DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the abbreviation “FIG.” is not used even though multiple views are present in violation of 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 16-23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Watanabe (US 2021/0368859) in view of Crump (US 12,514,294).
Regarding claims 14, 16-18 and 21-22, Watanabe discloses a cigarette filling aggregate for an electronic cigarette cartridge [0001], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an aerosol forming substrate, having a glycerin aerosol former added at 10% by mass to 40% by mass [0056] and a binder [0076]. The binder is methylcellulose [0059]. The filling contains microcrystalline cellulose [0061] in powder form [0062] at 1% to 15% of the overall content of the cigarette filling [0063], which are considered to be weights by mass since they are relative to the overall amount of filling. Watanabe does not explicitly disclose (a) the aerosol forming having a content of greater than 30 weight percent and (b) using hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose instead of methylcellulose.
Regarding (a), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the claimed range is obvious. In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding (b), Crump teaches an aerosol source member for use with an aerosol delivery device that is heated by inductive heating (abstract) having a binder that is either methylcellulose or hydroxypropylmethylcellulose (column 16, lines 42-67, column 17, lines 1-16).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the methylcellulose of Watanabe for the hydroxypropylmethylcellulose of Crump. One would have been motivated to do so since Crump teaches that methylcellulose and hydroxypropylmethylcellulose are equivalent binders for aerosol generating materials. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP § 2143, B.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the microcrystalline cellulose powder is considered to be made up of cellulose fibers since it contains cellulose, a material that is itself made up of fibers.
Regarding claim 23, Watanabe discloses that the binder contains sodium carboxymethylcellulose in combination with the other binder components [0059].
Regarding claim 26, Watanabe discloses that the cigarette filling aggregate is used in an article which is smoked in an electronic cigarette [0003], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of an aerosol generating article.
Claims 15 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Watanabe (US 2021/0368859) in view of Crump (US 12,514,294) as applied to claims 14 and 23 above, and further in view of John (US 10,271,578).
Regarding claim 15, modified Watanabe teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Watanabe does not explicitly teach a binder weight.
John teaches an aerosol generating material (abstract) having a binder that provides desired properties (column 9, lines 7-13) and is provided at 15-30% by weight (column 9, lines 14-20).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the binder of modified Watanabe at the weight of John. One would have been motivated to do so since John teaches a suitable binder weight to provide an aerosol generating material with desired properties.
Regarding claims 24 and 25, modified Watanabe teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Watanabe discloses that the binder contains sodium carboxymethylcellulose in combination with the other binder components [0059]. Modified Watanabe does not explicitly teach a weight of the sodium carboxymethylcellulose in the binder.
John teaches an aerosol generating material (abstract) having a binder that provides desired properties (column 9, lines 7-13) and is provided at 15-30% by weight (column 9, lines 14-20).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sodium carboxymethylcellulose of modified Watanabe at the weight of John. One would have been motivated to do so since John teaches a suitable binder weight to provide an aerosol generating material with desired properties. In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Double Patenting
Claims 14-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27-29 of copending Application No. 18/562,468 (hereafter referred to as Lauenstein).
Regarding claims 14 and 16-18, Lauenstein claims an aerosol forming substrate for use in an aerosol generating system comprising an aerosol former at 40-60 weight percent based on the overall weight and a cellulose based strengthening agent in the form of cellulose powder at between 4-25 weight percent, based on the overall weight (claim 27). The aerosol forming substrate also contains hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose (claim 28).
Regarding claim 15, Lauenstein claims the hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose present at 16-23 weight percent (claim 28).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the cellulose powder of Lauenstein is considered to comprise fibers since cellulose is made up of fibers.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Lauenstein claims all the claim limitations as set forth above. Lauenstein additionally discloses that the strengthening agent can be either cellulose powder or microcrystalline cellulose (claim 27). Lauenstein does not explicitly claim the microcrystalline cellulose being in powder form.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the microcrystalline cellulose of Lauenstein in powder form. One would have been motivated to do so since Lauenstein claims that powder is suitable form for providing cellulosic strengthening agents in aerosol forming substrates.
Claim 23 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27-29 of copending Application No. 18/562,468 (hereafter referred to as Lauenstein) in view of Watanabe (US 2021/0368859).
Regarding claim 23, Lauenstein claims all the claim limitations as set forth above. Lauenstein does not explicitly claim the aerosol forming substrate comprising carboxymethyl cellulose.
Watanabe teaches a cigarette filling aggregate for an electronic cigarette cartridge [0001] having a binder [0076]. The binder includes carboxymethyl cellulose mixed with other components [0059].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the substrate of Lauenstein with the carboxymethyl cellulose of Watanabe. One would have been motivated to do so since Watanabe teaches that carboxymethyl cellulose can be combined with other components in a binder for an aerosol generating substrate. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Claims 14-21, 23 and 26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-40 of copending Application No. 18/723,529 (hereafter referred to as Fasciani) in view of John (US 10,271,578).
Regarding claims 14, 16-18, Fasciani claims an aerosol generating article for an aerosol generating system that has an aerosol generating substrate comprising an aerosol former present at at least 45 percent by weight and a cellulose based agent (claim 21). The substrate also has hydroxypropyl methylcellulose as a film forming agent (claim 35). The cellulose based strengthening agent is cellulose powder (claim 36). Fasciani does not explicitly claim a concentration of the cellulose based strengthening agent.
John teaches an aerosol generating material (abstract) having a binder that provides desired properties (column 9, lines 7-13) and is provided at 15-30% by weight (column 9, lines 14-20). The binder is a cellulosic binder (column 8, lines 66-67, column 9, lines 1-6).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the strengthening agent of Fasciani at the weight of John. One would have been motivated to do so since John teaches a suitable binder weight to provide an aerosol generating material with desired properties.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the cellulose powder of Fasciani is considered to comprise cellulose fibers since cellulose is inherently fibrous.
Regarding claim 21, Fasciani claims that the strengthening agent can also contain microcrystalline cellulose (claim 36).
Regarding claim 23, Fasciani claims that the film forming agent can also contain carboxymethyl cellulose (claim 35).
Regarding claim 26, Fasciani claims an aerosol generating system comprising the aerosol generating substrate.
Claims 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-35 of copending Application No. 18/867,304 (hereafter referred to as Binassi).
Regarding claim 14, 16-18, Binassi claims an aerosol generating article having an aerosol forming substrate having a hydroxpropyl methylcellulose film former and an aerosol former at at least 35 percent by weight (claim 16). The substrate also has a cellulose based strengthening agent that is cellulose powder (claim 29). The strengthening agent is present at between 5 percent and 30 percent on a dry weight basis (claim 30).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, the cellulose powder is considered to be made up of cellulose fibers since it contains cellulose, a material that is itself made up of fibers.
Regarding claim 21, Binassi claims that the strengthening agent includes microcrystalline cellulose (claim 29).
Regarding claim 23, Binassi claims that the film forming agent comprises carboxymethyl cellulose (claim 28).
Regarding claim 26, Binassi claims that the aerosol forming substrate is part of an aerosol generating system (claim 35).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755