DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-16, 18-20, and 22-28 in the reply filed on 6 May 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 17 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6 May 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 31 March 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7 July 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 June 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-14, 18, 22, 25, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Trembly et al. (WO 201187562, hereinafter referred to as “Trembly”).
As to Claims 1-5, 11, 14, and 18: Trembly teaches a composition consisting of 60 wt% coal and the remainder being HDPE (Table 8). Trembly further teaches that the coal can be bituminous with a size of about 5 microns or a mesh size of about 4800M [0039].
As to Claims 6-9: Trembly teaches the composition of claims 1 (supra). Trembly further teaches that Pittsburgh No. 8 Coal (i.e., the same coal cited in the instant claim 16) has great performance due to its high surface are to volume ratio (i.e., high aspect ratio) [0117]. As it is the same coal recited in the instant specification it is considered to have the same average aspect ratio.
As to Claim 12: Trembly teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). The instant claim reads as a product-by-process claim and is therefore considered for the structure and not the specific process steps. See MPEP § 2113. Accordingly, Trembly is considered to teach a composition which would result in the same final product.
As to Claim 13: Trembly teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). The instant claim reads as a product-by-process claim and is therefore considered for the structure and not the specific process steps. See MPEP § 2113. Accordingly, Trembly is considered to teach a composition which would result in the same final product.
As to Claim 22: Trembly teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Trembly teaches the composition can further include a thermal stabilizer [0041].
As to Claim 25: Trembly teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). The instant claim reads as a product-by-process claim and is therefore considered for the structure and not the specific process steps. See MPEP § 2113. Accordingly, Trembly is considered to teach a composition which would result in the same final product.
As to Claim 28: Trembly teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra). Trembly further teaches that a mixture of different coals can be used [0039].
Claims 1, 10, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeVallance et al. (Journal of Elastomers and Plastics 2016, Vol. 48(6) 510-522, from the IDS dated 11 June 2025, hereinafter referred to as “DeVallance”).
As to Claims 1, 10, 26, and 27: DeVallance teaches a composition comprising 15% wood, 25% Biochar, 56% polypropylene, and 4% lubricant (Table 1). Wherein the biochar has been passed through a 1 mm mesh (Materials and sample preparation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Trembly et al. (WO 201187562, hereinafter referred to as “Trembly”).
As to Claim 15: Trembly teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Trembly does not teach an example comprising PVC.
However, Trembly teaches that PVC is a known thermoplastic resin for use as WPC materials which the CPC materials are trying to replace [0123]. Further Trembly teaches that the polymer materials include thermoplastic resins such as polyethylene [0038]. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use PVC in place of the HDPE of Trembly with 60% coal and 40% PVC because Trembly teaches PVC is a known thermoplastic resin and teaches that any thermoplastic resins can be used [0038, 0123].
As to Claim 16: Trembly renders obvious the composition of claim 15 (supra). Trembly further teaches that the coal can be Pittsburgh no. 8 coal [0048].
Claims 19-20, 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Trembly et al. (WO 201187562, hereinafter referred to as “Trembly”) in view of Mohanty et al. (US2017/0107334, hereinafter referred to as “Mohanty”).
As to Claims 19 and 20: Trembly teaches the composition of claim 18 (see above).
Trembly does not teach the composition further includes flame retardants.
However, Mohanty teaches that a carbon-based composite composition can include flame retardants such as talc in an amount of about 10% [0040, 0067-0068]. Trembly and Mohanty are analogous art in that they are from the same field of endeavor, namely carbon-based composite materials. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the talc of Mohanty in an amount of 10% to the composition of Trembly in order to increase the fire resistance of the composition [0040, 0067-0068].
As to Claims 22 and 23: Trembly teaches the composition of claim 1 (see above).
Trembly does not teach the composition further includes a foaming agent.
However, Mohanty teaches that a carbon-based composite composition can include surfactants in an amount of less than 10% [0092-0093]. Trembly and Mohanty are analogous art in that they are from the same field of endeavor, namely carbon-based composite materials. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the surfactant of Mohanty in an amount of less than 10% to the composition of Trembly [0092-0093].
As to Claim 24: Trembly and Mohanty render obvious the composition of claim 23 (supra).
Trembly does not teach an example comprising PVC.
However, Trembly teaches that PVC is a known thermoplastic resin for use as WPC materials which the CPC materials are trying to replace [0123]. Further Trembly teaches that the polymer materials include thermoplastic resins such as polyethylene [0038]. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use PVC in place of the HDPE of Trembly with 60% coal and 40% PVC because Trembly teaches PVC is a known thermoplastic resin and teaches that any thermoplastic resins can be used [0038, 0123] and further include the talc or surfactant of Mohanty.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16, 18-20, and 22-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,584,017. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to polymer composites comprising overlapping amounts of polymer and carbon as well as the size of the carbon particles.
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767