DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 27, 31, 34, 36, 37 and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over EP 1,737,805 B1. No distinction is seen between the composition disclosed by EP 1,737,805 B1, and that recited in claims 26, 27, 31, 34, 36, 37 and 40-43. EP 1,737,805 B1 discloses an agricultural formulation including such macronutrients as calcium nitrate, potassium nitrate and potassium hydrogen phosphate (see Paragraph [0026]), and teaches on page 4, lines 43 and 44 that a preferred additional nutrient can be melamine. Accordingly EP 1,737,805 B1 anticipates claims 26, 27, 34 and 36, since applicant’s specification provides evidence in Paragraph [0043] that melamine is a supramolecular guest chemical to macronutrients. In any event, it would be obvious to select melamine as the additional nutrient in the composition of EP 1,737,805 B1, since EP 1,737,805 B1 discloses melamine as an additional nutrient on page 4, lines 43 and 44. EP 1,737,805 B1 also discloses in Paragraph [0024] that the composition can include a solvent.
Regarding claim 31, EP 1,737,805 B1 discloses in Paragraph [0038] that the composition may be provided as an aqueous suspension, which would suggest that the solvent is water.
Regarding claims 34, 36 and 42, EP 1,737,805 B1 discloses in Paragraph [0019] that the formulation may be applied to the plants by spraying.
Regarding claim 43, EP 1,737,805 B1 discloses in Paragraph [0021] that the formulation may include fertilizers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29, 32, 33, 35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1,737,805 B1. EP 1,737,805 B1 is relied upon as discussed hereinbefore. It would be within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine suitable amounts of the components.
Regarding claim 33, the steps recited therein would be an obvious method to form the composition.
Claims 28, 44 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1,737,805 B1 as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of YAMASHITA (US 2009/0078014). EP 1,737,805 B1 discloses in Paragraph [0021] that the formulation may include surfactants and in Paragraph [0027] that ferric chelates can be included. It would be obvious from YAMASHITA to include humic acid, citric acid and a sugar such as glucose or fructose in the composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since YAMASHITA discloses the advantages of these components in Paragraphs [0015] and [0048].
Claims 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1,737,805 B1 in view of YANASHITA as applied to claim 46 above, and further in view of WO 2019/215697 A1. It would be further obvious from WO 2019/215697 A1 to employ an ethoxylate as the surfactant. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since WO 2019/215697 A1 establishes ethoxylates as conventional surfactants from page 27, line 26 to page 29, line 18, and EP 1,737,805 B1 teaches on page 4, lines 29 and 30 that surfactants customarily used in formulation technology can be used.
Double Patenting
Claims 28-46 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 26-48 of copending Application No.18/247624 view of EP 1,737,805 B1. It would be obvious from EP 1,737,805 B1 to include a macronutrient in the formulation recited in the claims of SN. 18/247613. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since EP 1,737,805 B1 discloses an analogous formulation which includes both micronutrients and macronutrients.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
The Drawings filed on March 31, 2023 are objected to in that GIG. 1A, 1D, 2B, 3A and 3B are illegible
This application apparently discloses allowable subject matter (i.e., regarding claims 30 and 39).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: EP 1,737,805 B1 discloses an agricultural formulation including such macronutrients as calcium nitrate, potassium nitrate and potassium hydrogen phosphate (see Paragraph [0026]), and teaches on page 4, lines 43 and 44 that a preferred additional nutrient can be melamine. The melamine in the formulation of EP 1,737,805 B1 would serve as a guest chemical to the macronutrients, since applicant’s specification provides evidence in Paragraph [0043] that melamine is a supramolecular guest chemical to macronutrients. EP 1,737,805 B1 also discloses in Paragraph [0024] that the composition can include a solvent. However there is no teaching, disclosure or suggestion in EP 1,737,805 B1 to provide a supramolecular host chemical to the macronutrients, let alone a host chemical comprising a nanostructure having a charge, magnetic properties, or both. Applicant’s specification discloses in Paragraphs [0028] through [0042] that suitable supramolecular host chemicals include cavitands, cryptands, rotaxanes and catenanes. Accordingly claims 30 and 39 are not rejected over EP 1,737,805.
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736