DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
After careful review of the five United Kingdom applications and the International Application PCT/GB2021/0052665, it has been determined that the claims of the instant invention are fully supported only in the International Application. Therefore, the effective filing date for the instant application is 14 October 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted 30 March 2023 has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The original drawings received on 30 March 2023 are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Comment
Claims 1, 2, 19, 20, 25, 30, 33, and 55 recite limitations to “other components”, this is read that the inorganic fibres can comprise other unlisted components beyond the recited Al2O3 and sum of oxides and non-oxides of one or more of lanthanides, Sr, Ba, Cr, Zr, Hf, Fe, or combinations thereof, as other components as part of the balance up to 100 wt%. The claims use open claim language of “comprises” and do not specifically exclude other components beyond the listed components.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: minor typographical errors.
Claim 6 recites “thecomposition”, which should read “the composition”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) or second paragraph
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 19, 20, 23-25, 30, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations: “61.0 to 70.8 wt% SiO2; 27.0 to 38.9 wt% CaO; 0.1-2.0 wt% MgO” and further recites “a sum of SiO2 and CaO is greater than or equal to 98.2 wt%”. It is not clear if the total amount of SiO2 and CaO is at least 98.2 wt%, how the inorganic fibres can comprise 1) 0.10 to 2.0 wt% of MgO, specifically the amount of greater than 1.8 to 2.0 wt% and 2) 27.0 to 38.9 wt% CaO, specifically, the amount of 27.0 to less than 27.4 wt% of CaO. This renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 20 recites the limitations: “61.0 to 70.8 wt% SiO2; 27.0 to 38.9 wt% CaO; 0.1-0.85 wt% MgO” and further recites “a sum of SiO2 and CaO is greater than or equal to 98.2 wt%”. It is not clear if the total amount of SiO2 and CaO is at least 98.2 wt%, how the inorganic fibres can comprise 27.0 to 38.9 wt% CaO, specifically, the amount of 27.0 to less than 27.4 wt% of CaO. This renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 20 recites the limitations “an amount of other components providing a balance up to 100 wt%” and “wherein the amount of other components, when present, comprises no more than 0.67 wt% Al2O3 wherein the other components comprises a range of greater than 0.0 to less than 1.7 wt% of the sum of oxides and non-oxides of one or more of lanthanides, Sr, Ba, Cr, Zr, Hf, Fe or combination thereof”. It is not clear if the inorganic fibres of claim 20 require a non-zero amount of the sum of oxides and non-oxides of one or more of lanthanides, Sr, Ba, Cr, Zr, Hf, Fe or combination thereof, based on the claim terminology of “when present” or if the “when present” is just referring to the Al2O3 portion of the “other components”. This renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 2, 5-7, 9, 19, 23-25, 30, 31, and 33 are rejected as indefinite since they depend either directly or indirectly from claims 1 and 20 without correcting the above issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 19, 20, 23-25, 30, 31, 33, and 55-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Olds et al., U.S. Patent, US 5,714,421 A.
As to claim 1, Olds et al. teach an inorganic fiber composition comprising in terms of weight percentages, 58.5 to about 68.9% of SiO2, about 18.1 to about 40.5% of CaO, about 0.11 to about 16.4% of MgO, 0 to about 1.5% of Al2O3, 0 to about 4.5% of ZrO2, 0 to about 8.41% of B2O3, 0 to about 2.9% of Fe2O3, 0 to about 2.6% of Na2O, and 0 to about 10% of TiO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, claim 1, in column 25 of Olds et al.
Olds et al. fail to teach any examples or compositional ranges that are sufficiently specific to anticipate the compositional limitations of claim 1. However, the weight percent ranges taught by Olds et al. read on inorganic fibers comprising 61.0-70.8 wt% of SiO2, 27.0-38.9 wt% of CaO, 0.10-2.0 wt% of MgO, and optionally an amount of other components providing a balance up to 100 wt%, wherein the sum of SiO2+CaO is at least 98.2 wt% and the amount of Al2O3 is limited to at most 0.67 wt% as recited in instant claim 1. The compositional ranges of Olds et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 1. See claim 1 of Olds et al. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Olds et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Olds et al. et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 2, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that a glass with overlapping compositional ranges would have the average crystallite size of surface crystallite grains formed after heat treatment at 1100°C for 24 hours as recited in claim 2. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
As to claim 5, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that a glass with overlapping compositional ranges of SiO2 would inhibit reactivity of the inorganic fibers, such that the fibers are non-reactive with mullite when in contact at 1200°C for 24 hours as recited in claim 5. See MPEP 2112.
As to claim 6, Olds et al. teach that the fibers have a SiO2 content of 58.5 to about 68.9 wt%, (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the fibers comprising less than 69.6 wt% as recited in instant claim 6.
As to claim 7, Olds et al. teach that the fibers have a CaO content of about 18.1 to 40.5 wt% (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the fibers comprising at least 28.5 wt% of CaO as recited in instant claim 7.
As to claim 9, Olds et al. teach the fibers comprise 58.5 to about 68.9 % of SiO2 and about 18.1 to about 40.5% of CaO (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the fibers comprising a sum of SiO2+CaO of at least 98.4 % as recited in instant claim 9.
As to claim 19, Olds et al. teach a fiber that comprises about 0.11-about 16.4 wt% of MgO, 5.5-about 68.9% of SiO2, and about 18.1-about 40.5% of CaO (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on a fiber comprising 0.10-0.85wt% of MgO, and a sum of SiO2 and CaO of at least 98.8 wt%. Additionally, Olds et al. teach a fiber comprising MgO or other components, wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that a glass with overlapping compositional ranges would have the average crystallite size of surface crystallite grains formed after heat treatment at 1100°C for 24 hours as recited in claim 19.
As to claim 20, Olds et al. teach an inorganic fiber composition comprising in terms of weight percentages, 58.5 to about 68.9% of SiO2, about 18.1 to about 40.5% of CaO, about 0.11 to about 16.4% of MgO, 0 to about 1.5% of Al2O3, 0 to about 4.5% of ZrO2, 0 to about 8.41% of B2O3, 0 to about 2.9% of Fe2O3, 0 to about 2.6% of Na2O, and 0 to about 10% of TiO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, claim 1, in column 25 of Olds et al.
Olds et al. fail to teach any examples or compositional ranges that are sufficiently specific to anticipate the compositional limitations of claim 20. However, the weight percent ranges taught by Olds et al. read on inorganic fibers comprising 61.0-70.8 wt% of SiO2, 27.0-38.9 wt% of CaO, 0.10-0.85 wt% of MgO, and optionally an amount of other components providing a balance up to 100 wt%, wherein the sum of SiO2+CaO is at least 98.2 wt% and the amount of Al2O3 is limited to at most 0.67 wt%, and the other components comprises a range of greater than 0.0 to less than 1.7 wt% of the sum of oxides and non-oxides of one or more of lanthanides, Sr, Ba, Cr, Zr, Hf, Fe or combinations thereof as recited in instant claim 20. The compositional ranges of Olds et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 20. See claim 1 of Olds et al. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Olds et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Olds et al. et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 23, Olds et al. teach the fibers comprise 58.5 to about 68.9 % of SiO2 and about 18.1 to about 40.5% of CaO (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the fibers comprising a sum of SiO2+CaO of at least 98.6 % as recited in instant claim 23.
As to claim 24, Olds et al. teach the fibers comprise 58.5 to about 68.9 % of SiO2 and about 18.1 to about 40.5% of CaO (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the fibers comprising a sum of SiO2+CaO of at least 98.8 % as recited in instant claim 24.
As to claim 25, Olds et al. teach the fiber can comprise 0-about 2.9 wt% of Fe2O3 and 0-about 4.5 wt% of ZrO2 (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the inorganic fiber comprising other components in a range of 0.05 to less than 1.5 wt% of the sum of oxides and non-oxides of lanthanides, Sr, Ba, Cr, Zr, Hf, Fe, and combinations thereof, as recited in instant claim 25.
As to claim 30, Olds et al. teach a fiber comprising 0-about 2.9 wt% of Fe2O3 and 0-about 4.5 wt% of ZrO2 (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the inorganic fiber comprising other components in a range of 0.05 to less than 1.3 wt% of the sum of oxides and non-oxides of lanthanides, Sr, Ba, Cr, Zr, Hf, Fe, and combinations thereof, as recited in instant claim 30.
As to claim 31, Olds et al. teach that the fibers have a SiO2 content of 58.5 to about 68.9 wt%, (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the fibers comprising greater than 66.0 wt% of SiO2 as recited in instant claim 31.
As to claim 33, Olds et al. teach a fiber comprising 0-about 4.5 wt% of ZrO2 (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the inorganic fiber comprising other components in a range of 0.05 to 1.0 wt% of the sum of oxides and non-oxides of lanthanides, Sr, Ba, Cr, Zr, and combinations thereof, as recited in instant claim 33.
As to claim 55, Olds et al. teach an inorganic fiber composition comprising in terms of weight percentages, 58.5 to about 68.9% of SiO2, about 18.1 to about 40.5% of CaO, about 0.11 to about 16.4% of MgO, 0 to about 1.5% of Al2O3, 0 to about 4.5% of ZrO2, 0 to about 8.41% of B2O3, 0 to about 2.9% of Fe2O3, 0 to about 2.6% of Na2O, and 0 to about 10% of TiO2. See Abstract and the entire specification, specifically, claim 1, in column 25 of Olds et al.
Olds et al. fail to teach any examples or compositional ranges that are sufficiently specific to anticipate the compositional limitations of claim 55. However, the weight percent ranges taught by Olds et al. read on inorganic fibers comprising 65.7-69.0 wt% of SiO2, 30.0-34.2 wt% of CaO, 0.10-2.0 wt% of MgO, and optionally an amount of other components providing a balance up to 100 wt%, wherein the sum of SiO2+CaO is at least 97. wt% and the amount of Al2O3 is limited to at most 0.80 wt% as recited in instant claim 55. The compositional ranges of Olds et al. have overlapping compositional ranges with instant claim 55. See claim 1 of Olds et al. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have selected from the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Olds et al. because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional ranges taught by Olds et al. et al. overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that;
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages”, In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003).
Also, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
As to claim 56, Olds et al. teach that the fibers have a Al2O3 content of 0 to about 1.5 wt%, (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the fibers comprising less than 0.63 wt% of Al2O3, as recited in instant claim 56.
As to claim 57, Olds et al. teach that the fibers have a MgO content of about 0.11 to about 16.4 wt%, (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the fibers comprising at most 0.80 wt% of MgO, as recited in instant claim 57.
As to claim 58, Olds et al. teach the fibers comprise 58.5 to about 68.9 % of SiO2 and about 18.1 to about 40.5% of CaO (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the fibers comprising a sum of SiO2+CaO of at least 98.6 % as recited in instant claim 58.
As to claim 59, Olds et al. teach the fibers comprise 0-about 1.5wt% of Al2O3, about 0.11-about 1.4 wt% of MgO, 58.5 to about 68.9 % of SiO2 and about 18.1 to about 40.5% of CaO (see claim 1 of Olds et al.), which reads on the fibers comprising 0.10-0.60 wt% of MgO, 0-0.50 wt% of Al2O3, and a sum of SiO2+CaO of at least 99.0 % as recited in instant claim 59.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 19, 20, 23-25, 30, 31, 33, and 55-59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,554,991. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compositional ranges overlap. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
The additional references cited on the 1449 filed 30 March 2023 and the current 892 have been cited as art of interest since they are considered to be cumulative to or less than the art relied upon in the rejections above. Specifically, WO 94/15883 A1 by Jubb, US 2005/0233887 A1 by Jubb et al., and GB 2 383 793 A by Freeman et al., which teach inorganic fibers having compositional ranges which render obvious at least instant claim 1.
/Elizabeth A. Bolden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
EAB
3 March 2026