DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2023 and 08/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “The Office Action has not demonstrated that a serious search and/or examination burden would arise as a result of searching and/or examining the identified inventions together. For example, the Office Action has not demonstrated that Groups I and II are mutually exclusive…” This argument is not persuasive because the present application is filed under 35 U.S.C. § 371 and no showing of serious search burden, examination burden or mutually exclusivity is required.
Applicant also alleges that the Office Action has not demonstrated that the prior art applicable to Group I would not also be applicable to Group II or Group III. It appears that applicant is saying that the examination of Group I, Group II, and Group III would be coextensive. Such allegations rely on the unsupported assumptions. Further, no showing of prior art applicability to all groups is required in an application filed under 35 U.S.C. § 371.
As previously disclosed, the examiner maintains that the instant application lacks unity of invention as it fails to provide a special technical feature for the reasons disclosed in the restriction requirement dated 09/25/2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/25/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elsbree et al. (hereinafter Elsbree) US 2003/0107588.
Regarding claim 1, Elsbree discloses an apparatus for bioprocess monitoring (mass flow controller or chemical reactor, [0057]) , the apparatus comprising: a controller (PLC 210, [0041]) to monitor a first bioprocess instrument; a data logger to collect data for the first bioprocess instrument, (TrendWorX32 is a powerful collection of real-time trending, historical data logging, reporting and analysis tools, which seamlessly integrates with enterprise-wide information systems. [0068]), a configurator (ToolWorX or TrendWorX32) to configure the first bioprocess instrument [0030, 0064-0065 and 0068] and a user interface (user interface 322, [0050]) to display the collected data to a user (display terminal 304), the collected data including real-time [0064-0065] bioprocess monitoring data. See [0039-0087]. Also see whole document.
As to the collected data including data collected while the first bioprocess instrument is transferred from a first location to a second location; the controller to adjust a setting of the first bioprocess instrument based on the monitoring data, the monitoring data used to maintain controlled environmental conditions within a vessel of the instrument during ongoing processing when the instrument is in transit from the first location to the second location; and to operate in a first mode at the first location and in a second mode at the second location, the first or second mode determined based on a type of processing at the first or second location, the device disclosed by Elsbree is structurally the same as the instantly claimed. Thus, in the absence of further positively recited structure the device of Elsbree is capable of providing the operating conditions as listed in the intended use section of the claim in view of [0041-0042, 0050, 0068 and 0076] .
It is noted that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does or how it is to be used. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 above is relied upon. The first bioprocess instrument of Elsbree appears to be stationary. Therefore, Elsbree discloses wherein the collected data includes data collected while the first bioprocess instrument is stationary.
Regarding claim 4, Elsbree discloses wherein the first bioprocess instrument includes a bioreactor and a pump [0064 and [0066].
Regarding claim 5, Elsbree discloses wherein the monitoring data includes a temperature, [0061, 0066 and 0078].
Regarding claim 6, Elsbree discloses wherein the controller is a programmable logic controller [0041].
Regarding claim 7, Elsbree discloses a mass flow controller that both measures and controls the flow of a fluid in [0057, 0064 and 0066]. The contents of the mass flow controller depend on the intended use of the apparatus, which in turn does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. See MPEP § 2114, Therefore, the first bioprocess instrument of Elsbree is capable of transferring intermediate products, buffers, or cell culture media from the first location to the second location.
Regarding claim 8, Elsbree discloses wherein the controller is to generate an alarm notification when the collected data deviates from a tolerance limit for a nominal value [0042, 0045, 0076 and 0083-0084].
Regarding claim 9, Elsbree discloses wherein the data logger is to receive the data from the first bioprocess instrument using a wireless transmitter-receiver in communication with the first bioprocess instrument [0043, 0062-0063, 0066 and 0083-0084].
Regarding claim 10, the device disclosed by Elsbree is structurally the same as the instantly claimed. Thus, in the absence of further positively recited structure the device of Elsbree is capable of providing a variety of operating conditions (i.e., the first mode includes a first operating condition and the second mode includes a second operating condition, the first and second operating conditions determined based on a type of bioprocess task to be performed by the first bioprocess instrument, the bioprocess task being a downstream processing task or an upstream processing task.) in view of [0041, 0045 and 0061].
It is noted that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does or how it is to be used. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 above is relied upon. The first bioprocess instrument of Elsbree is capable of being used for a first batch process, the first and second locations corresponding to locations serving the first batch process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsbree US 2003/0107588 as applied to claims 1 and 3-11 above, and further in view of Cannon et al. (hereinafter Cannon) US 2020/0172852.
Regarding claim 2, Elsbree discloses a settings modifier (computer 10) to modify a setting of the instrument based on the first mode or the second mode; and an operating condition identifier (sensors) to determine an operating condition of the instrument, the operating condition based on the first mode or the second mode [0041].
As to a locator to determine a location of the instrument, Elsbree discloses that sensors are attached to the device. However, Elsbree does not explicitly disclose that the sensor is a proximity/location sensor.
Cannon discloses the use of proximity sensors, and RFID devices to provide location information [0009, 0042, 0158 and 0160].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Elsbree with the proximity sensors and RFID devices as taught by Cannon in order to keep track of large laboratory equipment such as instruments, refrigerators, liquid nitrogen tanks, etc., so that if one of these is removed or replaced by another piece of equipment, that change will be recorded.
Regarding claim 12, Elsbree discloses wherein the controller is to monitor the first bioprocess instrument and a second bioprocess instrument, the first instrument used for a first batch process and the second bioprocess instrument used for a second batch process[0041, 0064 and 0068]. Elsbree also discloses sensors attached to the devices however, Elsbree does not explicitly disclose that the sensor is a proximity/location sensor.
Elsbree also does not disclose that the controller is used to determine a change in location of the first or second bioprocess instrument.
Cannon discloses the use of proximity sensors, and RFID devices to provide location information [0009, 0042, 0158 and 0160].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Elsbree with the proximity sensors and RFID devices as taught by Cannon in order to keep track of large laboratory equipment such as instruments, refrigerators, liquid nitrogen tanks, etc., so that if one of these is removed or replaced by another piece of equipment, that change will be recorded. Thereby, providing a means for the controller to determine a change in location of the first or second bioprocess instrument.
Regarding claim 13, Elsbree discloses wherein the controller is to monitor the first bioprocess instrument and a second bioprocess instrument, the first instrument used for a first batch process and the second bioprocess instrument used for a second batch process[0041, 0064 and 0068]. Elsbree also discloses sensors attached to the devices however, Elsbree does not explicitly disclose that the sensor is a proximity/location sensor. Elsbree also does not disclose that the controller determines the change in location of the first or second bioprocess instrument based on a type of batch process, a number of bioprocess instruments available, or a location of collection points for the first batch process or the second batch process.
Cannon discloses the use of proximity sensors, and RFID devices to provide location information [0009, 0042, 0158 and 0160].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Elsbree with the proximity sensors and RFID devices as taught by Cannon in order to keep track of large laboratory equipment such as instruments, refrigerators, liquid nitrogen tanks, etc., so that if one of these is removed or replaced by another piece of equipment, that change will be recorded. Thereby, providing a means for the controller to determine the change in location of the first or second bioprocess instrument based on a type of batch process, a number of bioprocess instruments available, or a location of collection points for the first batch process or the second batch process.
Claims 1 and 3-11 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsbree US 2003/0107588 in view of Mao et al. (hereinafter Mao) CN 105543085 cited in the IDS filed 04/03/2023.
Regarding claim 1, Elsbree discloses an apparatus for bioprocess monitoring (mass flow controller or chemical reactor, [0057]) , the apparatus comprising: a controller (PLC 210, [0041]) to monitor a first bioprocess instrument; a data logger to collect data for the first bioprocess instrument, (TrendWorX32 is a powerful collection of real-time trending, historical data logging, reporting and analysis tools, which seamlessly integrates with enterprise-wide information systems. [0068]), and a user interface (user interface 322, [0050]) to display the collected data to a user (display terminal 304), the collected data including real-time [0064-0065] bioprocess monitoring data. See [0039-0087].
Assuming arguendo that one of ordinary skill would not consider ToolWorX or TrendWorX32 of Elsbree to be a configurator to configure the first bioprocess instrument.
Mao disclose the use of a LabVIEW computer. See whole document. LabVIEW is well known in the art to function a configurator. Therefore, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in to make a simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e., modifying Elsbree with LabVIEW computer as taught by Mao) motivated by an expectation of success.
As to the collected data including data collected while the first bioprocess instrument is transferred from a first location to a second location; the controller to adjust a setting of the first bioprocess instrument based on the monitoring data, the monitoring data used to maintain controlled environmental conditions within a vessel of the instrument during ongoing processing when the instrument is in transit from the first location to the second location; and to operate in a first mode at the first location and in a second mode at the second location, the first or second mode determined based on a type of processing at the first or second location, the device disclosed by the combination of Elsbree and Mao is structurally the same as the instantly claimed. Thus, in the absence of further positively recited structure the device of combination of Elsbree and Mao is capable of providing the operating conditions as listed in the intended use section of the claim in view of [0041-0042, 0050, 0068 and 0076 of Elsbree].
It is noted that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does or how it is to be used. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 above is relied upon. The first bioprocess instrument of Elsbree appears to be stationary. Therefore, Elsbree discloses wherein the collected data includes data collected while the first bioprocess instrument is stationary.
Regarding claim 4, Elsbree discloses wherein the first bioprocess instrument includes a bioreactor and a pump [0064 and [0066].
Regarding claim 5, Elsbree discloses wherein the monitoring data includes a temperature, [0061, 0066 and 0078].
Regarding claim 6, Elsbree discloses wherein the controller is a programmable logic controller [0041].
Regarding claim 7, Elsbree discloses a mass flow controller that both measures and controls the flow of a fluid in [0057, 0064 and 0066]. The contents of the mass flow controller depend on the intended use of the apparatus, which in turn does not patentably distinguish it from the prior art. See MPEP § 2114, Therefore, the first bioprocess instrument of Elsbree is capable of transferring intermediate products, buffers, or cell culture media from the first location to the second location.
Regarding claim 8, Elsbree discloses wherein the controller is to generate an alarm notification when the collected data deviates from a tolerance limit for a nominal value [0042, 0045, 0076 and 0083-0084].
Regarding claim 9, Elsbree discloses wherein the data logger is to receive the data from the first bioprocess instrument using a wireless transmitter-receiver in communication with the first bioprocess instrument [0043, 0062-0063, 0066 and 0083-0084].
Regarding claim 10, the device disclosed by combination of Elsbree and Mao is structurally the same as the instantly claimed. Thus, in the absence of further positively recited structure the device of combination of Elsbree and Mao is capable of providing a variety of operating conditions (i.e., the first mode includes a first operating condition and the second mode includes a second operating condition, the first and second operating conditions determined based on a type of bioprocess task to be performed by the first bioprocess instrument, the bioprocess task being a downstream processing task or an upstream processing task.) in view of [0041, 0045 and 0061 of Elsbree].
It is noted that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does or how it is to be used. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP § 2114.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 above is relied upon. The first bioprocess instrument of combination of Elsbree and Mao is capable of being used for a first batch process, the first and second locations corresponding to locations serving the first batch process.
Claims 2 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsbree US 2003/0107588 in view of Mao CN 105543085 as applied to claims 1 and 3-11 above, and further in view of Cannon et al. (hereinafter Cannon) US 2020/0172852.
Regarding claim 2, Elsbree as modified discloses a settings modifier (computer 10) to modify a setting of the instrument based on the first mode or the second mode; and an operating condition identifier (sensors) to determine an operating condition of the instrument, the operating condition based on the first mode or the second mode [0041].
As to a locator to determine a location of the instrument, Elsbree as modified discloses that sensors are attached to the device. However, Elsbree as modified does not explicitly disclose that the sensor is a proximity/location sensor.
Cannon discloses the use of proximity sensors, and RFID devices to provide location information [0009, 0042, 0158 and 0160].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Elsbree and Mao the proximity sensors and RFID devices as taught by Cannon in order to keep track of large laboratory equipment such as instruments, refrigerators, liquid nitrogen tanks, etc., so that if one of these is removed or replaced by another piece of equipment, that change will be recorded.
Regarding claim 12, Elsbree as modified discloses wherein the controller is to monitor the first bioprocess instrument and a second bioprocess instrument, the first instrument used for a first batch process and the second bioprocess instrument used for a second batch process[0041, 0064 and 0068]. Elsbree as modified also discloses sensors attached to the devices. However, Elsbree as modified does not explicitly disclose that the sensor is a proximity/location sensor.
Elsbree as modified also does not disclose that the controller is used to determine a change in location of the first or second bioprocess instrument.
Cannon discloses the use of proximity sensors, and RFID devices to provide location information [0009, 0042, 0158 and 0160].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Elsbree and Mao with the proximity sensors and RFID devices as taught by Cannon in order to keep track of large laboratory equipment such as instruments, refrigerators, liquid nitrogen tanks, etc., so that if one of these is removed or replaced by another piece of equipment, that change will be recorded. Thereby, providing a means for the controller to determine a change in location of the first or second bioprocess instrument.
Regarding claim 13, Elsbree as modified discloses wherein the controller is to monitor the first bioprocess instrument and a second bioprocess instrument, the first instrument used for a first batch process and the second bioprocess instrument used for a second batch process[0041, 0064 and 0068]. Elsbree as modified also discloses sensors attached to the devices however, Elsbree as modified does not explicitly disclose that the sensor is a proximity/location sensor. Elsbree as modified also does not disclose that the controller determines the change in location of the first or second bioprocess instrument based on a type of batch process, a number of bioprocess instruments available, or a location of collection points for the first batch process or the second batch process.
Cannon discloses the use of proximity sensors, and RFID devices to provide location information [0009, 0042, 0158 and 0160].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Elsbree and Mao with the proximity sensors and RFID devices as taught by Cannon in order to keep track of large laboratory equipment such as instruments, refrigerators, liquid nitrogen tanks, etc., so that if one of these is removed or replaced by another piece of equipment, that change will be recorded. Thereby, providing a means for the controller to determine the change in location of the first or second bioprocess instrument based on a type of batch process, a number of bioprocess instruments available, or a location of collection points for the first batch process or the second batch process.
Conclusion
/LYDIA EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796