DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5, 9-11, 13, and 17-18 have been amended. Claim 3 has been cancelled. Claims 19-21 are previously cancelled. Claims 1, 2, and 4-18 are pending in this application.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 5, 9-11, and 17-18 have overcome the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections to the claims. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C 112(b) rejections to claims 1, 5, 9-11, and 17-18 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but are rendered moot by the use of a new prior art reference to reject the indicated limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8, 10, 12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo et al. (US 20200037345 A1), hereinafter Ryoo, in view of Ou et al. (US 20220078875 A1), hereinafter Ou.
For claim 1,
Ryoo teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising ([FIG. 22] a UE):
a receiver, which in operation, receives an assignment of a UE identification from a base station that is currently serving the UE ([0831], [0936], and [0476] receiver receives UE ID and C-RNTI from a base station connected to the UE),
wherein the UE is in an inactive state out of a connected state, an idle state or the inactive state ([FIGS. 46, 47, and 49], [0489] UE is in RRC-inactive state and transition between RRC_Connected and RRC_Inactive is supported), and
wherein the UE identification is usable by the inactive UE to perform a monitoring function for reception of resource assignments, at least including uplink resource assignments, transmitted from the serving base station ([FIGS 46, 47, and 49] UE is monitoring for and receives multiple UL grants from the gNB),
wherein the receiver, in operation, receives an uplink resource assignment transmitted from the serving base station, based on the UE identification ([FIGS. 46, 47, and 49], [0936] UE receives multiple UL grants based on UE ID and C-RNTI transmitted in msg3),
wherein the received uplink resource assignment assigns radio resources usable by the inactive UE for the transmission of small data ([FIG. 47], [0805], [0674], [0788], and [0707] resources assigned for transmission of small data),
a transmitter, which in operation, performs transmission of the small data to the serving base station, based on the received uplink resource assignment ([FIGS. 46, 47, and 49], [0942], [0707] transmitter transmits small data to gNB based on received resource assignments), and
a processor, which in operation, determines whether to extend the monitoring function for reception of at least another uplink resource assignment based on the UE identification ([0965], [0936], and [0602] a processor can extend monitoring by staying in inactive state based on the received UE ID and C-RNTI information),
wherein the determination is based on a message received from the serving base station or based on whether the UE has further small data available for transmission ([0602] and [0840] determination is made based on a message (suspend) from the gNB or if a buffer size is equal to or smaller than a threshold which determines state transition, meaning more data is available for transmission).
Ryoo does not explicitly teach, however Ou teaches wherein, discard of the UE identification is controlled based on a first timer and a second timer for controlling validity of the UE identification ([0306] UE identification is discarded based on a first and second timer),
the first timer is started when starting to perform the monitoring function ([0302] a first timer may be started when starting monitoring of PDCCH for small data transmission),
the second timer is started and restarted each time upon receiving the uplink resource assignment ([0298], [0010], [0302] a second timer that is different from a first timer. The second timer may be started each time a UL grant is received, implying it is restarted each time an UL grant is received.), upon performing the transmission of the small data, or upon transmitting a buffer status report that indicates that further small data is available for transmission by the UE, and
the processor determines to discard the UE identification when both the first timer and the second timer are not running ([0306] upon expiration of first timer or second timer, implying that both timers may not be running, the UE identification is discarded.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ryoo for receiving uplink resource assignments with the method of Ou for discarding UE ID information and controlling monitoring time using a first and second timer to prevent resources from being tied up endlessly, issues with UE ID validation, and to promote flexibility and efficiency of the system.
For claim 2, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 1.
Ryoo further teaches wherein the message is the received uplink resource assignment ([FIGS. 46, 47, and 49], [0155] multiple UL grants and use of DCI),
wherein the processor, when in operation, determines to extend the monitoring function, upon receiving the uplink resource assignment or upon performing the transmission of the small data based on the received uplink resource assignment, or upon transmitting a buffer status report that indicates that further small data is available for transmission by the UE ([0965] and[FIG. 49] BSR transmitted to gNB then RRC suspend is sent which extends the monitoring time by keeping UE in RRC_Inactive and a processor performs operations).
For claim 5, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 1.
Ryoo further teaches wherein the processor, when in operation, determines to extend the monitoring function, when the message includes a monitoring indication that indicates to the inactive UE to extend the monitoring function ([0965] and [0602] RRC response message indicates if UE should stay in inactive state (suspend) and continue monitoring and a processor performs operations),
wherein the message is a UE-state-indication message, instructing the inactive UE to stay in the inactive state and including the monitoring indication that indicates whether to extend the monitoring function or not ([0602], [0400] and [0492] RRC response message indicates if UE should stay in inactive state (suspend) and continue monitoring and a transmission period includes a monitoring period of the UE),
wherein the UE-state-indication message is a response to a connection resume request message previously transmitted by the inactive UE to the serving base station ([FIG. 29] and [0602] RRC response message can be suspend or resume after connection resume request).
For claim 7, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 5.
Ryoo further teaches wherein the message further provides information on a number of uplink resource assignments ([FIG. 46] and [0802] multiple UL grants are allocated, constituting a number of UL grants),
wherein the processor, when in operation and upon having received the number of uplink resource assignments, stops performing the monitoring function for reception of other uplink resource assignments ([0965] and [0801] upon receiving information for multiple UL grants, the monitoring function can be stopped based on a BSR and a processor performs operations).
For claim 8, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 5.
Ryoo further teaches wherein the monitoring indication is: included in the UE-state-indication message, or transmitted together with the UE-state-indication message or included in a downlink resource assignment that assigns the downlink radio resources usable by the inactive UE to receive the UE-state-indication message ([0602] the UE state indicated in the RRC response indicates if monitoring is stopped or extended).
For claim 10, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 1.
Ryoo further teaches, as is best understood by the examiner in light of the 112(b) rejection above, wherein the processor, when in operation, determines to extend the monitoring function, when the message includes a monitoring indication that indicates to the inactive UE to extend the monitoring function ([0965] and [0602] the UE state indicated in the RRC response indicates if monitoring is stopped or extended and processor performs operations),
wherein the message is a resource assignment, assigning radio resources usable by the inactive UE for the reception or transmission of data and including the monitoring indication that indicates whether to extend the monitoring function or not ([FIGS. 46, 47 and 49] and [0602] multiple UL grants are received and the UE state indicated in the RRC response indicates if monitoring is stopped or extended),
wherein the processor, when in operation, stops the monitoring function, if the monitoring indication of the resource assignment indicates to not extend the monitoring function ([0602] if the RRC response is resume, the monitoring function is stopped and not extended).
For claim 12, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 1.
Ryoo further teaches wherein the processor, when in operation, determines to extend the monitoring function, in case the UE has further small data available for transmission ([0840] UE stays monitoring in inactive state based on the buffer size in relationship to the threshold, meaning it has more data available for transmission),
wherein the transmitter, when in operation, transmits a buffer status report to the serving base station, in case the inactive UE has further small data available for transmission ([FIG, 46] and [0840] BSR is transmitted to gNB which indicates if the UE has small data available for transmission),
wherein the buffer status report is transmitted together with the small data ([FIG. 46] BSR transmitted with data).
For claim 14, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 1.
Ryoo further teaches wherein a buffer status report is transmitted by the inactive UE to the serving base station ([FIG. 46] BSR transmitted from UE in inactive state to gNB),
the buffer status report providing information on data being available for transmission of a buffer of the inactive UE ([0537], [0757], and [0840] BSR provides information on data available for transmission).
For claim 15, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 1.
Ryoo further teaches wherein the inactive state, the connected state and the idle state are related to the Radio Resource Control, RRC, protocol ([FIGS. 47, 32] and [0718] states are RRC states).
For claim 16, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 1.
Ryoo further teaches wherein the receiver, when in operation, receives from the serving base station a UE-state instruction, instructing the inactive UE to transition to the connected state or to stay in the inactive state ([FIG. 38] and [0602], RRC response indicates which state for UE to be in),
wherein the processor, when in operation, controls the UE state to be in accordance with the received UE-state instruction ([0965] processor performs required operations in the system), and
wherein the UE-state instruction is transmitted by the base station in response to a connection request message transmitted by the inactive UE ([FIG. 29] connection resume request transmitted by inactive UE and instructions transmitted by gNB).
For claim 17, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
For claim 18,
Ryoo teaches, as is best understood by the examiner in light of the 112(b) rejection above, a base station comprising ([FIG. 46] gNB (base station)):
a transmitter, which in operation, transmits an assignment of a UE identification to a user equipment currently being served by the base station ([FIGS. 46, 47, and 49], [0936] UE receives multiple UL grants based on UE ID and C-RNTI transmitted in msg3),
wherein the UE is in an inactive state out of a connected state, an idle state and the inactive state ([FIGS. 46, 47, and 49], [0489] UE is in RRC-inactive state and transition between RRC_Connected and RRC_Inactive is supported), and
wherein the UE identification is usable by the base station to transmit resource assignments, at least including uplink resource assignments, to the UE ([FIGS 46, 47, and 49] UE is monitoring for and receives multiple UL grants from the gNB, meaning the gNB used the UE ID to transmit to the correct UE),
wherein the transmitter, in operation, transmits an uplink resource assignment to the inactive UE, based on the UE identification ([FIGS. 46, 47, and 49], [0936] UE receives multiple UL grants based on UE ID and C-RNTI transmitted in msg3),
wherein the transmitted uplink resource assignment assigns radio resources usable by the inactive UE for the transmission of small data ([FIG. 47], [0805], [0674], [0788], and [0707] resources assigned for transmission of small data),
wherein the transmitted uplink resource assignment is receivable by the inactive UE based on the inactive UE performing a monitoring function for reception of resource assignments based on the assigned UE identification ([FIGS 46, 47, and 49] UE is monitoring for and receives multiple UL grants from the gNB), and
a receiver, which in operation, performs reception of the small data from the inactive UE, based on the transmitted uplink resource assignment ([FIGS. 46, 47, and 49], [0942], [0707] transmitter transmits small data to gNB based on received resource assignments),
wherein the transmitter, in operation, transmits, to the inactive UE, a message, based on which the inactive UE determines whether to extend the monitoring function for reception of at least another uplink resource assignment based on the UE identification (([0965], [0936], and [0602] and [0840] monitoring can be extended by staying in inactive state based on the received RRC response message (suspend) from the gNB).
Ryoo does not explicitly teach, however Ou teaches wherein, discard of the UE identification is controlled based on a first timer and a second timer for controlling validity of the UE identification ([0306] UE identification is discarded based on a first and second timer),
the first timer is started when starting to perform the monitoring function ([0302] a first timer may be started when starting monitoring of PDCCH for small data transmission),
the second timer is started and restarted each time upon receiving the uplink resource assignment ([0298], [0010], [0302] a second timer that is different from a first timer. The second timer may be started each time a UL grant is received, implying it is restarted each time an UL grant is received.), upon performing the transmission of the small data, or upon transmitting a buffer status report that indicates that further small data is available for transmission by the UE, and
the processor determines to discard the UE identification when both the first timer and the second timer are not running ([0306] upon expiration of first timer or second timer, implying that both timers may not be running, the UE identification is discarded.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ryoo for receiving uplink resource assignments with the method of Ou for discarding UE ID information and controlling monitoring time using a first and second timer to prevent resources from being tied up endlessly, issues with UE ID validation, and to promote flexibility and efficiency of the system.
Claim(s) 4, 6, 9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoo, in view of Ou, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 12120613B2), hereinafter Huang.
For claim 4, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 2.
Ryoo further teaches wherein the receiver, when in operation, receives a UE-state-indication message from the serving base station, instructing the inactive UE to stay in the inactive state ([0602] RRC response message indicates if UE should stay in inactive state (suspend)),
wherein the processor, when in operation, stops performing the monitoring function for reception of other uplink resource assignments upon receiving the UE-state-indication message ([0602] RRC response message can be a resume message which stops monitoring),
wherein the UE-state-indication message is a response to a connection resume request message previously transmitted by the inactive UE to the serving base station ([FIG. 29] and [0602] RRC response message can be suspend or resume after connection resume request).
Ryoo and Ou do not explicitly teach, however Huang teaches wherein the UE identification is discarded, upon receiving the UE-state-indication message ([FIG. 7] C-RNTI is discarded when exiting the temporary time period and UE returns to RRC_Inactive, acting as the indication message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ryoo and Ou for receiving uplink resource assignments with the method of Huang for discarding UE ID information and upon receiving indication of a state change to prevent resources from being tied up endlessly, issues with UE ID validation, and to promote efficiency of the system.
For claim 6, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 5.
Ryoo further teaches wherein the amount of monitoring time is extended upon receiving the uplink resource assignment or upon performing the transmission of the small data based on the received uplink resource assignment, or upon transmitting a buffer status report that indicates that further small data is available for transmission by the UE ([0840] UE extends monitoring time in inactive state based on a BSR and the buffer size in relationship to the threshold, meaning it has more data available for transmission).
Ryoo and Ou do not explicitly teach, however Huang teaches wherein the processor, when in operation and upon having reached an amount of monitoring time, stops performing the monitoring function for reception of other uplink resource assignments ([COL 20, lines 13-16] UE stops monitoring once the monitoring time, controlled by a timer, is expired),
wherein the amount of monitoring time is determined based on information comprised in the message or based on pre-configured information available by the inactive UE ([COL 7, lines 51-55] monitoring time is controlled by a timer which is configured based on system information known to the UE),
wherein the pre-configured information is provided to the UE by a system information broadcast from the serving base station, or by a previous higher-layer configuration message from a base station, or from a Universal Subscriber Identity Module of the inactive UE, or from a requirement of a technical standard ([COL 7, lines 51-55] monitoring time is controlled by a timer which is configured based on system information known to the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ryoo and Ou for performing a monitoring function with the method of Huang for controlling monitoring time using a timer to prevent resources from being tied up endlessly and to promote efficiency of the system.
For claim 9, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 5.
Ryoo and Ou do not explicitly teach, however Huang teaches wherein discard of the UE identification is controlled based on the monitoring function ([COL 19, lines 36-39] the timer controls the monitoring function, and when the timer expires the UE ID information is discarded),
wherein the processor, when in operation, determines to discard the UE identification upon determining to stop performing the monitoring function ([COL 19, lines 36-39] the timer controls the monitoring function, and when the timer expires the UE ID information is discarded),
wherein the processor, when in operation, determines to discard the UE identification,when the monitoring indication indicates to the inactive UE to not extend the monitoring time ([COL 20, lines 13-19] the timer controls the monitoring function, and when the timer expires the UD ID information is discarded. Expiration of the timer causes the UE to exit the temporary time period, meaning the monitoring time is not extended).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ryoo and Ou for performing a monitoring function with the method of Huang for discarding UE ID information and controlling monitoring time using a timer to prevent resources from being tied up endlessly and to promote efficiency of the system.
For claim 11, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 10.
Ryoo and Ou do not explicitly teach, however Huang teaches wherein discard of the UE identification is controlled based on the monitoring indication ([COL 19, lines 36-39] the timer controls the monitoring function, and when the timer expires the UE ID information is discarded),
wherein the processor, when in operation, determines to discard the UE Identification when the monitoring indication indicates to not extend the monitoring function ([COL 20, lines 13-19] the timer controls the monitoring function, and when the timer expires the UD ID information is discarded. Expiration of the timer causes the UE to exit the temporary time period, meaning the monitoring time is not extended), or
when the monitoring indication indicates to extend the monitoring function,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ryoo and Ou for performing a monitoring function with the method of Huang for discarding UE ID information and controlling monitoring time using a timer to prevent resources from being tied up endlessly and to promote efficiency of the system.
For claim 13, Ryoo and Ou teach claim 1.
Ryoo and Ou do not explicitly teach, however Huang teaches wherein the UE identification is assigned to the inactive UE during a random access procedure performed between the inactive UE and the serving base station ([FIGS. 7 and 8] UE ID and C-RNTI assigned during random access procedure between BS and UE),
wherein the random access procedure includes two steps, wherein the transmission of the first small data is performed with a first message of the two-step random access procedure, ([FIGS. 7] two-step RA procedure and payload is transmitted in first message), or
wherein the random access procedure includes four steps, wherein the transmission of the first small data is performed with a third message of the four-step random access procedure ([FIGS. 8] four-step RA procedure and payload is transmitted in third message),
wherein a first transmission of small data is performed as part of the random access procedure performed between the UE and the base station ([FIGS. 7 and 8] payload is transmitted during RA procedure between UE and BS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ryoo and Ou for assigning UE identification with the method of Huang for using different RA procedures to transmit small data to allow for data transmission based on different schedules required by the UE and BS and to promote efficiency of the system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Benjamin T. Ranew whose telephone number is (571)272-2746. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/BENJAMIN T. RANEW/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465