DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-14 are pending, independent claims 1 and 8 and dependent claim 13 are amended.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 5-9, filed 3/19/2026 with respect to U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not considered persuasive.
Applicant argues that Little and Aylott does not teach all the new limitations of the amended independent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and directs applicant to the rejection below.
Applicant argues that Little and Aylott do not teach the limitations of the claim, specifically Little and Aylott does not teach determine a vapor pressure at one location based upon a combination of more than one measurement each made at a different location.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The language of the amended claim limitation are as follows “determine one or more updated operating parameters based on the vapor pressure of the fluid within the plurality of equipment,” using BRI (broadest reasonable interpretation) the Examiner understands the amended language to say that the fluid inside a plurality of equipment has a vapor pressure, said vapor pressure is what is used to determine the one or more updated operating parameters. The limitation that the vapor pressure is determined at multiple locations is not found in the claim language of the limitations. Limitations that are not claimed are not addressed by the rejection. For at least these reason, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues Little teaches away from the pending application because Little teaches away from any solution that does not require the near infra-red (NIR) optical analyzer Little discloses.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Little is said to recite the quote utilized by the applicant in [0011]. There is no language in the claim of the pending application that Little’s statement affects the usability of the methodology presented in the pending application. The pending application presents a method of vapor pressure measurements, Little presents a method of vapor pressure measurements. The inclusion of an NIR optical analyzer being required in Little is does not limit Little from covering the claimed limitations in the pending application, and furthermore the claim language of the pending application does not specify what type of measurements are exclusively allowed or not allowed by the measurement system. Limitations that are not claimed are not addressed by the rejection. For at least these reason, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little, III et al. (US 20200049604 A1) hereinafter Little in view of Aylott et al. (US 2016/0188769 A1) hereinafter Aylott.
Regarding Claim 1, Little teaches, a processing facility comprising a plurality of equipment, wherein each component of the plurality of equipment is configured to perform one or more stages of processing fluids controlled by one or more operating parameters, ([0014] “The chemical composition of a fluid within a fluid infrastructure (i.e., processing facility may be measured using optical sensors that perform spectrographic analysis. These sensors may be placed at various locations within the fluid infrastructure and may be monitored locally or remotely. The remote optical sensors and other sensors may be communicatively coupled to a data gathering location. This allows the sensors to report the chemical composition associated with fluid.” And [0058] “Direct integration of the measurement systems with the control systems (i.e., controller) of a processing unit, allows the processing unit to manage valves or other control mechanisms to place various supplies or processes on line or off line (i.e., stages of the production line).”); a plurality of sensors ([0060] “As shown here, chemical composition analyzer 700 includes optical probes 702 and 704, temperature probe 706, a sample port 708, and a pressure transducer.”(i.e. plurality of sensors)), wherein each sensor of the plurality is disposed on a respective of the plurality of equipment at the processing facility ([0060] “As shown here, chemical composition analyzer 700 includes optical probes 702 and 704, temperature probe 706, a sample port 708, and a pressure transducer.”(i.e. plurality of sensors) Where in Fig 2, at one or more stages see pipeline 28 of a processing facility, i.e. sampling system 24, see also paragraph [0052] “One embodiment of sampling system 24 is shown in FIG. 2. It includes sample probe 42 to extract fluid 26 from the transmission line 28, a shut off valve 44, a switching valve, a filter 48, a flow controller or regulator 50, a pressure transducer 52, a temperature probe 54, an optical cell 20 coupled with fiber optic cables 22,” and [0042] “Embodiments of the present invention may be used to collect compositional sample points on all of the gas and liquid phase streams. The device may be designed for field use in hazardous areas. It can support up to ten fiber optic trains which may be run out to various sample points in the facility.”), wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to monitor a property selected from a list comprising a flow rate, ([0058] “In Step 200 the chemical composition of the fluid may be optically measured using remote optical sensors within a fluid infrastructure. In Step 202 other physical properties associated with the fluid may be measured. These properties may include temperature and pressure but are not so limited.”); a computer system ([0048] “The processing module 32 may be a single processing device or a plurality of processing devices (i.e., computer system). Such a processing device may be a microprocessor, micro-controller, digital signal processor, microcomputer, central processing unit (i.e., central server), field programmable gate array, programmable logic device, state machine, logic circuitry, analog circuitry, digital circuitry, and/or any device that manipulates signals (analog and/or digital) based on operational instructions.”), and one or more transmitters configured to transmit the value of the one or more properties from the plurality of sensors to the computer system ([0057] “The units with all the analytical capabilities on-board will send compiled data while other units may transmit raw telemetry that will be analyzed by a central server.” Where [0048] “The processing module 32 may be a single processing device or a plurality of processing devices. Such a processing device may be a microprocessor, micro-controller, digital signal processor, microcomputer, central processing unit (i.e., central server), field programmable gate array, programmable logic device, state machine, logic circuitry, analog circuitry, digital circuitry, and/or any device that manipulates signals (analog and/or digital) based on operational instructions.” And [0058] “In Step 202 other physical properties associated with the fluid may be measured. These properties may include temperature and pressure but are not so limited.”, Fig. 8), wherein the computer system is configured to, determine vapor pressure of the fluids based on a combination of the one or more fluid properties measured by the plurality sensors, ([0057] “Spectrographs use chemometric models and other analytical techniques to determine the composition of the fluid. The data models are used to compare the spectrums being gathered by the spectrometer from the fluid flowing through the sample cell with known results. Pressure and temperature will be recorded to account for their effects. Any offsets or adjustments required will be included in the calibration models. All of this information is compiled and used as a reference to compare the information coming from the on-line monitor. The calibration set allows one to derive the sample's RVP. The models may reside on each individual installation or on a central server. The units with all the analytical capabilities on-board will send compiled data while other units may transmit raw telemetry that will be analyzed by a central server.” Where [0058] “ In Step 200 the chemical composition of the fluid may be optically measured using remote optical sensors within a fluid infrastructure. In Step 202 other physical properties associated with the fluid may be measured. These properties may include temperature and pressure but are not so limited.”, Fig. 8, [0070] “Once the composition is known, properties of interest, such as RVP (reid vapor pressure), can be calculated for the fluid.”); determine one or more updated operating parameters based on the vapor pressure of the fluid within the plurality of equipment ([0058] “Direct integration of the measurement systems with the control systems (i.e., controller) of a processing unit, allows the processing unit to manage valves or other control mechanisms to place various supplies or processes on line or off line (i.e., stages of the production line). Further, processes can be varied or optimized (i.e., updated) to ensure control of the chemical processes based on real time chemical measurements.” Where [0070] “ In summary the present disclosure provides a chemical composition analyzer that may be used to optically determine and report chemical compositions associated with fluids within a fluid infrastructure. Once the composition is known, properties of interest, such as RVP (reid vapor pressure), can be calculated for the fluid.”, and claim 4 where “wherein one or more probes communicatively connected to the NIR analyzer are positioned after a stabilizer in a condensate production plant and adjustments to operating conditions of the stabilizer are made based on the vapor pressure determined at a location of the one or more probes.”), and transmit, using the one or more transmitters, the one or more updated operating parameters to the plurality of equipment ([0057] “The units with all the analytical capabilities on-board will send compiled data while other units may transmit raw telemetry (i.e., transmitters) that will be analyzed by a central server. The server will have the chemometric models and other analytical software necessary to complete the analysis.” [0058] “For example, using spectrographic analysis it may be possible to perform samples as often as every 20 milliseconds (i.e., redetermine). This differs greatly from current practices wherein samples are taken perhaps on a monthly or quarterly basis. This analysis allows the downstream user to access this information (i.e., information is transmitted so that an user can access it) in order to reconfigure manufacturing processes based on real time chemical compositions of the fluid to be delivered”, referring to Fig. 8 flowchart where the output is visualized in [0056] “FIG. 7 shows the output of a spectroscopic analyzer showing compositional analysis and RVP in real time.”).
Little does not teach a property selected from a list comprising a density, a flow rate, and a viscosity
Aylott teaches a property selected from a list comprising a density and a viscosity ([0616] “Once a fluid has been characterized in Lab Analysis the user can then attempt to property match to fluid being analyzed to measured laboratory data in the form of dew point, bubble point, gas/oil ratio, viscosity and density curves (as well as wax, asphaltene and other phase formation measurements).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine density and viscosity as discussed in Aylott to the vapor pressure monitoring system discussed in Little for the purpose of knowing the physical composition of the fluid flowing through the processing facility. This is advantageous because it is generally well understood that the physical composition of the fluid (density and viscosity) directly relate to the chemical composition of the fluid, for example the presence and interaction of large, complex, polar molecules like asphaltenes and resins increase viscosity, while smaller hydrocarbons and dissolved gases decrease viscosity.
Regarding Claim 8, Little teaches flowing fluid through a processing facility ([0042] “Embodiments of the present invention may be used to collect compositional sample points on all of the gas and liquid phase streams. The device may be designed for field use in hazardous areas. It can support up to ten fiber optic trains which may be run out to various sample points in the facility.”), wherein the processing facility comprises a plurality of equipment, wherein each component of the plurality of equipment is configured to perform one or more stages of processing fluid controlled by one or more operating parameters ([0014] “The chemical composition of a fluid within a fluid infrastructure (i.e., processing facility may be measured using optical sensors that perform spectrographic analysis. These sensors may be placed at various locations within the fluid infrastructure and may be monitored locally or remotely. The remote optical sensors and other sensors may be communicatively coupled to a data gathering location. This allows the sensors to report the chemical composition associated with fluid.” And [0058] “Direct integration of the measurement systems with the control systems (i.e., controller) of a processing unit, allows the processing unit to manage valves or other control mechanisms to place various supplies or processes on line or off line (i.e., stages of the production line).”); monitoring one or more fluid properties of a fluid with a plurality of sensors ([0058] “In Step 200 the chemical composition of the fluid may be optically measured using remote optical sensors within a fluid infrastructure. In Step 202 other physical properties associated with the fluid may be measured. These properties may include temperature and pressure but are not so limited.” And [0053] “A flow pressure controller 80 is used to control the amount of flow to optical cell 64 (i.e., changing fluid flow and pressure, i.e., fluid properties).”); wherein each sensor of the plurality is disposed on a component of the plurality of equipment, ([0060] “As shown here, chemical composition analyzer 700 includes optical probes 702 and 704, temperature probe 706, a sample port 708, and a pressure transducer.”(i.e. plurality of sensors) Where in Fig 2, at one or more stages see pipeline 28 of a processing facility, i.e. sampling system 24, see also paragraph [0052] “One embodiment of sampling system 24 is shown in FIG. 2. It includes sample probe 42 to extract fluid 26 from the transmission line 28, a shut off valve 44, a switching valve, a filter 48, a flow controller or regulator 50, a pressure transducer 52, a temperature probe 54, an optical cell 20 coupled with fiber optic cables 22,” and [0042] “Embodiments of the present invention may be used to collect compositional sample points on all of the gas and liquid phase streams. The device may be designed for field use in hazardous areas. It can support up to ten fiber optic trains which may be run out to various sample points in the facility.”), and wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to monitor a property selected from a list comprising a flow rate ([0058] “In Step 200 the chemical composition of the fluid may be optically measured using remote optical sensors within a fluid infrastructure. In Step 202 other physical properties associated with the fluid may be measured. These properties may include temperature and pressure but are not so limited.” And [0053] “A flow pressure controller 80 is used to control the amount of flow to optical cell 64 (i.e., changing fluid flow and pressure, i.e., fluid properties),”); and transmitting the value of the one or more fluid properties, via one or more transmitters, to a computer system ([0057] “The units with all the analytical capabilities on-board will send compiled data while other units may transmit raw telemetry that will be analyzed by a central server.” Where [0048] “The processing module 32 may be a single processing device or a plurality of processing devices. Such a processing device may be a microprocessor, micro-controller, digital signal processor, microcomputer, central processing unit (i.e., central server), field programmable gate array, programmable logic device, state machine, logic circuitry, analog circuitry, digital circuitry, and/or any device that manipulates signals (analog and/or digital) based on operational instructions.” And [0058] “In Step 202 other physical properties associated with the fluid may be measured. These properties may include temperature and pressure but are not so limited.”, Fig. 8); and determining, with the computer system, vapor pressure of the fluid based on a combination of the one or more fluid properties measured by the plurality of sensors , ([0057] “Spectrographs use chemometric models and other analytical techniques to determine the composition of the fluid. The data models are used to compare the spectrums being gathered by the spectrometer from the fluid flowing through the sample cell with known results. Pressure and temperature will be recorded to account for their effects. Any offsets or adjustments required will be included in the calibration models. All of this information is compiled and used as a reference to compare the information coming from the on-line monitor. The calibration set allows one to derive the sample's RVP. The models may reside on each individual installation or on a central server. The units with all the analytical capabilities on-board will send compiled data while other units may transmit raw telemetry that will be analyzed by a central server.” Where [0058] “ In Step 200 the chemical composition of the fluid may be optically measured using remote optical sensors within a fluid infrastructure. In Step 202 other physical properties associated with the fluid may be measured. These properties may include temperature and pressure but are not so limited.”, Fig. 8, [0070] “Once the composition is known, properties of interest, such as RVP (reid vapor pressure), can be calculated for the fluid.”); determine one or more updated operating parameters based on the vapor pressure of the fluid within the plurality of equipment ([0058] “Direct integration of the measurement systems with the control systems (i.e., controller) of a processing unit, allows the processing unit to manage valves or other control mechanisms to place various supplies or processes on line or off line (i.e., stages of the production line). Further, processes can be varied or optimized (i.e., updated) to ensure control of the chemical processes based on real time chemical measurements.” Where [0070] “ In summary the present disclosure provides a chemical composition analyzer that may be used to optically determine and report chemical compositions associated with fluids within a fluid infrastructure. Once the composition is known, properties of interest, such as RVP (reid vapor pressure), can be calculated for the fluid.”; claim 4 where “wherein one or more probes communicatively connected to the NIR analyzer are positioned after a stabilizer in a condensate production plant and adjustments to operating conditions of the stabilizer are made based on the vapor pressure determined at a location of the one or more probes.”), and transmit, using the one or more transmitters, the one or more updated operating parameters to the plurality of equipment ([0057] “The units with all the analytical capabilities on-board will send compiled data while other units may transmit raw telemetry (i.e., transmitters) that will be analyzed by a central server. The server will have the chemometric models and other analytical software necessary to complete the analysis.” [0058] “For example, using spectrographic analysis it may be possible to perform samples as often as every 20 milliseconds (i.e., redetermine). This differs greatly from current practices wherein samples are taken perhaps on a monthly or quarterly basis. This analysis allows the downstream user to access this information (i.e., information is transmitted so that an user can access it) in order to reconfigure manufacturing processes based on real time chemical compositions of the fluid to be delivered”, referring to Fig. 8 flowchart where the output is visualized in [0056] “FIG. 7 shows the output of a spectroscopic analyzer showing compositional analysis and RVP in real time.”).
Little does not teach a property selected from a list comprising a density, a flow rate, and a viscosity
Aylott teaches a property selected from a list comprising a density and a viscosity ([0616] “Once a fluid has been characterized in Lab Analysis the user can then attempt to property match to fluid being analyzed to measured laboratory data in the form of dew point, bubble point, gas/oil ratio, viscosity and density curves (as well as wax, asphaltene and other phase formation measurements).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine density and viscosity as discussed in Aylott to the vapor pressure monitoring system discussed in Little for the purpose of knowing the physical composition of the fluid flowing through the processing facility. This is advantageous because it is generally well understood that the physical composition of the fluid (density and viscosity) directly relate to the chemical composition of the fluid, for example the presence and interaction of large, complex, polar molecules like asphaltenes and resins increase viscosity, while smaller hydrocarbons and dissolved gases decrease viscosity.
Regarding Claim 2 and 11, Little and Aylott teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and 8, respectively.
Little further teaches wherein the computer system is configured to display the determined vapor pressure for a user ([0058] “This analysis allows the downstream user to access this information in order to reconfigure manufacturing processes based on real time chemical compositions of the fluid to be delivered.” And Fig. 7 where pressure is on the display, “Pressure [psi]” with example value “262.00”).
Regarding Claim 3, Little and Aylott teaches all the limitations of claim 2.
Little further teaches comparing the vapor pressure to a required specification ([0066] “This model development work can involve one or more of the following elements: (1) Use of principal components analysis (PCA) and partial least squares (PLS) regression to "explore" the calibration data, to uncover optimal modeling strategies and to detect potential outliers in the calibration data set; (2) If any outliers (samples or spectral variables) are detected in the calibration data, exclude them from being used to build the models (comparing to a required specification)” where [0065] “One or more calibration models are then applied to the normalized 1st derivative spectrum to calculate items of interest such as RVP.”)
Little does not teach wherein the computer system is configured to send alerts to the user when the values deviates from a required specification.
Aylott teaches wherein the computer system is configured to send alerts to the user when the values deviates from a required specification ( [0232]” Flowsheet quality assurance and alerts: The user can set certain workflow tasks to enable quality assurance (QA) of their own flowsheets to a known design basis. An alarm can indicate when for example a simulation variable drops below a value, deviates by a factor from a desired value, exceeds or reaches a certain value. Also conditional values based on other events and calculations can trigger an alarm.” [0126] “there is provided a method described above being performed by a microprocessor. According to a yet further aspect of the invention, there is provided a processor configured to execute the method described above.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the alert system discussed in Aylott to the vapor pressure determination system discuss in Little for the purpose of sending alerts based on the determined vapor pressure meeting the required specification. This is advantageous because it would signal to the user that the vapor pressure is at the optimal amount, and thus the processing system is in optimal conditions for the fluid that is currently undergoing processing.
Regarding Claim 4, Little and Aylott teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Little further teaches wherein the determined vapor pressure is a Reid vapor pressure or a true vapor pressure ([0013] “The present invention provides a system and method to determine Reid vapor pressure ("RVP"), true vapor pressure ("TVP") and other properties of a liquid fluid using near infrared ("NIR") spectroscopy techniques.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Little and Aylott teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Little further teaches wherein the equipment is one or more separators, one or more heater treaters, and one or more tanks ([0042] “Real time data analysis and results allow for optimization of the plant performance, calculating material balances, and facilitate debottlenecking operations and maximizing plant physical and economic performance by improving the control of towers, separators, and stabilizers (i.e., equipment).”).
Regarding Claim 7, Little and Aylott teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Little further teaches wherein the fluids are gasoline, crude oil, or other petroleum products ([0035] “"fluid" means any gas or liquid, including but not limited to a natural gas stream with or without suspended liquids, a natural gas liquids (NGL) stream, or a crude oil stream;”).
Regarding Claim 10, Little and Aylott teaches all the limitations of claim 8.
Little further teaches further comprising adjusting, with a controller, the operation of the one or more stages to change the determined vapor pressure ([0058] “Direct integration of the measurement systems with the control systems (i.e., controller) of a processing unit, allows the processing unit to manage valves or other control mechanisms to place various supplies or processes on line or off line (i.e., stages of the production line). Further, processes can be varied or optimized to ensure control of the chemical processes based on real time chemical measurements.” Where [0070] “Once the composition is known, properties of interest, such as RVP (reid vapor pressure), can be calculated for the fluid.” Meaning that if the chemical process is optimized, then chemical the composition will be altered via the optimization, then the determined RVP is changed).
Regarding 12, Little and Aylott teaches all the limitations of claim 8.
Little further teaches wherein the one or more fluid properties is a temperature, a pressure, a density, a flow rate, or a viscosity of the fluid ([0058] “In Step 202 other physical properties associated with the fluid may be measured. These properties may include temperature and pressure but are not so limited.” And [0053] “A flow pressure controller 80 is used to control the amount of flow to optical cell 64 (i.e., changing fluid flow and pressure, i.e., fluid properties), temperature, pressure, flow rate).
Regarding Claim 13, Little teaches all the limitations of claim 8.
Little does not explicitly teach determining of the vapor pressure comprises cross- correlating the one or more fluid properties in a three-dimensional lookup table.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at determining of the vapor pressure comprises cross- corelating the one or more fluid properties in a three-dimensional lookup table based on the teachings of Little. Little implicitly teaches determining of the vapor pressure comprises cross- corelating the one or more fluid properties in a three-dimensional lookup table in claim 12 “the spectral response obtained with the absorption spectroscopy is correlated with the known vapor pressure of the samples to build chemometric models that report vapor pressure of the fluid in the pipeline in real time.”, and [0057] “Spectrographs use chemometric models and other analytical techniques to determine the composition of the fluid. The data models are used to compare the spectrums being gathered by the spectrometer from the fluid flowing through the sample cell with known results. Pressure and temperature will be recorded to account for their effects. Any offsets or adjustments required will be included in the calibration models. All of this information is compiled and used as a reference to compare the information coming from the on-line monitor.” where it would appear that one of ordinary skill in the art could achieve the obvious change in design choice to use data from a model to get the necessary info as an alternative to a lookup table as it would easily provide equivalent information for the acquired system.
Regarding Claim 14, Little teaches all the limitations of claim 13.
Little further argues wherein the three-dimensional lookup table contains pre- determined or measured values for a vapor pressure based on different fluid property values
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the three-dimensional lookup table contains pre- determined or measured values for a vapor pressure based on different fluid property values based on the teachings of Little. Little implicitly teaches the three-dimensional lookup table contains pre- determined or measured values for a vapor pressure based on different fluid property values in claim 12 “the spectral response obtained with the absorption spectroscopy is correlated with the known vapor pressure of the samples to build chemometric models that report vapor pressure of the fluid in the pipeline in real time.”, and [0057] “Spectrographs use chemometric models and other analytical techniques to determine the composition of the fluid. The data models are used to compare the spectrums being gathered by the spectrometer from the fluid flowing through the sample cell with known results. Pressure and temperature will be recorded to account for their effects. Any offsets or adjustments required will be included in the calibration models. All of this information is compiled and used as a reference to compare the information coming from the on-line monitor.” And as stated in [0003] “From a processing perspective, raw inlet fluid may be from nearby oil or gas fields, be a product of another type of process, or be associated oil or gas from oil field operations. Each has a different composition.” Where the teaching in Little is of a model that contains pre- determined or measured values for a vapor pressure based on different fluid property values. It would appear that one of ordinary skill in the art could achieve the obvious change in design choice to use data from a model to get the necessary info as an alternative to a lookup table as it would easily provide equivalent information for the acquired system.
Conclusion
/EMMA ALEXANDER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857