DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s arguments filed on 10/8/26. Claims 1-10, 14-17 have been cancelled. Claims 22-24 have been added. Claims 11-13, 18-24 are pending. Claims 11, 18-21 have been amended. Claims 11-13, 18-24 examined herein.
The claim amendments have rendered the 112 and 103 rejections of the last Office Action moot, therefore hereby withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102 rejection have been fully considered but found not persuasive, therefore maintained for reasons of record and modified below due to the claim amendments. The following new 103 rejection will now apply.
Double Patenting
Claims 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,439,626. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims recite a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease by administering 50 mg of riluzole twice a day.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the rejection does not provide a sufficiently detailed analysis to demonstrate obviousness.
This is not persuasive because the rejection clearly states that both sets of claims recite a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease by administering 50 mg of riluzole twice a day, which meet all the limitations of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coric (WO 2020/037152, of record).
Coric (WO 2020/037152) teaches methods of treating a disease in a patient in need thereof by administering a pharmaceutical composition comprising riluzole (abstract). A preferred disease is Alzheimer’s disease and mild cognitive impairment (page 4, lines 32-35 and page 19, lines 21-22). Riluzole is dosed 50 mg twice a day (page 4, lines 9 and 24).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Coric does not teach all the elements of the claims, specifically that there is no single example of treating Alzheimer’s disease by administering 50-300 mg of riluzole.
This is not persuasive because Coric clearly teaches all the limitations of the claims as riluzole is the main thrust of the reference and Alzheimer’s disease is clearly established as one of the main diseases that can be treated.
It is well-settled that disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). "A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use." In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31, USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coric (WO 2020/037152, of record), as applied to claims 11-13, in view of Tang (WO 2007/098417)
The instant claims are directed to a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease or mild cognitive impairment by administering riluzole and acetylcholinesterase (AChE) inhibitors and wherein the subject is an apolipoprotein 4 (ApoE4) carrier.
Coric (WO 2020/037152) teaches as discussed above, however, fail to disclose AChE inhibitors and wherein the subject is an ApoE4 carrier.
Tang teaches that individuals with the ApoE4 polymorphism were more prone to development of Alzheimer’s disease (abstract). Furthermore, Tang teaches that the AChE inhibitors, donepezil and rivastigmine, are known to be useful for treating Alzheimer’s disease (page 10, line 22 to page 23, line 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined riluzole, as taught by Coric, with donepezil and/or rivastigmine, in the method of treating a subject with Alzheimer’s disease having the ApoE4 polymorphism, as taught by Tang.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine riluzole with donepezil and/or rivastigmine because all three are individually known to be useful for treating Alzheimer’s disease. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in treating Alzheimer’s disease by administering the therapeutically additive effect of riluzole with donepezil and/or rivastigmine.
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Yong S. Chong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623