DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Argument
Amendment and argument filed on 12/29/2025 are considered. Claims 1, 3-13, 16 and 17 are amended. New claims 18-22 are added. Claim 2 is cancelled.
Specification: Applicant amended specification with new title as suggested. The objection is withdrawn.
Claim objection: With the appropriate dependency amendment, the claim objection is withdrawn.
Claim interpretation: Amended claims 12 and 13 now do not invoke 112 f; Claim interpretation is withdrawn.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C 101: Non-statutory rejection is withdrawn after the appropriate amendment.
Applicant argument regarding the improvement in safety of charging system is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C 103: For the amended claims, prior arts were found to teach the amended or newly added limitations. There accordingly addressed below in their respective section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 isrejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 depends from claim 13. Claim 13 is directed to device/apparatus, however claim 22 recites a non-transitory computer readable…” which constitutes a different statutory section of invention than apparatus recited in claim 13. Because the dependent claim must further limit the subject matter of its independent claim, the introduction of a non-statutory computer readable medium changes the statutory class than further limiting the device. There it is unclear where the dependent claim 22 is directed to device of claim 13 or computer readable medium. Applicant is suggested to amend the claim 22 to device claim to over come the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 12, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al (US 20210239764 A1) herein after “Jin” in view of Bertness (US 20160216335A1), Bishop et al (US 11427143 B1) herein after “Bishop” and Kissel et al US 4659977 A herein after “Kissel”
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to execute a process of:
estimating a state of at least one of an energy storage device (para [0031] FIG. 3 may be understood to illustrate a system of modeling impacts on battery longevity.) and a charge system ( para [008] The system may also be able to provide different usage cases and control strategy (how the OE manages alternator and battery) cases and their effect on the life of a particular battery (ex. Soccer Mom vs. Traveling Salesman vs. Off-Road Driver). Fig. 1 alternator 117 as charge system. para [0032] Vehicle simulation 359 may comprise a regeneration power profile which may be defined by the vehicle as a function of time.) by executing a simulation using a battery model for simulating the energy storage device (para [0031] In various embodiments, the system may comprise a vehicle simulation component 359 and “Real” Electrical Load component which may further comprise a battery simulator model 369 and performance analysis 371 portions.) and a charge system model for simulating the charge system that charges the energy storage device (para [0033] Next, simulated or actual electrical loads from the vehicle may be used to evaluate effect on battery performance and life. Regeneration profile 355 and/or vehicle load simulator 357 may be seen to feed into a power profile 361 and/or state profile 363 of a vehicle.); and
Herein regenerative profile 335 is viewed as charge system model for simulation that charges battery.
In Fig. 3, the vehicle simulator 359 comprises the regenerative power profile 355 and load simulator 357. The state profile 363 (i.e., of charge system) from 355 and 357 of vehicle simulator 359 is sent to the battery simulator 369 so the vehicle simulation 359 and the battery simulator model correspond to a battery charging system model. The result of simulation using battery model would provide the state of the energy storage device i.e., battery.
Jin does not clearly teach determining compatibility between the energy storage device and the charge system based on the estimated state,
wherein the state estimated by the simulation includes a temporal change in charge system voltage determined according to the state of the energy storage device and a temporal change in battery voltage that is a voltage across both terminals of the energy storage device, and
the computer is caused to execute the process of determining compatibility between the energy storage device and the charge system based on a difference between the charge system voltage and the battery voltage.
and calculating the charge system voltage based on a power pattern and a target value of a charge voltage.
Bertness teaches determining compatibility between the energy storage device and the charge system based on the estimated state (para [031] The alternator tester may include a storage battery or a load configured to simulate a storage battery for performing diagnostics. In such a configuration, the battery itself may also be tested using the techniques discussed herein.
para [0043] Electrical parameters of the alternator 102 can also be measured, for example resistance, inductance, capacitance, or others, using the connections, including using the Kelvin connections provided by the batter tester module 322 or some other sensor. Based upon the measurements, a diagnostic output is provided, for example to an operator. The output can provide absolute measurements as well qualitative results such as pass, fail, or impending failure.)
Herein examiner views the measurements from alternator and battery determines if the alternator or battery has failed (i.e., determining a compatibility between the energy storage device and the charge system).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated the idea of Bertness into Jin for the purpose of determining a compatibility between a battery and a charging system so that a proper safety of a vehicle can be managed.
however Jin and Bertness does not clearly teach wherein the state estimated by the simulation includes a temporal change in charge system voltage determined according to the state of the energy storage device and a temporal change in battery voltage that is a voltage across both terminals of the energy storage device, and
the computer is caused to execute the process of determining compatibility between the energy storage device and the charge system based on a difference between the charge system voltage and the battery voltage.
and calculating the charge system voltage based on a power pattern and a target value of a charge voltage.
Bishop teaches wherein the state estimated by the simulation includes a temporal change in charge system voltage determined according to the state of the energy storage device and a temporal change in battery voltage that is a voltage across both terminals of the energy storage device (col 10, line 27, Process 300 includes determining if the battery 110 has charged as a result of the increased field current (block 308). For example, the controller 112 may compare successive measurements returned by the voltmeter measuring the voltage output of the battery 110. If power generated by the battery 110 is being supplied to various electrical loads 116-122 of the vehicle 100, a neutral or relatively slow decline in the battery 110's voltage may be consistent with the battery receiving charge from the alternator 106. Accordingly, the controller 112 may identify the electrical loads 116-122 that are currently being powered, and compare temporal variations in the voltage level of the battery 110 to voltage levels at previous times when a similar set of electrical loads 116-122 was being powered by the battery 110),
Herein examiner views a battery with or without an alternator which charges the battery of a vehicle make up a charge system. The temporal change in battery (i.e., whether energy storage device, battery is charging or discharging) is determined using a voltmeter across its terminal while the voltage is received from the alternator. and
the computer is caused to execute the process of determining compatibility between the energy storage device and the charge system based on a difference between the charge system voltage and the battery voltage (col. 1 line 23. Faults in either the battery or alternator result in insufficient electrical energy being supplied to the DC loads. Thus, it would be beneficial to provide a system for prioritizing these loads in the event of the malfunctioning of such components.
Col 8 line 24. Additionally, the charging system diagnostics module 208 identifies faults in the operation of the battery 110. For example the charging system diagnostics module 208 may compare a the rate of charging of the battery 110 (e.g., based on the output voltage of the battery) to the level of field current being produced by the alternator 106.).
Herein determining a fault in either a battery or alternator as determining a compatibility between the energy storage device and the charge system based on the alternator current (or voltage) and battery voltage.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Bishop into Jin for the purpose of determining a compatibility between a battery and a charging system by using a voltage difference between battery and the charging system. So that an accurate monitoring of the charging system with battery can be performed.
however Jin, Bertness and Bishop does not clearly teach and calculating the charge system voltage based on a power pattern and a target value of a charge voltage.
Kissel teaches calculating the charge system voltage based on a power pattern and a target value of a charge voltage (col 1 line 11. A conventional automotive charging system includes two main components, the alternator and the voltage regulator. The alternator interfaces directly with the battery and is the source of energy that charges the battery. The output of the alternator is directly proportional to the current flow through its field windings at a given alternator RPM. The function of the voltage regulator is to control the output of the alternator in accordance with the voltage level of the battery by controlling current flow through the field windings of the alternator. In particular, when the battery voltage drops below a specified voltage level, the voltage regulator is adapted to sense this condition and apply current to the field windings of the alternator to thereby provide a charging current from the alternator to the battery. When the battery voltage reaches the desired voltage level, the voltage regulator interrupts current flow to the field windings of the alternator to stop the charging process. In practice, this procedure may repeat itself many times per second and is referred to as modulating the alternator field current).
Here the voltage of alternator (i.e., charge system) is regulated based on the power generated and power used by battery (i.e., power pattern) and a specified voltage a battery need to be charged (i.e., target value of charge voltage). The process is repeated and changed with times when the vehicle is started or travelled.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Kissel into Jin for the purpose of calculating the charge system voltage based on a power pattern and a target value of a charge voltage. So that an accurate monitoring of the charging system and battery can be performed by providing appropriate amount of charge or voltage to the battery.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Jin, Bertness, Bishop and Kissel teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program according to claim 1, Jin teaches wherein the battery model includes an equivalent circuit of the energy storage device (para [0033] The battery simulator model may be seen to comprise a control strategy and equivalent circuit model.).
Claim 12 is rejected as claim 1 above having same claim limitation.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Jin, Bertness, Bishop and Kissel teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program according to claim 1, Kissel teaches wherein the power pattern is based on a difference between a power generation and a power consumption (col 1. Line 11) Here the voltage of alternator (i.e., charge system) is regulated based on the power generated and power used by battery (i.e., power pattern) and a specified voltage a battery need to be charged (i.e., target value of charge voltage). The process is repeated and changed with times when the vehicle is started or travelled.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Kissel into Jin for the purpose of calculating the charge system voltage based on a power pattern and a target value of a charge voltage. So that an accurate monitoring of the charging system and battery can be performed by providing appropriate amount of charge or voltage to the battery.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Jin, Bertness, Bishop and Kissel teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program according to claim 1, Kissel wherein the power pattern is based on a temporal change in power when a vehicle repeats a traveling state (col 1. Line 11) Here the voltage of alternator (i.e., charge system) is regulated based on the power generated and power used by battery (i.e., power pattern) and a specified voltage a battery need to be charged (i.e., target value of charge voltage). The process of power pattern is repeated and changed with times when the vehicle is started or travelled.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Kissel into Jin for the purpose of calculating the charge system voltage based on a power pattern and a target value of a charge voltage. So that an accurate monitoring of the charging system and battery can be performed by providing appropriate amount of charge or voltage to the battery.
Claims 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin in view of Takahashi, Bertness and Matthey et al US 20190207406 A1 herein after “Matthey”
Regarding claim 7 Jin teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer program for causing a computer to execute a process of:
estimating a state of at least one of an energy storage device (para [0031] FIG. 3 may be understood to illustrate a system of modeling impacts on battery longevity.) and a power management system (para [008] The system may also be able to provide different usage cases and control strategy (how the OE manages alternator and battery) cases and their effect on the life of a particular battery (ex. Soccer Mom vs. Traveling Salesman vs. Off-Road Driver). Fig. 1 alternator 117. para [0032] Vehicle simulation 359 may comprise a regeneration power profile which may be defined by the vehicle as a function of time.)
Examiner views alternator as power the management system. Alternators are routinely used in vehicles to provide power to the electrical system of the vehicles as well as charge a battery of the vehicles.
by executing a simulation using a battery model for simulating the energy storage device (para [0031] In various embodiments, the system may comprise a vehicle simulation component 359 and “Real” Electrical Load component which may further comprise a battery simulator model 369 and performance analysis 371 portions.) and
Jin does not each a charge-discharge system model for simulating a power management system for the energy storage device; and
determining compatibility between the energy storage device and the power management system based on the estimated state of the energy storage device;
wherein the battery model comprises a component model for simulating a component of the energy storage device
Takahashi teaches a charge-discharge system model for simulating a power management system for the energy storage device (. [0033] FIG. 2 is a detailed block diagram of the battery condition detecting apparatus 6… The discharging and charging current detecting unit 600 corresponds to means for detecting a discharging and charging current from the battery.
Para [0054] If the actual discharging current detected by the discharging and charging current detecting unit 600 is greater than the target value of the discharging current, a result of the determination at Step 200 is "YES". In this case, the processing proceeds to Step 201 at which the alternator control unit 606 increases the target value of the discharging current by one unit degree of an output voltage of the alternator 3.); and
Herein examiner views a charge and discharge unit together with alternator control to replicate as power management system for the battery (i.e., energy storage device).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Takahashi into Jin for the purpose of having charge-discharge unit for representing power management of battery so that a better monitoring of charge discharge of a battery and an alternator can be obtained.
Jin and Takahashi do not teach determining compatibility between the energy storage device and the power management system based on the estimated state of the energy storage device,
wherein the battery model comprises a component model for simulating a component of the energy storage device
Bertness teaches determining compatibility between the energy storage device and the power management system based on the estimated state of the energy storage device (para [031] The alternator tester may include a storage battery or a load configured to simulate a storage battery for performing diagnostics. In such a configuration, the battery itself may also be tested using the techniques discussed herein.
para [0043] Electrical parameters of the alternator 102 can also be measured, for example resistance, inductance, capacitance, or others, using the connections, including using the Kelvin connections provided by the batter tester module 322 or some other sensor. Based upon the measurements, a diagnostic output is provided, for example to an operator. The output can provide absolute measurements as well qualitative results such as pass, fail, or impending failure.)
Herein examiner views the measurements from alternator and battery determines if the alternator or battery has failed (i.e., determining a compatibility between the energy storage device and the power management system).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated the idea of Bertness into Jin for the purpose of determining a compatibility between a battery and a charging system so that a proper safety of a vehicle can be managed.
Jin, Bertness and Takahashi does not clearly teach wherein the battery model comprises a component model for simulating a component of the energy storage device
Matthey et al US 20190207406 A1 wherein the battery model comprises a component model for simulating a component of the energy storage device (para [0021]. The battery system 1 includes a battery cell 101, a battery management system 102, a current sensor 103, a voltage measurement circuit 104 which measures a voltage of each battery cell, a voltage sensor 105 which measures a total current of a plurality of battery cells 101 connected in series, a temperature sensor 106, and a relay 107.
FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an example of the battery state calculation unit 501. The battery state calculation unit 501 consists of a battery model unit 601 and the state detection unit 602. The battery model unit 601 includes an equivalent circuit of the battery cell, and includes as information thereof the configuration of the battery system 1 (that is, the number of series and the number of connection cells in one string, and the number of parallel strings).
[0026] In addition, the battery model unit 601 receives information of the actual current value I, a total voltage value, and the battery cell temperature from the current sensor 103, the voltage sensor 105, and the temperature sensor 106, and calculates the open circuit voltage OCV of the battery cell 101, the polarized voltage V.sub.p, and the state of charge SOC.
Here Examine views fig. 1-3 as the simulation of the battery model with the components; (state detection unit i.e., battery management circuit, a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a temperature sensor, and a switching device, simulating battery state of charge and open circuit voltage.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Mathey into Jin for the purpose of the battery model comprising a component model for simulating a component of the energy storage device, so that the power management of the vehicle can be accurately managed.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Jin, Takahashi, Bertness and Mathey teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer program according to claim 7, Jin teaches wherein the battery model includes a state estimation model for estimating at least one of an SOC, SOH, voltage, current, and temperature of the energy storage device (para [0033] The battery performance analysis 371 may include battery ampere hours, battery peak state of charge (i.e. SOC), depth of discharge, and fuel economy. Para [0042] The Vehicle loads 559 may comprise consideration of environmental factors (for example, temperature and humidity may impact battery functionality), and an event estimation model for estimating at least one of deterioration (para [0033] Standard aging (i.e. deterioration) for the battery may likewise be modeled. Finally, an expected life of a new battery under the conditions may be obtained in various embodiments. In various embodiments, the system and method may evaluate and output cycling life of a battery). and heat generation of the energy storage device (para [0029] In addition, FIG. 2 also details environmental factors 200 (“environment I operate within”) which may impact vehicle electrical loads and in turn battery performance over time. These factors 233 may include, but not be limited to, temperature (both ambient and temperature under the vehicle hood), road condition, and battery placement in the vehicle. In, application, this may include pressure, desert environment, southern environment, and whether a heat shield is present.) Herein temperature under hood is viewed to include a heat generation of the energy storage device.
Takahashi teaches a charge- discharge control model for simulating charge- discharge control for the energy storage device ( [0033] FIG. 2 is a detailed block diagram of the battery condition detecting apparatus 6… The discharging and charging current detecting unit 600 corresponds to means for detecting a discharging and charging current from the battery.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Takahashi into Jin for the purpose of having charge-discharge unit for representing charge discharge of a battery so that a better monitoring of charge discharge of the battery can be obtained.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Jin, Takahashi, Bertness and Matthey teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program according to claim 7, Jin teaches wherein the computer is caused to execute a process of receiving an input of a parameter indicating an initial state of each model (para [0032] For example, in FIG. 3 a vehicle simulation 359 may initially be ran in order to gain preliminary insight into per-vehicle preliminary loads.
para [0041] In various embodiments, users may provide certain data (user input 513), for example, as driver information as part of electrical load factors 503 in FIG. 7. This may be understood to comprise, for example, but not limited to, factors such as user behavior (driver factors) 202, environment factors 200, or electrical demand 203 factors as seen in FIG. 2. This and other information may allow for an output 509 such as a recommended battery.).
Herein examiner views gaining preliminary load information of vehicle as receiving input of a parameter that indicates the initial sate of the simulation. User may also provide input data to the simulation.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Jin, Takahashi, Bertness and Matthey teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program according to claim 7, Jin teaches wherein the computer is caused to execute a process of causing a display device to display an estimation result obtained by each model (Fig. 7 [0040] In various embodiments, the system and method herein may comprise one or more algorithms (for example, as shown in the Figures) comprising one or more software components and one or more computers. For example, the output 509 may be provided on a screen).
Claim 13 is rejected as claim 7 above having same claim limitation.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Jin, Takahashi, Bertness and Matthey teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program according to claim 7, Matthey teaches wherein the component of the energy storage device is selected from the group consisting of a battery management circuit, a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a temperature sensor, and a switching device (para [0021]. The battery system 1 includes a battery cell 101, a battery management system 102, a current sensor 103, a voltage measurement circuit 104 which measures a voltage of each battery cell, a voltage sensor 105 which measures a total current of a plurality of battery cells 101 connected in series, a temperature sensor 106, and a relay 107.
FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating an example of the battery state calculation unit 501. The battery state calculation unit 501 consists of a battery model unit 601 and the state detection unit 602. The battery model unit 601 includes an equivalent circuit of the battery cell, and includes as information thereof the configuration of the battery system 1 (that is, the number of series and the number of connection cells in one string, and the number of parallel strings).
[0026] In addition, the battery model unit 601 receives information of the actual current value I, a total voltage value, and the battery cell temperature from the current sensor 103, the voltage sensor 105, and the temperature sensor 106, and calculates the open circuit voltage OCV of the battery cell 101, the polarized voltage V.sub.p, and the state of charge SOC.
Here Examine views fig. 1-3 as the simulation of the battery model with the components; (state detection unit i.e., battery management circuit, a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a temperature sensor, and a switching device, simulating battery state of charge and open circuit voltage.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Mathey into Jin for the purpose of the battery model comprising a component model for simulating a component of the energy storage device, so that the power management of the vehicle can be accurately managed.
Claim 22 is rejected as claim 21 having same claim limitation.
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Jin, Takahashi, Bertness and Matthey in view of Kissel.
Claim 16 is rejected as claim 1 having same claim limitation.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Jin and Bertness, Bishop and Kissel in view of Takahashi (US 20080094034 A1) herein after “Takahashi”.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jin, Bertness, Bishop and Kissel teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program according to claim 1, Bertness teaches wherein the computer is caused to execute the process of determining compatibility between the energy storage device and the charge system based on a difference between the applied current and an allowable value set for the applied current (para [0005] First, the alternator provides charging current for the battery. This charging current ensures that the battery remains charged while the vehicle is being driven and therefore will have sufficient capacity to subsequently start the engine. Second, the alternator provides an output current to power all of the vehicle electrical loads. In general, the alternator output, the battery capacity, the starter draw and the vehicle electrical load requirements are matched to each other for optimal performance. In a properly functioning charging system, the alternator will be capable of outputting enough current to drive the vehicle electrical loads while simultaneously charging the battery. Typically, alternators range in size from 60 to 120 amps.)
Herein examiner views the alternator output current is matched or compared with battery capacity, the starter draws and the vehicle load requirements (i.e., an allowable values set for the applied current by the alternator) to determine the compatibility between the energy storage device and the alternator.
The combination do not teach the state estimated by the simulation includes a temporal change in applied current applied to the energy storage device at the time of charging.
Takahashi teaches the state estimated by the simulation includes a temporal change in applied current applied to the energy storage device at the time of charging (para [0045] FIG. 9 is a graph showing a charging and discharging current varying with time… As shown in FIG. 9, the charging current increase just after the charging action has been started).
In Fig. 9 examiner views, a simulation of estimating battery state where the charging current (i.e., applied current) to the battery changes with change in time at the time of charging the battery.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Takahashi into Jin for the purpose of the determining a change in applied current to a battery with change in time at the time of charging the battery, so that an accurate state of the battery can be simulated when a charging current is supplied to the battery.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Jin, Bertness, Bishop and Kissel in view of Metter et al (US 20080070520 A1) herein after Metter.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Jin, Bertness, Bishop and Kissel teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program according to claim 1, the combination do not teach wherein the charge system model is set using a transfer function representing a relationship between a control input and a control output in the charge system.
Metter teaches wherein the charge system model is set using a transfer function representing a relationship between a control input and a control output in the charge system (para [0008] Newer designs have inserted a buck converter to reduce the PA supply voltage while improving system efficiency. These converters typically provide a linear transfer function that takes an analog input control signal and generates an output supply voltage using a fixed gain constant. Such systems typically require the system processor to use a look-up table to match the control signal to the desired output voltage for the desired RF output power level. Using a converter like this can involve complex software development and other related steps, which makes this approach less than optimal from the standpoint of efficiency.)
Herein examiner views converters use the transfer function that takes a control input signal (i.e., from battery -charge system) to generate an output supply voltage using a fixed gain constant. The supply voltage is viewed to be a controlled output by using a fixed gain constant.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Metter in Jin for the purpose of using a transfer function by a converter to represent a relationship between a control input and a control output of a charge system, so that the controlled or desired electrical energy can be out put by the charge system.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Jin, Bertness, Bishop and Kissel in view of Zeng et al (CN 207010290 U) herein after “Zeng”.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Jin, Bertness, Bishop and Kissel teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program according to claim 1, the combination do not teach wherein the charge system model simulates a control delay in the charge system.
Zeng teaches wherein the charge system model simulates a control delay in the charge system. (page 7, line 1 Fig. 1 and 2, The utility model is specifically used, the main circuit 1 is to be charged…current detection signal by the three-terminal regulator U2 control the delay circuit 3 to achieve the effect of protection to be charged, wherein the battery charging in the anode port and cathode charge port access battery-main circuit 1. after the rechargeable battery is correctly accessed).
Herein examine views the utility model as a charge system model in Fig. 1 and 2 that replicate or simulate a control delay in the battery charging system.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Zeng into Jin for the purpose representing a control delay in a charge system model so that the battery charging can be correctly performed.
Claim(s) 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Jin, Bertness, Takahashi and Matthey in view of Nanba (JP 2006020401 A).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jin, Bertness, Takahashi and Matthey teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program according to claim 7, the combination does not clearly teach, wherein the charge-discharge system model is a model including at least one of efficiency, resistance, a rotational speed, a predetermined voltage, and a voltage control characteristic in the power management system as a parameter.
Nanba teaches wherein the charge-discharge system model (abstract: to estimate a charging/discharging current of a battery from control information on a hybrid vehicle) is a model including at least one of efficiency, resistance (page 12 , line 4, The equivalent circuit of FIG. 6 is an equivalent circuit model in which the parameters of resistance components R1 to R3) , a rotational speed (page 7, line 4, Next, the power-output conversion efficiency ETDM of the drive motor 1 is calculated from the drive motor rotational speed NDM), a predetermined voltage (page 16, line 14, calculating means for calculating a current estimated value of the charging / discharging current of the battery based on the estimated power value and the terminal voltage of the battery.), and a voltage control characteristic (page 7, line 18, Further, based on the terminal voltage VB of the battery 4 which is a high voltage battery and the control duty CTDUTY of the DC-DC converter 9, the power supplied to the DC-DC converter 9 is referred to by referring to a preset table or the like.) in the power management system as a parameter (page 3, line 13, A second battery management system for a hybrid vehicle according to the present invention is a battery management device for a hybrid vehicle that manages the state of a battery that supplies power to a motor that generates a driving force, and includes at least the required power of the motor and the above-described battery power management system.)
Herein examiner views the charge/discharge test or model in this reference includes determining or using efficiency, voltage, resistance, rotational speed of motor and power management. Power management is viewed to comprise controlling or managing the voltage DC converter.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Nanba in Jin for the purpose of monitoring a charge/discharge system by using a model that include voltage, resistance, rotational speed, determining efficiency and power management to control the voltage.
Claim 17 is rejected as claim 9 above having same claim limitations.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Jin, Bertness, Bishop and Kissel in view of Kang (US 20200180468 A1)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Jin, Bertness, Takahashi and Kissel teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing the computer program according to claim 1, the combination does not clearly teach wherein the control output represents a control response of the charge system with respect to the control input, the computer is caused to execute the process of estimating a state of charge of the energy storage device using the battery model, and the computer is caused to execute the process of obtaining a target value of a charge voltage based on the estimated state of charge.
Kang teaches wherein the control output represents a control response of the charge system with respect to the control input, the computer is caused to execute the process of estimating a state of charge of the energy storage device using the battery model, and the computer is caused to execute the process of obtaining a target value of a charge voltage based on the estimated state of charge. ([0092] The processor may estimate the SoC of the battery B based on the output current of the battery B. The processor may correct the error of the estimated SoC of the battery B based on the determined SoC of the battery B using the battery model of the storage unit 120 at an appropriate time.
[0093] In this way, the controller 110 may calculate the SoC of the battery B based on the output of the battery sensor 19 and generate the electric power generation control signal for controlling the alternator 11c based on the SoC of the battery B.).
Here examiner views the battery voltage/state of charge as a control input and the alternator voltage as the control output (which is based on the battery SOC). The battery voltage or state of charge is estimated using the battery model and the battery is charged to a target value of charge voltage by the alternator based on the estimated state of charge of the battery.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Kang into Jin for the purpose of controlling a charge system based on the estimated state of charge of a battery, so that the battery can be appropriately changed and maintain a safe charging system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hwang et al (US 20130151227 A1) generally discuss battery system simulation for energy storage system.
Ho (US 20160018469A1) discuss estimating the state of charge of battery.
Basu et al (US 20160187428A1) discuss estimating state of health of battery.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857