DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed on December 18, 2025. Claim 11 is amended; claims 3, 10 and 12 are canceled; claims 22-23 are newly added; and claims 1-2, 4-9, 11 and 13-23 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 18-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (U.S. 2019/0235916) in view of Rodriguez et al. (U.S. 2018/0367483).
With regard to claim 1, Min teaches a system (Fig. 1, data processing system 100) comprising:
one or more communication interfaces ([0025] VA 140 includes an application programming interface (API) that enables the system to interact with VA 140; [0026] one or more device interface(s) 136);
one or more processors (Fig. 1, processor(s) 105; [0022] one or more processor(s) 105); and
computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable instructions ([0110] one or more of the method processes may be embodied in a computer readable device containing computer readable code such that a series of steps are performed when the computer readable code is executed on a computing device), which when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to:
present a first user generated content item associated with a first user ([0040] Each selectable-screen of GUI 401 displays a dialogue between a user and a VA 240…) on a display ([0040] When the dialogue between the user and the VA causes the VA 240 to maintain only one conversation thread, the GUI 401 includes only one screen (e.g., first screen 402a). While the first screen 402a is displayed, no selection of a thread can be made by the user because only the first thread is maintained by the VA 240), the first user generated content item associated with a first conversation ([0040] the first selectable-screen 402a′ displays the continued dialogue between the user and VA in association with a first conversation thread);
present concurrently with the first user generated content item, a progress indicator area (Fig. 3B, indicator 322; [0039] an improved mobile device outputting an indicator 322 that identifies to the user that the VA 240 is maintaining (e.g., storing) contextual information of a dialogue between the VA 240 and the user), the progress indicator area including a first icon associated with the first user generated content item ([0037] Mobile device 300 outputs generated response 310 through an output device (e.g., electronic touch display 304 of FIG. 3A-3B, speaker 262, and/or display 226 of FIG. 2). In certain embodiments, outputting the response 310 includes displaying text data or graphical data through a display), the second user generated content item associated with the first conversation and subsequent to the first user generated content item (Figs. 3A-4B; [0048] The VA 240 determines, based on the user-initiated task-request, a “target thread” to which the second user input 412 is associated. More particularly, based on the content of the second user input 412, the VA 240 determines that second user input 412 (and the user-initiated task request determined based on the second user input 412) is associated with a new second conversation thread as the target thread. Thus, VA 240 generates the new second conversation thread; [0049] The VA 240 causes the mobile device 200 to display the second user input 412 in a textual format (e.g., as a text message bubble) in a second selectable-screen 402b of the GUI 401; [0040]) and wherein the first user is different from the second user ([0014] a human detectable cue for each conversation thread (i.e., of a dialogue between the user and the VA) for which the VA maintains contextual information);
in response to receiving a first user input associated with the display (Fig. 3A, 308; Fig. 4A, 404; [0038] the mobile device 300 receives subsequent user input 312 (e.g., “9 a.m.”), 316 (e.g., “write article about assistant”) in the same conversation thread as the previous user input 308 and the VA 240 response 310 based on the previous user input 308; [0044] the generated response 406 is displayed in the first screen 402a of the GUI 401), present the second user generated content item associated with a second user ([0040] The second selectable-screen 402b displays the dialogue between the user and VA in association with a second conversation thread, and the first selectable-screen 402a′ displays the continued dialogue between the user and VA in association with a first conversation thread) on the display ([0040] first selectable-screen 402a′, and second selectable-screen 402b. The second selectable-screen 402b displays the dialogue between the user and VA in association with a second conversation thread);
in response to receiving a second user input associated with the display, present the first user generated content item on the display ([0039] For example, the indicator 322 notifies the user that the user can input a follow-up statement (e.g., “Notify me 15 minutes ahead of time” or “Make it happen at my office”) about previous contextual information of the dialogue 302, such as “tomorrow,” the title “write article about assistant,” or the time “9 a.m.,”; [0040] The second selectable-screen 402b displays the dialogue between the user and VA in association with a second conversation thread, and the first selectable-screen 402a′ displays the continued dialogue between the user and VA in association with a first conversation thread);
in response to receiving a third user input associated with the display ([0052] the VA 240 continues to maintain the contextual information of the first and second threads, and the mobile device 200 receives a third user input 418, such as a gesture (e.g., swipe) on the second selectable-screen 402b or a touch on the first visual cue 410p (i.e., gray dot)), present a third user generated content item associated with a third user on the display ([0052] the mobile device 200 receives a third user input 418; [0088] The conversational dialogue between the user and the VA 140 continues with third user input 520; [0098] referring to FIG. 5, if the conversational dialogue between the user and the VA 140 continued with third user input 520), the third user generated content item associated with a second conversation ([0052] switching from the second thread to the first thread based on a determination that the second thread is the active thread to be placed in a paused state according to the switching threads task selected via the third user input 418); and
in response to receiving a fourth user input associated with the display ([0054] a fourth user input 420 (e.g., “What about tomorrow?”) in the first thread), present the first user generated content item on the display ([0054] – [0056] a fourth user input 420 (e.g., “What about tomorrow?”) in the first thread. The VA 240 identifies that the fourth user input 420 is associated with the first thread…The VA 240 thus responds to receipt of the fourth user input “what about tomorrow?” by associating the input with the task of responding to “Can you expect sunshine in New York City tomorrow?” as the user-initiated task-request occurring within the first conversation thread as the target thread… mobile device 200 to present both the fourth user input 420 followed by the result 422 of the task in the first selectable-screen 402a′, thereby presenting the result 422 in association with the first conversation thread as the target thread that has been elevated to the active thread being displayed on the mobile device 200). However, Min does not specifically teach:
- adjacent to a second icon associated with a second user generated content items associated with a second user
Rodriguez teaches chat conversations for displaying messages originating from other user devices [abstract]. Rodriguez also teaches a user interface for displaying user generated content items adjacent to a second icon (Fig. 8A, user identifier 818; Fig. 8C-D, user identifier 878; [0086] the chat identity includes text, image, or multimedia data effective to depict the chat user (e.g., a user photo, a user icon…; [0364] A user identifier 818 can be displayed to indicate which user of the chat initiated the embedded session associated with the interface 810. The user identifier 818 is shown as an identifying image, but can also or alternatively be text (e.g., name), etc.; [0370] a user identifier 878 that indicates the user who initiated the embedded session associated with interface 870) associated with a second user generated content items associated with a second user (Fig. 8A, user identifier 818; Fig. 8C-D, user identifier 878; [0370] After the second user and second device have joined the embedded session, the playback position of the media item displayed in the embedded interface 870 is synchronized with the current playback position of the embedded session, e.g., as shown on the embedded interface 810 of the first device of FIG. 8A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the chat conversation interface taught by Min, with the second chat icon generated in a chat conversation as taught by Rodriguez, to have achieved a chat conversation between user devices and the posted data is displayed in the chat interfaces displayed on the other user devices participating in the chat conversation.
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches wherein:
the first user input is a first swipe from a first point to a second point across the display, the first point right of the second point ([0052] such as a gesture (e.g., swipe) on the second selectable-screen 402b…a swipe left could indicate switching to a previous thread, and a swipe right could indicate switching to a next thread);
the second user input is a second swipe from a third point to a fourth point across the display, the third point left of the second point ([0052] such as a gesture (e.g., swipe) on the second selectable-screen 402b…a swipe left could indicate switching to a previous thread, and a swipe right could indicate switching to a next thread);
the third user input is a third swipe from a fifth point to a sixth point across the display, the fifth point above the sixth point ([0052] such as a gesture (e.g., swipe) on the second selectable-screen 402b…a swipe left could indicate switching to a previous thread, and a swipe right could indicate switching to a next thread); and
the fourth user input is a fourth swipe from a seventh point to an eighth point across the display, the seventh point below the eighth point ([0052] such as a gesture (e.g., swipe) on the second selectable-screen 402b…a swipe left could indicate switching to a previous thread, and a swipe right could indicate switching to a next thread…it is inherent that the user could swipe either left or right or up or down, any number of times).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches wherein the computer-readable storage media stores additional computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to:
present on the display, in conjunction with the first user generated content item, a first region including an indication of source content associated with the first user generated content item, the first region selectable to transition the display to the source content (Fig. 4A, 416; [0051]-[0052] the VA 240 causes the mobile device 200 to present the result 416 of the performance of the task in the second selectable-screen 402b, thereby presenting the result 416 in association with the second conversation thread as both the active thread and the target thread …After the VA 240 performs the task within the target thread (namely, by displaying the result 416 in the same conversation thread as the second user input 412), the VA 240 continues to maintain the contextual information of the first and second threads).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches wherein the computer-readable storage media stores additional computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to:
present on the display, in conjunction with the first user generated content item, a second region including text-based description of the first user generated content item (Fig. 4A, 416; [0051] the VA 240 causes the mobile device 200 to present the result 416 of the performance of the task in the second selectable-screen 402b, thereby presenting the result 416 in association with the second conversation thread as both the active thread and the target thread).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches wherein the computer-readable storage media stores additional computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to:
present on the display, in conjunction with the first user generated content item, a third region including data associated with the first user ([0052] After the VA 240 performs the task within the target thread (namely, by displaying the result 416 in the same conversation thread as the second user input 412), the VA 240 continues to maintain the contextual information of the first and second threads, and the mobile device 200 receives a third user input 418, such as a gesture (e.g., swipe) on the second selectable-screen 402b or a touch on the first visual cue 410p (i.e., gray dot). The third user input 418 indicates, to the VA 240, a user-initiated task-request for switching threads).
With regard to claim 7, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches wherein the computer-readable storage media stores additional computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to:
present on the display, in conjunction with the first user generated content item, a fourth region including an indication of a third conversation ([0060] Previous communications (e.g., User Request L and VA Response L within the first thread, User Request J and VA Response J within the second thread, and User Request I and VA Response I within the third thread) between the user and VA; [0065]-[0066] The VA 240 determines the third thread to be the target thread to which user input—Request P 470 is associated, based on identifying that the content of user input—Request P 470 is similar to the subject matter (Weather) of the third thread… When the third screen 458′ is the top screen displayed, then the third thread is the active thread, as indicated by the changed pattern of the third icon 464 from the second pattern (solid black) to the first-pattern (cross hashed)); and
in response to receiving a fifth user input, presenting a fourth user generated content item associated with a third conversation on the display, the fifth associated with the fourth region ([0054] the mobile device 200 receives a fourth user input 420 (e.g., “What about tomorrow?”) in the first thread. The VA 240 identifies that the fourth user input 420 is associated with the first thread, and causes the mobile device 200 to display the user input 420 as a text message bubble in a first selectable-screen 402a′ of the GUI 401).
With regard to claim 8, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches wherein the computer-readable storage media stores additional computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to:
present on the display, in conjunction with the first user generated content item, a fourth region including a plurality of user selectable icons ([0054] a fourth user input 420 (e.g., “What about tomorrow?”) in the first thread; [0061] The three different screens 454, 456, 458 are arranged in a stacked configuration, as such, only the dialogue of the thread of the top screen (i.e., the active screen) is visible to the user. Within each of the three different screens 454, 456, 458, icons 460, 462, 464 at bottom of the screen are presented as a part of GUI. The number of displayed icons represents the number of open threads for which the VA maintains contextual information), at least a first icon of the plurality of user selectable icons associated with the first user generated content item ([0061] The three different screens 454, 456, 458 are arranged in a stacked configuration, as such, only the dialogue of the thread of the top screen (i.e., the active screen) is visible to the user. Within each of the three different screens 454, 456, 458, icons 460, 462, 464 at bottom of the screen are presented as a part of GUI. The number of displayed icons represents the number of open threads for which the VA maintains contextual information) and a second icon of the plurality of the user selectable icons associated with the second user generated content item ([0061] icons 460, 462, 464 at bottom of the screen are presented as a part of GUI), the first icon left of the second icon (Fig. 4B, icons 460, 462 and 464).
With regard to claim 9, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches wherein the computer-readable storage media stores additional computer-executable instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to:
present on the display, in conjunction with the first user generated content item, a fourth region including a selectable icon ([0061] The three different screens 454, 456, 458 are arranged in a stacked configuration, as such, only the dialogue of the thread of the top screen (i.e., the active screen) is visible to the user. Within each of the three different screens 454, 456, 458, icons 460, 462, 464 at bottom of the screen are presented as a part of GUI. The number of displayed icons represents the number of open threads for which the VA maintains contextual information; [0064] When the second screen 456′ is the top screen displayed, then the second thread is the active thread, as indicated by the changed pattern of the second icon 460 from the second pattern (solid black) to the first pattern (cross hashed); [0066] When the third screen 458′ is the top screen displayed, then the third thread is the active thread, as indicated by the changed pattern of the third icon 464 from the second pattern (solid black) to the first-pattern (cross hashed). Additionally, the icon corresponding to the second screen is changed to the second pattern); and
in response to receiving a fifth user input, presenting on the display an interface to capture a new user generated content item, the fifth associated with the fourth region ([0066] When the third screen 458′ is the top screen displayed, then the third thread is the active thread, as indicated by the changed pattern of the third icon 464 from the second pattern (solid black) to the first-pattern (cross hashed). Additionally, the icon corresponding to the second screen is changed to the second pattern; [0068] Concurrently with opening a new fourth thread, the background VA application updates the GUI to display a fourth icon 476).
With regard to claim 18, Min teaches a method comprising:
receiving a first user generated content item ([0040] When the dialogue between the user and the VA causes the VA 240 to maintain only one conversation thread, the GUI 401 includes only one screen (e.g., first screen 402a). While the first screen 402a is displayed, no selection of a thread can be made by the user because only the first thread is maintained by the VA 240) from a first user device ([0006] a mobile device), the first user generated content generated by a first user (Fig. 4A; [0040] When the dialogue between the user and the VA causes the VA 240 to maintain only one conversation thread, the GUI 401 includes only one screen (e.g., first screen 402a). While the first screen 402a is displayed, no selection of a thread can be made by the user because only the first thread is maintained by the VA 240. When the dialogue between the user and the VA causes the VA 240 to maintain multiple threads at a time, the GUI 401 includes one selectable-screen per conversation thread that is maintained (i.e., a different selectable-screen for each conversation thread));
associating the first user generated content item with a conversation ([0040] the first selectable-screen 402a′ displays the continued dialogue between the user and VA in association with a first conversation thread);
identifying a second user that has been invited to participate in the conversation (Figs. 3-4A; [0047] the VA 240 maintains the contextual information of the first thread, and the mobile device 200 receives a subsequent user input 412 (herein referred to as “second user input”) (e.g., “when does the New York MOMA close?”). In response, the VA 240 processes the second user input 412 to determine a user-initiated task-request (e.g., “What are today's operating hours for The Museum of Modern Art in New York City?”)), the second user different from the first user ([0014] a human detectable cue for each conversation thread (i.e., of a dialogue between the user and the VA) for which the VA maintains contextual information);
sending a notification to a second user device associated with the second user (Figs. 3-4A; [0047] the VA 240 maintains the contextual information of the first thread, and the mobile device 200 receives a subsequent user input 412 (herein referred to as “second user input”) (e.g., “when does the New York MOMA close?”). In response, the VA 240 processes the second user input 412 to determine a user-initiated task-request (e.g., “What are today's operating hours for The Museum of Modern Art in New York City?”));
receiving a second user generated content item ([0040] first selectable-screen 402a′, and second selectable-screen 402b. The second selectable-screen 402b displays the dialogue between the user and VA in association with a second conversation thread) from the second user device ([0037] Mobile device 300 outputs generated response 310 through an output device (e.g., electronic touch display 304 of FIG. 3A-3B, speaker 262, and/or display 226 of FIG. 2));
associating the second user generated content item generated by the second user with the conversation ([0039] For example, the indicator 322 notifies the user that the user can input a follow-up statement (e.g., “Notify me 15 minutes ahead of time” or “Make it happen at my office”) about previous contextual information of the dialogue 302, such as “tomorrow,” the title “write article about assistant,” or the time “9 a.m.,”; [0040] The second selectable-screen 402b displays the dialogue between the user and VA in association with a second conversation thread, and the first selectable-screen 402a′ displays the continued dialogue between the user and VA in association with a first conversation thread); and
causing a third user device to display an indication of the second user generated content item as related to the first user generated content item ([0052] the VA 240 continues to maintain the contextual information of the first and second threads, and the mobile device 200 receives a third user input 418, such as a gesture (e.g., swipe) on the second selectable-screen 402b or a touch on the first visual cue 410p (i.e., gray dot)), in response to the user of the third user device consuming the first user generated content item ([0052] switching from the second thread to the first thread based on a determination that the second thread is the active thread to be placed in a paused state according to the switching threads task selected via the third user input 418). However, Min does not specifically teach:
- associated with a third user…the third user different from both the second user and the first user
Rodriguez teaches chat conversations for displaying messages originating from other user devices [abstract]. Rodriguez also teaches a third user ([0162] A third user (another member user) then joins the embedded chess session, and the messaging application (or the embedded chess application) automatically assigns a user role of observer to the third user for the embedded session), the third user different from both the second user and the first user ([0009] the method can receive third user input indicative of a selected suggested response item from the one or more suggested response items, and cause output of a chat message associated with the selected suggested response item in the first chat interface displayed on the first user device and at the one or more other user devices participating in the chat conversation; [0162] A third user (another member user) then joins the embedded chess session, and the messaging application (or the embedded chess application) automatically assigns a user role of observer to the third user for the embedded session). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the chat conversation interface taught by Min, with a third user associated with the chat as taught by Rodriguez, to have achieved a chat conversation between user devices and the posted data is displayed in the chat interfaces displayed on the other user devices participating in the chat conversation.
With regard to claim 19, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches further comprising:
identifying a fourth user that has been invited to participate in the conversation ([0054] a fourth user input 420 (e.g., “What about tomorrow?”) in the first thread);
sending a second notification to a fourth user device associated with the fourth user ([0054] a fourth user input 420 (e.g., “What about tomorrow?”) in the first thread);
receiving a third user generated content item from the fourth user device ([0054] – [0056] a fourth user input 420 (e.g., “What about tomorrow?”) in the first thread. The VA 240 identifies that the fourth user input 420 is associated with the first thread…The VA 240 thus responds to receipt of the fourth user input “what about tomorrow?” by associating the input with the task of responding to “Can you expect sunshine in New York City tomorrow?” as the user-initiated task-request occurring within the first conversation thread as the target thread… mobile device 200 to present both the fourth user input 420 followed by the result 422 of the task in the first selectable-screen 402a′, thereby presenting the result 422 in association with the first conversation thread as the target thread that has been elevated to the active thread being displayed on the mobile device 200);
associating the third user generated content item with the conversation ([0054] a fourth user input 420 (e.g., “What about tomorrow?”) in the first thread. The VA 240 identifies that the fourth user input 420 is associated with the first thread); and
causing a third user device to display a second indication of the third user generated content item as related to the first user generated content item and the second user generated content item ([0052] switching from the second thread to the first thread based on a determination that the second thread is the active thread to be placed in a paused state according to the switching threads task selected via the third user input 418), in response to the third user of the third user device consuming the first user generated content item ([0052] After the VA 240 performs the task within the target thread (namely, by displaying the result 416 in the same conversation thread as the second user input 412), the VA 240 continues to maintain the contextual information of the first and second threads, and the mobile device 200 receives a third user input 418, such as a gesture (e.g., swipe) on the second selectable-screen 402b or a touch on the first visual cue 410p (i.e., gray dot). The third user input 418 indicates, to the VA 240, a user-initiated task-request for switching threads).
With regard to claim 20, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches wherein causing the third user device to display an indication of the second user generated content item as related to the first user generated content item includes displaying an identifier for the first user and the second user (Figs. 3A-4B; [0040]), the identifier indicating that the first user and the second user are participating in the conversation ([0040] three screens are shown in FIG. 4A, namely, first screen 402a, first selectable-screen 402a′, and second selectable-screen 402b. The second selectable-screen 402b displays the dialogue between the user and VA in association with a second conversation thread, and the first selectable-screen 402a′ displays the continued dialogue between the user and VA in association with a first conversation thread).
With regard to claim 21, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches wherein the first user generated content item is a first generated content item (Figs. 3A-4B; [0048] The VA 240 determines, based on the user-initiated task-request, a “target thread” to which the second user input 412 is associated. More particularly, based on the content of the second user input 412, the VA 240 determines that second user input 412 (and the user-initiated task request determined based on the second user input 412) is associated with a new second conversation thread as the target thread. Thus, VA 240 generates the new second conversation thread; [0049] The VA 240 causes the mobile device 200 to display the second user input 412 in a textual format (e.g., as a text message bubble) in a second selectable-screen 402b of the GUI 401; [0040]) and the second user generated content item is a second generated content item ([0039] For example, the indicator 322 notifies the user that the user can input a follow-up statement (e.g., “Notify me 15 minutes ahead of time” or “Make it happen at my office”) about previous contextual information of the dialogue 302, such as “tomorrow,” the title “write article about assistant,” or the time “9 a.m.,”; [0040] The second selectable-screen 402b displays the dialogue between the user and VA in association with a second conversation thread, and the first selectable-screen 402a′ displays the continued dialogue between the user and VA in association with a first conversation thread). However, Min does not specifically teach:
- a first video generated content item
- a second video generated content item
Rodriguez teaches chat conversations for displaying messages originating from other user devices [abstract]. Rodriguez also teaches a first video generated content item (Fig. 6, 602; [0093] user interface 600 includes a media viewing pane 602…A user of this interface 600 can experience a media program in the media viewing pane 602 while simultaneously playing back social media content pertaining to the media program in the social media pane 604), as well as a second video generated content item (Fig. 7; [0095] FIG. 7 shows another view of the user interface 600). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the chat conversation interface taught by Min, with the video generated content items taught by Rodriguez, to have achieved a chat conversation between user devices and the posted data is displayed in the chat interfaces displayed on the other user devices participating in the chat conversation.
With regard to claim 23, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches wherein causing the third user device associated with the third user to display the indication of the second user generated content item as related to the first user generated content item is presented concurrently with the first user generated content item and within a progress indicator area (Figs. 4A-4B; [0052] the mobile device 200 receives a third user input 418, such as a gesture (e.g., swipe) on the second selectable-screen 402b or a touch on the first visual cue 410p (i.e., gray dot). The third user input 418 indicates, to the VA 240, a user-initiated task-request for switching threads… switching threads includes switching from the second thread to the first thread based on a determination that the second thread is the active thread to be placed in a paused state according to the switching threads task selected via the third user input 418. For example, if the third user input 418 is a touch on the first visual cue 410p, then the third user input 418 identifies the first thread as a specific other thread within which the VA 240 will perform a next task).
Claims 11-17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (U.S. 2019/0235916) in view of Darling et al. (U.S. 2014/0280564).
With regard to claim 11, Min teaches a method comprising:
receiving a user generated content item ([0040] When the dialogue between the user and the VA causes the VA 240 to maintain only one conversation thread, the GUI 401 includes only one screen (e.g., first screen 402a). While the first screen 402a is displayed, no selection of a thread can be made by the user because only the first thread is maintained by the VA 240), the user generated content item including visual data and audio data ([0034] mobile device 300 receives a user input 308 (e.g., “add a calendar event for tomorrow”) through an input interface, such as the keypad 306. User input 308 can be text data that is written or typed, or can be audio data (i.e., a spoken voice); [0071] The user interface of electronic device 502 includes the set of visual indicators 510, 514, 522, the speaker or output device 134 that outputs audio cues);
converting the audio data into a text corpus ([0035] which may include converting audio data into text data using automatic speech recognition (ASR). The natural language processing performed by VA 240 may also include using techniques to convert text data into a semantic representation; [0037] outputting the response 310 includes converting the response 308 into audio data for output through a speaker (e.g., using a text-to-speech software application));
determining a time stamp ([0025] at a previous time, a communication session between a user and VA 140 may include ten (10) conversation threads that respectively have ten (10) statuses stored in system memory 110 or in storage 120; [0036] the VA 240 may populate a set of fields including a date, start time, and title of the calendar event; [0060] The arrow 450 represents a time sequence of user inputs relative to what is displayed via the GUI of the mobile device 200. Beginning at the time the mobile device 200 receives user input), the time stamp relative to the user generated content item ([0060] The arrow 450 represents a time sequence of user inputs relative to what is displayed via the GUI of the mobile device 200. Beginning at the time the mobile device 200 receives user input);
determining a window of time about the time stamp ([0036] the VA 240 may populate a set of fields including a date, start time, and title of the calendar event. When the user input 308 only includes date information, the VA 240 may generate a response 310 (e.g., “At what time?”) that prompts the user to provide additional information corresponding to an empty start time field, and a response 314 (e.g., “What's the title?”) that prompts the user to provide additional information corresponding to an empty title field; [0039] the indicator 322 notifies the user that the user can input a follow-up statement (e.g., “Notify me 15 minutes ahead of time”);
modifying the audio data within the window of time associated with the time stamp to generate a modified user generated content item ([0035] which may include converting audio data into text data using automatic speech recognition (ASR). The natural language processing performed by VA 240 may also include using techniques to convert text data into a semantic representation; [0036] the VA 240 may populate a set of fields including a date, start time, and title of the calendar event; [0037] outputting the response 310 includes converting the response 308 into audio data for output through a speaker (e.g., using a text-to-speech software application)) including a modified audio output ([0037] outputting the response 310 includes converting the response 308 into audio data for output through a speaker (e.g., using a text-to-speech software application); [0071] the speaker or output device 134 that outputs audio cues); and
publishing the modified user generated content item ([0053] the mobile device 200 outputs (or modifies the color of) the second visual cue 414p as a gray dot that indicates the paused state of the second thread). However, Min does not specifically teach:
- associated with a social networking platform from a user device;
- identifying within the text corpus a banned word;
- associated with the banned word
- the modified user generated content item obscuring an output of the banned word
Darling teaches receiving social media content from at least one social media service and timing information expressed relative to a time associated with the media program [abstract]. Darling also teaches a system associated with a social networking platform from a user device (Fig. 1, social media playback system 100; [abstract] social media playback system) for identifying within the text corpus a banned word ([0049] if a message 310 contains one or more banned words identified in the keyword data 218, then the message 310 can be assigned a weight 316 that would decrease the score 312, e.g., a weight of zero; [0100] an authorized user can ban social media messages that contain particular tags. The user accomplishes this task by specifying the banned words in the banned words text area 1208, in the same way as specifying tags. Banned words can be later removed just like removing tags. In some examples, the social media playback system 100 (FIG. 1) can automatically identify elements of social media content containing banned words and mark them as rejected in a database, e.g., the database 300 shown in FIG. 3.) as well as the modified user generated content item obscuring an output of the banned word ([0100] an authorized user can ban social media messages that contain particular tags. The user accomplishes this task by specifying the banned words in the banned words text area 1208, in the same way as specifying tags. Banned words can be later removed just like removing tags). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the conversation thread device as taught by Min, with displaying social media content taught by Darling, to have achieved a system modified for conversation threads between users and including banned words identified in a keyword database.
With regard to claim 12, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches further comprising sending a notification to a user associated with the user device in response to modifying the audio data ([0071] The user interface of electronic device 502 includes the set of visual indicators 510, 514, 522, the speaker or output device 134 that outputs audio cues).
With regard to claim 13, the limitations are addressed above. However, Min does not specifically teach:
- restricting the user access to the social networking platform in response to identifying the banned word
Darling teaches receiving social media content from at least one social media service and timing information expressed relative to a time associated with the media program [abstract]. Darling also teaches restricting the user access to the social networking platform in response to identifying the banned word ([0049] if a message 310 contains one or more banned words identified in the keyword data 218, then the message 310 can be assigned a weight 316 that would decrease the score 312, e.g., a weight of zero; [0100] an authorized user can ban social media messages that contain particular tags. The user accomplishes this task by specifying the banned words in the banned words text area 1208, in the same way as specifying tags. Banned words can be later removed just like removing tags. In some examples, the social media playback system 100 (FIG. 1) can automatically identify elements of social media content containing banned words and mark them as rejected in a database, e.g., the database 300 shown in FIG. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the conversation thread device as taught by Min, with the banned words database taught by Darling, to have achieved a system modified for conversation threads between users and including banned words identified in a keyword database.
With regard to claim 14, the limitations are addressed above. However, Min does not specifically teach:
- wherein restricting the user access to the social networking platform in response to identifying banned word causes the user to meet or exceed a banned word threshold
Darling teaches restricting the user access to the social networking platform in response to identifying banned word causes the user to meet or exceed a banned word threshold ([0100] an authorized user can ban social media messages that contain particular tags. The user accomplishes this task by specifying the banned words in the banned words text area 1208, in the same way as specifying tags. Banned words can be later removed just like removing tags. In some examples, the social media playback system 100 (FIG. 1) can automatically identify elements of social media content containing banned words and mark them as rejected in a database, e.g., the database 300 shown in FIG. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the conversation thread device as taught by Min, with the banned words database taught by Darling, to have achieved a system modified for conversation threads between users and including banned words identified in a keyword database.
With regard to claim 15, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches modifying the audio data within the window of time associated with the time stamp ([0035] which may include converting audio data into text data using automatic speech recognition (ASR). The natural language processing performed by VA 240 may also include using techniques to convert text data into a semantic representation; [0036] the VA 240 may populate a set of fields including a date, start time, and title of the calendar event; [0037] outputting the response 310 includes converting the response 308 into audio data for output through a speaker (e.g., using a text-to-speech software application)). However, Min does not specifically teach:
- wherein further comprises replacing the banned word with substitute audio content
Darling teaches replacing the banned word with substitute audio content ([0069] The mobile computing device 450 may also communicate audibly using audio codec 460, which may receive spoken information from a user and convert it to usable digital information; [0100] an authorized user can ban social media messages that contain particular tags. The user accomplishes this task by specifying the banned words in the banned words text area 1208, in the same way as specifying tags. Banned words can be later removed just like removing tags. In some examples, the social media playback system 100 (FIG. 1) can automatically identify elements of social media content containing banned words and mark them as rejected in a database, e.g., the database 300 shown in FIG. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the conversation thread device as taught by Min, with the banned words database taught by Darling, to have achieved a system modified for conversation threads between users and including banned words identified in a keyword database.
With regard to claim 16, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches wherein modifying the audio data within the window of time associated with the time stamp further comprises removing the audio data within the window of time from the user generated content item ([0084] The VA 140 illuminates the second visual indicator 514a in the first color indicating the dialog status of the second thread as the active thread, and VA 140 plays the second audio indicator 512 in the background. The third visual indicator 522c remains OFF indicating that no third thread has been activate and/or that the dialogue status of the third thread as closed).
With regard to claim 17, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches further comprising:
determining that the user generated content item is open to a public audience ([0061] The number of displayed icons represents the number of open threads for which the VA maintains contextual information; [0067] Request R 472 dissimilar from the subject matter(s) of remainder of the open threads (i.e., first thread and second thread), responds by opening a fourth thread to respond to user input); and
wherein converting the audio data into a text corpus is responsive to the user generated content item being open to the public ([0035] which may include converting audio data into text data using automatic speech recognition (ASR). The natural language processing performed by VA 240 may also include using techniques to convert text data into a semantic representation; [0037] outputting the response 310 includes converting the response 308 into audio data for output through a speaker (e.g., using a text-to-speech software application); [0061] The number of displayed icons represents the number of open threads for which the VA maintains contextual information).
With regard to claim 22, the limitations are addressed above and Min teaches further comprising:
receiving a request to consume the user generated content item from a second user device associated with a second user ([0040] three screens are shown in FIG. 4A, namely, first screen 402a, first selectable-screen 402a′, and second selectable-screen 402b. The second selectable-screen 402b displays the dialogue between the user and VA in association with a second conversation thread, and the first selectable-screen 402a′ displays the continued dialogue between the user and VA in association with a first conversation thread; [0048] VA 240 generates the new second conversation thread. At this instance, the VA 240 maintains contextual information for multiple threads—the first conversation thread and the second conversation thread; [0059] the user can actuate the second visual cue 414 as a button-tab that causes the GUI 401 to display the second selectable-screen 402b). However, Min does not specifically teach:
- wherein identifying within the text corpus the banned word is based at least in part on a class associated with the second user
Darling teaches a system associated with a social networking platform from a user device (Fig. 1, social media playback system 100; [abstract] social media playback system) for identifying within the text corpus a banned word ([0049] if a message 310 contains one or more banned words identified in the keyword data 218, then the message 310 can be assigned a weight 316 that would decrease the score 312, e.g., a weight of zero; [0100] an authorized user can ban social media messages that contain particular tags. The user accomplishes this task by specifying the banned words in the banned words text area 1208, in the same way as specifying tags. Banned words can be later removed just like removing tags. In some examples, the social media playback system 100 (FIG. 1) can automatically identify elements of social media content containing banned words and mark them as rejected in a database, e.g., the database 300 shown in FIG. 3.) is based at least in part on a class associated with the second user ([0100] an authorized user can ban social media messages that contain particular tags. The user accomplishes this task by specifying the banned words in the banned words text area 1208, in the same way as specifying tags. Banned words can be later removed just like removing tags). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the conversation thread device as taught by Min, with displaying social media content taught by Darling, to have achieved a system modified for conversation threads between users and including banned words identified in a keyword database.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12-18-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the arguments, Applicant argues that the Min and Rodriguez references fail to teach the limitations of claim 1, particularly, “present concurrently with the first user generated content item, a progress indicator area, the progress indicator area including a first icon associated with the first user generated content item” as well as a “second icon associated with a second user generated content items associated with a second user”. Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant:
The Min reference was used as it teaches virtual assistant conversation among multiple threads at a time [abstract]. A virtual assistant (otherwise known as a VA) engages in conversation with a user of a device with selectable threads to which user input is associated [abstract]. Min teaches an indicator 322 shown in figure 3B, which identifies to the user that the virtual assistant (VA) is maintaining a dialogue with the user [0039]. In addition to the progress indicator, the interface also displays via the touch display, text data or graphical data and outputting of such via the device at 310 (Fig. 3; [0037]). A conversation takes place via the virtual assistant (VA) and the first user as shown in Figs. 3A-4B. The system then takes on a user-initiated task request to a “target thread” which involves a second user input 412 and a new conversation thread via a third selectable screen where the virtual assistant is conversing with a second user via a third screen ([0065] The VA 240 determines the third thread to be the target thread to which user input—Request P 470 is associated, based on identifying that the content of user input—Request P 470 is similar to the subject matter (Weather) of the third thread). The third thread displays a third screen where the virtual assistant (VA) is engaging in conversation with another user as shown in figures 4A-4B. Figure 4B displays a first thread which is entitled ‘NYC’, a second thread entitled ‘Sports’ and a third thread which is entitled ‘Weather’. The virtual assistant (VA) switches threads by placing an active thread in a paused state and changing screens to the third screen, and is further shown different users via User Request P, User Request Q and User Request I [0066]. This shows that three distinct users are engaged in three distinct conversations with the virtual assistant (VA), and furthermore, that each user is separate from one another.
In addition to the Min reference, the Rodriguez reference was used as it teaches suggested items for use with embedded applications in chat conversations [abstract]. Rodriguez teaches a program and interface for chat conversations which allows a first chat interface displayed by a first messaging application on a first user device, to receive input from a first user and display messages from one or more other devices participating in the chat conversation [abstract]. The chat system taught by Rodriguez shows an interface for displaying user generated content items adjacent to a second icon (Fig. 8A, user identifier 818; Fig. 8C-D, user identifier 878; [0086] the chat identity includes text, image, or multimedia data effective to depict the chat user (e.g., a user photo, a user icon…; [0364] A user identifier 818 can be displayed to indicate which user of the chat initiated the embedded session associated with the interface 810. The user identifier 818 is shown as an identifying image, but can also or alternatively be text (e.g., name), etc.; [0370] a user identifier 878 that indicates the user who initiated the embedded session associated with interface 870) associated with a second user generated content items associated with a second user (Fig. 8A, user identifier 818; Fig. 8C-D, user identifier 878; [0370] After the second user and second device have joined the embedded session, the playback position of the media item displayed in the embedded interface 870 is synchronized with the current playback position of the embedded session, e.g., as shown on the embedded interface 810 of the first device of FIG. 8A.). As such, the Min and Rodriguez references sufficiently teach the limitations of the claim language and the rejected still holds. Applicant is welcomed to amend further to make clarity of the record and present the claims in this matter.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171