DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “…wherein one or more of the plurality of chemical feed distributors comprises one or more reinforcing bars coupled to the conduit along at least a portion of a length of the chemical feed distributor.” There is no mention of a conduit previously in claim 1. Therefore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pretz et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0087528, hereinafter Pretz) in view of Chen et al. (CN206868177U-relied on machine translation, hereinafter Chen).
In regards to Claim 1, Pretz discloses a fluidized bed processing system, the fluidized bed processing system comprising:
a vessel (#1) comprising a vessel wall (#2) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0014]); and
a plurality of chemical feed distributors (#9) coupled to the vessel wall (#2) and extending from the vessel wall (#2) into an internal volume of the vessel (#1), each of the chemical feed distributors (#9) comprising a distributor body (#30) forming a chemical feed flow path and a plurality of chemical feed outlets (#13) distributed along a length of the distributor body (#30) (see figures 1-3 and paragraph [0016]).
Pretz fails to disclose:
at least one intermediate beam comprising at plurality of slots spaced apart along a beam length, wherein:
the at least one intermediate beam is coupled to the vessel wall at both ends;
each of the plurality of chemical feed distributors passes through one slot of the at least one intermediate beam; and
the at least one intermediate beam provides vertical support for each of the plurality of chemical feed distributors.
However, Chen teaches a gas distributor for gas-liquid phase reaction devices that is simple in structure, easy to maintain, suitable for use in high-temperature corrosive process environments, and provides uniform gas distribution (see paragraph [0006]). The gas distributor comprises a main branch pipe (#1) and multiple branch pipes (#2), i.e. plurality of chemical feed distributors, with at least one exhaust hole, and the multiple branch pipes are installed inside a vessel through a vessel wall (#7). Further, a support rod (#3), i.e. intermediate beam, comprising a plurality of slots (openings securing to fixing blocks #4 of multiple branch pipes #2) spaced apart along a the length of the support rod, wherein the at least one support rod (#3), i.e. at least one intermediate beam, is coupled to the vessel wall (#7) at both ends. Each of the plurality of multiple branch pipes (#2) passes through one slot (openings securing to fixing blocks #4 of multiple branch pipes #2) of the support rod (#3), and the support rod (#3), i.e. at least one intermediate beam, provides vertical support for each of the plurality of multiple branch pipes (#2) which secures the multiple branch pipes from falling off or being damaged (see figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0012], [0014] and [0019]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the fluidized bed processing system as disclosed by Pretz by further adding at least one intermediate beam comprising at plurality of slots spaced apart along a beam length, wherein the at least one intermediate beam is coupled to the vessel wall at both ends, each of the plurality of chemical feed distributors passes through one slot of the at least one intermediate beam, and the at least one intermediate beam provides vertical support for each of the plurality of chemical feed distributors, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Chen teaches a gas distributor for gas-liquid phase reaction devices, wherein the gas distributor comprises a main branch pipe and multiple branch pipes, i.e. plurality of chemical feed distributors installed inside a vessel through a vessel wall, and a support rod, i.e. intermediate beam, comprising a plurality of slots spaced apart along a the length of the support rod is coupled to the vessel wall at both ends, whereby each of the plurality of multiple branch pipes passes through one slot of the support rod, wherein the support rod provides vertical support for each of the plurality of multiple branch pipes, thereby securing the multiple branch pipes from falling off or being damaged (see figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0012], [0014] and [0019]).
In regards to Claim 2, Pretz, in view of Chen, discloses the fluidized bed processing system as recited in claim 1. Although Pretz, as modified above, is silent in regards to wherein a clearance between each of the plurality of chemical feed distributors and one or both side surfaces of the slot of the at least one intermediate beam is sufficient to allow for thermal expansion of the at least one intermediate beam without influencing the lateral position of any of the plurality of chemical feed distributors, Pretz, as modified above, discloses substantially the same fluidized bed processing system as claimed by the applicant. Therefore, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that Pretz’s system is capable of functioning in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
In regards to Claim 3, Pretz, in view of Chen, discloses the fluidized bed processing system as recited in claim 1. Although Pretz, as modified above, does not explicitly disclose wherein a difference between a greatest horizontal dimension of the chemical feed distributor and a slot width of the slot is greater than or equal to 0.125 inches, adjusting this value to an optimum value of greater than or equal to 0.125 inches, as claimed by the applicant, is within one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation, in order to obtain a desired end-result, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.05.
In regards to Claim 4, Pretz, in view of Chen, discloses the fluidized bed processing system as recited in claim 1. Although Pretz, as modified above, is silent in regards to wherein at least one end of the at least one intermediate beam is slidable laterally relative to the vessel wall, Pretz, as modified above, discloses substantially the same fluidized bed processing system as claimed by the applicant. Therefore, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that Pretz’s system is capable of functioning in the same manner as claimed, as it has been held that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2112.01.
In regards to Claim 5, Pretz, in view of Chen, discloses the fluidized bed processing system as recited in claim 1. Although Pretz, as modified above, is silent in regards to wherein both ends of the at least one intermediate beam are slidably coupled to the vessel wall and slot widths of the plurality of slots in the at least one intermediate beam increase from a horizontal center of the at least one intermediate beam laterally outward towards each end of the at least one intermediate beam, adjusting the slot widths to increase from a horizontal center of the at least one intermediate beam laterally outward towards each end of the at least one intermediate beam, as claimed by the applicant, is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for improved support, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
In regards to Claim 6, Pretz, in view of Chen, discloses the fluidized bed processing system as recited in claim 1. Chen further teaches a first plurality of chemical feed distributors (#2) and at least one intermediate beam (#3), wherein the first plurality of chemical feed distributors (#2) are coupled to a first side of the vessel wall (#7) and extend through the slots in the at least one first intermediate beam (#3) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0019]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the fluidized bed processing system as disclosed by Pretz by further having a first plurality of chemical feed distributors and at least one intermediate beam, wherein the first plurality of chemical feed distributors are coupled to a first side of the vessel wall and extend through the slots in the at least one first intermediate beam, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Chen teaches a gas distributor for gas-liquid phase reaction devices, wherein the gas distributor comprises a main branch pipe and multiple branch pipes, i.e. plurality of chemical feed distributors installed inside a vessel through a vessel wall, and a support rod, i.e. intermediate beam, comprising a plurality of slots spaced apart along a the length of the support rod is coupled to the vessel wall at both ends, whereby each of the plurality of multiple branch pipes passes through one slot of the support rod, wherein the support rod provides vertical support for each of the plurality of multiple branch pipes, thereby securing the multiple branch pipes from falling off or being damaged (see figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0012], [0014] and [0019]).
Although Pretz, in view of Chen, does not explicitly disclose a second plurality of chemical feed distributors and at least one second intermediate beam wherein the second plurality of chemical distributors are coupled to a second side of the vessel wall opposite the first side and the second plurality of chemical feed distributors extend through the slots in the at least one second intermediate beam, having a second plurality of chemical feed distributors and a second intermediate beam is a mere duplication of parts and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. Further, having the second plurality of chemical feed distributors and the at least one second intermediate beam to be coupled to a second side of the vessel wall opposite the first side, is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for improved fluid distribution efficiency, as is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
In regards to Claim 12, Pretz, in view of Chen, discloses the fluidized bed processing system as recited in claim 1. Chen further teaches further comprising a T-distributor (#1) coupled to the vessel wall (#7), and extending from the vessel wall (#7) into an internal volume of the vessel (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0012] and [0019]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the fluidized bed processing system as disclosed by Pretz by further including a T-distributor coupled to the vessel wall and extending from the vessel wall into an internal volume of the vessel, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Chen teaches a gas distributor for gas-liquid phase reaction devices, wherein the gas distributor comprises a main branch pipe and multiple branch pipes, i.e. plurality of chemical feed distributors installed inside a vessel through a vessel wall, a support rod, i.e. intermediate beam, comprising a plurality of slots spaced apart along a the length of the support rod is coupled to the vessel wall at both ends, whereby each of the plurality of multiple branch pipes passes through one slot of the support rod, for providing vertical support for each of the plurality of multiple branch pipes, and a T-distributor coupled to the vessel wall and extending from the vessel wall into an internal volume of the vessel, thereby efficiently providing the amount of feed to the fluidized bed system to maintain purification efficiency within the system (see figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0012], [0014] and [0019]).
Examiner notes that although Pretz, in view of Chen, does not explicitly disclose wherein the T-distributor is disposed at a portion of the vessel blocked by attachment of the at least one intermediate beam to the vessel wall, relocating the T-distributor to another location is a mere engineering design choice, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
In regards to Claim 15, Pretz discloses wherein the fluidized bed processing system is a reactor, a catalyst combustor, a catalyst stripper, or a catalyst conditioner (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0006] and [0014]-[0016]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pretz in view of Chen, and further in view of Tan et al. (CN208959859U, relied on machine translation, hereinafter Tan).
In regards to Claim 13, Pretz, in view of Chen, discloses the fluidized bed processing system as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein one or more of the plurality of chemical feed distributors comprises at least a first section proximate a chemical feed inlet of the chemical feed distributor and a second section proximate a terminal end of the chemical feed distributor, wherein the second section has a cross- sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the first section.
However, Tan teaches a fluidized bed reactor distributor. A main pipe connects to an inlet of a fluidized bed reactor distributor to receive and transport fluid to be distributed. A branch pipe connected to the main pipe is used to transport the fluid to be distributed, and a nozzle connected to the branch pipe is used to deliver and spray the fluid to be distributed into the fluidized bed (see figures 1-2 and 9 and paragraphs [0013]-[0015]). Several internal components are dispersedly disposed with the branch pipe and/or nozzle for changing the internal shape and inner diameter of the corresponding pipeline. The internal component is a tubular section, the outer surface of which is fitted or integrally formed with the inner wall of the main pipe and/or the branch pipe, and at least one end of the tubular structure has a transition section in which the inner diameter gradually decreases from the end to the inside (see figure 1-2 and 9, and paragraphs [0016]-[0017]). Along the fluid flow direction, the fluid channel formed by the internal component is of the type that gradually narrows (see figure 9 and paragraph [0023]). The internal components installed on the inner walls of the branch pipes and/or nozzles can adjust the size and shape of the fluid channels within the branch pipes and/or nozzles. This, in turn, changes the size and shape the fluid channels in the branch pipes and/or nozzles closer to and/or farther from the inlet end, adjusting the gas flow rate and pressure in these locations. This helps maintain a balance of gas flow rate and pressure throughout the distributor's piping. By adjusting the size and shape of the fluid channels at the branch pipe and/or nozzle farther from the inlet end, i.e. second section proximate a terminal end of the chemical feed distributor, the gas pressure drop at the far end of the inlet end can be reduced, ensuring that the gas pressure at the nozzle is higher than the ambient pressure, thereby improving catalyst backflow (see figure 9 and paragraph [0034]). This is considered equivalent to wherein the one or more of the plurality of chemical feed distributors comprises at least a first section proximate a chemical feed inlet of the chemical feed distributor and a second section proximate a terminal end of the chemical feed distributor, wherein the second section has a cross- sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the first section, as claimed by the applicant.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the fluidized bed processing system as disclosed by Pretz, in view of Chen, by further having one or more of the plurality of chemical feed distributors comprises at least a first section proximate a chemical feed inlet of the chemical feed distributor and a second section proximate a terminal end of the chemical feed distributor, wherein the second section has a cross-sectional area less than a cross-sectional area of the first section, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Tan teaches a fluidized bed reactor distributor comprising a main pipe which connects to an inlet of a fluidized bed reactor distributor to receive and transport fluid to be distributed, a branch pipe connected to the main pipe used to transport the fluid to be distributed, and a nozzle connected to the branch pipe used to deliver and spray the fluid to be distributed into the fluidized bed, wherein several internal components are dispersedly disposed with the branch pipe and/or nozzle for changing the internal shape and inner diameter of the corresponding pipeline, whereby along the fluid flow direction, the fluid channel formed by the internal component is of the type that gradually narrows, and by narrowing the shape of the fluid channels at the branch pipe and/or nozzle farther from the inlet end, i.e. second section proximate a terminal end of the chemical feed distributor, the gas pressure drop at the far end of the inlet end can be reduced, ensuring that the gas pressure at the nozzle is higher than the ambient pressure, thereby improving catalyst backflow (see figure 9 and paragraphs [0016]-[0017], [0023] [0034]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pretz in view of Chen, and further in view of Tammera, R. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0158000, hereinafter Tammera).
In regards to Claim 14, Pretz, in view of Chen, discloses the fluidized bed processing system as recited in claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein one or more of the plurality of chemical feed distributors comprises one or more reinforcing bars coupled to a conduit along at least a portion of a length of the chemical feed distributor.
However, Tammera teaches a fluidized bed reactor vessel and support beam assembly. The assembly includes a vessel having a cylindrical wall defining an interior chamber and a support assembly disposed within the interior chamber. The support assembly (#6), i.e. reinforcing bars, includes an inner hub (#60) and a plurality of spokes (#64) extending radially from the inner hub (#60) (see figures 4a-4B and 5b, and paragraph [0012]). The support assembly (#6) can define an upper support plane to support an upper load thereon and can be sized to support one or more lower loads (#5), i.e. chemical feed distributors, secured thereto (see figures 4A-4B and 5B and paragraph [0015]). Multiple hardware objects (#5), i.e. chemical feed distributors, can be supported and/or suspended from the support structure (#6) by being welded or tied to the support structure (#6) (see figure 5B and paragraph [0044]). This is considered equivalent to wherein one or more of the plurality of chemical feed distributors comprises one or more reinforcing bars coupled to a conduit along at least a portion of a length of the chemical feed distributor, as claimed by the applicant.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the fluidized bed processing system as disclosed by Pretz, in view of Chen, by further having the wherein one or more of the plurality of chemical feed distributors to comprise one or more reinforcing bars coupled to a conduit along at least a portion of a length of the chemical feed distributor, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Tammera teaches a fluidized bed reactor vessel and support beam assembly, which includes a vessel having a cylindrical wall defining an interior chamber and a support assembly disposed within the interior chamber, wherein the support assembly, i.e. reinforcing bars, includes an inner hub and a plurality of spokes extending radially from the inner hub, and the support assembly can be sized to support one or more lower loads (#5), i.e. chemical feed distributors, secured thereto, and multiple hardware objects, i.e. chemical feed distributors, can be supported and/or suspended from the support structure by being welded or tied to the support structure, thereby efficiently securing the chemical feed distributors to the vessel (see figure 5B and paragraphs [0012], [0015] and [0044]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JELITZA M PEREZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774