Claim status: claims 1-22 are pending in this Office Action.
DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Objection:
The applicant's amendment and remarks filed on 05/12/2026. Therefore the objection of the previous objection is withdrawn.
112 Rejection:
The applicant's amendment and remarks filed on 05/12/2026. Therefore the 35 U.S.C.112 rejection of the previous rejection is withdrawn.
Prior Art Reiection:
Applicant's arguments to claim 1, have been fully considered but they are deemed not persuasive. In remarks applicant argued: The applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose “receive a predefined parameter from the HSS”.
In response to the argument, Mogalapalli discloses receive a predefined parameter from the HSS, wherein the predefined parameter is mapped against the UE in the communication network (See fig. 2[0042] User 222 specifying advertisement targeting criteria, including but not limited to, time based targeting and region based targeting of advertisements, as well as user profile based targeting of advertisements. … Targeting parameters may be based on callers and/or callee's profile information, location of caller … call is made by the caller or received by callee/subscriber etc …. [0045] Advertisement Server 302 is hosted as part of TSP 301 (TSP 301 is TSP 104 – see fig.1 and 3) with whom one or more subscribers are registered for providing advertisements as ring back tones to callers [0031] TSP 104 includes RBT system 118 for provisioning ring back tones to callers making a call to callees subscribed to TSP 104 … one or more RBTs used by RBT subscriber, RBT Identifiers (IDs) of one or more RBTs etc … each RBT is associated with an RBT ID which is a unique identifier for a particular RBT (see fig.1 TSP 104 communicates with caller 106 through TSP 102 – So TSP 102 receives predefined RBT). [0036] RBT system 118 then plays an RBT set by caller 126 to itself. 0007] The Advertisement Server (of TSP104) is further configured to establish frequency and mix of RBT and advertisements to be played to callers of a callee and to establish frequency and mix of RBT and advertisements to be played to a caller based on pre-defined criteria derived from the one or more targeting parameters. Note: TSP 104 is HSS. Targeting parameters set by user is the predefined parameter is mapped against the UE; Advertisement Server 302 providing advertisements (predefined parameter) as ring back tones to callers is receive a predefined parameter from the HSS)
The applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose generate based on the determination of whether said modification is required, a control signal for assigning any or a combination of the CRBT service, a default ring back tone (RBT) service, an audio and a video streaming.
In response to the argument, Mogalapalli discloses generate based on the determination of whether said modification is required, a control signal for assigning any or a combination of the CRBT service, a default ring back tone (RBT) service, an audio and a video streaming of a predefined content to the UE ([0031-0032] TSP 102 may also include an RBT system for servicing RBTs on behalf of subscribers of TSP 102. For facilitating generation and provision of ring back tones, RBT system 118 includes … further includes signaling and media cards. Signaling cards are used to communicate with MSC for obtaining calls received by callee's MSC 112 for playing RBTs. [0034] caller 106 subscribed to TSP 102 initiates a call with the callee 108 subscribed to TSP 104 by using a mobile phone. MSC 110 receives the call request … system 118 then plays the RBT of callee to caller via the tone player 124. [0047] providing free or subsidized subscription to an RBT of his choice. The free or subsidized RBT will be played to a caller that makes a call to subscriber. [0056] The media file to be played … caller's profile information, callee's profile information etc … If the caller's profile information indicates an interest in music, the advertisement selected to be played to the caller is related to music … If the caller's profile information indicates an interest in sports, the advertisement selected to be played to the caller is related to sports)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-11, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mogalapalli (US20130185151) hereafter referred to as “Mogalapalli”.
Regarding claim 1:
Mogalapalli discloses A communication system (100) for providing an enhanced feature for a caller ring back tone (CRBT), the system (100) comprising:
at least one network device in communication with a user equipment (UE) (112) and a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) associated with a predefined circle in a communication network (120) and a centralized database (see figs.1-2. ([0034] caller 106 subscribed to TSP 102 initiates a call [0030] system 100 includes telecommunication service providers 102 and 104 hosting system elements for provisioning telecommunication services to subscribers registered with them. [0031] TSP 104 includes RBT system 118 … RBT system 118 includes RBT database 120, RBT application server 122. Note: TSP 104 is HSS. See fig. 2 each RBT system associated with specific telecommunication circles A, B, and C. Note; TSP 104),
wherein the at least one network device comprises a processor (302) that executes a set of executable instructions that are stored in a memory (304), upon execution of which, the processor (302) causes the at least one network device to ([0061] a computer, a microprocessor … a memory containing computer readable program codes):
receive one or more predefined request signals from the UE, wherein the one or more predefined request signals are associated with a CRBT service ([0034] caller 106 subscribed to TSP 102 initiates a call with the callee 108 subscribed to TSP 104 by using a mobile phone. MSC 110 receives the call request. [0011] mix of RBT and advertisements to be played to callers based on rate plans and terms of service agreed upon between the TSP and subscribers. Note: call to a callee 108 based on phone number is predefined request signals)
receive a predefined parameter from the HSS, wherein the predefined parameter is mapped against the UE in the communication network (See fig. 2 [0042] User 222 specifying advertisement targeting criteria, including but not limited to, time based targeting and region based targeting of advertisements, as well as user profile based targeting of advertisements. … Targeting parameters may be based on callers and/or callee's profile information, location of caller … call is made by the caller or received by callee/subscriber etc …. [0045] Advertisement Server 302 is hosted as part of TSP 301 (TSP 301 is TSP 104 – see fig.1 and 3) with whom one or more subscribers are registered for providing advertisements as ring back tones to callers [0031] TSP 104 includes RBT system 118 for provisioning ring back tones to callers making a call to callees subscribed to TSP 104 … one or more RBTs used by RBT subscriber, RBT Identifiers (IDs) of one or more RBTs etc … each RBT is associated with an RBT ID which is a unique identifier for a particular RBT (see fig.1 TSP 104 communicates with caller 106 through TSP 102 – So TSP 102 receives predefined RBT). [0036] RBT system 118 then plays an RBT set by caller 126 to itself. 0007] The Advertisement Server (of TSP104) is further configured to establish frequency and mix of RBT and advertisements to be played to callers of a callee and to establish frequency and mix of RBT and advertisements to be played to a caller based on pre-defined criteria derived from the one or more targeting parameters. Note: TSP 104 is HSS. Targeting parameters set by user is the predefined parameter is mapped against the UE)
determine upon receiving the one or more predefined request signals whether the predefined parameter requires any modification (([0031-0032] TSP 102 may also include an RBT system for servicing RBTs on behalf of subscribers of TSP 102. For facilitating generation and provision of ring back tones, RBT system 118 includes … one or more RBTs used by RBT subscriber, RBT Identifiers (IDs) of one or more RBTs etc … to communicate with MSC for obtaining calls received by callee's MSC 112 for playing RBTs. [0046] When a caller makes a call to a callee, the call is received by TSP MSC 342. TSP MSC 342 receives the call request and places the call on hold, till the time a determination regarding which media file is to be played to the caller is made by Advertisement Server 302 (of a RBT system in TSP 102 – see [0031 above). [0049] mix of RBTs and advertisements are defined for callers belonging to a different telecommunication circle as the callee. In yet another embodiment of the present invention, frequency and mix of RBTs and advertisements are defined based on caller's profile … based on callee's profile … type of advertisements that are to played based on caller's/callee's profiles (e.g. telecom products/services, value-added products/services, external products/services such as soft drinks, cable television service, sports products, Automobile products, etc. [0056] checks in TSP database whether the caller to the particular callee is from the same TSP or from another TSP and Telecommunication Circle of the callee … The media file to be played may be an advertisement or an RBT and is determined based on pre-defined RBT to Advertisement ratios for subscribers … belonging to same telecommunication circle as callee, callers belonging to different telecommunication circle as callee, caller's profile information, callee's profile information etc … If the caller's profile information indicates an interest in music, the advertisement selected to be played to the caller is related to music … If the caller's profile information indicates an interest in sports, the advertisement selected to be played to the caller is related to sports. Note: selected different advertisements based on different caller’s profiles are determine upon receiving the one or more predefined request signals whether the predefined parameter requires any modification)
generate based on the determination of whether said modification is required, a control signal for assigning any or a combination of the CRBT service, a default ring back tone (RBT) service, an audio and a video streaming of a predefined content to the UE ([0031-0032] TSP 102 may also include an RBT system for servicing RBTs on behalf of subscribers of TSP 102. For facilitating generation and provision of ring back tones, RBT system 118 includes … further includes signaling and media cards. Signaling cards are used to communicate with MSC for obtaining calls received by callee's MSC 112 for playing RBTs. [0034] caller 106 subscribed to TSP 102 initiates a call with the callee 108 subscribed to TSP 104 by using a mobile phone. MSC 110 receives the call request … system 118 then plays the RBT of callee to caller via the tone player 124. [0047] providing free or subsidized subscription to an RBT of his choice. The free or subsidized RBT will be played to a caller that makes a call to subscriber. [0056] The media file to be played … caller's profile information, callee's profile information etc … If the caller's profile information indicates an interest in music, the advertisement selected to be played to the caller is related to music … If the caller's profile information indicates an interest in sports, the advertisement selected to be played to the caller is related to sports)
Regarding claim 9:
Mogalapalli discloses The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the predefined request is initiated by the user associated with the UE by dialling a short code using a dialling pad of the UE (Mogalapalli see fig. 1 ([0034] caller 106 subscribed to TSP 102 initiates a call with the callee 108 subscribed to TSP 104 by using a mobile phone. MSC 110 receives the call request. [0011] mix of RBT and advertisements to be played to callers based on rate plans and terms of service agreed upon between the TSP and subscribers. Note: using a mobile phone to dial number of callee is a short code; mobile phone 106 comprising numbers to dial is a dialling pad of the UE)
Regarding claim 10:
Mogalapalli discloses The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the CRBT service comprises any or a combination of audio messages and video metadata (Mogalapalli, [0007] configured to establish frequency and mix of RBT and advertisements to be played to callers of a callee and to establish frequency and mix of RBT and advertisements to be played to a caller based on pre-defined criteria derived from the one or more targeting parameters).
Mogalapalli does not explicitly disclose video metadata.
Sobti teaches wherein the CRBT service comprises any or a combination of audio messages and video metadata (Sobti, [0031] CRBT by seamlessly mixing multiple digital content streams, including but not limited to audio, video, data, text-based message, [0006] The video clip may include real video data--not just animated pictures.[0085] an eCRBT server can fetch multiple inputstreams (audio/video/text) in real time, mix them in real time and play them out to the calling party. Note: video data is video metadata )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Sobti and apply them on the teachings of Mogalapalli to further implement wherein the CRBT service comprises any or a combination of audio messages and video metadata. One would be motivated to do so because in order to improve better system and method to provide the video clip may include real video data (Sobti, [0006]).
Regarding claim 11, 21:
[Rejection rationale for claim 1 is applicable].
Regarding claim 22:
Mogalapalli discloses A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising machine executable instructions that are executable by a processor to ([0061] ] The computer system comprises a computer, a microprocessor … The computer also includes a computer usable medium such as a memory containing computer readable program code. [0060] a programmed microprocessor … implementing the steps that constitute the method of the present invention :
[Rejection rationale for claim 1 is applicable].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1,148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 2-3, 12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mogalapalli (US20130185151), in view of Chen (WO2007063058), hereafter referred to as Chen.
Regarding claim 2:
Mogalapalli teaches The system as claimed in claim 1,
Mogalapalli does not explicitly disclose wherein the network device (102) is configured to change the predefined parameter to a second value from a first default value, the second value corresponding to one or more users associated with respective UEs that do not possess the CRBT service.
Chen teaches wherein the network device is configured to change the predefined parameter to a second value from a first default value, the second value corresponding to one or more users associated with respective UEs that do not possess the CRBT service (Chen, Col 1, the first half page “personalized ring-back tone may be a piece of music, advertisement, or a voice message set by the called party”. page 6, the first half page “the personalized ring-back tone set by the called party is restricted, and thus the calling party can hear the normal ring-back tone”. page 7, the first half page “calling party activates said personalized ring-back tone service restriction”. Page 8, the second half page “defines a Q. Cat parameter that indicates specially personalized ring-back tone service restriction … for restricting personalized ring-back tone service should be one of said reserved values”. Page 9, the second half page “the switch to which the called party … the telephone process for normal calling, and the calling party now hears a normal ring-back tone”. Note: normal ring-back tone is the second value; personalized ring-back tone is a first default value)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Chen and apply them on the teachings of Mogalapalli to further implement wherein the network device (102) is configured to change the predefined parameter to a second value from a first default value, the second value corresponding to one or more users associated with respective UEs that do not possess the CRBT service. One would be motivated to do so because in order to improve better system and method to provide the personalized ring-back tone set by the called party is restricted, and thus the calling party can hear the normal ring-back tone (page 6, the first half page).
Regarding claim 3:
Mogalapalli-Chen teaches The system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the network device is configured to render an advertisement of an entity against the one or more users associated with the second value without impacting any capacity of a Media Resource Function (MRF) (Chen, page 6, the first half page “the personalized ring-back tone set by the called party is restricted, and thus the calling party can hear the normal ring-back tone”. page 7, the first half page “calling party activates said personalized ring-back tone service restriction”. See Fig. 4 “Figure 4 is the first embodiment of the present invention, which provides a solution for restricting personalized ring- back tone”. Page 6 the second half page “the personalized ring-back tone service restriction by the operator, the switch to which said called party belongs does not send an IAM message to the tandem switch or service switch point, i.e. the signalling process is the telephone process for normal calling, and the calling party now hears a normal ring-back tone”. Note: personalized ring-back tone service is restricted, the normal ring-back tone is process (the telephone process) so it does not send to the tandem/service switch to get personalized ring-back tone on the platform 104 (see fig.4). Therefore, it does not impact Media Resource Function of personalized ring-back tone in platform 104.)
Mogalapalli-Chen does not explicitly disclose normal ring-back tone is advertisement
Sobti teaches wherein the network device is configured to render an advertisement of an entity against the one or more users associated with the second value without impacting any capacity of a Media Resource Function (MRF) ([0006] ring-back tones have developed from simple sounds to songs and other audio files, such as stereo MP3 files. More recently, pre-produced video clips are being streamed to the calling party. [0007] Service providers also use audio/video ring-back tones for self promotion, or offer a variety of distinctive ring-back tones to be purchased by the called party, who subscribes to a premium service. [0016] subscriber-chosen content may be mixed with promotional and informational content from the service provider or other advertisers. [0031] Logical components of this system are an eCRBT application server and a content mixer (e.g. an audio/video mixer) or a conferencing server, implemented on a media server … Selection of content streams can be determined either by an algorithm on the eCRBT application server or can be configured by the subscribers [0032] an eCRBT application (of eCRBT application server 216 – see fig.2D) may start with playing a song to the caller after the call is initiated. [0115] a content stream may have promotional material, such as some advertisement content from the service provider itself or other business entities. [0085] FIGS. 7A and 7B illustrate the differences between a conventional CRBT system 710 and an eCRBT system 750. A conventional CRBT server takes only one input stream (audio/video/text) in real-time and plays it out to the calling party, while an eCRBT server can fetch multiple input streams(audio/video/text) in real time, mix them in real time and play them out to the calling party. Note: eCRBT application server is the network device; server takes only one input stream (audio/video/text) without mixing (without using audio/video module 206 – see fig.2D) is without impacting any capacity of a Media Resource Function of audio/video module); Moreover when server takes only one input stream of audio then the video resource will not be impacted too. In another way since it's a subscriber-chosen content, only a chosen content will be sent to a calling party. The other contents (not chose by the subscriber) will not be sent).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Sobti and apply them on the teachings of Mogalapalli-Chen to further implement wherein the network device (102) is configured to render an advertisement of an entity against the one or more users associated with the second value without impacting any capacity of a Media Resource Function (MRF). One would be motivated to do so because in order to improve better system and method to provide an eCRBT application may start with playing a song to the caller after the call is initiated. A content stream may have promotional material, such as some advertisement content from the service provider itself or other business entities ([0032][0115]).
Regarding claim 12:
[Rejection rationale for claim 2 is applicable].
Regarding claim 19:
[Rejection rationale for claim 9 is applicable].
Regarding claim 20:
[Rejection rationale for claim 10 is applicable].
Claims 4-8 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mogalapalli (US20130185151), in view of Chen (WO2007063058), further in view of Sobti (US20070294425A1), hereafter referred to as “Sobti”.
Regarding claim 4:
Mogalapalli-Chen teaches The system as claimed in claim 3,
Mogalapalli-Chen does not teach wherein the network device (102) is configured to flexibly select any or a combination of a plurality of RBT, an audio and a video streaming of the predefined content based on a predefined set of instructions, wherein the flexible selection of the any or a combination of the plurality of RBT, the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content removes transcoding at the MRF.
Sobti teaches wherein the network device is configured to flexibly select any or a combination of a plurality of RBT, an audio and a video streaming of the predefined content based on a predefined set of instructions, wherein the flexible selection of the any or a combination of the plurality of RBT, the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content removes transcoding at the MRF ([0003] the generation and delivery of customized ring-back tones blending a plurality of content streams in real time. [0005] delivering digital content to end users… Tailoring digital content according to an end user's preference. [0034] There are a number of ways of mixing promotional material with subscriber-chosen content. [0031] Selection of content streams can be determined either by an algorithm on the eCRBT application server or can be configured by the subscribers (or the end users) of the system using provisioning interfaces supplied by the eCRBT application server. Provisioning interfaces include but are not limited to web, WAP, desktop client, SMS, USSD, voice portal, etc. [0061 the provisioning module 223 in the application server 216, which the subscribers can use to configure eCRBT streams of their choice using a phone interface … collect subscriber input via speech or DTMF, and transmits them to provisioning module 223. Fig.6B [0083] Incoming audio streams 661 and 662 pass through decoders 651 and 652, which decode audio streams 661 and 662 from their original voice codec to raw audio (PCM) streams. Note: Tailoring/selecting digital content according to an end user's preference is flexibly select; subscriber-chosen content is predefined content; users set their chosen content via to web, WAP, desktop client, SMS, USSD, voice portal (see fig.2D provisioning module 223 comprises web portal 225, WAP portal 224, desktop client, SMS 228, USSD 226, voice portal 218) is a predefined set of instructions; decode stream from original voice codec to raw audio (PCM) streams is removes transcoding)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Sobti and apply them on the teachings of Mogalapalli-Chen to further implement wherein the network device (102) is configured to flexibly select any or a combination of a plurality of RBT, an audio and a video streaming of the predefined content based on a predefined set of instructions, wherein the flexible selection of the any or a combination of the plurality of RBT, the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content removes transcoding at the MRF. One would be motivated to do so because in order to improve better system and method to provide the generation and delivery of customized ring-back tones blending a plurality of content streams in real time and decode audio streams 661 and 662 from their original voice codec to raw audio (PCM) streams (Sobti [0006][0083]).
Regarding claim 5:
Mogalapalli-Chen teaches The system as claimed in claim 2,
Mogalapalli-Chen does not explicitly disclose the video streaming (e.g does not explicitly disclose ring-back tone comprising video).
Sobti teaches wherein the network device is configured to disable the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content through a second set of instructions whenever a user associated with the one or more users opts out of the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content, wherein the second set of instructions is a set of short dialling or messaging code (Sobti [0030] CRBT is available as a premium service to a subscriber, who intends to send a distinctive, and often individualized, ring-back tone when a caller initiates a call directed to the subscriber. [0031] CRBT by seamlessly mixing multiple digital content streams, including but not limited to audio, video, data, … pre-stored data files. [0036] insertion of an announcement embedded in the subscriber-chosen message … For a fee, the service provider can offer a presence service that would play an announcement in case the subscriber is roaming. This is particularly applicable for subscribers who travel and desire to save roaming charges from unnecessary calls [0035] allows service providers to insert toll saver announcements along with the subscriber's choice of ring-back tone. For example, when the subscriber is roaming, along with the subscriber's content, the service provider can insert a toll saver announcement, such as "This subscriber is roaming, please disconnect if this is a telemarketing call … announcements such as, "Called party does not accept telemarketing calls. If you are a telemarketer, please disconnect immediately and put this subscriber number in your Do-Not-Call list." All these announcements can be played along with the subscriber's selected content. [0016] Subscriber-chosen content may also be mixed with real-time information regarding the called party's current availability or status. [0061] the subscribers can use to configure eCRBT streams of their choice using a phone interface. [0011] enhancing CRBT services by seamlessly mixing multiple digital content streams in real time, including but not limited to audio, video. Note: disconnect telemarketing call including ring-back tone comprising audio and video is disable the audio and the video streaming; users desire an announcement when roaming is messaging code)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Sobti and apply them on the teachings of Mogalapalli-Chen to further implement wherein the network device (102) is configured to disable the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content through a second set of instructions whenever a user associated with the one or more users opts out of the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content, wherein the second set of instructions is a set of short dialling or messaging code. One would be motivated to do so because in order to improve better system and method to provide when a subscriber is roaming, disconnect if this is a telemarketing call, an announcements such as, "Called party does not accept telemarketing calls. If you are a telemarketer, please disconnect immediately and put this subscriber number in your Do-Not-Call list (Sobti [0035]).
Regarding claim 6:
Mogalapalli-Chen teaches The system as claimed in claim 3, wherein the network device is further configured to:
render the default RBT to the user who opts out of the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content (Chen, page 6, the first half page “the personalized ring-back tone set by the called party is restricted, and thus the calling party can hear the normal ring-back tone”. Page 9, the second half page “the switch to which the called party … the telephone process for normal calling, and the calling party now hears a normal ring-back tone”); and
send the control signal directly to the MRF to render the default RBT without using any of a CRBT server resource (Chen page 12 “the calling party can use said personalized ring-back tone service restriction by enrolling at the switch to which his telephone number belongs … When said party, as the calling party, calls a called party, the switch to which said calling party belongs first sends an initial address message (IAM) to the switch to which the called party belongs. The IAM message must carry a Q. Cat parameter and the telephone number of the called party, wherein the Q. Cat parameter value is the one defined in the personalized ring-back tone service restriction by the operator. When the switch to which the called party belongs receives the IAM message with the aforementioned Q. Cat parameter sent by the switch to which the calling party belongs, then the switch to which said called party belongs does not send an IAM message to the tandem switch or service switch point, i.e. the signalling process is the telephone process of normal calling, and the calling party now hears a normal ring-back tone”.
Mogalapalli-Chen does not explicitly disclose the video streaming (e.g does not explicitly disclose ring-back tone comprising video).
Sobti teaches render the default RBT to the user who opts out of the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content ([0031] CRBT by seamlessly mixing multiple digital content streams, including but not limited to audio, video, data, … pre-stored data files. [0036] insertion of an announcement embedded in the subscriber-chosen message … For a fee, the service provider can offer a presence service that would play an announcement in case the subscriber is roaming. This is particularly applicable for subscribers who travel and desire to save roaming charges from unnecessary calls [0035] allows service providers to insert toll saver announcements along with the subscriber's choice of ring-back tone. For example, when the subscriber is roaming, along with the subscriber's content, the service provider can insert a toll saver announcement, such as "This subscriber is roaming, please disconnect if this is a telemarketing call … announcements such as, "Called party does not accept telemarketing calls. If you are a telemarketer, please disconnect immediately and put this subscriber number in your Do-Not-Call list." All these announcements can be played along with the subscriber's selected content. [0016] Subscriber-chosen content may also be mixed with real-time information regarding the called party's current availability or status. [0061] the subscribers can use to configure eCRBT streams of their choice using a phone interface. [0011] enhancing CRBT services by seamlessly mixing multiple digital content streams in real time, including but not limited to audio, video. Note: the announcement is default RBT)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Sobti and apply them on the teachings of Mogalapalli-Chen to further implement render the default RBT to the user who opts out of the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content. One would be motivated to do so because in order to improve better system and method to provide a CRBT by seamlessly mixing multiple digital content streams, including but not limited to audio, video, data, when a subscriber is roaming, disconnect if this is a telemarketing call, an announcements such as, "Called party does not accept telemarketing calls. If you are a telemarketer, please disconnect immediately and put this subscriber number in your Do-Not-Call list (Sobti [0031][0035]).
Regarding claim 7:
Mogalapalli-Chen-Sobti teaches The system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the network device is further configured to:
provide a dedicated set of instructions to the one or more users such that the one or more users selectively opt any or a combination of the CRBT service, the default RBT service, the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content (Chen, Col 1, the first half page “personalized ring-back tone may be a piece of music, advertisement, or a voice message set by the called party”. page 6, the first half page “the personalized ring-back tone set by the called party is restricted, and thus the calling party can hear the normal ring-back tone”. page 7, the first half page “calling party activates said personalized ring-back tone service restriction”. Page 8, the second half page “defines a Q. Cat parameter that indicates specially personalized ring-back tone service restriction … for restricting personalized ring-back tone service should be one of said reserved values”. Page 9, the second half page “the switch to which the called party … the telephone process for normal calling, and the calling party now hears a normal ring-back tone”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Chen and apply them on the teachings of Mogalapalli-Sobti to further implement provide a dedicated set of instructions to the one or more users such that the one or more users smoothly opt any or a combination of the CRBT service, the default RBT service, the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content. One would be motivated to do so because in order to improve better system and method to provide the personalized ring-back tone set by the called party is restricted, and thus the calling party can hear the normal ring-back tone (Chen, page 6, the first hal page)
Regarding claim 8:
Mogalapalli-Chen teaches The communication system as claimed in claim 1,
Mogalapalli-Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the network device (102) is configured to store the CRBT, the default RBT, the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content in the centralized database associated with the network device (102).
Sobti teaches wherein the network device is configured to store the CRBT, the default RBT, the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content in the centralized database associated with the network device (102) ([0008] CRBT … multiple files or streams … storing in the content server. [0031] CRBT by seamlessly mixing multiple digital content streams, including but not limited to audio, video, data, … pre-stored data files, or data being streamed in real-time from a content server)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to take the teachings of Sobti and apply them on the teachings of Mogalapalli-Chen to further implement wherein the network device is configured to store the CRBT, the default RBT, the audio and the video streaming of the predefined content in the centralized database associated with the network device. One would be motivated to do so because in order to improve better system and method to provide CRBT comprises multiple files or streams storing in the content server (Sobti, [0008])
Regarding claim 13:
Mogalapalli-Chen teaches The method as claimed in claim 12, wherein the method further comprises the step of rendering, by the network device, the audio and video streaming of a predefined content of an entity against the one or more users associated with the second value without impacting any capacity of a Media Resource Function (MRF) (Mogalapalli [0019] serving advertisements as Ring Back Tones (RBTs) for subscribers. [0046] a determination regarding which media file is to be played … checks with TSP HLR 340 for RBT subscription of the callee. In case, the callee is subscribed to RBT service … RBT system 328 then plays RBT of callee to caller … In case the caller is subscribed to RBT service, the call is forwarded to RBT system 328 through a switch at TSP MSC 342. RBT system 328 then plays RBT set by caller to caller … in case neither caller nor callee is subscribed to RBT, the call is still forwarded to RBT system 328 using a switch at MSC to play an RBT to caller … for playing advertisements as ring back tones and further for providing compensation to callee for playing advertisements as ring back tones. [0045] there may be multiple MSCs and RBT systems corresponding to multiple Telecom Circles (see fig.2, each RBT system associate with circles A, B, C) with Advertisement Server 302 operationally connected to each RBT system for serving advertisements as ring back tones for subscribers within each Telecom Circle. [0042] Media files and campaign data are accorded individual identifiers by Campaign Controller 218. Media files are then forwarded to RBT systems' 206, 208 and 210 to be stored within their respective tone player databases. Note: play a RBT file belong to an individual RBT system (e.g RBT in circle C) will not impacting any capacity of the other RBT system (e.g RBT in circles A and B))
Mogalapalli-Chen does not explicitly disclose rendering the video streaming (e.g does not explicitly disclose ring-back tone comprising video).
Sobti teaches rendering, by the network device, the audio and video streaming of a predefined content of an entity against the one or more users associated with the second value without impacting any capacity of a Media Resource Function (Sobti [0031] CRBT by seamlessly mixing multiple digital content streams, including but not limited to audio, video, data … pre-stored data files. [0036] insertion of an announcement embedded in the subscriber-chosen message … For a fee, the service provider can offer a presence service that would play an announcement in case the subscriber is roaming. This is particularly applicable for subscribers who travel and desire to save roaming charges from unnecessary calls [0035] allows service providers to insert toll saver announcements along with the subscriber's choice of ring-back tone. For example, when the subscriber is roaming, along with the subscriber's content, the service provider can insert a toll saver announcement, such as "This subscriber is roaming, please disconnect if this is a telemarketing call … announcements such as, "Called party does not accept telemarketing calls. If you are a telemarketer, please disconnect immediately and put this subscriber number in your Do-Not-Call list." All these announcements can be played along with the subscriber's selected content. [0016] Subscriber-chosen content may also be mixed with real-time information regarding the called party's current availability or status. [0061] the subscribers can use to configure eCRBT streams of their choice using a phone interface. [0011] enhancing CRBT services by seamlessly mixing multiple digital content streams in real time, including but not limited to audio, video. Note: the announcements can be played along with the subscriber's selected content is the video streaming)
Regarding claim 14:
[Rejection rationale for claim 4 is applicable].
Regarding claim 15:
[Rejection rationale for claim 5 is applicable].
Regarding claim 16:
[Rejection rationale for claim 6 is applicable].
Regarding claim 17:
[Rejection rationale for claim 7 is applicable].
Regarding claim 18:
[Rejection rationale for claim 8 is applicable].
Conclusion
This action is a final rejection and is intended to close the prosecution of this application. Applicant’s reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to this action is limited either to an appeal to the Patent Trial and Appeal Board or to an amendment complying with the requirements set forth below.
If applicant should desire to appeal any rejection made by the examiner, a Notice of Appeal must be filed within the period for reply identifying the rejected claim or claims appealed. The Notice of Appeal must be accompanied by the required appeal fee.
If applicant should desire to file an amendment, entry of a proposed amendment after final rejection cannot be made as a matter of right unless it merely cancels claims or complies with a formal requirement made earlier. Amendments touching the merits of the application which otherwise might not be proper may be admitted upon a showing a good and sufficient reasons why they are necessary and why they were not presented earlier.
A reply under 37 CFR 1.113 to a final rejection must include the appeal from, or cancellation of, each rejected claim. The filing of an amendment after final rejection, whether or not it is entered, does not stop the running of the statutory period for reply to the final rejection unless the examiner holds the claims to be in condition for allowance. Accordingly, if a Notice of Appeal has not been filed properly within the period for reply, or any extension of this period obtained under either 37 CFR 1.136(a) or (b), the application will become abandoned.
/HIEN V DOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449