DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
• claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 9,296,867 (HARUTA ET AL); or
• claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,352,508 (HARUTA ET AL); or
• claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,189,962 (HARUTA ET AL); or
• claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,287,433 (HARUTA ET AL); or
• claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,116,480 (HARUTA ET AL); or
• claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,258,457 (HARUTA ET AL);
in view of HARUTA ET AL (US 2012/0043248),
and in view of KLEIN ET AL (US 2017/0151746).
The above U.S. Patents each claim a heat-shrinkable polyester film with heat-shrinkage properties which substantially overlap the recited properties (1)-(2) as recited in present application claim 1. However, the above U.S. Patents do not specifically claim films with recited properties (3)-(5).
HARUTA ET AL ‘248 discloses heat-shrinkable polyester films with heat-shrinkage properties which substantially overlap the recited properties (1)-(2) as recited in present application claim 1, wherein the heat-shrinkable polyester film can contain particles (e.g., with average particle sizes of 0.05-3 microns, etc.) to improve the working and handling properties of the heat-shrinkable polyester film. The reference further discloses that the polyester for the heat-shrinkable films comprise: (i) at least 50 mol% ethylene terephthalate units; (ii) 13-30 mol% of a sum of one or more kind(s) of comonomer(s) which form a non-crystalline (corresponding to the recited “amorphous components” of claim 8) component. The reference further discloses that it is well known in the art to form heat-shrinkable polyester films with a typical thickness of 10-70 microns and a haze of 2-13% useful as a heat-shrinkable label (e.g., a label for wrapping around a container or packed product, followed by shrinking, etc.), wherein the film can be provided with a coating layer. (entire document, e.g., paragraph 0001, 0008-0012, 0017, 0033-0041, 0043-0046, 0131-0132, etc.)
KLEIN ET AL ‘746 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize particles to provide an outer surface of polyester films with:
(i) a Sa value (arithmetic average of the absolute ordinate, as measured in accordance with ISO 25178-2) (corresponding to the recited “arithmetical mean height Sa” or the recited requirement “(4)”) of at least 25-60 nm (0.025-0.060 microns);
(ii) a Sp value (maximum peak height, as measured in accordance with ISO 25178-2) (corresponding to the recited “maximum peak height Sp” or the recited requirement “(3)”) of 500-1500 nm (0.5-1.5 microns);
in order to provide the polyester films with an excellent combination of slipperiness, winding characteristics (e.g., avoiding creases, corrugations, or other distortion effects, etc.) and transparency (e.g., haze of 7% or less, etc.) while avoiding excessive roughness. The reference further discloses that the transparency and haze of the film can be “achieved via selection of the particles (in particular the particle size) and via particle content... and also via suitable polymers and the production process”, wherein the preferred particle size is 0.7-1.5 microns and the preferred particle content is 0.1-0.7 wt%. (paragraph 0011-0013, 0016-0018, 0023, 0027, 0029, 0040-0041, 0043; etc.)
Regarding claims 1-8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate effective amounts of particles as suggested in HARUTA ET AL ‘248 and KLEIN ET AL ‘746 in the heat-shrinkable polyester films claimed in the above U.S. Patents sufficient to provide said polyester films with Sa and Sp values which produce polyester films with excellent winding characteristics in combination with low haze (as suggested in KLEIN ET AL ‘746).
Further regarding claim 1, since: (i) HARUTA ET AL ‘248 suggest the incorporation of particles to provide heat-shrinkable polyester films with good film-handling properties; (ii) KLEIN ET AL ‘746 discloses adjusting the surface properties of polyester films to have Sa values of 0.025-0.060 microns and Sp values of 0.5-1.5 microns (which substantially overlap the claimed Sa range of 0.030-0.200 microns and the claimed Sp range of 0.8-3 microns) to improve the winding characteristics (e.g., reduction in creases, corrugations, or other distortion effects during winding into a roll, etc.) of a polyester film; the Examiner has reason to believe that at least a substantial portion of the heat-shrinkable polyester films of HARUTA ET AL ‘248 or HARUTA ET AL ‘607 modified with particles to have Sp (3) and Sa (4) values consistent with KLEIN ET AL ‘746 would have degassing time values which at least partially read on the degassing time values (5) recited in claim 1, therefore the Examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594.
Regarding claim 2, one of ordinary skill in the art would have formed heat-shrinkable polyester films claimed in the above U.S. Patents in conventional heat-shrinkable film thicknesses as suggested in HARUTA ET AL ‘248 in order to produce useful heat-shrinkable label materials.
Regarding claim 3, one of ordinary skill in the art would have produced heat-shrinkable polyester films claimed in the above U.S. Patents using the techniques disclosed in KLEIN ET AL ‘746 (i.e., “via selection of the particles (in particular the particle size) and via particle content... and also via suitable polymers and the production process”) to produce heat-shrinkable films with low transparency (as represented by haze values of 11% or less, etc.) in order to produce heat-shrinkable labels suitable for providing with specific decorative and/or aesthetic effects (e.g., providing visibility of underlying label layers or of labelled containers, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, one of ordinary skill in the art would have applied known functional coatings on at least one surface of heat-shrinkable polyester films claimed in the above U.S. Patents in order to produce coated films with multiple layers (corresponding to the recited “heat-shrinkable polyester film comprising at least two or more laminated layers”) with enhanced performance properties (e.g., adhesion, printability, etc.).
If Applicant chooses to argue that the degassing time recited in claim 1 is not an inherent feature of a polyester film surface having Sp (3) and Sa (4) values consistent with claim 1 and requires additional specific elements or modifications, such arguments may raise significant issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) with respect to scope of enablement, and Applicant’s arguments and/or assertions may be used as admissions or supporting evidence with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) with respect to scope of enablement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• HARUTA ET AL (US 2012/0043248), or
• HARUTA ET AL (US 2018/0043607),
in view of KLEIN ET AL (US 2017/0151746).
HARUTA ET AL ‘248 discloses heat-shrinkable polyester films with heat-shrinkage properties which substantially overlap the recited properties (1)-(2) as recited in present application claim 1, wherein the heat-shrinkable polyester film can contain particles (e.g., with average particle sizes of 0.05-3 microns, etc.) to improve the working and handling properties of the heat-shrinkable polyester film. The reference further discloses that the polyester for the heat-shrinkable films comprise: (i) at least 50 mol% ethylene terephthalate units; (ii) 13-30 mol% of a sum of one or more kind(s) of comonomer(s) which form a non-crystalline (corresponding to the recited “amorphous components” of claim 8) component. The reference further discloses that it is well known in the art to form heat-shrinkable polyester films with a typical thickness of 10-70 microns and a haze of 2-13% useful as a heat-shrinkable label (e.g., a label for wrapping around a container or packed product, followed by shrinking, etc.), wherein the film can be provided with a coating layer. (entire document, e.g., paragraph 0001, 0008-0012, 0017, 0033-0041, 0043-0046, 0131-0132, etc.)
HARUTA ET AL ‘607 discloses heat-shrinkable polyester films with heat-shrinkage properties which substantially overlap the recited properties (1)-(2) in present application claim 1, wherein the heat-shrinkable polyester film can contain particles (e.g., with average particle sizes of 0.05-3 microns, etc.) to improve the working and handling properties of the heat-shrinkable polyester film. The reference further discloses that the polyester for the heat-shrinkable films comprise: (i) at least 50 mol% ethylene terephthalate units; (ii) 13-30 mol% of a sum of one or more kind(s) of comonomer(s) which form a non-crystalline (corresponding to the recited “amorphous components” of claim 8) component. The reference further discloses that it is well known in the art to form heat-shrinkable polyester films with a typical thickness of 6-27 microns useful as a heat-shrinkable label (e.g., a label for wrapping around a container or packed product, followed by shrinking, etc.), wherein the film can be a multilayer polyester film with two or more laminated layers. (entire document, e.g., paragraph 0001-0002, 0012, 0019, 0022-0023, 0027, 0030, 0032-0033, 0043-0045, 0060-0063, etc.)
However, the references do not specifically discuss films with recited properties (3)-(5).
KLEIN ET AL ‘746 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize particles to provide an outer surface of polyester films with:
(i) a Sa value (arithmetic average of the absolute ordinate, as measured in accordance with ISO 25178-2) (corresponding to the recited “arithmetical mean height Sa” or the recited requirement “(4)”) of at least 25-60 nm (0.025-0.060 microns);
(ii) a Sp value (maximum peak height, as measured in accordance with ISO 25178-2) (corresponding to the recited “maximum peak height Sp” or the recited requirement “(3)”) of 500-1500 nm (0.5-1.5 microns);
in order to provide the polyester films with an excellent combination of slipperiness, winding characteristics (e.g., avoiding creases, corrugations, or other distortion effects, etc.) and transparency (e.g., haze of 7% or less, etc.) while avoiding excessive roughness. The reference further discloses that the transparency and haze of the film can be “achieved via selection of the particles (in particular the particle size) and via particle content... and also via suitable polymers and the production process”, wherein the preferred particle size is 0.7-1.5 microns and the preferred particle content is 0.1-0.7 wt%. (paragraph 0011-0013, 0016-0018, 0023, 0027, 0029, 0040-0041, 0043; etc.)
Regarding claims 1-8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate effective amounts of particles as suggested in HARUTA ET AL ‘248 and KLEIN ET AL ‘746 in the heat-shrinkable polyester films of HARUTA ET AL ‘248 or HARUTA ET AL ‘607 sufficient to provide said polyester films with Sa and Sp values which produce polyester films with excellent winding characteristics in combination with low haze (as suggested in KLEIN ET AL ‘746).
Further regarding claim 1, since: (i) HARUTA ET AL ‘248 or HARUTA ET AL ‘607 disclose the incorporation of particles to provide heat-shrinkable polyester films with good film-handling properties; (ii) KLEIN ET AL ‘746 discloses adjusting the surface properties of polyester films to have Sa values of 0.025-0.060 microns and Sp values of 0.5-1.5 microns (which substantially overlap the claimed Sa range of 0.030-0.200 microns and the claimed Sp range of 0.8-3 microns) to improve the winding characteristics (e.g., reduction in creases, corrugations, or other distortion effects during winding into a roll, etc.) of a polyester film; the Examiner has reason to believe that at least a substantial portion of the heat-shrinkable polyester films of HARUTA ET AL ‘248 or HARUTA ET AL ‘607 modified with particles to have Sp (3) and Sa (4) values consistent with KLEIN ET AL ‘746 would have degassing time values which at least partially read on the degassing time values (5) recited in claim 1, therefore the Examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594.
Regarding claim 3, one of ordinary skill in the art would have produced heat-shrinkable polyester films in accordance with HARUTA ET AL ‘248 or HARUTA ET AL ‘607 using the techniques disclosed in KLEIN ET AL ‘746 (i.e., “via selection of the particles (in particular the particle size) and via particle content... and also via suitable polymers and the production process”) to produce heat-shrinkable films with low haze (e.g., 11% or less, etc.) in order to produce heat-shrinkable labels suitable for providing with specific decorative and/or aesthetic effects (e.g., providing visibility of underlying label layers or of labelled containers, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, one of ordinary skill in the art would have applied known functional coatings on at least one surface of heat-shrinkable polyester films in accordance with HARUTA ET AL ‘248 in order to produce coated films with multiple layers (corresponding to the recited “heat-shrinkable polyester film comprising at least two or more laminated layers”) with enhanced performance properties (e.g., adhesion, printability, etc.).
If Applicant chooses to argue that the degassing time recited in claim 1 is not an inherent feature of a polyester film surface having Sp (3) and Sa (4) values consistent with claim 1 and requires additional specific elements or modifications, such arguments may raise significant issues under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) with respect to scope of enablement, and Applicant’s arguments and/or assertions may be used as admissions or supporting evidence with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) with respect to scope of enablement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/21/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
MANABE ET AL ‘804 and MANABE-WO ‘998 do not qualify as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) in view of the 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) statement filed 08/21/2025.
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/12/2026 (in particular, with respect to the differences between Ra and Sa, and between Rt and Sp) have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new ground(s) of rejection are made in the present Office Action based on newly cited prior art..
Conclusion
The General Information telephone number for Technology Center 1700 is (571) 272-1700.
May 30, 2026
/VIVIAN CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787