DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (USPUB 2017/0054328).
As to Claim 14, Jung discloses a charging circuit, comprising a first power supply terminal, a second power supply terminal, a controller, a first switch, a second switch, a first charging chip, and a second charging chip, wherein the first charging chip comprises a charging protocol negotiation circuit, an on-the-go OTG circuit, and a selection switch (Paragraph 127); the second charging chip supports a fast charging protocol; the first power supply terminal is coupled to the first charging chip through the first switch and coupled to the second charging chip through the second switch, and the first power supply terminal is configured to be coupled to a power supply terminal of a charger; the first charging chip and the second charging chip are further coupled to the second power supply terminal, and the second power supply terminal is configured to be coupled to a battery; and the charging protocol negotiation circuit is configured to be coupled to a communication terminal of the charger (Figure 4, Elements 421, 425, 432, 434); the charging protocol negotiation circuit is configured to communicate with the charger to determine that the charger supports the fast charging protocol; the controller is configured to control the first switch to open, control the second switch to close, and control the selection switch to couple the charging protocol negotiation circuit to the battery through the OTG circuit, so that the battery supplies power to the charging protocol negotiation circuit through the OTG circuit; and the charging protocol negotiation circuit is further configured to control, based on the fast charging protocol, the charger to increase a charging voltage, to fast charge the battery by using the second charging chip (Paragraphs 129-132).
As to Claim 15, Jung discloses the charging circuit according to claim 14, wherein after fast charging ends, the first charging chip is further configured to control the charger to decrease a charging voltage; and the controller is further configured to control the first switch to close, control the second switch to open, and control the first charging chip to obtain power from the charger and charge the battery (Figure 5A-5H and Paragraph 136).
As to Claim 19, Jung discloses an electronic device, comprising the charging circuit according to claim 14 and a battery, wherein the charging circuit is configured to charge the battery (Figure 4, Element 410).
As to Claim 20, Jung discloses a charging control method, applied to an electric device comprising a battery and a charging circuit configured to charge the battery, wherein the charging circuit comprises a controller, a first switch, a second switch, a first charging chip, and a second charging chip, the first charging chip comprises a charging protocol negotiation circuit, an on-the-go OTG circuit, and a selection switch, the second charging chip supports a fast charging protocol, and the method comprises (Paragraph 127): communicating , by the charging protocol negotiation circuit, with a charger to determine that the charger supports the fast charging protocol; controlling, by the controller, the first switch to disconnect the first charging chip from the charger, controlling the second switch to connect the second charging chip to the charger, and controlling the selection switch to couple the charging protocol negotiation circuit to the battery through the OTG circuit, supply power from the battery to the charging protocol negotiation circuit through the OTG circuit; and controlling, by the charging protocol negotiation circuit based on the fast charging protocol, the charger to increase a charging voltage, to fast charge the battery by using the second charging chip (Paragraphs 129-132).
As to Claim 21, Jung discloses the method according to claim 20, further comprising: after fast charging ends, controlling, by the first charging chip, the charger to decrease a charging voltage; and controlling, by the controller, the first switch to connect the first charging chip to the charger, controlling the second switch to disconnect the second charging chip from the charger, and controlling the first charging chip to obtain power from the charger and charge the battery (Figure 5A-5H and Paragraph 136).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859