DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 12/30/2025 has been fully considered.
Claims 1-8 and 14-18 are pending and have been examined. Claims 9-13 have been withdrawn in response to the Election Requirement mailed 8/9/2024.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejection under 35 USC § 112 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the service providing device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
This is not intended to be a complete list of such indefiniteness issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LeHuerou (20140351335).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, LeHuerou teaches A method for controlling access to services, the services being provided by a remote service providing server and intended for a playback system, wherein the method comprises acts implemented by a processor of the remote service providing server comprising: / A remote service providing server providing services intended for a playback system, the service providing device comprising: a transmitter; a processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the processor configure the remote service providing server to (abstract):
after receiving an access request for at least one service from the playback system, the access request comprising an identifier of a customer account (par.73-75, user in T1 requests access to content),
transmitting a confirmation request to a first communication terminal associated with the customer account in the remote service providing server and connected to a communication network (par.76-80, send request to user of T2); and
then, accessing said at least one service in response to an authentication code received from said first communication terminal being identical to an authentication code associated with the customer account (par.78-82).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, LeHuerou teaches A confirmation method for confirming with a remote service providing server an access request for at least one service, wherein the method is implemented by a first communication terminal and comprises: / A communication terminal comprising: a transmitter; a receiver; a processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon which when executed by the processor configure the communication terminal to (abstract):
receiving a confirmation request coming from the remote service providing server (par.76-80, send request to user of T2), and
transmitting an authentication code to the remote service providing server, said authentication code being generated by an authentication application after an authentication selected from the group consisting of: - authentication of biometric data of an owner of the first communication terminal; and - authentication of a personal identification number entered on the first communication terminal (par.63-72, 77-82).
Regarding claim 2, LeHuerou teaches wherein the received access request for said at least one service one of the following devices: the first communication terminal; and the playback system comprising a communication unit for communicating with the communications network and a display screen (par.73-80).
Regarding claim 3, LeHuerou teaches wherein the customer account comprises at least one service identification linked to an identifier of the first communication terminal and to the identifier of the customer account, said access being given to the identified communication terminal only for at least the service having a service identification mentioned in the customer account and linked to the identifier of the first communication terminal (par.73-80).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeHuerou, and further in view of Shin (20140059644).
Regarding claim 4, LeHuerou does not expressly disclose, however Shin teaches
wherein the customer account comprises an identifier of a second communication terminal having subscribed to the customer account and an authentication code of said second communication terminal, and wherein the customer account comprises an authorization upon request, the method further comprising: transmitting an authorization request to the second communication terminal, receiving a response and an authentication code from the second communication terminal, said response being a right of access to a service among the following: authorization to access the service, refusal of access to the service, implementing the response if the received authentication code is identical to the authentication code of the second communication terminal stored in the customer account (par.40-46, 135-140).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LeHuerou to use additional devices as taught by Shin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to further control access to content and provide for additional sharing (Shin, par.9-20, 40-60).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeHuerou, and further in view of Boodaei (20210073359).
Regarding claim 7, LeHuerou teaches generating a code after authentication , but does not expressly disclose, however Boodaei teaches wherein said authentication code of the first communication terminal is generated only after authentication of biometric data of an owner of the first communication terminal (par.36-41, 57-61, abstract).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LeHuerou to use additional authentication schemes as taught by Boodaei.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to further control access to content (Boodaei, par.30-40).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeHuerou, and further in view of Yin (20100162294).
Regarding claim 14, LeHuerou teaches using different devices and authentication codes distributed to them (par.70-85) but does not expressly disclose, however, Yin teaches
which comprises an enrichment of a memory of the remote service providing server, said remote service providing server comprising a generator suitable for generating an installation code, the enrichment of the memory being implemented by the remote service providing server and comprising (abstract, par.9-14, 21-24):
generating an installation code and saving said installation code while associating it with the identifier of the customer account, transmitting said installation code to the first communication terminal, receiving a message from the first communication terminal, said message including the authentication code of the first communication terminal, the identifier of the first communication terminal, and said installation code, saving the received authentication code in a memory of the server such that said authentication code is associated with the identifier of the customer account and with the identifier of the first communication terminal by using the installation code (fig.4, par.21-24).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LeHuerou to use activation codes as taught by Yin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to further control access to services (Yin, par.1,8-12, 18-21).
Regarding claim 15, LeHuerou /Yin teaches receiving the identifier of the customer account, the identifier of the first communication terminal, and at least one service identification, only the service having said identification being authorized for viewing by said first communication terminal; and saving said at least one service identification in a memory of the remote service providing server, said at least one service identification being linked to the identifier of the first communication terminal and to the identifier of the customer account (LeHuerou, par.73-79).
Regarding claim 16, LeHuerou /Yin teaches transmitting a text message to the first communication terminal to confirm the saving of said at least one service identification in the memory of the remote service providing server (Yin, par.18-22).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeHuerou, and further in view of Boodaei (20210073359) and Yin (20100162294).
Regarding claim 17, LeHuerou teaches using different devices and authentication codes distributed to them, and an authentication of an owner/user of the first communication terminal, authentication of a identification number (par.70-80) but does not expressly disclose, however,
Boodaei teaches wherein said authentication code of the first communication terminal is generated only after authentication of biometric data of an owner of the first communication terminal, generating the authentication code, by the authentication application, after an authentication among the following: authentication of biometric data of an owner of the first communication terminal; authentication of a personal identification number entered on the first communication terminal (par.36-41, 57-61, abstract).
Yin teacheswhich comprises an installation, on the first communication terminal of an access control for services, the installation being implemented by the first communication terminal connected to the communications network and comprising (abstract, par.9-14, 21-24):
receiving an installation code coming from the remote service providing server;
downloading an access control application to the first communication terminal; and generating the authentication code, by the authentication application, after an authentication among the following: authentication of a personal identification number entered on the first communication terminal; and transmitting the installation code, the generated authentication code, and the identifier of the first communication terminal, to the remote service providing server (fig.4, par.21-24).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LeHuerou to use additional authentication schemes as taught by Boodaei and to use activation codes as taught by Yin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to further control access to content/services (Boodaei, par.30-40, Yin, par.1,8-12, 18-21).
Regarding claim 18, LeHuerou/ Boodaei /Yin teaches wherein said authentication code of the first communication terminal is generated only after authentication of biometric data of the owner of the first communication terminal (Boodaei, par.36-41, 57-61, abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koo (20170127276), Kudelski (9348983) teach authentication based on multiple devices and codes, Yoon (20200382307) teaches generating codes based on biometric information.
/David Garcia Cervetti/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409