion and the distal end are mode of an electroconductive material ([0111]; “The electrodes 130a-130c and shafts 133a-133c are composed of a conductive materials, such as metals or conductive polymers”); and wherein the distal end comprises an exposed electroconductive outer contact surface, the exposed electroconductive outer contact surface being free of an insulating covering ([0111]; Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A).
As to claim 2, Bachinski et al. discloses the distal end of each of the component electrodes has a thickness which is at least 2 times greater than the thickness of the middle portion of this component electrode (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A).
As to claim 3, Bachinski et al. discloses the component electrodes have the distal ends of a shape independently selected from the group consisting of: a sphere, a hemisphere, a roll, a cylinder, a stick-like shape, a pin-like shape, a spike-like shape, and a pyramidal shape (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A).
As to claim 4, Bachinski et al. discloses wherein the component electrodes have the distal ends of a mushroom-like shape (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B, 16A and 17A-17B).
As to claim 5, Bachinski et al. discloses all the component electrodes within each of the electrode units have the distal ends of the same shape (Figure 16A).
As to claim 6, Bachinski et al. discloses the middle portions of the component electrodes have a shape of a cylinder of a radius defining half of the thickness of the middle portion (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A).
As to claim 7, Bachinski et al. discloses the distal ends of the component electrodes have convex surfaces for contacting the skin (Figures 5A, 7A, 9A-9B and 11A-B), wherein said convex surfaces are defined by a radius of curvature of said convex surfaces (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A).
As to claim 8, Bachinski et al. discloses the middle portions of the component electrodes have a shape of a cylinder of a radius defining half of the thickness of the middle portion (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A), wherein the distal ends of the component electrodes have convex surfaces for contacting the skin (Figures 5A, 7A, 9A-9B and 11A-B), wherein said convex surfaces are defined by a radius of curvature of said convex surfaces, and wherein the distal ends of the component electrodes have a shape of a sphere with a radius defining half of the thickness of the distal end, and wherein said radius is equal to the radius of curvature of the surface of the distal end, said radius of curvature being at least 2 times greater than the radius of the middle portion, within each of the component electrodes (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A).
As to claim 9, Bachinski et al. discloses the middle portions of the component electrodes have a shape of a cylinder of a radius defining half of the thickness of the middle portion (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A), wherein the distal ends of the component electrodes have convex surfaces for contacting the skin (Figures 5A, 7A, 9A-9B and 11A-B), wherein said convex surfaces are defined by a radius of curvature of said convex surfaces, and wherein the distal ends of the component electrodes have a mushroom-like shape with a radius defining half of the thickness of the distal end, and wherein said radius is smaller than the radius of curvature of the surface of the distal end, said radius of curvature being at least 2 times greater than the radius of the middle portion, within each of the component electrodes (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A).
As to claim 10, Bachinski et al. discloses each of the electrode units comprises the component electrodes spaced apart such that a clearance of 1 to 5 mm exists between two adjacent distal ends so that hair can be introduced and removed from the free space volume ([0014, 0072, 0111]; Figure 16A).
As to claim 11, Bachinski et al. discloses a system for supplying a conductive medium to the free space volume (Figures 11A-15B), the system comprising a manifold arranged on the back side of the substrate (Figures 11A-15B; substrate is depicted as 102 in Figures 11A-11B), the manifold comprising ducts ended with outlet tubes arranged in the substrate from the back side to the front side for supplying the conductive medium (the signal generator delivers electrical signals to the component electrodes via conducting line or a conduction interface which the examiner considers to be, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the conductive medium; Figures 16B-16C) to the component electrodes (Figures 11A-15B).
As to claim 12, Bachinski et al. discloses the electrode units are arranged on a deformable layer that is disposed between the manifold and the substrate facing the back side of the substrate ([0105-0110]), wherein the deformable layer has openings for disposing the outlet tubes from one side of the deformable layer to the other side (Figures 11A-15B).
As to claim 13, Bachinski et al. discloses the manifold is connected with the substrate by fastening means (Figures 11A-15B).
As to claim 15, Bachinski et al. discloses one electrode unit comprises at least four component electrodes ([0025-0026, 0131]).
As to claim 16, Bachinski et al. discloses the component electrodes are made of electroconductive polymer ([0111]; “The electrodes 130a-130c and shafts 133a-133c are composed of a conductive materials, such as metals or conductive polymers”).
As to claim 17, Bachinski et al. discloses the component electrodes are made of metal or metal alloy ([0111]; “The electrodes 130a-130c and shafts 133a-133c are composed of a conductive materials, such as metals or conductive polymers”).
As to claim 18, Bachinski et al. discloses the component electrodes are made of stainless steel, or gold or silver coated with silver chloride ([0158]).
As to claim 19, Bachinski et al. discloses a system for supplying a conductive medium is connected with a reservoir for conductive medium ([0023] “In certain implementation, a housing of the device includes a chamber for retaining a conductive gel. In certain approaches, the chamber is removable from the housing. Additionally or alternatively, the chamber may be fixedly coupled to the housing. The chamber includes an electrically conductive element. The chamber may include an aperture configured to allow air to enter the chamber when gel is removed from the chamber. In certain approaches, the aperture includes a scrim. The scrim may be permeable to air, but impermeable to gel. In some embodiments, the electrode is in fluid communication with the chamber”).
As to claim 22, Bachinski et al. discloses the component electrodes are an integral part of the substrate (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A).
As to claim 23, Bachinski et al. discloses the component electrodes are attached to the substrate (Figures 3 and 16A).
As to claim 24, Bachinski et al. discloses the component electrodes comprise: the distal ends of a distal end thickness having a shape selected from the group consisting of sphere, hemisphere, roll, cylinder, stick-like, pin-like, spike-like, and pyramidal shape, the middle portions of a middle portion thickness, and the proximal ends having a shape selected from the group consisting of roll, cylinder, stick-like, pin-like, spike-like, and pyramidal shape (Figures 2-3, 5A-7A, 9A-9B, 11A-11B and 16A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachinski et al. (US 2013/0085551 A1).
As to claim 14, Bachinski et al. discloses one electrode unit (Figure 3 and 16A). Bachinski et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed but does not disclose two electrode units. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a second electrode unit or second additional housing connector (depicted as 302 in Figure 16A) with alternative electrode configurations (i.e. Figure 2 with a singular electrode and Figure 16A with a plurality of electrodes) into the system of Bachinski et al., since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (see MPEP 2144.04). Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable results of ensuring the proper electrode configuration is available to be utilized to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
As to claim 20, Bachinski et al. discloses supplying a conductive medium, such as a conductive gel ([0023]), but does not a pump for feeding the conductive medium from the reservoir to the outlet tubes. Pumps and supply systems for conductive mediums are extremely well known the electrical stimulation art for directing an supplying conductive medium within a system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the conductive medium to include a pump for feeding the conductive medium in order to provide the predictable results of ensuring sufficient conductive mediums is present to optimize conductivity and system function.
As to claim 21, Bachinski et al. discloses a deformable layer is made of at least one material is selected from the group consisting of cotton, polyamide, polyester and leather. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the deformable layer to include cotton, polyamide, polyester or leather, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (See MPEP 2144.07). Furthermore, such a modification would provide the predictable result of optimizing the cost and performance of the device to meet specific patient therapeutic needs and requirements.
/ALYSSA M ALTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796