Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, drawn to a laser processing system and Species A, claim 3 (with claims 4-5 withdrawn) in the reply filed on 06/03/2026 was acknowledged and has been entered. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Accordingly, claims 4-5 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. An action on the merits for Claims 1-3 are as follow.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The claim to priority filled on 03/31/2023 acknowledged in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 03/31/2023 and 01/08/2025 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1. 97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, under claim 3, the “a coordination system” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112
A. Claim limitation “a moving device” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device” coupled with functional language “moving” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. [0019], Fig 1: the robot 2 is a moving device.
B. Claim limitation “a scanner control device” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “device” coupled with functional language “control” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. [0016], Fig 4: a scanner control device 6.
C. Claim limitation “an irradiation control unit” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “irradiation control” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 3 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. [0048], Fig 4: an irradiation control unit 61.
D. Claim limitation “a control point moving unit” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “control point moving” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 3 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. [0048], Fig 4: a control point moving unit 62.
E. Claim limitation “a coordinate system” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “system” coupled with functional language “coordinate” and without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 3 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Under Spec. [0091], Fig 4: the control point storage unit 63 stores a plurality of positions of the moved control point, or the plurality of positions of the control point and a plurality of directions of the control point in a coordinate system.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (WO 2019 038 860 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Ito et al. disclose a laser processing system (a laser machining apparatus shown in FIG. 1, [0009]), comprising:
a scanner (galvano scanners 5 and 6, [0015], Fig 1) capable of scanning a workpiece (workpiece 9, Fig 1) with a laser beam (a laser beam L, Fig 1);
a moving device (moving the f θ lens 7, [0048], Fig 1) configured to move the scanner relative to the workpiece; and
a scanner control device (controller 10, [0018], Fig 1) configured to control the scanner,
wherein the scanner control device comprises an irradiation control unit configured to control the scanner to irradiate a preset identical control point on the workpiece with the laser beam in a state in which the scanner is stopped at a plurality of positions by the moving device (laser oscillator 2 adjusts the energy of the laser beam L to be irradiated to the workpiece 9 by changing the energy of the oscillated laser beam L, [0014], The galvano scanner 5 changes the incident position of the laser beam Lon the workpiece 9… The galvano scanner 6 changes the incident position of the laser beam L on the workpiece 9, [0015], Fig 1).
Claim 2, wherein the plurality of positions include a laser irradiation start position and a laser irradiation end position of the scanner corresponding to a laser irradiation start point and a laser irradiation end point of program for controlling the scanner and the moving device (The controller 10 controls the entire laser processing apparatus 1, [0018], The laser processing apparatus 1 may change the incident position of the laser beam L on the workpiece 9 by controlling the movement of one or both of the stage 8 and the processing head together with the control of the driving of the galvano scanners 5 and 6 by the controller 10, [0019], The functions of the controller 10 are executed on a program analyzed and executed by the microcontroller, [0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (WO 2019 038 860 A1) in view of Tomoi (JP 2014 054 658 A).
Regarding Claim 3, Ito et al. disclose wherein the scanner control device further comprises:
a control point moving unit configured to move the control point (galvano scanner 5 changes the incident position of the laser beam Lon the workpiece 9 in the X-axis direction… galvano scanner 6 changes the incident position of the laser beam L on the workpiece 9 in the Y-axis direction, [0015], Fig 1);
Ito et al. disclose the invention as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose: a control point storage unit configured to store a position of the moved control point, or the position of the moved control point and a direction defined by the moved control point in a coordinate system, and wherein the irradiation control unit controls the scanner to irradiate the workpiece with the laser beam based on the position of the moved control point, or the position of the moved control point and the direction defined by the moved control point in the coordinate system.
Tomoi further teaches a laser processing system (perforating device 1 includes a punching machine 3 includes an output unit 31 that outputs a laser beam L and a moving mechanism 32, [0024-0026], FIG. 1), wherein the scanner control device further comprises:
a control point storage unit (storage unit 4, [0024], Fig 1) configured to store a position of the moved control point, or the position of the moved control point and a direction defined by the moved control point in a coordinate system (control unit 5 controls the punching machine 3 to drill the insertion hole 61 into each perforation position Pp in the 1 perforation order indicated by the 1 perforation order information Ds 1 stored in the storage unit 4, [0028], Fig 1), and
wherein the irradiation control unit controls the scanner to irradiate the workpiece with the laser beam based on the position of the moved control point, or the position of the moved control point (taught by Ito et al. already) and the direction defined by the moved control point in the coordinate system (moving the laser beam L by changing the direction of the output unit 31, [0026], coordinate information De indicating coordinates of the perforation position Pp, [0027], Figs 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ito et al. with Tomoi’s further teaching of a control point storage unit configured to store a position of the moved control point, or the position of the moved control point and a direction defined by the moved control point in a coordinate system, and wherein the irradiation control unit controls the scanner to irradiate the workpiece with the laser beam based on the position of the moved control point, or the position of the moved control point and the direction defined by the moved control point in the coordinate system; because Tomoi teaches, in Para. [0019], of providing an excellent control system to precisely control the operation procedure of laser drilling apparatus during processing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761