DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 14-16, 22, 24-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae et al (US 20210051673 A1) in view of Park et al (WO-2021030612 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 30, Chae discloses a method (fig. 29) performed by a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), the method comprising: establishing (establish a first connection with a base station; paragraph 0104, 0106) a first connection with a base station (the UE has an established RRC context and may have at least one RRC connection with a base station; paragraph 0104); transmitting (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station; paragraph 0139), to the base station (a base station may transmit one or more Reference Signals; paragraph 0139), information related to a sidelink-based service provided by the first UE (provide service, activate service, a direct communication between a first wireless device and a second wireless device with or without involving a base station; paragraph 0219); transmitting (transmitting a discovery signal; paragraph 0221) a discovery signal including information related to the first UE (a sidelink channel for transmitting and receiving a discovery signal; furthermore, a discovery signal may correspond to a signal used by a UE to determine a plurality of UEs adjacent to the UE; paragraph 0221); receiving (receiving a DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP; paragraph 0126) a discovery signal (the discovery channel may correspond to a resource pool for a message that enables a neighboring UE to discover transmission UE transmitting information such as ID of the UE; the UE may determine the response as an indication of an acknowledgement for an SI request; paragraph 0126, 0223-0224), which has received the discovery signal (the contents of the D2D signal may include a D2D control channel, a D2D data channel, and a discovery channel; the D2D control channel may correspond to a signal including information on a resource position of a D2D data channel; paragraph 0223); and establishing (establish a second connection with a second base station; paragraph 0104, 0106) a second connection with the second UE to provide the service (RRC messages may be transmitted between the UE 210 and the RAN using signaling radio bearers and the same/similar PDCP; in addition, transmitting information for the purpose of providing service to the base station ; paragraph 0102, 0104).
However, Chae et al does not specifically disclose the features of receiving a response signal to the discovery signal from a second UE, wherein the information related to the sidelink-based service comprises information related to a location of the first UE.
On the other hand, Park et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of receiving (the UEs 156 may be configured to receive services through a PDU session, which is a logical connection between a UE and a DN; paragraph 0066, 0077) a response signal to the discovery signal from a second UE (a sidelink channel for transmitting and receiving the discovery signal; note that a D2D transmission signal transmitted through a sidelink may be divided into a discovery use and a communication use; a discovery signal corresponds to a signal used by a UE to determine a plurality of UEs adjacent to the UE; furthermore, the D2D data channel or the discovery signal may be classified into a different resource pool according to a transmission timing determination scheme, of a D2D signal, a resource allocation scheme paragraph ; 0216, 0219), wherein the information related to the sidelink-based service (a base station designates the transmission resource region or resource pool and a UE directly selects a transmission resource from the transmission resource region; transmitting, to the base station, information related to a sidelink-based service provided by the first UE; note that, the UE 210 may receive services through a PDU session, which may be a logical connection between the UE 210 and a DN; paragraph 0066, 0077) comprises information related to a location of the first UE (the UE may monitor a frequency location within the carrier; the discovery channel may correspond to a resource pool for a message that enables a neighboring UE to discover transmission UE transmitting information such as ID of the UE; in addition, the UE may determine a physical cell identifier of the cell based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively; the UE may determine a location of a frame boundary of the cell based on the location of the SS/PBCH block paragraph 0136, 0216, 0257). Note that the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 may be connected to a GPS chipset 1517 and a GPS chipset 1527, respectively. The GPS chipset 1517 and the GPS chipset 1527 may be configured to provide geographic location information of the wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504, respectively (paragraph 0205, 0264). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Park to the communication system of Chae in order to provide a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment that enables efficient use of radio resources in device-to-device communication between terminal devices.
Regarding claim 3, Chae as modified discloses a method (fig. 29) performed by a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), further comprising: receiving , from the base station, at least one of information related to a resource (resource elements, which are used to transmit D2D control information in a specific resource unit of a D2D control resource pool, may also be used for transmitting D2D data in a D2D data channel resource pool; paragraph 0221) for transmitting the discovery signal (the discovery channel may correspond to a resource pool for a message that enables a neighboring UE to discover transmission UE transmitting information such as ID of the UE ; paragraph 0221) or information related to a valid period of the resource (receiving a DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP and/or in response to an expiry of the BWP inactivity timer; paragraph 0126, 0134).
Regarding claim 4, Chae as modified discloses a method (fig. 29) performed by a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), further comprising: requesting the base station for a resource for transmitting the discovery signal in case that the valid period expires (receiving a DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP and/or in response to an expiry of the BWP inactivity timer; paragraph 0126, 0134).
Regarding claim 5, Chae as modified discloses a method (fig. 29) performed by a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), further comprising: notifying the base station that provision of the service is suspended, in case that the service is unavailable prior to expiration of the valid period (mobility is managed by the UE through cell reselection; mobility management in RRC idle 604 and RRC inactive 606 is to allow the network to be able to notify the UE of an event via a paging message without having to broadcast the paging message over the entire mobile communications network; paragraph 0107).
Regarding claim 6, Chae as modified discloses a method (fig. 29) performed by a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), wherein the transmitting the discovery signal comprises repeatedly transmitting the discovery signal (the RLCs 213 and 223 may perform segmentation, retransmission through Automatic Repeat request and removal of duplicate data units received from MACs 212 and 222; paragraph 0070) using a plurality of transmit beams (transmits the discovery signal; the discovery signal can be repeatedly transmitted using directional beams; paragraph 0146, 0143, 0221).
Regarding claim 7, Chae as modified discloses a method (fig. 29) performed by a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), further comprising: determining (the RLCs 213 and 223 may perform segmentation, retransmission through Automatic Repeat request and removal of duplicate data units received from MACs 212 and 222; paragraph 0070) a transmit beam for communication with the second UE based on the response signal (transmits the discovery signal; the discovery signal can be repeatedly transmitted using directional beams; paragraph 0146, 0221).
Regarding claim 8, Chae as modified discloses a method (fig. 29) performed by a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), wherein the information related to the first UE comprises an identifier used to generate a sequence constituting the discovery signal (the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell; for example, the UE may determine a physical cell identifier of the cell based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively; the UE may determine a location of a frame boundary of the cell based on the location of the SS/PBCH block; paragraph 0143), and wherein the identifier comprises one of a UE identifier or a discovery ID (aperiodic SRS resource; a number of OFDM symbols in an SRS resource; a starting OFDM symbol of an SRS resource; an SRS bandwidth; a frequency hopping bandwidth; a cyclic shift; and/or an SRS sequence ID; paragraph 0143, 0160).
Regarding claims 22, 31, Chae discloses a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), the first UE (UE 210) comprising: a transceiver; and a processor connected to the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to: establish (establish a first connection with a base station; paragraph 0104, 0106) a first connection with a base station (the UE has an established RRC context and may have at least one RRC connection with a base station; paragraph 0104); transmit (the UE may transmit one or more RSs to the base station; paragraph 0139), to the base station (a base station may transmit one or more Reference Signals; paragraph 0139), information related to a sidelink-based service provided by the first UE (provide service, activate service, a direct communication between a first wireless device and a second wireless device with or without involving a base station; paragraph 0219); transmit (transmitting a discovery signal; paragraph 0221) a discovery signal including information related to the first UE (a sidelink channel for transmitting and receiving a discovery signal; furthermore, a discovery signal may correspond to a signal used by a UE to determine a plurality of UEs adjacent to the UE; paragraph 0221); receive (receiving a DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP; paragraph 0126) a discovery signal (the discovery channel may correspond to a resource pool for a message that enables a neighboring UE to discover transmission UE transmitting information such as ID of the UE; the UE may determine the response as an indication of an acknowledgement for an SI request; paragraph 0126, 0223-0224), which has received the discovery signal (the contents of the D2D signal may include a D2D control channel, a D2D data channel, and a discovery channel; the D2D control channel may correspond to a signal including information on a resource position of a D2D data channel; paragraph 0223); and establish (establish a second connection with a second base station; paragraph 0104, 0106) a second connection with the second UE to provide the service (RRC messages may be transmitted between the UE 210 and the RAN using signaling radio bearers and the same/similar PDCP; in addition, transmitting information for the purpose of providing service to the base station ; paragraph 0102, 0104).
However, Chae et al does not specifically disclose the features of receiving a response signal to the discovery signal from a second UE, wherein the information related to the sidelink-based service comprises information related to a location of the first UE.
On the other hand, Park et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of receiving (the UEs 156 may be configured to receive services through a PDU session, which is a logical connection between a UE and a DN; paragraph 0066, 0077) a response signal to the discovery signal from a second UE (a sidelink channel for transmitting and receiving the discovery signal; note that a D2D transmission signal transmitted through a sidelink may be divided into a discovery use and a communication use; a discovery signal corresponds to a signal used by a UE to determine a plurality of UEs adjacent to the UE; furthermore, the D2D data channel or the discovery signal may be classified into a different resource pool according to a transmission timing determination scheme, of a D2D signal, a resource allocation scheme paragraph ; 0216, 0219), wherein the information related to the sidelink-based service (a base station designates the transmission resource region or resource pool and a UE directly selects a transmission resource from the transmission resource region; transmitting, to the base station, information related to a sidelink-based service provided by the first UE; note that, the UE 210 may receive services through a PDU session, which may be a logical connection between the UE 210 and a DN; paragraph 0066, 0077) comprises information related to a location of the first UE (the UE may monitor a frequency location within the carrier; the discovery channel may correspond to a resource pool for a message that enables a neighboring UE to discover transmission UE transmitting information such as ID of the UE; in addition, the UE may determine a physical cell identifier of the cell based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively; the UE may determine a location of a frame boundary of the cell based on the location of the SS/PBCH block paragraph 0136, 0216, 0257). Note that the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 may be connected to a GPS chipset 1517 and a GPS chipset 1527, respectively. The GPS chipset 1517 and the GPS chipset 1527 may be configured to provide geographic location information of the wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504, respectively (paragraph 0205, 0264). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Park to the communication system of Chae in order to provide a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment that enables efficient use of radio resources in device-to-device communication between terminal devices.
Regarding claim 24, Chae as modified discloses a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), further comprising: receiving, from the base station, at least one of information related to a resource for transmitting the discovery signal (perform D2D communication; obtain time synchronization and frequency synchronization between two UEs) or information related to a valid period of the resource (a UE may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP in response to receiving a DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP and/or in response to an expiry of the BWP inactivity timer; paragraph 0126).
Regarding claim 25, Chae as modified discloses a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station),
further comprising: requesting the base station for a resource for transmitting the discovery signal in case that the valid period expires (a base station may configure a UE with a BWP inactivity value for a PCell; the UE may start or restart a BWP inactivity timer at any appropriate time; for example, the UE may start or restart the BWP inactivity timer; paragraph 0125-0126).
Regarding claim 26, Chae as modified discloses a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), further comprising: notifying the base station that provision of the service is suspended (paragraph 0125, 0107), in case that the service is unavailable prior to expiration of the valid period a UE may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP in response to receiving a DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP and/or in response to an expiry of the BWP inactivity timer; paragraph 0126).
Regarding claim 27, Chae as modified discloses a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), wherein the transmitting the discovery signal (the RLCs 213 and 223 may perform segmentation, retransmission through Automatic Repeat request and removal of duplicate data units received from MACs 212 and 222; paragraph 0070) comprises repeatedly transmitting the discovery signal using a plurality of transmit beams (transmits the discovery signal; the discovery signal can be repeatedly transmitted using directional beams; paragraph 0146, 0143, 0221).
Regarding claim 28, Chae as modified discloses a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station), further comprising: determining a transmit beam for communication with the second UE based on the response signal (a beam may be identified by one or more beamformed reference signals; the UE may perform downlink a beam measurement based on downlink reference signals (e.g., a channel state information reference signal and generate a beam measurement report; the UE may perform the downlink a beam measurement procedure after an RRC connection is set up with a base station ; paragraph 0162, 0164).
Regarding claim 29, Chae as modified discloses a first user equipment (UE 210) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station),
wherein the information related to the first UE comprises an identifier used to generate a sequence constituting the discovery signal (the SS/PBCH block may be used by the UE to determine one or more parameters of the cell; for example, the UE may determine a physical cell identifier of the cell based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively; the UE may determine a location of a frame boundary of the cell based on the location of the SS/PBCH block; paragraph 0143), and wherein the identifier comprises one of a UE identifier or a discovery ID (aperiodic SRS resource; a number of OFDM symbols in an SRS resource; a starting OFDM symbol of an SRS resource; an SRS bandwidth; a frequency hopping bandwidth; a cyclic shift; and/or an SRS sequence ID; paragraph 0143, 0160).
Regarding claim 14, Chae et al discloses a base station (Base station 105: figs. 17C-17D) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station; paragraph 0052), the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a processor connected to the transceiver (paragraph 0052, 0055) and is configured to: establish (establish a first connection with a base station; paragraph 0104, 0106) a first connection with a first user equipment (the UE has an established RRC context and may have at least one RRC connection with a base station; paragraph 0104); UE): receive (receiving a DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP; paragraph 0126) information related to a sidelink-based service provided by the first UE (provide service, activate service, a direct communication between a first wireless device and a second wireless device with or without involving a base station; paragraph 0219); establish (establish a second connection with a second base station; paragraph 0104, 0106) a second connection with a second UE and transmit (transmitting a discovery signal; paragraph 0221), to the second UE, the information related to the first UE (RRC messages may be transmitted between the UE 210 and the RAN using signaling radio bearers and the same/similar PDCP; in addition, transmitting information for the purpose of providing service to the base station ; paragraph 0102, 0104).
However, Chae et al does not specifically disclose the features of receiving a response signal to the discovery signal from a second UE, wherein the information related to the sidelink-based service comprises information related to a location of the first UE.
On the other hand, Park et al, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the features of receiving (the UEs 156 may be configured to receive services through a PDU session, which is a logical connection between a UE and a DN; paragraph 0066, 0077) a response signal to the discovery signal from a second UE (a sidelink channel for transmitting and receiving the discovery signal; note that a D2D transmission signal transmitted through a sidelink may be divided into a discovery use and a communication use; a discovery signal corresponds to a signal used by a UE to determine a plurality of UEs adjacent to the UE; furthermore, the D2D data channel or the discovery signal may be classified into a different resource pool according to a transmission timing determination scheme, of a D2D signal, a resource allocation scheme paragraph ; 0216, 0219), wherein the information related to the sidelink-based service (a base station designates the transmission resource region or resource pool and a UE directly selects a transmission resource from the transmission resource region; transmitting, to the base station, information related to a sidelink-based service provided by the first UE; note that, the UE 210 may receive services through a PDU session, which may be a logical connection between the UE 210 and a DN; paragraph 0066, 0077) comprises information related to a location of the first UE (the UE may monitor a frequency location within the carrier; the discovery channel may correspond to a resource pool for a message that enables a neighboring UE to discover transmission UE transmitting information such as ID of the UE; in addition, the UE may determine a physical cell identifier of the cell based on the sequences of the PSS and the SSS, respectively; the UE may determine a location of a frame boundary of the cell based on the location of the SS/PBCH block paragraph 0136, 0216, 0257). Note that the processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 may be connected to a GPS chipset 1517 and a GPS chipset 1527, respectively. The GPS chipset 1517 and the GPS chipset 1527 may be configured to provide geographic location information of the wireless device 1502 and the base station 1504, respectively (paragraph 0205, 0264). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Park to the communication system of Chae in order to provide a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment that enables efficient use of radio resources in device-to-device communication between terminal devices.
Regarding claim 15, Chae et al as modified discloses a base station (Base station 105: figs. 17C-17D) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station; paragraph 0052), wherein the processor is further configured to: receive from the second UE, information related to an interested service, identify at least one UE providing the interested service among UEs in a coverage of the base station; and identify that the first UE among the at least one UEs is adjacent to the second UE (the contents of the D2D signal may include a D2D control channel, a D2D data channel, and a discovery channel; the D2D control channel may correspond to a signal including information on a resource position of a D2D data channel; paragraph 0223).
Regarding claim 16, Chae et al as modified discloses a base station (Base station 105: figs. 17C-17D) in a wireless communication system (a wireless device in communication with a base station; paragraph 0052), wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit to a neighboring base station, at least one of the information related to the interested service or information related to a location of the second UE; and receive (receive a D2D transmission message from the base station; paragraph 0008, 0011) from the neighboring base station, information related to the first UE (the discovery channel may correspond to a resource pool for a message that enables a neighboring UE to discover transmission UE transmitting information such as ID of the UE; the UE may determine the response as an indication of an acknowledgement for an SI request; paragraph 0126, 0223-0224).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-8, 14-16, 22, 24-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641