DETAILED ACTION
Priority
3. This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2021/013547 10/04/2021.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2020-0128620 10/06/2020 filed on 04/03/23.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), filed on 05/12/26 has been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 and species i) repeating unit of alkali-soluble resin (representing species and subspecies):Formula (1), wherein R¹ and R² are each H, X¹ is Formula (A), X² is aryl group (phenyl), A¹ and A² are each independently Formula (C) or Formula (D) and the ratio of Formula (C) to Formula (D) is 1:9 to 9:1 in a polymer chain of the resin, R³ and R⁴ are H, R⁷ and R⁸ are H, Y1 and Y² are Formula (E), R¹¹ is H, and L¹ is a single bond, as disclosed in Synthesis Examples 1 to 3, ii) reactive unsaturated compound resin (representing species and subspecies): Formula (2), wherein Z₁ to Z₄ are Formula (G), t is 1, L4 is alkylene group (methylene), Y₃ is Formula (H), and R₂₁ is H, as disclosed in Synthesis Example 37, iii) photoinitiator (representing species and subspecies): Formula (3), wherein U1 is 1, Uз is o, L₅ is Formula (J), R₃₁ is methyl group, L6 is carbonyl group (benzoyl), L7 is aryloxy group (methoxynaphthyl), as disclosed in Synthesis Examples 38 to 40, and iv) colorant: black pigment in the reply filed on 06/04/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-15 are pending and claims 12-15 are directed to non-elected invention. Accordingly, claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 C.F.R. §1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-11 are examined in this Office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-15 of copending Application No. 18/658162. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claimed invention and copending claims are directed to a photosensitive resin composition comprising an alkali-soluble resin; a reactive unsaturated compound; a photoinitiator having a maximum molar absorption coefficient of 10,000 (L/mol-cm) or more in the region of 320 nm to 380 nm and a loss of 5 wt% at 200°C or less, and a solvent, wherein the instant claim 1 require colorant while copending claim 1 discloses reactive dye (read on instant claimed colorant).
Dependent claims 2-11 are same as copending claims 7-15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Idei (US 2016/0004154).
Regarding claim 1, Idei discloses a photosensitive resin composition comprising an alkali-soluble resin; a reactive unsaturated compound; a photoinitiator in which the molar absorption coefficient 5,000 to 200,000 at 365 nm and a 5% weight loss occurs at 120 °C; a colorant; and a solvent (para [0026], [0118], [0287], [0381], [0403], [428]), fall into claimed 320 to 380 nm, 200 °C or below, and encompassing claimed molar absorption coefficient 10,000.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the photosensitive resin composition, wherein Idei discloses molar absorption coefficient 5,000 to 200,000, encompassing the requirement of claim 1. It is well-settled that where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 5, Idei discloses a photopolymerizable compound containing unsaturated groups in an amount of 2.0% to 30% by mass (para [0357]-[0359]), fall into claimed range of 1 to 40 wt% (mass approx. wt).
Regarding claim 6, Idei discloses a photopolymerizable compounds include
and n is 0-1 (para [0321]; incorporated reference JP2013/29760, para [0227]-[0231]).
Regarding claims 7-8, Idei discloses colorants such as inorganic or organic pigments in an amount of 25% by mass or more (para [0314], [0534]), overlapping claimed range of 5 to 40 wt% (mass approx. wt).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the photosensitive resin composition, wherein Idei discloses colorants such as inorganic or organic pigments in an amount of 25% by mass or more, overlapping the requirement of claim 7. See In re Wertheim regarding prima facie cases with overlapping ranges (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) See MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claim 9, Idei discloses photoinitiators in an amount of 1 to 20% by mass (para [0384]), overlapping claimed range of 0.01 to 10 wt% (mass approx. wt).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists for the photosensitive resin composition, wherein Idei photoinitiators in an amount of 1 to 20% by mass, overlapping the requirement of claim 9. See In re Wertheim regarding prima facie cases with overlapping ranges (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) See MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claim 10, Idei discloses the photoinitiator such as
Conclusion
(para [0379]).
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Idei as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (WO2019078566; for English translation US 2020/0241415 applied).
Idei includes the features of claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 2-4, Idei does not disclose the claims 2-4 features.
However, Lee discloses a photosensitive resin composition comprising resin having improved adhesiveness and cohesion of the formula
(para [0004], [0040]-[0059]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of invention, to modify Idei with the resin of Lee. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Lee that to do so would improve adhesiveness and cohesion.
Conclusion
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766