DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 23, 2025 has been entered. Claims 15-16 and 28 have been amended. Claim 18 has been canceled. Therefore, claims 15-16 and 19-28 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed October 23, 2025, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 15 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Iwasaki (US 2019/0103788 A1) and Aitzetmueller et al. (US 10,624,243 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 19-22, 24, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (KR-10-2020-0085166 A) in view of Iwasaki (US 2019/0103788 A1) and Aitzetmueller et al. (US 10,624,243 B2), hereinafter Min, Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller, respectively.
Regarding claim 15, Min teaches a housing unit (inverter module 200) for an inverter (inverter substrate 230) of an electrical refrigerant compressor (compressing unit 105), wherein the housing unit (200) comprises:
a first housing element (first inverter housing 210) and a second housing element (second inverter housing 220), which can be connected to a housing part (compressor module 100) of the refrigerant compressor (105), and in the process form a cavity (inverter room S4) which accommodates the inverter (230), wherein the housing unit (200) further comprises:
at least one plug-connector housing (211 shown in Fig. 4), the at least one plug-connector housing (211) having electrical contact elements (not shown, but these would be inherent in order for the plugs shown to function) for electrically contacting the inverter (230) accommodated in the cavity (S4),
seal elements or a sealing material (fastening member 240 and vibration absorbing member 250), which is/are arranged between the first housing element (210) and the second housing element (220) and the housing part (100) of the refrigerant compressor (105) for dust-tight and fluid-tight sealing (see paragraph spanning pgs. 10 and 11 stating that the vibration absorbing member 250 can perform dustproof and waterproof functions).
Min lacks the specific teaching that the plug-connector housing is integrally molded on
an outside of the housing unit.
Iwasaki teaches a housing unit (resin cover 10 and housing 202) for an inverter (inverters 64A-B) that includes a plug-connector housing (external signal connectors 12C and external power supply connector 14C) that is integrally molded on an outside of the housing unit (from paragraph 0076: “The resin cover 10 is preferably defined by integrally molding the external power supply connector 14C … and the external signal connectors 12C … with a resin material.”).
Min and Iwasaki are both considered to be analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to integrally mold the plug-connector of Min on the outside of the housing unit. Doing so would improve the waterproof and dustproof properties of the housing unit.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the plug-connector housing integral with an outside of the housing unit since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Min fails to teach that electromagnetic shielding for the inverter is accommodated in the cavity in an interior of the housing unit, the electromagnetic shielding comprising metal inserts, wherein the metal inserts are arranged between the inverter and the housing elements, and wherein the metal inserts enclose the inverter and form a closed shell around the inverter when the first housing element and the second housing element are connected to each other.
Aitzetmueller teaches a housing unit (housing 14) for an inverter (circuit board 32) with electromagnetic shielding (see col. 10 lines 47-56) accommodated in a cavity in an interior of the housing unit (housing 14), the electromagnetic shielding comprising metal inserts (shielding plates 69, 70, and 71), wherein the metal inserts (69, 70, and 71) are arranged between the inverter (32) and housing elements (front cover 15 and basic shell 16), and wherein the metal inserts (69, 70, and 71) enclose the inverter (32) and form a closed shell around the inverter (see Figs. 5-6 and col. 10 lines 47-56) when the first housing element (15) and the second housing element (16) are connected to each other.
Aitzetmueller is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to modify the teachings of Min to include metal inserts disposed in the cavity of the housing unit to enclose the inverter. Doing so would shield the inverter from electromagnetic interference.
Regarding claim 19, Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller further teaches the housing unit according to claim 15, wherein a hole (Min: not enumerated, but clearly seen in Figs. 2, 4, 7a, and 9) is formed on a side of the first housing element (Min: 210) facing the housing part (Min: 100) of the refrigerant compressor (Min: 105), the hole allowing contact between the inverter (Min: 230) accommodated in the cavity (Min: S4) of the housing unit (Min: 200) and the housing part (Min: 100) of the refrigerant compressor (Min: 105).
Regarding claim 20, Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller further teaches the housing unit according to claim 15, wherein the first housing element (Min: 210) and the second housing element (Min: 220) are connected to one another and/or to the housing part (Min: 100) of the electrical refrigerant compressor (Min: 105) by screw-fastening, by a latch connection (Min: body portion 241, first 242 and second 243 locking portions), or by welding.
Regarding claim 21, Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller further teaches the housing unit according to claim 15, wherein the sealing material (Min: 240 and 250) is a rubber (see Min pg. 10 paragraph 8 wherein it states that vibration absorbing member 250 may be a rubber gasket), a plastic or a plastic foam (see Min pg. 10 paragraph 6 stating that fastening member 240 may be formed of plastic), which is attached fixedly to the first housing element (Min: 210) and the second housing element (Min: 220) by adhesive bonding or by injection-moulding (see Min pg. 10, paragraph 6 stating that fastening member 240 may be formed through injection molding).
Regarding claim 22, Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller further teaches the housing unit according to claim 15, wherein the sealing material (Min: 240 and 250) is a 2-component plastic having an elastic plastic component (see Min pg. 10, paragraph 6 stating that fastening member 240 may be plastic; see Min pg. 10, paragraph 8 stating that vibration absorbing member 250 may be made of an elastic material).
Regarding claim 24, Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller further teaches the housing unit according to claim 15, wherein the cavity (Min: S4) is formed with a moulding (Min: top of 210) formed on the first housing element (Min: 210), wherein the second housing element (Min: 220) forms a cover which covers at least the moulding of the first housing element (Min: 210), in which the inverter (Min: 230) is accommodated (see Min Figs. 3-4 showing 220 covering molding of 210).
Regarding claim 27, Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller teaches all of the limitations of claim 22 as stated above. Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller further teaches the housing unit according to claim 22, wherein the at least one plug-connector housing (Min: 211; Iwasaki: 12C and 14C) having the electrical contact elements for electrically contacting the inverter (Min: 230; Iwasaki: 64A-B) accommodated in the cavity (Min: S4) is moulded on the second housing element and/or on the first housing element (see Min Figs. 1-2 and 4 showing 211 disposed on first inverter housing 210; see Iwasaki paragraph 0076 stating that 12C and 14C are may be integrally molded on resin cover 10).
Regarding claim 28, Min teaches a housing unit (200) for an inverter (230) of an electrical refrigerant compressor (105), wherein the housing unit (200) comprises:
a first housing element (210) and a second housing element (220), which can be connected to a housing part (100) of the refrigerant compressor (105) and in the process form a cavity (S4) which accommodates the inverter (230), wherein the housing unit (200) further comprises:
at least one plug-connector housing (211), the at least one plug-connector housing (211) having electrical contact elements (not shown, but these would be inherent in order for the plugs shown to function) for electrically contacting the inverter (230) accommodated in the cavity (S4),
seal elements or a sealing material (240 and 250), which is/are arranged between the first housing element (210) and the second housing element (220) and the housing part (100) of the refrigerant compressor (105) for dust-tight and fluid-tight sealing (see paragraph spanning pgs. 10 and 11 stating that the vibration absorbing member 250 can perform dustproof and waterproof functions).
Min lacks the specific teaching that the plug-connector housing is integrally molded on
an outside of the housing unit as a single piece from a material forming each of housing elements.
Iwasaki teaches a housing unit (resin cover 10 and housing 202) for an inverter (inverters 64A-B) that includes a plug-connector housing (external signal connectors 12C and external power supply connector 14C) that is integrally molded on an outside of the housing unit (from paragraph 0076: “The resin cover 10 is preferably defined by integrally molding the external power supply connector 14C … and the external signal connectors 12C … with a resin material.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to modify the teachings of Min by making the plug-connector housing integral with an outside of the first housing element. Doing so would improve the waterproof and dustproof properties of the housing unit.
Additionally, this modification would have been obvious since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
It would also be obvious to make the second housing element of Min out of the same material as the resin cover of Iwasaki since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Min fails to teach electromagnetic shielding for the inverter accommodated in the cavity in an interior of the housing unit.
Aitzetmueller teaches a housing unit (housing 14) for an inverter (circuit board 32) with electromagnetic shielding (see col. 10 lines 47-56) accommodated in a cavity in an interior of the housing unit (housing 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to modify the teachings of Min to include electromagnetic shielding in the cavity of the housing unit. Doing so would shield the inverter from electromagnetic interference.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min, Iwasaki, and Aitzetmueller as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (KR 10-2016-0104397 A), hereinafter Kang.
Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller lack the specific teaching that the first housing element and the second housing element are formed from electrically conductive plastic.
Kang teaches a housing unit (inverter housing 10) for an inverter of an electrical refrigerant compressor (compressor 100) that is formed from electrically conductive plastic (see pg. 3, paragraph 2 describing an electromagnetic wave shielding film that may be attached to the plastic surface of inverter housing 10).
Kang is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to make the first and second housing elements taught by Min out of plastic coated in an electromagnetic wave shielding film. Doing so would provide a light-weight housing for the inverter that is also capable of electromagnetic shielding.
Claims 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Fukuda et al. (US 2019/0089228 A1), hereinafter Fukuda.
Regarding claim 23, Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 as stated above. Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller lack the specific teaching that the sealing material between the first housing element and the second housing element is a melt which is formed from a material forming the first housing element and the second housing element during welding of contact faces of the first housing element and the second housing element.
Fukuda teaches a housing unit for an inverter (inverter equipment 20) of an electrical refrigerant compressor (electric compressor 1) wherein the housing unit (20) comprises a first housing element (lid 30) and a second housing element (inverter case 21). The first (30) and second (21) housing elements are welded together (see paragraph 0118 stating inverter case 21 and lid 30 are joined by welding).
Fukuda is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to weld the first and second housing elements together. Welding the first and second housing elements together would provide a strong, dust-proof, and water-tight seal.
Regarding claim 26, Min in view of Iwasaki, Aitzetmueller, and Fukuda teaches all of the limitations of claim 23 as stated above. Min in view of Iwasaki, Aitzetmueller, and Fukuda disclose each and every structural element of the second housing element (Min 220; Fukuda 21) set forth in the claims.
Min and Fukuda teach second housing elements, but are silent as to the method that they are made. The claimed phrase “a cast part or a punched metal part” is being treated as a product by process limitation; that is, that the second housing element is made by casting or metal punching. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product-by-process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP 2113.
Thus, even though Min and Fukuda are silent as to the process used to create the second housing element, it appears that the product in these references would be the same or similar as that claimed.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Kang.
Min in view of Iwasaki and Aitzetmueller teaches all of the limitations of claim 24 as stated above. Min and Aitzetmueller are silent as to the material comprising the first and second housing elements. The first housing element disclosed in Iwasaki is made of resin, which could be plastic.
Kang teaches a housing unit (inverter housing 10) for an inverter of an electrical refrigerant compressor (compressor 100) that is formed from plastic (see pg. 3, paragraph 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the first housing element and/or the second housing element out of plastic or metal, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/R.T.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2841/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841