DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OGUMI et al (WO2018062517A1; see US2019/0302925 for cited paragraphs below directly corresponding to paragraphs described in WO2018062517A1) in view of WANG et al (US 2015/0060252) and further in view of KIM (US 2020/0321404).
Regarding claim 15, OGUMI discloses an electric conductor 10 (abstract) comprising: a three-dimensional object having a three-dimensional surface (Figure 1, 2, 8, 9, 13-15); and an electroconductive part 13, 22, 31, 84, 103, 112, 134, 152, 162, 154 provided on the three-dimensional surface and containing a first electroconductive fiber pattern composed of a plurality of electroconductive fibers 16, 87, 105, 155, 256 and in conformity to the shape of the three-dimensional surface (paragraph 136, 137, 139, 188, 234, 250, 304, 367); wherein the three-dimensional surface defines a face or a step in height from a surface from which the three dimensional surface extends (Figure 8, 9, 13). However, OGUMI does not expressly disclose wherein the three-dimensional surface defines a curved face or a step of 50 pm or more in height from a surface from which the three dimensional surface extends. In a similar field of endeavor, WANG discloses wherein the three-dimensional surface defines a curved face or a step of 50 pm or more in height from a surface from which the three dimensional surface extends (Figure 4, 8; paragraph 62-64; curved face). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify OGUMI to include the teachings of WANG, since OGUMI states that such a modification would provide a change in sensing characteristics of a touch electrode. Furthermore, it has been held that a change in shape would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art without evidence that a particular configuration was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) . However, the combination of OGUMI and WANG fails to disclose the first electroconductive fiber pattern has a width of 0.35 mm or more and 5.0 mm or less. In a similar field of endeavor, KIM discloses the first electroconductive fiber pattern has a width of 0.35 mm or more and 5.0 mm or less (Figure 4; paragraph 77). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of OGUMI and WANG to include the teachings of KIM, since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, as both inventions are analogous, such a modification would provide additional touch sensor design based on those disclosed in KIM.
Regarding claim 16, OGUMI discloses the electric conductor according to claim 15, wherein the three-dimensional object comprises: a base material 81 (Figure 13-15); a first electroconductive part 22 provided on a first face side of the base material, having a plurality of first electrode portions disposed in a first direction, and having a wiring portion electrically connecting the first electrode portions adjacent to each other (Figure 7, 14; paragraph 227, 228); second electroconductive fiber patterns 87 provided on the first face side of the base material, disposed apart from the first electroconductive part, disposed in a second direction intersecting with the first direction, and composed of a plurality of electroconductive fibers (Figure 15; paragraph 234, 235); and an electrically-insulating layer 85 provided on the wiring portion (Figure 14, 15; paragraph 234); wherein the three-dimensional surface is constituted by the surface of the electrically- insulating layer and the surface of the second electroconductive fiber patterns, and wherein the first electroconductive fiber pattern is formed on the adjacent surfaces of the second electroconductive fiber patterns and on the surface of the electrically-insulating layer between the second electroconductive fiber patterns in such a manner that the first electroconductive fiber pattern straddles the wiring portion, and electrically connects the second electroconductive fiber patterns adjacent to each other (Figure 13-15, paragraph 235-238).
Regarding claim 17, OGUMI discloses a sensor comprising the electric conductor according to claim 15 (paragraph 25, 26).
Regarding claim 18, OGUMI discloses an article comprising the sensor according to claim 17 (paragraph 25, 26).
Regarding claim 19, OGUMI discloses the article according to claim 18, wherein the article is an image display device (paragraph 25, 26).
Conclusion
/ARIEL A BALAOING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624