DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application was filed 30 March 2023 and is the national stage entry of PCT/EP2021/076996 filed 30 September 2021. The Applicant claims priority to provisional application 63/086,691 filed 02 October 2020 and several foreign documents with the earliest priority date of 08 October 2020. The earliest priority date for the limitation including water in claim 21 appears to be 11 January 2021. Claims 1-14, 16-21 have an effective filing date of 08 October 2020.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of dasatinib and HPMCAS in the reply filed on 13 October 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bittorf (US 2009/0247468 A1), Friesen (Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose Acetate Succinate-Based Spray-Dried Dispersions: An Overview, Molecular Pharmaceutics, 2008), and Schade (Dasatinib, a small-molecule protein tyrosine kinase inhibitor, inhibits T-cell activation and proliferation, Blood, 2007), as evidenced by go.drugbank.com.
Bittorf teaches methods of spray drying (entire teaching; abs) dispersions (para. 7) comprising an active ingredient (para. 199), 5-30% (para. 104) HPMCAS (para. 153), water (para. 16), alcohols (para. 141), acetic acid (para. 16), wherein the amounts of solvents may have a wide range, such as 0.1-15% acetic acid and 40-80% of a volatile solvent, such as an alcohol (paras. 18, 141). The composition may be a solution, which is interpreted as a single-phase solution (para. 8), thus far partially addressing claim 1. The compound of interest possibly becoming supersaturated (para. 165), as well as the use of a non-volatile solvent, such as acetic acid (paras. 140, 142), to increase the solubility of the drug is interpreted as addressing the solubility limitation in claim 2. The amount of active ingredient may have about 5-95% (para. 199), addressing claims 3, 9, and 11. The composition comprising 0.1-15% acetic acid (para. 18) addresses claim 5. The composition comprising about 0.1-15% (para. 22) water as a solvent and 5-30% of HPMCAS addresses claims 7 and 10. The drugs or active agent may be any beneficial therapeutic agent (para. 107), which is interpreted as a biologically active compound in claim 12 and also addressing the drug limitation in claim 13. Bittorf’s uses Telaprevir as an example of an active agent suitable in this composition. Telaprevir has a predicted pKa of 11.86 (go.drugbank.com, pg. 9), addressing claim 14. The composition comprising HPMCAS, Applicant’s election, is interpreted as addressing the pharmaceutically acceptable dispersion polymer limitation in claim 16, as well as claims 17 and 18. The composition may comprise residual solvents (para. 279), which includes acetic acid, and the residual solvents may be evaporated, which is interpreted as being below 5,000 ppm in claims 19 and 20. The composition comprising water and an alcohol as solvents is interpreted as addressing the limitation in claim 21.
Bittorf does not teach Dasitinib or a specific alcohol in claims 1 and 6. Bittorf does not teach specific molar equivalents of acetic acid in claim 4 or weight ratios of the alcohol to water in claim 8.
Friesen teaches that solid dispersions with HPMCAS are very soluble in solvents, such as methanol, and also provides an economical advantage for the spray drying process (pg. 1009).
Schade teaches that Dasatinib is an oral small molecule and tyrosine kinase inhibitor used to treat certain cancers (abs).
In regards to selecting the combination of an active agent, an alcohol, water, HPMCAS, and acetic acid in Bittorf’s teaching, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “When the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Since Bittorf does not teach Dasitinib or a specific alcohol in claims 1 and 6, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to use Friesen and Schade’s teachings of methanol and Dasatinib, as Friesen teaches that HPMCAS and methanol provide economical and solubility advantages when used together and Bittorf teaches that the drug used in their composition may be a small molecule drug (para. 10). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings depending on what the skilled artisan intended to treat, such as certain cancers where a small molecule drug, such as Dasatinib would be desirable to use. Applicant’s election of Dasatinib is interpreted as addressing the pKa, solubility, and Bronstedt base limitations in claim 1.
In regards to specific molar equivalents of acetic acid in claim 4 or weight ratios of the alcohol to water in claim 8, Bittorf teaches 0.1-15% acetic acid (para. 18), 40-80% of a volatile solvent, such as an alcohol (paras. 18, 141), and 1-15% (para. 22) water. That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the molar equivalence and weight ratios of solvents can be viewed as a variable that achieves the recognized result of successfully performing the method of spray drying a solid dispersion of an active agent. The optimum or workable range of amounts and ratios can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980). Applicants provide no evidence of any secondary consideration such as unexpected results that would render the optimized amounts of solvents as nonobvious.
Conclusion
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613