DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 05/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 under USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jann et al. (US 2021/0391853 A1) and Su et al. (US 2017/0126270 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundel et al. (US 11251822 B1) (Gundel herein after) in view of Jann et al. (US 2021/0391853 A1) (Jann herein after).
Re Claim 1, Gundel discloses a Radio Frequency (RF) Front End Module (RFEM) board (front-end circuit, Figure 1, column 3 lines 13-44) comprising:
a plurality of transmit chains for signal transmission (transmitter-path, Figure 1, column 3 lines 13-44); and
a plurality of receive chains for signal reception (receiver-path, Figure 1, column 3 lines 13-44), one or more gain blocks (attenuator 255, Figure 3B, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36) and power amplifiers (amplifier 254, Figure 3B, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36) to amplify the received RF signals across one or more of the plurality of transmit and receive chains to generate power from each chain (RX path 291, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36).
Gundel teaches the claimed invention except wherein the RFEM board receives RF control signals, and processes said received RF control signals through one or more gain blocks and power amplifiers to amplify the received RF control signals across one or more of the plurality of transmit and receive chains to generate power from each chain.
However, Jann discloses a beamforming communication system comprising: a shared digital front end (DFE); a plurality of transceiver chains, each transceiver chain from among the plurality of transceiver chains being coupled to the shared DFE; processor circuitry; and a memory configured to store executable instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, causes each transceiver chain from the plurality or transceiver chains to: transmit, via a transmit path, a transmit signal via an antenna in accordance with a digital pre-distortion (DPD) coefficients of the transmit signal; measure, via a receive path, feedback data indicative of an input power of the transmit signal coupled to the antenna via the transmit path circuitry; control whether, for each transceiver chain from among the plurality of transceiver chains, (i) the shared DFE, or (ii) a transceiver portion DFE of a respective one of the plurality of transceiver chains, calculates the DPD coefficients based upon the measured feedback data ([0628]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Gundel, by making use of the technique taught by Jann, in order to improve the signal quality.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of MIMO beamforming, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Gundel, nor does Gundel teach away from the modification (Gundel merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the control signal taught by Jann is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the RFEM board receives RF control signals, and processes said received RF control signals through one or more gain blocks and power amplifiers to amplify the received RF control signals across one or more of the plurality of transmit and receive chains to generate power from each chain.
Re Claim 2, the combined teachings disclose the RFEM board as claimed in claim 1, Gundel discloses wherein the RFEM board is operatively coupled with an antenna filter unit (AFU) to facilitate beam forming to multiple users (filter 210, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36).
Re Claim 3, the combined teachings disclose the RFEM board as claimed in claim 1, Gundel discloses wherein the RFEM board comprises a plurality of observation chains configured as Digital Predistortion (DPD) feedback paths (digital pre-distortion (“DPD”) calibration feedback path 231) from one or more Power Amplifiers (PAS) (attenuator 230) of the RFEM board to one or more Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs) of a high speed transceiver board (HSTB) (RFSOC of the set 260) for linearization (digital pre-distortion (“DPD”) calibration feedback path 231 that connects directional coupler 225 on the TX path to switch 253 on the RX path, via attenuator 230 to adjust to receiver input level, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36).
Re Claim 4, the combined teachings disclose the RFEM board as claimed in claim 3, Gundel discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of observation chains carry a directional coupler, a digital step attenuator (DSA), and a matching network (directional coupler 225, attenuator 230 to adjust to receiver input level, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36, balun 257, column 4 lines 53-64).
Re Claim 5, the combined teachings disclose the RFEM board as claimed in claim 1, Gundel discloses wherein the RFEM board comprises 32 transmit chains and 32 receive chains (various examples include antenna array systems, these changes affect, for example, 32, 64, or even more signal paths, column 7 lines 47-62).
Re Claim 6, the combined teachings disclose the RFEM board as claimed in claim 1, Gundel discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of transmit chains (TX 290, Figure 3B, column 5 lines 38-51) carry matching balun (balun 201, Figure 3B, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36), pre-driver amplification stage (pre-driver 205, Figure 3B, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36), and final RF power amplification stage (power amplifier 221, Figure 3B, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36) as part of a final stage of power amplification (PA) (TX pathway 290 begins with balun 201. A balun is a device that joins a balanced line (e.g., one that has two conductors, with equal currents in opposite directions, such as a twisted pair cable) to an unbalanced line (e.g., one that has just one conductor and a ground, such as a coaxial cable). Thus, a balun is a type of transformer, and it is used to convert an unbalanced signal to a balanced one, or vice versa. As shown, balun 201 provides a modulated signal 206 at a frequency of f.sub.TX1, to pre-driver 205. From pre-driver 205 the modulated signal 206 is provided, in sequence, to attenuator 203, alias filter 210, driver 220, power amplifier 221, and directional coupler 225, column 5 lines 52-64).
Re Claim 7, the combined teachings disclose the RFEM board as claimed in claim 1, Gundel discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of receive chains carry low noise amplifier (LNA) (amplifier 254, Figure 3B, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36), band pass SAW filter (SAW filter 250, column 8 lines 4-19) and a matching network (balun 257, column 4 lines 53-64) (RX path 291, column 6 lines 19-36).
Re Claim 8, the combined teachings disclose the RFEM board as claimed in claim 1, Gundel discloses wherein the RFEM board comprises a plurality of layers having a receiver section to receive RF signals from a user equipment (UE) (receiver-path, Figure 1, column 3 lines 13-44) and decode the received RF signals in the receiver section using receivers that form part of the plurality of receive chains, based on which the decoded RF signals are converted into digital signals and transmitted to upper layers having RF connectors (BBU, column 3 line 52 – column 4 line 15).
Re Claim 10, the combined teachings disclose the RFEM board as claimed in claim 3, except wherein the RFEM board is blind mated with the HSTB to remove complexity of cable routing and avoid RF signal oscillations. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize blind mate connection to connect circuit board since it was known in the art that blind mated connection are use to interconnect circuit board without cable.
Re Claim 11, Gundel discloses a user equipment (UE) communicatively coupled with a Radio Frequency (RF) Front End Module (RFEM) board (front-end circuit, Figure 1, column 3 lines 13-44), said UE comprising:
one or more primary processors communicatively coupled to one or more processors of a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) radio unit through a network (MMIMO, column 3 lines 14-43), the one or more primary processors coupled with a memory, wherein said memory stores instructions which when executed by the one or more primary processors cause the UE (processing circuit, column 3 lines 14-43) to:
transmit one or more RF control signals to the MIMO radio unit (MMIMO, column 3 lines 14-43), the one or more primary processors coupled with a memory, wherein said memory stores instructions which when executed by the one or more primary processors cause the UE (processing circuit, column 3 lines 14-43), wherein the RFEM board in the MIMO radio unit is configured with:
a plurality of transmit chains for signal transmission (transmitter-path, Figure 1, column 3 lines 13-44); and
a plurality of receive chains for signal reception (receiver-path, Figure 1, column 3 lines 13-44), one or more gain blocks and power amplifiers to amplify the received RF signals across one or more of the plurality of transmit and receive chains to generate power from each chain one or more gain blocks (attenuator 255, Figure 3B, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36) and power amplifiers (amplifier 254, Figure 3B, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36) to amplify the received RF signals across one or more of the plurality of transmit and receive chains to generate power from each chain (RX path 291, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36).
Gundel teaches the claimed invention except wherein the RFEM board receives RF control signals, and processes said received RF control signals through one or more gain blocks and power amplifiers to amplify the received RF control signals across one or more of the plurality of transmit and receive chains to generate power from each chain.
However, Jann discloses a beamforming communication system comprising: a shared digital front end (DFE); a plurality of transceiver chains, each transceiver chain from among the plurality of transceiver chains being coupled to the shared DFE; processor circuitry; and a memory configured to store executable instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, causes each transceiver chain from the plurality or transceiver chains to: transmit, via a transmit path, a transmit signal via an antenna in accordance with a digital pre-distortion (DPD) coefficients of the transmit signal; measure, via a receive path, feedback data indicative of an input power of the transmit signal coupled to the antenna via the transmit path circuitry; control whether, for each transceiver chain from among the plurality of transceiver chains, (i) the shared DFE, or (ii) a transceiver portion DFE of a respective one of the plurality of transceiver chains, calculates the DPD coefficients based upon the measured feedback data ([0628]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Gundel, by making use of the technique taught by Jann, in order to improve the signal quality.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of MIMO beamforming, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Gundel, nor does Gundel teach away from the modification (Gundel merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the control signal taught by Jann is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the RFEM board receives RF control signals, and processes said received RF control signals through one or more gain blocks and power amplifiers to amplify the received RF control signals across one or more of the plurality of transmit and receive chains to generate power from each chain.
Re Claim 12, Gundel discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising processor-executable instructions that cause a processor (processing circuit, column 3 lines 14-43) to:
transmit one or more radio frequency (RF) control signals to a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) radio unit (MMIMO, column 3 lines 14-43), wherein a Radio Frequency (RF) Front End Module (RFEM) board in the MIMO radio unit (front-end circuit, Figure 1, column 3 lines 13-44) is configured with:
a plurality of transmit chains for signal transmission (transmitter-path, Figure 1, column 3 lines 13-44); and
a plurality of receive chains for signal reception (receiver-path, Figure 1, column 3 lines 13-44), one or more gain blocks and power amplifiers to amplify the received RF signals across one or more of the plurality of transmit and receive chains to generate power from each chain one or more gain blocks (attenuator 255, Figure 3B, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36) and power amplifiers (amplifier 254, Figure 3B, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36) to amplify the received RF signals across one or more of the plurality of transmit and receive chains to generate power from each chain (RX path 291, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36).
Gundel teaches the claimed invention except wherein the RFEM board receives RF control signals, and processes said received RF control signals through one or more gain blocks and power amplifiers to amplify the received RF control signals across one or more of the plurality of transmit and receive chains to generate power from each chain.
However, Jann discloses a beamforming communication system comprising: a shared digital front end (DFE); a plurality of transceiver chains, each transceiver chain from among the plurality of transceiver chains being coupled to the shared DFE; processor circuitry; and a memory configured to store executable instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, causes each transceiver chain from the plurality or transceiver chains to: transmit, via a transmit path, a transmit signal via an antenna in accordance with a digital pre-distortion (DPD) coefficients of the transmit signal; measure, via a receive path, feedback data indicative of an input power of the transmit signal coupled to the antenna via the transmit path circuitry; control whether, for each transceiver chain from among the plurality of transceiver chains, (i) the shared DFE, or (ii) a transceiver portion DFE of a respective one of the plurality of transceiver chains, calculates the DPD coefficients based upon the measured feedback data ([0628]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify method and system of Gundel, by making use of the technique taught by Jann, in order to improve the signal quality.
Both references are within the same field of telecommunication, and in particular of MIMO beamforming, the modification does not change a fundamental operating principle of Gundel, nor does Gundel teach away from the modification (Gundel merely discloses a preferred embodiment). The combination has a reasonable expectation of success in that the modifications can be made using conventional and well known engineering and/or programming techniques, the control signal taught by Jann is not altered and continues to perform the same function as separately, and the resultant combination produces the highly predictable result of wherein the RFEM board receives RF control signals, and processes said received RF control signals through one or more gain blocks and power amplifiers to amplify the received RF control signals across one or more of the plurality of transmit and receive chains to generate power from each chain.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundel et al. (US 11251822 B1) (Gundel herein after) and Jann et al. (US 2021/0391853 A1) (Jann herein after), futher in view of Su et al. (US 2017/0126270 A1) (Su herein after).
Re Claim 9, the combined teachings disclose the RFEM board as claimed in claim 1, Gundel discloses TDD system comprising circulator, cavity filter and antenna (column 2 line 64 – column 3 line 13, column 5 line 38 – column 6 line 36, column 3 lines 13-43) except wherein the RFEM board comprises an RF Time Division Duplex (TDD) switch that combines each transmit-receive pair, and wherein a circulator and one or more cavity filter(s) are configured between each RF TDD switch and an antenna port.
However, Su discloses a TDD radio communication system wherein radio network entity comprises an antenna 28, also known as an aerial, or a transducer designed to transmit or receive electromagnetic (e.g. radio) waves, transducing from electrical signals to electromagnetic waves, or vice versa. The radio network entity further comprises a circulator 26, which plays a role to separate a transmitting path and a receiving path, a TDD switch 25, which is configured to route transmitting leakage signals to 50 ohm resistor 29 and then to the ground in transmitting slots and connect to a receiver (RX) 22 in receiving slots, a power amplifier (PA) 23, which is configured to perform power amplifying for signals to be transmitted through the antenna 28, a low noise amplifier (LNA) 24, which is configured to perform power amplifying for signals received through the antenna 28, particularly to boost the desired signal power while adding as little noise and distortion as possible, a transmitter (TX) 21, which is configured to configure the signal for proper transmission according to radio communication protocols in the TDD radio communication system 100, and the RX 22 for proper receiving according to radio communication protocols in the TDD radio communication system 100 ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teachings taught by Su with the teachings of the combined references to further improve the signal quality and to achieve the same expected result of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/KENNETH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631