DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mortensen et al. (WO 2019/228798).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Mortensen et al. discloses a reactor (100) for producing a product in which the reactor comprises an inner part (10), a shell structure (20) which surrounds the inner part (10) and a space between the inner part (10) and the shell structure (20) (see page 2, lines 15-30; page 28, lines 23-29; Fig. 1a), wherein the reactor comprises:
- the inner part (10) is formed at least in part from a porous material (5) comprising a catalyst (see page 5, lines 13-30) in which at least one reactant is arranged to flow into the inner part (10) and after that through the porous material (5) to form a product,
- the porous material is formed from metallic porous material (see page 5, lines 13-30), and the catalyst is arranged on surfaces of the pores of the porous material,
- the product formed from the reactant in the porous material is arranged to flow out from the space of the reactor, and
- the reactor comprises a heating device (40, 40’) for heating electrically the porous material such that the porous material is heated resistively (see page 3, lines 11-20; page 29, lines 4-21; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Mortensen et al. discloses the reactor, wherein the inner part (5) is a flow channel or a structure with a predetermined shape (see page 18, lines 24-28; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Mortensen et al. discloses the reactor, wherein the inner part (10) is formed from the porous material (see page 5, lines 13-30; page 28, lines 23-29; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 6, the reference Mortensen et al. discloses the reactor, wherein the product formed from one or more reactant in the porous material (5) is arranged to flow from inside the inner part to a surface of the inner part (page 19, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Mortensen et al. discloses the reactor, wherein that the product may be rinsed from a surface of the inner part by means of a scavenging agent (i.e., inert gas) and is arranged to flow out from the reactor via the space between the inner part (10) and the shell structure (20) (page 8, lines 10-20; page 29, lines 19-21; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 8, the reference Mortensen et al. discloses the reactor, wherein the porous material (5) is heated using an electric resistance heating (see page 3, lines 11-20; page 29, lines 4-21; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 10, the reference Mortensen et al. discloses a method for producing a product in a reactor which comprises an inner part (10), a shell structure (20) surrounding the inner part (10) and a space between the inner part (10) and the shell structure (20) (see page 2, lines 15-30; page 28, lines 23-29; Fig. 1a), wherein the method comprises
- feeding at least one reactant into the reactor in which the inner part (10) is formed at least in part from a porous material (5) comprising a catalyst and in which the porous material is formed from metallic material (see page 5, lines 13-30) and
- arranging the reactant to flow into the inner part (5) and after that through the porous material to form a product (see page 19, lines 1-5),
- arranging the product formed from the reactant in the porous material (5) to flow out from the reactor via the space (see page 29, lines 19-21; Fig. 1a) and
- heating electrically the porous material by means of a heating device (40, 40’) such that the porous material is heated resistively (see page 3, lines 11-20; page 29, lines 4-21; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 11, the reference Mortensen et al. discloses the method, wherein all reactants are fed into the inner part (10) (see page 29, lines 19-21; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 12, the reference Mortensen et al. discloses the method, wherein the porous material (5) is heated using an electric resistance heating (see page 3, lines 11-20; page 29, lines 4-21; Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 14, the reference Mortensen et al. discloses the method, wherein carbon dioxide and hydrogen are fed as the reactants to the inner part (10) of the reactor (100), and the reactants react in the porous material (5) to form the product (see page 8, lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 15, the reference Mortensen et al. discloses the method, wherein at least hydrocarbon is fed as the reactant to the inner part (10) of the reactor (100), and the reactant reacts in the porous material (5) to form the product (see page 8, lines 13-15).
Regarding claim 16, the reference Mortensen et al. teaches that the disclose reactor may suitably be utilized for carrying out electrically heated chemical reactions (see page 1, line 29-20; 8, lines 10-20). Thus, as no structural distinction is seen between the reactor of Mortensen et al. and the instantly claimed reactor, the reactor of Mortensen et al. is considered suitable for carrying out the various chemical reactions recited in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry (US 1,709,813).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Henry discloses a reactor for producing a product in which the reactor comprises an inner part (5, 8), a shell structure (1) which surrounds the inner part (5, 8) and a space (16) between the inner part (5, 8) and the shell structure (1), wherein the reactor comprises:
- the inner part (5, 8) is formed at least in part from a porous material (8) comprising a catalyst (see page 2, lines 54-68; Figs. 1-3) in which at least one reactant is arranged to flow into the inner part (5, 8) and after that through the porous material (8) to form a product,
- the porous material (8) is formed from metallic porous material (see page 2, lines 66-76; Figs. 1-3),
- the product formed from the reactant in the porous material (8) is arranged to flow out from the space (16) of the reactor, and
- the reactor comprises a heating device (2) for heating electrically the porous material such that the porous material is heated inductively (see page 1, lines 99 to page 2, line 44; Figs. 1-2).
The reference Henry, however, does not specifically disclose wherein the catalyst is arranged on surfaces of the pores of the porous material. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the catalyst arranged on surfaces of the pores of the porous material as claimed by applicant, since the reference Henry teaches that a multiplicity of pieces of catalytic metal (17) may suitably be arranged in the space (16) between the inner part (i.e., the metallic porous material, 8) and the shell structure (1) (see col. 3, lines 31-51 and lines 96-99; Figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, the reference Henry discloses the reactor, wherein the inner part (5, 8) is a tube, hollow tube, or a flow channel (see page 2, lines 54-64; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 3, the reference Henry discloses the reactor, wherein the inner part (8) is formed from the porous material (i.e., a perforated wall structure) (see page 2, lines 54-64; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 6, the reference Henry discloses the reactor, wherein the product formed from one or more reactant in the porous material (8) is arranged to flow from inside the inner part (8) to a surface of the inner part (8) (see page 2, lines 68-76; Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, the reference Henry discloses the reactor, wherein that the product may be rinsed from a surface of the inner part (8) by means of a scavenging agent and is arranged to flow out from the reactor via the space (16) between the inner part (8) and the shell structure (1) (page 2, lines 73-100; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, the reference Henry discloses the reactor, wherein the porous material (8) is heated electrically using an induction heating (see page 2, lines 16-42; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, the reference Henry discloses a method for producing a product in a reactor which comprises an inner part (5, 8), a shell structure (1) surrounding the inner part (5, 8) and a space (16) between the inner part (5, 8) and the shell structure (1) (see page 2, lines 54-68; Figs. 1-3), wherein the method comprises
- feeding at least one reactant into the reactor in which the inner part (5, 8) is formed at least in part from a porous material (8) comprising a catalyst and in which the porous material is formed from metallic porous material (see page 2, lines 73-86; Figs. 1-2),
- arranging the reactant to flow into the inner part (5, 8) and after that through the porous material (8) to form a product (see page 2, lines 73-86; Figs. 1-2),
- arranging the product formed from the reactant in the porous material (8) to flow out from the reactor via the space (16) of the reactor (see page 2, lines 73-86; Figs. 1-2) and
- heating electrically the porous material by means of a heating device (2) such that the porous material is heated inductively (see page 1, lines 99 to page 2, line 44; Figs. 1-2).
The reference Henry does not specifically disclose wherein the catalyst is arranged on surfaces of the pores of the porous material. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the catalyst arranged on surfaces of the pores of the porous material as claimed by applicant, since the reference Henry teaches that a multiplicity of pieces of catalytic metal (17) may suitably be arranged in the space (16) between the inner part (8) and the shell structure (1) (see col. 3, lines 31-51 and lines 96-99; Figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, the reference Henry does not specifically disclose wherein all reactants are fed into the inner part (8). However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have all reactants fed into the inner part (8), since the reference Henry teaches that catalyzable material other than hydrogen may suitably be fed into the reactor through the inner part (8) (see page 2, lines 111-128).
Regarding claim 13, the reference Henry discloses the method, wherein the porous material (8) is heated electrically using an induction heating (see page 2, lines 16-42; Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, the claim depend from claim 10, such that the reasoning applied to claim 10 above with reference to Henry is applied herein for the dependent portion of the claim. The reference Henry does not specifically disclose wherein carbon dioxide and hydrogen are fed as reactants to the inner part (8) of the reactor. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to feed carbon dioxide and hydrogen as reactants to the inner part of the reactor, since the reference Henry teaches that catalyzable material other than hydrogen may suitably be fed into the reactor through the inner part (8) (see page 2, lines 111-128).
Regarding claim 15, the claim depend from claim 10, such that the reasoning applied to claim 10 above with reference to Henry is applied herein for the dependent portion of the claim. The reference Henry does not specifically disclose wherein at least hydrocarbon is fed as the reactant to the inner part (8) of the reactor. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to feed hydrocarbon as the reactant to the inner part of the reactor, since the reference Henry teaches that the reactor may suitably be utilized for catalytically cracking hydrocarbons (see page 1, lines 1-27).
Regarding claim 16, the reference Henry teaches that the disclose reactor may suitably be utilized for carrying out electrically heated chemical reactions (see page 1, lines 1-7; 35-54; Figs. 1-2). Thus, as no structural distinction is seen between the reactor of Henry and the instantly claimed reactor, the reactor of Henry is considered suitable for carrying out the various chemical reactions recited in claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the reference Mortensen et al. does not disclose the porous material recited in amended claims 1 and 10 (see Remarks, pages 8-9).
The examiner respectfully disagree. The macroscopic structure 5 described and illustrated in the reference Mortensen et al. clearly reads on the porous material recited in amended claim 1. According to the teachings of reference Mortensen et al., the macroscopic structure 5 is preferably manufactured by extrusion of a mixture of powdered metallic particles and a binder to an extruded structure and subsequent sintering of the extruded structure, thereby providing a material with a high geometric surface area per volume (see col. 5, lines 13-16). As can best be seen from Figures 1a and 4 of the reference Mortensen et al., reproduced below with added annotations, the macroscopic structure 5 described and illustrated in the reference Mortensen et al. is a metallic porous material with a catalyst arranged on metal surfaces defining the pores of the metallic porous material. The reference Mortensen et al., at the paragraph bridging pages 18 and 19, provides a detailed description concerning the shapes and dimensions of the pores (i.e., flow-through channels) defined within the macroscopic structure 5. In addition, the reference Mortensen et al., at page 5, lines 27-30 and page 16, lines 4-11, explains how the catalyst is provided on metal wall surfaces defining the pores (i.e., flow-through channels) of the macroscopic structure 5.
Applicant also states that no rejection based on the reference Henry was provided for claim 5, which previously recited that the catalyst is arranged on surfaces of the pores of the porous material, thereby confirming the lack of disclosure of this element in the reference Henry (see Remarks, page 7).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 5, 11, 14, and 15 where, in fact, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henry. It appears that the applicant have overlooked the obviousness rejection made over the reference Henry in the prior Office action. As claim 1 has been amended to include the limitation in the previously rejected claim 5, the obviousness rejection made in the prior Office action remains applicable to amended claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774