DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 11/10/25.
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the amendment of claim 1-3,5-6,8-9,11,25-26, 35 and the cancellation of claims 4,7,10,13-24,30-31,33
Response to Argument
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding the limitation of sensing with a sensor of a piggybacking detection device, it is the examiner’s position that that the reference of Soyugenc teaches a number of users in a detection area of a turnstile and a separate count area within the turnstile while the turnstile is unlocked (paragraph 023-026), Soyugenc teaches the piggyback detection system include a plurality of fixed and ride-along sensor that are configured to detect presence in a defined zone (paragraph 019). Soyugenc teaches the fixed sensors are strategically placed so as to detect the user that pass through the door (paragraph 022) and teaches the ride-along sensors provide coverage of the area near the wing of the turnstile in order to prevent a person riding close to the wing to avoid detection (paragraph 022). It is the examiner’s position that coverage provided by the fixed sensors and the ride-along sensor provide the detection area of a turnstile and a separate count area within the turnstile as claimed. Soyugenc teaches the control system is configured to detect the piggyback event (paragraph 023).
In response to applicant’s argument that the reference of Soyugenc is silent on teaching the use of a single sensor for detecting a piggybacking event, it is the examiner’s position that the reference of Soyugenc teaches the mounting of a plurality of sensors for detecting a piggybacking event and each of the sensors is located in a particular area of the revolving door for detecting the piggybacking event (paragraph 025). Soyugenc teaches the fixed sensors are strategically placed so as to detect the user that pass through the door (paragraph 022) and teaches the ride-along sensors provide coverage of the area near the wing of the turnstile in order to prevent a person riding close to the wing to avoid detection (paragraph 022). It is the examiner’s position that coverage provided by the fixed sensors and the ride-along sensor provide the detection area of a turnstile and a separate count area within the turnstile as claimed. Soyugenc teaches the control system is configured to detect the piggyback event (paragraph 023). It is the examiner’s position that the detection of a piggybacking event in a particular by a particular sensor represent the detection of a piggyback event using a single sensor.
Regarding applicant’s argument regarding the reference of Bazakos, Schwarz, and Knight, the reference of Bazakos, Schwarz, and Knight is not relied upon for teaching the piggyback detection system. The reference of Soyugenc is relied upon for teaching such limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5,8-9,11-12,25-26,28-29,32, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soyugenc US Patent Application Publication 20080244978 in view of Bazakos et al. US Patent Application Publication 20070268145.
Regarding claim 1,12, Soyugene teaches a method for allowing single authorized entrance through a passage to control entrance into a restricted area of a facility, the separation system comprising: upon receiving an access granted signal, unlocking a lockable turnstile for an entry time period to permit the user to rotate a rotary panel assembly of the turnstile to enter the restricted area (fig.2, paragraph 016,19,021): sensing, with a sensor of a piggybacking detection device, a number of users in a detection area of a turnstile and a separate count area within the turnstile while the turnstile is unlocked (paragraph 023-026). Soyugene teaches movement through the rotating door include the sequence of granting approval by the access control system and the system ensuring that only the approved number of persons passes through the door (sensor 96 and 97 detect a person presence in difference areas and is used for detecting piggyback event, paragraph 02,023). The reception of the signal indicating the number of approved persons to enter represent the resetting of the piggybacking detection system in order for the piggyback detection system to detect when number of persons detected exceed the number of persons approve for entry. Bazakos et al. in an analogous art teaches resetting the piggybacking detection and locking the turnstile after detecting the user passed through the turnstile (paragraph 030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Soyugene as disclosed by Bazakos because such modification represents an improvement over the system Soyugene in order to ensure that only authorized persons are able to gain access through the turnstile and further increasing the security of the access control system.
Regarding claim 2, Soyugene the count area is within the detection area of the turnstile (the area covered by the ride-along sensor is within the area covered by the fixed sensors, paragraph 019-026).
Regarding claim 3, Soyugene teaches if more than one user is detected in the count area, locking the turnstile to prevent rotation of the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile and prevent passage into the restricted area (paragraph 023).
Regarding claim 5, Soyugene teaches preventing reception of an access granted signal by the turnstile controller using the piggybacking detection device if no users are detected in the detection area to prevent the unlocking of the turnstile by granting access to the turnstile only of the user is detected and authenticated by the reader (paragraph 021).
Regarding claims 8-9, Soyugene is silent on teaching locking the turnstile to prevent rotation of the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile and prevent passage into the restricted area if the entry time period expires before the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile are rotated to a position that permits access of the single user to restricted area; and resetting the piggybacking detection device. Bazakos et al. in an art teaches locking the turnstile to prevent rotation of the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile and prevent passage into the restricted area if the entry time period expires before the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile are rotated to a position that permits access of the single user to restricted area; and resetting the piggybacking detection device (paragraph 030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Soyugene as disclosed by Bazakos because such modification represents an improvement over the system Soyugene in order to ensure that only authorized persons are able to gain access through the turnstile and further increasing the security of the access control system.
Regarding claim 11, Soyugene teaches the count area covers an area within the turnstile that prevents a user to be within the turnstile and not be detected by the sensor of the piggybacking detection device during the entry time period (paragraph 022).
Regarding claim 25, Soyugene teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that when executed by one or more computing devices cause the one or more computing devices to perform operations comprising: a) upon receiving an access granted signal, generating a signal to unlock a turnstile for an entry time period to permit the user to rotate a rotary panel assembly of the turnstile to enter the restricted area (fig.2, paragraph 016,19,021); b) determining a number of users in a detection area and a separate count area based on data received from a piggybacking detection device within the turnstile while the turnstile is unlocked (sensor 96 and 97 detect a person presence in difference areas and is used for detecting piggyback event, paragraph 023-026). Soyugene teaches movement through the rotating door include the sequence of granting approval by the access control system and the system ensuring that only the approved number of persons passes through the door (paragraph 02,023). The reception of the signal indicating the number of approved persons to enter represent the resetting of the piggybacking detection system in order for the piggyback detection system to detect when number of persons detected exceed the number of persons approve for entry. Bazakos et al. in an analogous art teaches resetting the piggybacking detection and locking the turnstile after detecting the user passed through the turnstile (paragraph 030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Soyugene as disclosed by Bazakos because such modification represents an improvement over the system Soyugene in order to ensure that only authorized persons are able to gain access through the turnstile and further increasing the security of the access control system.
Regarding claim 26, Soyugene teaches generating a signal to accept an access granted signal in a turnstile controller upon receiving a signal from sensor in the piggybacking detection device of a presence of a single user within a detection area of a turnstile (paragraph 021).
Regarding claim 27, Soyugene teaches sending a signal to lock the turnstile to prevent rotation of the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile and prevent passage into the restricted area if a signal is received from the sensor of the piggyback detection device indicating more than one user are detected in the count area (paragraph 023).
Regarding claim 28, Soyugene teaches generating and sending a signal to prevent reception of an access granted signal by the piggybacking detection device if two or more users are detected in the detection area to prevent the unlocking of the turnstile (paragraph 023).
Regarding claim 29, Soyugene teaches preventing reception of an access granted signal by the turnstile controller using the piggybacking detection device if no users are detected in the detection area to prevent the unlocking of the turnstile by granting access to the turnstile only of the user is detected and authenticated by the reader (paragraph 021).
Regarding claim 32 and 34, Soyugene is silent on teaching locking the turnstile to prevent rotation of the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile and prevent passage into the restricted area if the entry time period expires before the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile are rotated to a position that permits access of the single user to restricted area; and resetting the piggybacking detection device. Bazakos et al. in an art teaches locking the turnstile to prevent rotation of the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile and prevent passage into the restricted area if the entry time period expires before the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile are rotated to a position that permits access of the single user to restricted area; and resetting the piggybacking detection device (paragraph 030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Soyugene as disclosed by Bazakos because such modification represents an improvement over the system Soyugene in order to ensure that only authorized persons are able to gain access through the turnstile and further increasing the security of the access control system.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soyugenc US Patent Application Publication 20080244978 in view of Bazakos et al. US Patent Application Publication 20070268145 and further in view of Schwarz US Patent 5201906.
Regarding claim 6, Soyugenc is silent on teaching is silent on teaching the limitation of, upon receiving the access granted signal and sensing the user leaving the detection area and not entering the count area, locking the turnstile to prevent rotation of the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile and prevent passage into the restricted area; and resetting the piggybacking detection device. Schwarz in an analogous art teaches receiving the access granted signal and sensing the user leaving the detection area and not entering the count area, locking the turnstile to prevent rotation of the rotary panel assembly of the turnstile and prevent passage into the restricted area; and resetting the piggybacking detection device (col. 5 lines 51-67,col. 9 lines 28-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Soyugene in view of Bazakos as disclosed by Schwarz because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Soyugene by increasing the security and reliability of the turnstile system by operating the turnstile based on the presence of an individual in the compartment of the turnstile.
Claim(s) 35,37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soyugenc US Patent Application Publication 20080244978 in view of Schwarz et al. US Patent 5201906.
Regarding claim 35, Soyugene teaches a separation system for allowing single authorized entrance through a passage to control entrance into a restricted area of a facility, the separation system comprising:
a lockable turnstile having a rotary panel assembly that rotates to permit the passing of a user through an entry way when authorized (paragraph 016,021); a turnstile controller (15) coupled to the lockable turnstile to control the rotation of the rotary panel assembly to permit passage of a user through the lockable turnstile (paragraph 016); a piggybacking detection device in operably communication with the turnstile controller such that the piggybacking detection device provides instructions to the turnstile controller to control the rotation of the rotary panel assembly to permit passage of a user through the lockable turnstile, the piggybacking detection device comprising a sensor configured and positioned for detecting the presence of one or more users within a detection area and a separate count area in the turnstile before the entry way (sensor 96 and 97 detect a person presence in difference areas and is used for detecting piggyback event, paragraph 022-023); and the piggybacking detection device configured to receive a signal from the sensor regarding the presence of one or more users, such that (paragraph 023): a) if a single authorized user is detected in the count area, the piggybacking detection device is configured to send a signal to the turnstile controller to permit rotation of the rotary panel assembly for a specified time period while the user is present in the count area (paragraph 022-023); b) if two or more users are detected in at least one of the detection area or the count area, the piggybacking detection device is configured to send a signal to restrict rotation of the rotary panel assembly (paragraph 023); C) if a single unauthorized user is presented and detected in the count area the piggybacking detection device is configured to send a signal to restrict rotation of the rotary panel assembly (paragraph 023,026). Soyugene is silent on teaching if a single authorized user is presented and is not detected in the count area, the piggybacking detection device is configured to send a signal to restrict rotation of the rotary panel assembly. Schwarz et al. in an analogous art teaches if a single authorized user is presented and is not detected in the count area, the piggybacking detection device is configured to send a signal to restrict rotation of the rotary panel assembly (col. 9 lines 28-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Soyugene as disclosed by Schwarz because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Soyugene by increasing the security and reliability of the turnstile system by operating the turnstile based on the presence of an individual in the compartment of the turnstile.
Regarding claim 37, Soyugene teaches an access control system in operable communication with the turnstile controller and the piggybacking detection device, the access control system configured to identify a user as either an authorized user or an unauthorized user and send a signal to at least one of the turnstile controller or the piggybacking detection device that identifies a user present in front of the turnstile as authorized or unauthorized (paragraph 021-022).
Regarding claim 38, Soyugene teaches the access control system comprises at least one of a badge reader or a biometric identification device (paragraph 021-022).
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soyugenc US Patent Application Publication 20080244978 in view of Schwarz et al. US Patent 5201906 and further in view of Knight US Patent Application Publication 20040168069.
Regarding claim 36, Soyugene teaches the piggybacking detection device comprises a power supply and sensor for detecting the person and control the rotation of the rotary panel assembly of the lockable turnstile (paragraph 025-028,fig.7) but is silent on teaching to control the rotation of the rotary panel assembly of the lockable turnstile. Knight in an analogous art teaches converting the analog signal received from a sensor into a digital signal to be used in controlling the operation of the turnstile (paragraph 024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Soyugene in view of Schwarz because such modification representing the shifting of function of converting an analog signal to a digital signal to be inputted to the control without providing an analog interface to the controller for receiving an analog from the sensor.
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686