DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8, 11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3,528,349 in view of Rock (U. S. 2021/0249739).
Regarding claim 1, EP discloses a temperature detection device 100 for a plug connector part 120, comprising: a latching element 200 mountable on a contact element 160 of the plug connector part 120; and at least one temperature sensor 310, wherein the latching element 200 comprises metal, and wherein the at least one temperature sensor 320 is fastened to the latching element 200 by a sensor mount. EP discloses the claimed invention except for the sensor mount comprises an electrically insulating material (see column 0057 and 0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify EP to provide such features as taught by Rock so as to provide for easy manufacture.
Regarding claim 2, EP discloses the latching element 200 comprises one piece and is of a same material.
Regarding claim 3, EP discloses the latching element 200 comprises a piece of sheet metal.
Regarding claim 4, EP discloses the latching element 200 has two latching arms 204, 208 which form a receiving opening between them, the receiving opening having an edge region which extends along a circular arc.
Regarding claim 5, EP discloses a latching edge is formed on each of the latching arms 204, 208, a distance between the latching edges being less than a diameter of the circular arc.
Regarding claim 6, EP discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one temperature sensor is embedded in a material of the sensor mount. EP discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one temperature sensor is embedded in a material of the sensor mount. (see column 0057 and 0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify EP to provide such features as taught by Rock so as to provide for easy manufacture.
Regarding claim 8, EP discloses the claimed invention except for the sensor mount comprises a plastic. EP discloses the claimed invention except for the sensor mount comprises a plastic (see column 0057 and 0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify EP to provide such features as taught by Rock so as to provide for easy manufacture.
Regarding claim 11, EP discloses a plug connector part 120, comprising: an electrical contact element configured to establish an electrical contact; and the temperature detection device 100.
Regarding claim 13, EP discloses fastening the at least one temperature sensor 320 to the latching element 200 by the sensor mount.
Regarding claim 14, EP discloses the claimed invention except for the sensor mount is integrally molded onto the latching element by injection molding, and wherein the at least one temperature sensor is overmolded. Rock discloses the sensor mount is integrally molded onto the latching element by injection molding, and wherein the at least one temperature sensor is overmolded, see column 0057, 0064. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify EP to provide such features as taught by Rock so as to provide for easy manufacture.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3,528,349 in view of Rock (U. S. 2021/0249739) and further in view of Klinger (U. S. Patent 7,722,364).
Regarding claim 12, EP and Rock disclose the claimed invention except for the contact element has a circumferential groove at which the latching element of the temperature detection device is latched. Klinger discloses for the contact element has a circumferential groove at which the latching element of the temperature detection device is latched see column 0033). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify EP and Rock to provide such features as taught by Klinger so as to provide for better fix the latch element.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 9, the reasons for allowance are stated in the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) with the amendment have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831