DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15, 17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15:
Line 3, “the plurality scan bodies”, should be, “the plurality of scan bodies”.
Line 5, “the scan bodies”, should be, “the plurality of scan bodies”.
Claim 17, line 2, should be corrected to, “a preoperative scan and an intraoral scan”, for clarity that the preoperative scan and intraoral scan are separate scans.
Claim 19, line 2, “optionally”, should be removed, as this language makes it unclear whether the claim is positively reciting the step of correcting the accuracy of the intraoral scan. For examination purposes, Examiner is interpreting the claim as positively reciting this step.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/28/2025. These drawings will not be entered, as the drawings contain new matter.
Upon reconsideration, the drawing objection for the surgical flap is withdrawn. The drawings received on 03/31/2023 are accepted.
Specification
The amendment filed 10/25/2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
The amendments of Paragraphs [0093], [0099], [00101], introduce new matter to describe the amended drawings received on 10/28/2025. As stated above, the drawing objection to claimed subject matter (surgical flap) not being shown is withdrawn. The specification received on 03/31/2023 is accepted.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 12, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Chang et al. (US 20210401550 A1), herein Chang.
Regarding claim 1, Suttin’1 discloses a dental device (500+502) comprising:
one or more scan bodies (500+502) each having a longitudinal axis (refer to annotated Fig. 5C below) and a wing region (502) that extends radially outwardly from the longitudinal axis (refer to annotated Fig. 5C below), wherein an end of the one or more scan bodies (refer to annotated Fig. 5C below) is configured to mate with a fastener (refer to Paragraph [0044]; the healing abutments (500) are attached to the implants).
As part of this embodiment (Fig. 5B), Suttin’1 does not explicitly disclose a frame member having a top surface and a bottom surface, wherein the bottom surface comprises one or more attachment areas configured to contact an attachment area disposed on the wing region of the one or more scan bodies;
wherein the frame member is sized and dimensioned to fit within a central region of a dental arch located on a lingual side of the arch and away from a perimeter of the arch.
Although these limitations are not disclosed as part of the original embodiment (Fig. 5B), Suttin’1 discloses an alternative embodiment that includes both the scan bodies (500+502) and a frame member (refer to Paragraph [0048]; the portion of the scan plate may be supports for mesh structures to be extended into the connecting geometry area 110). Suttin’1 further discloses the frame member (400) having a top surface (refer to annotated Fig. 4 below) and a bottom surface (opposite top surface), wherein the bottom surface (opposite top surface) comprises one or more attachment areas configured to contact an attachment area disposed on the wing region of the one or more scan bodies (refer to Paragraph [0048]; the scan plate (502) supports the mesh structures; thus, the portion of the scan plates (502) extending into the connecting geometry area (110) act as the attachment area of the wing region, and the bottom surface of the mesh supported by the wing regions acts as the attachment area of the frame member), and wherein the frame member (400) is sized and dimensioned to fit within a central region of a dental arch located on a lingual side of the arch and away from a perimeter of the arch (refer to Paragraph [0040], annotated Fig. 4 below; Examiner understands “the perimeter of the arch” as the outside border of the dental arch, consistent with Fig. 11; the mesh 400 is overlaid on the connecting geometry area 110 in the arch area 100). By utilizing both the frame member (400) and scan bodies (500+502), the resulting scanned dataset includes more accurate scans of both the arch (102) and the connecting area (110) because of the inclusion of scannable or definable features overlaying the connecting area (110) by both the frame member (400) and wing member (502), and the inclusion of scannable features on the arch (102) by the body portion of the scan bodies (500) (refer to Paragraphs [0035], [0046], [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the original embodiment (Fig. 5b) with a frame member (400) as the combined dental device results in more accurate scans (refer to Paragraphs [0035], [0046], [0048]).
Suttin’1 does not disclose wherein each of the one or more scan bodies has an associated three-dimensional digital image file available in dental CAD software.
Chang discloses a method of processing three-dimensional scan data in the same field of endeavor (refer to Abstract), wherein each of the one or more scan bodies (31) has an associated three-dimensional digital image file available in dental CAD software (refer to Paragraph [0065], Fig. 6; 3D reference image data for a structure may be loaded from a library mounted on a scan program in advance indicating a scanbody or abutment). The reference data “makes up” for missing scanned data of the scan body (31) (refer to Paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scan body (500+502) of Suttin’1 with an associated three-dimensional digital image file as taught by Chang in order to “make up” for missing scanned data of the scan body (31) (refer to Paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the dental device of claim 1; Suttin’1 does not disclose wherein each of the one or more attachment areas of the frame member has one or more protrusions, depressions, holes, undercuts, grooves, or lattice structure as part of the original embodiment (Fig. 5B).
However, as part of the alternative embodiment, modified Suttin’1 further discloses wherein each of the one or more attachment areas of the frame member has one or more protrusions, depressions, holes, undercuts, grooves, or lattice structure (Refer to Paragraph [0039]; the mesh grid 400 in this example is fabricated in metal). The mesh grid (400) offers scannable features to bridge the gap between the open arch segments (106, 108), improving scan accuracy (refer to Paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the original embodiment (Fig. 5b) with a mesh frame member (400) for scanning accuracy (refer to Paragraphs [0035], [0046], [0048]).
Regarding claim 4, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the dental device of claim 1; Suttin’1 further discloses wherein the wing region of the one or more scan bodies (502) comprises one or more protrusions (536, 538), depressions, holes, undercuts, grooves, or lattice structure (refer to Paragraph [0048]; the scan plate 502 includes a top surface 534 that has protruding objects 536 and 538 of known dimensions).
As part of the original embodiment (Fig. 5b), Suttin’1 does not explicitly teach the attachment area disposed on the wing region as including the one or more protrusions; however, as disclosed in the rejection for claim 1 above, Suttin’1 teaches the portion of the wing member (502) extending into the connecting geometry area as supporting the frame member (400) (refer to Paragraph [0048]) and Fig. 5B demonstrates the one or more protrusions (536, 538) extending into this connecting geometry area. Thus, based on the modification from claim 1, the attachment area disposed on the wing region includes the one or more protrusions.
Regarding claim 5, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the dental device of claim 1; Suttin’1 further discloses wherein scan bodies (500+502) have one or more three-dimensional features (536, 538) with a known dimension that can be used to calibrate a physical dimension with digital dimensional data from an intraoral scanner (refer to Paragraphs [0048]-[0049], [0055]; the scan plate 502 includes a top surface 534 that has protruding objects 536 and 538 of known dimensions that can be used to perform error correction in real-time by comparing the known dimensions with those dimensions obtained when the objects are determined from the scanned dataset; the scanned data is captured by an IOS (intra-oral scanner)).
As part of the original embodiment (Fig. 5b), Suttin’1 does not explicitly teach the frame member having one or more three-dimensional features with a known dimension that can be used to calibrate a physical dimension with digital dimensional data from an intraoral scanner; however, as part of the alternative embodiment that includes the frame member (400) (refer to Paragraph [0048]), Suttin’1 discloses the frame member (400) having one or more three-dimensional features (412, 414, 416, 418) with a known dimension that can be used to calibrate a physical dimension with digital dimensional data from an intraoral scanner (refer to Paragraph [0041]; since the dimensions of the objects 412, 414, 416 and 418 on the mesh 400 are known, the scanned dimensions of such objects may be analyzed in real-time during the scan for purposes of correcting any error between the scanned dimensions of all the objects scanned in the arch area 100 and the actual dimensions of the scanned objects). Inclusion of the one or more three-dimensional features (412, 414, 416, 418) of the frame member (400) improves the accuracy of the scan by correcting for errors (refer to Paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the one or more three-dimensional features (412, 414, 416, 418) of the frame member (400) in the dental device to improve the accuracy of the scan by correcting for errors (refer to Paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
Regarding claim 6, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the dental device of claim 1; Suttin’1 further discloses wherein the one or more scan bodies (500+502) includes a first scan body, a second scan body, a third scan body, a fourth scan body (refer to annotated Fig. 5B from claim 1 above).
Suttin’1 does not explicitly disclose a fifth scan body, a sixth scan body, a seventh scan body and an eighth scan body.
Although this limitation is not explicitly disclosed, Suttin’1 teaches that the series of implants are implanted into the arch to address the edentulous areas (refer to Paragraph [0033]). Thus, for a patient with more edentulous areas, more implants would be required, duplicating the required parts. “The courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960): (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-B.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the number of scan bodies to be eight scan bodies as an obvious matter of duplicating parts.
Regarding claim 8, Suttin’1 discloses a method of using the dental device of claim 1 (Fig. 7), comprising:
coupling the one or more scan bodies (500+502) to the one or more dental fasteners (700) (refer to Paragraphs [0044], [0054]; healing abutments 500 have been attached to implants to connect with the connecting geometry tool 502);
positioning the wing region of the one or more scan bodies (502) so that the wing region (502) extends into the central region of the dental arch (700) (refer to Paragraphs [0049], [0054], annotated Fig. 5B from claim 1 above; a clinician attaches the scan plates 502 to the healing abutments 500 in the arch area 100 such that portions of at least two scan plates 502 should be captured within each IOS digital scan frame);
scanning the scan bodies (500+502) with an intraoral scanner (704) (refer to Paragraphs [0003], [0055]; a handheld IOS (intra-oral scanning) device is preferably used to initiate a scan of the arch area 100 and the connecting geometry area 110 to include at least part of the connecting-geometry tool for each scan frame);
Suttin’1 does not explicitly teach bonding or luting the frame member to the wing regions of the one or more scan bodies by applying an adhesive or hardening material to the attachment areas of the wing regions and the bottom of the frame member and placing the frame member on the one or more wing regions so the frame member is in direct contact with all of the wing regions as part of the original embodiment.
As disclosed in the rejection for claim 1 above, as part of the alternative embodiment (refer to Paragraph [0048]), Suttin’1 teaches placing the frame member (400) on the one or more wing regions (502) so the frame member (400) is in direct contact with all of the wing regions (502) (refer to Paragraphs [0040], [0048]; the mesh 400 is overlaid on the connecting geometry area 110 in the arch area 100 with the scan plates 502 extending into the connecting geometry area to support the mesh structure).
Suttin’1 further teaches in another embodiment (Fig. 3A) that the frame member (300) can be anchored to the supporting segments (106, 108) using adhesive (refer to Paragraph [0036]). The supporting segments (106, 108) of this embodiment (Fig. 3A) are analogous to the wing regions (502) of the alternative embodiment in which the wing regions (502) support the frame (400) (refer to Paragraph [0048]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used adhesive in anchoring the frame member (400) to the wing regions (502), as Suttin’1 teaches adhesive bonding as a suitable means to attach the frame member (300) to be anchored to the supporting segments (106, 108) (refer to Paragraph [0036]).
Modified Suttin’1 does not explicitly teach centering the scan body (500+502) by rotating the scan body (500+502) about the dental fastener.
Although this limitation is not disclosed as part of the modified embodiment, Suttin’1 further discloses an alternative embodiment of the scan body where the scan body includes a wing region (502) and support body directly coupled to the implant using a threaded connection, rather than using the two part scan body structure (500+502) (refer to Paragraph [0051]). The threaded connection requires rotating the scan body about the implant/fastener in order to center the scan body and engage the fastener.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the two part scan body structure (500+502) with a threaded scan body structure requiring rotation about the implant, as Suttin’1 teaches this configuration as a suitable alternative (refer to Paragraph [0051]).
Suttin’1 does not disclose using dental CAD software to align the scanned three-dimensional image to the three- dimensional digital image file
Chang further discloses using dental CAD software to align the scanned three-dimensional image to the three- dimensional digital image file (refer to Paragraphs [0061], [0067]; the image data is aligned to the reference data for the structure). The alignment step corrects the data to form a more accurate prosthesis (refer to Paragraphs [0004], [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method (Fig. 7) of Suttin’1 with aligning the scanned three-dimensional image to the three- dimensional digital image file as taught by Chang in order to form a more accurate prosthesis (refer to Paragraphs [0004], [0077]).
Regarding claim 12, Suttin’1 discloses a dental device (500+502) for scanning a dental arch comprising:
a plurality of scan bodies (500+502) each having a body region (500) with a longitudinal axis (refer to annotated Fig. 5C below) and a wing region (502) that extends radially outwardly from the longitudinal axis (refer to annotated Fig. 5B below);
wherein each body region (500) has a bottom end (refer to annotated Fig. 5C below) that is configured to mate with a fastener in the dental arch (refer to Paragraph [0044]; the healing abutments (500) are attached to the implants);
wherein each of the plurality of scan bodies (500+502) has a shape that facilitates scanning and alignment of scanned data to an associated three-dimensional digital image file (refer to Paragraphs [0046], [0048]; Examiner understands this limitation based on Paragraph [0092] of the specification, which states, “the unique shape and angles of scan body 203 facilitates both the scanning and alignment of scanned data to corresponding digital three-dimensional libraries in dental CAD software”; as the top surface 512 of the healing abutment 500 includes one or more coded features 520 that indicate known dimensional measurements and location of the healing abutment 500 and the underlying implant, and the scan plate 502 includes a top surface 534 that has protruding objects 536 and 538 of known dimensions, the plurality of scan bodies (500+502) have shapes to facilitate scanning and alignment);
wherein the wing regions of each of the plurality of scan bodies (502) are sized and dimensioned to converge at a location within a central region on a lingual side of a dental arch and come in close proximity so that the ends of the wing regions (502) can be captured with an intraoral scanner (refer to Paragraphs [0048], [0049], annotated Fig. 5B below; the scan plates 502 extend into the connecting area 110; for optimal scanning, portions of at least two scan plates 502 should be captured within each IOS digital scan frame).
Suttin’1 does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of scan bodies has an associated three-dimensional digital image file available in dental CAD software.
Chang discloses a method of processing three-dimensional scan data in the same field of endeavor (refer to Abstract), wherein each of the plurality of scan bodies (31) has an associated three-dimensional digital image file available in dental CAD software (refer to Paragraph [0065], Fig. 6; 3D reference image data for a structure may be loaded from a library mounted on a scan program in advance indicating a scanbody or abutment). The reference data “makes up” for missing scanned data of the scan body (31) (refer to Paragraph [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the scan body (500+502) of Suttin’1 with an associated three-dimensional digital image file as taught by Chang in order to “make up” for missing scanned data of the scan body (31) (refer to Paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 22, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the dental device of claim 12; Suttin’1 further discloses wherein each wing region (502) has one or more wells to facilitate luting (refer to Paragraph [0048]; as the top surface 534 that has protruding objects 536 and 538, the regions around the protrusions act as wells, capable of facilitating luting).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Chang et al. (US 20210401550 A1), herein Chang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suttin et al. (US 20170112598 A1), herein Suttin’2.
Regarding claim 7, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the dental device of claim 1; as part of the original embodiment Suttin’1 does not disclose wherein the frame member and wing regions are made of a radiopaque material.
As part of the alternative embodiment (refer to Paragraph [0048]) including the frame member (400), Suttin’1 discloses the frame member (400) as being made of metal, but does not explicitly teach the chosen metal as radiopaque (refer to Paragraph [0039]; the mesh grid (400) is fabricated of metal).
Suttin’2 discloses attachment members in the same field of endeavor, where the attachment members include scan bodies and members that couple with a dental implant installed in the mouth of a patient (refer to Paragraph [0009]). Suttin’1’2 teaches these attachment members (10a, 10b, 10c) as including radiopaque markers (50), which allows for capturing data about the attachment member, analogous to the dental device of Suttin’1, using a CT scanner (54) (refer to Paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dental device (500+502+400) of Suttin’1 and Chang with radiopaque markers (50) as taught by Suttin’1’2 in order to capture data with a CT scanner (54) (refer to Paragraph [0056]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Chang et al. (US 20210401550 A1), herein Chang , as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Bell et al. (US 20220079533 A1), herein Bell.
Regarding claim 9, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the method of claim 8; Suttin’1 and Chang do not disclose the step of CBCT scanning the dental device and the dental arch and aligning the intraoral scan with the CBCT scan.
Bell discloses a dental scanning method in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0057]), including the step of CBCT scanning the dental device and the dental arch (refer to Paragraphs [0082], [0084], Fig. 10; scanning 100 is done with the installed dental appliances by CBCT) and aligning the intraoral scan with the CBCT scan (refer to Paragraphs [0091], [0096], Fig. 14; an intraoral scanner is used to scan the jaws directly; the method shifts the sharp, clear individual jaw images of jaws 12a and 12b in the second scan (FIG. 14) according to the bite registration of the first scan (FIG. 10) to create the precise digital jaw model 116 (FIGS. 20, 23 and 24) that can be manipulated and analyzed to aid in various orthodontic and other dental treatments).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Suttin’1 and Chang with the step of CBCT scanning the dental device and the dental arch and aligning the intraoral scan with the CBCT scan as taught by Bell in order to create a precise digital jaw model (refer to Paragraph [0096]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Chang et al. (US 20210401550 A1), herein Chang, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Kats et al. (US 20140154638 A1), herein Kats.
Regarding claim 10, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the method of claim 8; Suttin’1 and Chang do not disclose the step of removing the frame member and one or more scan bodies from the fasteners as a single unit and using the single unit as a physical verification jig of the relative fastener positions.
Kats discloses a method (300) for making a dental framework in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0087]). Copings (118), analogous to the scan bodies of Suttin’1 and Chang, are aligned and fixed to implants/fasteners (302, 304) (refer to Paragraphs [0088]-[0089]), and engaged with a frame (110) to form the impression device (100). The impression device (100) is removed with the copings (118) as a single unit (100) (310) (refer to Paragraph [0093]), and used as a physical verification jig of the relative fastener positions (312) (refer to Paragraph [0094]). This method provides an accurate means of determining the location and orientation of each dental implant (refer to Paragraphs [0003], [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Suttin’1 and Chang with the step of removing the frame member and one or more scan bodies from the fasteners as a single unit and using the single unit as a physical verification jig of the relative fastener positions as taught by Kats in order to provide an accurate means of determining the location and orientation of each dental implant (refer to Paragraphs [0003], [0008]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Chang et al. (US 20210401550 A1), herein Chang, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Suttin et al. (US 20170112598 A1), herein Suttin’2, and Pesach et al. (US 20180028292 A1), herein Pesach.
Regarding claim 11, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the method of claim 8; Suttin’1 and Chang do not disclose the steps of:
selecting the one or more scan bodies from a plurality of scan bodies having different sizes; and
selecting the frame member from a plurality of frame members having different sizes so that the selected frame member fits with a dental arch and rests on each of the one or more wing members.
Suttin’2 discloses a method of modifying of modifying scan bodies (10a, 10b, 10c) in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0054]). The method includes selecting the one or more scan bodies (10a, 10b, 10c) from a plurality of scan bodies having different sizes (refer to Paragraph [0055]; the clinician is supplied with a variety of preformed attachment members having different predetermined sizes and shapes to select the appropriate attachment member(s)). This allows the placement of scan bodies (10a, 10b, 10c) as is, without customization or modification (refer to Paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Suttin’1 and Chang with selecting the one or more scan bodies (10a, 10b, 10c) from a plurality of scan bodies having different sizes as taught by Suttin’2 in order to place the scan bodies (10a, 10b, 10c) as is (refer to Paragraph [0055]).
Pesach discloses a frame member (102) with wing members (118, 120, 122) for intraoral scanning in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraphs [0004], [0119], [0122]), where the frame member (102) is selected from a plurality of frame members having different sizes so that the selected frame member fits with a dental arch and rests on each of the one or more wing members (118, 120, 122) (refer to Paragraph [0182], annotated Fig. 6 below; the oral insert 102 may be produced in a variety of sizes to fit different arch sizes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Suttin’1, Chang and Suttin’2 with a plurality of frame members having different sizes as taught by Pesach in order to fit a variety of arch sizes (refer to Paragraph [0182]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Chang et al. (US 20210401550 A1), herein Chang, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Tuckman (US 20230011481 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the dental device of claim 12; Suttin’1 and Chang do not disclose wherein the wing regions taper longitudinally at the distal end from the longitudinal axis of the scan body.
Tuckman discloses a scan body (10) in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0048]) wherein the wing regions taper longitudinally at the distal end from the longitudinal axis of the scan body (refer to Paragraph [0053], annotated Fig. 1 below; the facets 18a-f generally taper inwardly from the chamfered transition lip 19 to the upper surface 16, thereby defining a series of interconnected planar sloped walls). The tapered regions act as additional reference surfaces when aligning separate scans (refer to Paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wing regions of Suttin’1 and Chang with the tapered wing regions as taught by Tuckman to provide additional reference surfaces when aligning separate scan (refer to Paragraph [0054]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Chang et al. (US 20210401550 A1), herein Chang, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Kofford (US 20200107914 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the dental device of claim 12; Suttin’1 and Chang do not disclose wherein the plurality of scan bodies have undercuts on one or more attachment areas.
Kofford discloses an implant attachment (60+61), analogous to the scan bodies of Suttin’1 and Chang, in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0163]). Kofford further teaches forming an undercut (67) for stronger adhesive locking (refer to Paragraph [0163]), the same purpose of Applicant’s undercut (refer to Paragraph [0088] of specification).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of scan bodies of Suttin’1 and Chang with an undercut (67) as taught by Kofford for stronger adhesive locking (refer to Paragraph [0163]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Chang et al. (US 20210401550 A1), herein Chang, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Names (US 5055047 A).
Regarding claim 15, Suttin’1 discloses a method of using the dental device of claim 12 (Fig. 7), comprising:
coupling the plurality of scan bodies (500+502) to the fasteners in the dental arch (700) (refer to Paragraphs [0044], [0054]; healing abutments 500 have been attached to implants to connect with the connecting geometry tool 502);
positioning the wing regions of the plurality scan bodies (502) so as to converge within the central region of the dental arch (700) (refer to Paragraphs [0049], [0054], annotated Fig. 5B from claim 12 above; a clinician attaches the scan plates 502 to the healing abutments 500 in the arch area 100 such that portions of at least two scan plates 502 should be captured within each IOS digital scan frame);
scanning the scan bodies (500+502) with an intraoral scanner (704) (refer to Paragraphs [0003], [0055]; a handheld IOS (intra-oral scanning) device is preferably used to initiate a scan of the arch area 100 and the connecting geometry area 110 to include at least part of the connecting-geometry tool for each scan frame);
Suttin’1 does not disclose using dental CAD software to align the scanned three-dimensional image to the three- dimensional digital image file
Chang further discloses using dental CAD software to align the scanned three-dimensional image to the three- dimensional digital image file (refer to Paragraphs [0061], [0067]; the image data is aligned to the reference data for the structure). The alignment step corrects the data to form a more accurate prosthesis (refer to Paragraphs [0004], [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method (Fig. 7) of Suttin’1 with aligning the scanned three-dimensional image to the three- dimensional digital image file as taught by Chang in order to form a more accurate prosthesis (refer to Paragraphs [0004], [0077]).
Suttin’1 and Chang do not disclose bonding or luting the plurality of scan bodies together.
Names discloses a method for forming impressions in the same field of endeavor (refer to col. 1, 7-10) by bonding or luting the plurality of scan bodies the plurality of scan bodies (22a, 22B) together (refer to col. 4, lines 20-25, Fig. 2). This forms a rigid frame depicting the locations of the plurality of scan bodies (22a, 22b) (refer to col. 4, lines 20-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Suttin’1 and Chang with bonding or luting the plurality of scan bodies together as taught by Names in order to form a rigid frame depicting the locations of the plurality of scan bodies (22a, 22b) (refer to col. 4, lines 20-25).
Claim(s) 16-17, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Names (US 5055047 A).
Regarding claim 16, Suttin’1 discloses a method of using a dental device (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0008]) comprising one or more scan bodies (500+502) during implant surgery (refer to Paragraphs [0044], [0054]; FIG. 7 is a flow diagram of a process to provide an accurate scan of the arch area 100 in FIG. 1A for restoration purposes involving implants installed in the arch 102), wherein each scan body (500+502) has a longitudinal axis (refer to annotated Fig. 5C below) and a wing region (502) that extends radially outwardly from the longitudinal axis (refer to annotated Fig. 5C below);
the method (Fig. 7, Paragraph [0008]) comprising:
placing one or more implants in a bone of the dental arch (refer to Paragraph [0008]; a series of implants have already been implanted in the arch 102 in preparation for modeling of the arch area 150);
coupling the one or more scan bodies (500+502) to the one or more implants (refer to Paragraphs [0044], [0054]; healing abutments 500 have been attached to implants to connect with the connecting geometry tool 502) and orienting their wing regions (502) to extend into a central region of the dental arch (700) (refer to Paragraphs [0049], [0054], annotated Fig. 5B below; a clinician attaches the scan plates 502 to the healing abutments 500 in the arch area 100 such that portions of at least two scan plates 502 should be captured within each IOS digital scan frame);
As part of this embodiment (Fig. 5B), Suttin’1 does not explicitly disclose the dental device comprising a frame member.
Although this limitation is not disclosed as part of the original embodiment (Fig. 5B), Suttin’1 discloses an alternative embodiment that includes both the scan bodies (500+502) and a frame member (refer to Paragraph [0048]; the portion of the scan plate may be supports for mesh structures to be extended into the connecting geometry area 110). By utilizing both the frame member (400) and scan bodies (500+502), the resulting scanned dataset includes more accurate scans of both the arch (102) and the connecting area (110) because of the inclusion of scannable or definable features overlaying the connecting area (110) by both the frame member (400) and wing member (502), and the inclusion of scannable features on the arch (102) by the body portion of the scan bodies (500) (refer to Paragraphs [0035], [0046], [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the original embodiment (Fig. 5b) with a frame member (400) as the combined dental device results in more accurate scans (refer to Paragraphs [0035], [0046], [0048]).
Modified Suttin’1 further discloses scanning the dental arch and the one or more scan bodies (500+502), either before or after the frame member (400) is affixed to the one or more scan bodies (500+502) (704) (refer to Paragraph [0055]; a handheld IOS (intra-oral scanning) device is preferably used to initiate a scan of the arch area 100 and the connecting geometry area 110 to include at least part of the connecting-geometry tool for each scan frame).
Modified Suttin’1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the wing region is a unitary part of the scan body.
Although this limitation is not disclosed as part of the modified embodiment, Suttin’1 further discloses an alternative embodiment of the scan body where the wing region (502) may be directly coupled to the implant rather than using the two part scan body structure (500+502), such that the wing region is formed with a support body connectable to the implant, forming a unitary part of the scan body (refer to Paragraph [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the two part scan body structure (500+502) with a single scan body structure wherein the wing region is a unitary part of the scan body, as Suttin’1 teaches this configuration as a suitable alternative (refer to Paragraph [0051]).
Suttin’1 discloses positioning the wing region of the one or more scan bodies (502) so that the wing region (502) extends into the central region of the dental arch (700) (refer to Paragraphs [0049], [0054], annotated Fig. 5B below; a clinician attaches the scan plates 502 to the healing abutments 500 in the arch area 100 such that portions of at least two scan plates 502 should be captured within each IOS digital scan frame), but does not explicitly teach bonding or luting the frame member to the wing regions of the one or more scan bodies that holds the one or more surgical flaps in a retracted position.
Suttin’1 teaches placing the frame member (400) on the one or more wing regions (502) so the frame member (400) is in direct contact with all of the wing regions (502) (refer to Paragraphs [0040], [0048]; the mesh 400 is overlaid on the connecting geometry area 110 in the arch area 100 with the scan plates 502 extending into the connecting geometry area to support the mesh structure).
Suttin’1 further teaches in another embodiment (Fig. 3A) that the frame member (300) can be anchored to the supporting segments (106, 108) using adhesive (refer to Paragraph [0036]). The supporting segments (106, 108) of this embodiment (Fig. 3A) are analogous to the wing regions (502) of the alternative embodiment in which the wing regions (502) support the frame (400) (refer to Paragraph [0048]). As the wing regions (502) extend over the tissue above the implants, the wing regions (502) are capable of holding a tissue flap open (refer to annotated Fig. 5B below).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used adhesive in anchoring the frame member (400) to the wing regions (502), as Suttin’1 teaches adhesive bonding as a suitable means to attach the frame member (300) can be anchored to the supporting segments (106, 108) (refer to Paragraph [0036]).
Suttin’1 does not disclose cutting soft tissue of a dental arch to create one or more surgical flaps.
Names discloses a method for osseointegrated implants in the same field of endeavor (refer to col. 1, lines 15-20). The method includes the step of cutting soft tissue of a dental arch to create one or more surgical flaps to allow for the insertion of the implants(refer to col. 1, lines 25-27).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Suttin’1 with cutting soft tissue of a dental arch to create one or more surgical flaps as taught by Names in order to allow for the insertion of the implants(refer to col. 1, lines 25-27).
Regarding claim 17, Suttin’1 and Names disclose the method of claim 16; Suttin’1 further discloses wherein the step of scanning comprises obtaining a preoperative scan (refer to Paragraph [0042]; a prior CT scan of the patient is obtained), an intraoral scan while the one or more scan bodies (500+502) are coupled with the dental arch (704) (refer to Paragraphs [0042], [0055]), and aligning the intraoral scan with the preoperative scan (refer to Paragraph [0043]; the fill arch intra-oral scan may be corrected by virtually realigning the teeth 104 in this secondary scan to match the more accurate initial CT scan).
Regarding claim 23, Suttin’1 discloses a method of using a plurality of scan bodies (Fig. 7), wherein each scan body (500+502) has a longitudinal axis (refer to annotated Fig. 5C below), a wing region (502) that extends radially outwardly from the longitudinal axis (refer to annotated Fig. 5C below), and a negative space disposed on the wing region (refer to annotated Fig. 5C below) (refer to Paragraph [0048]; as the top surface 534 that has protruding objects 536 and 538, the regions around the protrusions act as wells, capable of facilitating luting), the method (700) comprising:
coupling the plurality of scan bodies (500+502) to a dental arch (700) (refer to Paragraphs [0044], [0054]; healing abutments 500 have been attached to implants);
positioning the plurality of scan bodies (500+502) such that their wing regions (502) extend into a central region of the dental arch and are in close proximity to at least one other scan body (500+502), wherein the central region of the dental arch is the region located on a lingual side of the arch and away from a perimeter of the arch (700) (refer to Paragraphs [0049], [0054], annotated Fig. 5B below; Examiner understands “the perimeter of the arch” as the outside border of the dental arch, consistent with Fig. 11; a clinician attaches the scan plates 502 to the healing abutments 500 in the arch area 100 such that portions of at least two scan plates 502 should be captured within each IOS digital scan frame).
Suttin’1 does not disclose bonding or luting the plurality of scan bodies together by placing a bonding or luting material inside the negative space of the wing regions.
Names discloses a method for forming impressions in the same field of endeavor (refer to col. 1, 7-10) by bonding or luting the plurality of scan bodies the plurality of scan bodies (22a, 22B) together by placing a bonding or luting material inside the negative space of the wing regions (13) that are adjacent to each other (refer to col. 4, lines 20-27, Fig. 2). This forms a rigid frame depicting the locations of the plurality of scan bodies (22a, 22b) (refer to col. 4, lines 20-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Suttin’1 with bonding or luting the plurality of scan bodies together as taught by Names in order to form a rigid frame depicting the locations of the plurality of scan bodies (22a, 22b) (refer to col. 4, lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 24, Suttin’1 and Names disclose the method of claim 23; Suttin’1 discloses wherein the negative space comprises a well, opening, hole, channel, or groove (refer to Paragraph [0048]; as the top surface 534 that has protruding objects 536 and 538, the regions around the protrusions act as wells, capable of facilitating luting).
Regarding claim 25, Suttin’1 and Names disclose the method of claim 23; Suttin’1 discloses the step of scanning the plurality of scan bodies (500+502) (704) (refer to Paragraph [0055]; a handheld IOS (intra-oral scanning) device is preferably used to initiate a scan of the arch area 100 and the connecting geometry area 110 to include at least part of the connecting-geometry tool for each scan frame).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Names (US 5055047 A), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Kats et al. (US 20140154638 A1), herein Kats.
Regarding claims 18-19, Suttin’1 and Names disclose the method of claim 16; Suttin’1 does not disclose the step of suturing the one or more surgical flaps.
Names further discloses the step of suturing the one or more surgical flaps to allow the bone to become biologically attached to the implant (refer col. 1, lines 30-34).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Suttin’1 with the step of suturing the one or more surgical flaps as taught by Names in order to allow the bone to become biologically attached to the implant (refer col. 1, lines 30-34).
Neither Suttin’1 nor Names disclose removing the frame member and one or more scan bodies from the one or more implants as a single unit and using the single unit as a physical verification jig to verify, and optionally, correct the accuracy of the intraoral scan.
Kats discloses a method (300) for making a dental framework in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraph [0087]). Copings (118), analogous to the scan bodies of Suttin’1 and Chang, are aligned and fixed to implants/fasteners (302, 304) (refer to Paragraphs [0088]-[0089]), and engaged with a frame (110) to form the impression device (100). The impression device (100) is removed with the copings (118) as a single unit (100) (310) (refer to Paragraph [0093]), and used as a physical verification jig of the relative fastener positions (312) to verify, and optionally, correct the accuracy of a jaw scan, analogous to a scan of the patients jawbone, (refer to Paragraphs [0094], [0109], [0111]). This method provides an accurate means of determining the location and orientation of each dental implant (refer to Paragraphs [0003], [0008]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Suttin’1 and Chang with the step of removing the frame member and one or more scan bodies from the fasteners as a single unit and using the single unit as a physical verification jig of the relative fastener positions as taught by Kats in order to provide an accurate means of determining the location and orientation of each dental implant (refer to Paragraphs [0003], [0008]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Names (US 5055047 A), as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Pesach et al. (US 20180028292 A1), herein Pesach.
Regarding claim 20, Suttin’1 and Names disclose the method of claim 16; Suttin’1 and Names do not disclose wherein the step of bonding or luting the frame member to the one or more scan bodies comprises leveling the top of the frame member to be at the same height as the top of the scan bodies.
Pesach discloses a method of dental scanning in the same field of endeavor (refer to Paragraphs [0004]). Pesach teaches that it is advantageous to determine distances within a plane, such as distances that extend along a frame member (108, 110, 112), between fiducial targets (118, 120, 122), analogous to scan bodies, as these dimensions are stable and easy to select (refer to Paragraph [0138]). Thus, by leveling the frame member to be in a plane across the top of the scan bodies, the scan is more accurate (refer to Paragraph [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Suttin’1 and Names with leveling the top of the frame member to be at the same height as the top of the scan bodies, as taught Pesach teaches accurate scan results are produced by stable distances determined in a plane (refer to Paragraphs [0138]-[0139]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suttin et al. (US 20190290407 A1), herein Suttin’1, and Chang et al. (US 20210401550 A1), herein Chang, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Suttin et al. (US 20170112598 A1), herein Suttin’2.
Regarding claim 21, Suttin’1 and Chang disclose the dental device of claim 12; Suttin’1 and Chang do not disclose wherein the plurality of scan bodies are sand blasted or coated to facilitate scanning.
Suttin’2 discloses attachment members in the same field of endeavor, where the attachment members include scan bodies and members that couple with a dental implant installed in the mouth of a patient (refer to Paragraph [0009]). Suttin’2 teaches these attachment members (10a, 10b, 10c) as including radiopaque markers (50) coated with a radiopaque wash, which allows for capturing data about the attachment member, analogous to the dental device of Suttin’1, using a CT scanner (54) (refer to Paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dental device (500+502+400) of Suttin’1 and Chang with coated radiopaque markers (50) as taught by Suttin’2 in order to capture data with a CT scanner (54) (refer to Paragraph [0056]).
Response to Arguments
As stated above, the outstanding drawing objection of “the surgical flap” is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to the argument that Suttin does not teach or suggest negative spaces configured to receive bonding or luting material, Examiner points to the above rejection, and specifically Fig. 5B and Paragraphs [0049], [0054] of Suttin. Further, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the scan plate (502) has the required structure of negative spaces.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, and 3-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
White (US 5924862 A) discloses a method of verifying the accuracy of dental casts using a frame based device (refer to col. 1, lines 5-7, Fig. 3).
/ADRIENA J WEBB LYTTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772