DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonell (EP 1902923) in view of Sloman (WO 02/060738) and Olivier (WO 2020025390).
Regarding to claims 1, 14, 16:
Antonell teaches a method for monitoring a railway track, the method comprising:
detecting a first monitoring signal by a distributed acoustic sensor at an initial position while a rail vehicle passes the initial position, wherein the distributed acoustic sensor is arranged along the track; detecting a second monitoring signal by the distributed acoustic sensor at at least one predefined position along the track while a rail vehicle passes the predefined position (FIG. 1 shows the distributed sensors 4-5 arranged along the track 2. The sensor 4 is at the entry of a block section (initial position) and the sensor 5 is at the exit of the block section (predefined position) (paragraph [0007]), wherein the signals associating with the sensors 4-5 read on the claimed first and second monitoring signals); and
comparing the first monitoring signal and the second monitoring signal with each other, wherein:
the first monitoring signal comprises features that each relate to one axle of the rail vehicle passing the initial position and the second monitoring signal comprises features that each relate to one axle of the rail vehicle passing the predefined position (paragraph 0050]: Each sensor (4, 5) associates with a counter that is activated when the passage of the axle is detected to count the number of axles passing the sensor. The number in the counters then are compared to detect the state of occupation of the block section); and
comparing the first monitoring signal and the second monitoring signal with each other comprises counting the features relating to axles of the respective passing rail vehicle for the first monitoring signal and the second monitoring signal (paragraph [0007]: The axle-count equipment compares the number of axles measured at entry to section with the one measured at exit),
wherein from the comparison of the first monitoring signal and the second monitoring signal, it is determined if the passing rail vehicle has a same number of axles at the predefined position as at the initial position (paragraph [0007]: The block section is free if the axles counted at entry to the section are equal in number to the axles counted at the exit from the section), and
wherein integrity of the rail vehicle passing the initial position is confirmed by personal of the respective rail vehicle or by an external device (pagraph [0007]: The integrity of the vehicle passing the sensors is determined based on the numbers of counted axles by the sensors).
Antonell however does not teach wherein the predefined position is a position along the railway track where an amplitude of a monitoring signal is increased in comparison to other regions of the railway track.
Sloman discloses a method for detecting damage in a railway track by detecting the sound (a monitoring signal) by the railway track as a result of a vehicle running on the track (Abstract), wherein the change in the sound amplitude, such as a significant increase or a spike in the amplitude, indicates abnormalities/damage in the railway track (page 5, 5th paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Antonell’s method to include pre-inspecting the railway track to obtain a change of a monitoring signal, such as the increase in the sound from the railway track, indicating an abnormal/damaged section of the railway track (as disclosed by Sloman (Abstract)) as a predefined position needed a further inspection to ensure the quality of the railway track.
Antonell also does not teach wherein comparing the first monitoring signal and the second monitoring signal with each other further comprises calculating a correlation between the first monitoring signal and the second monitoring signal.
Olivier discloses a method and system for inspecting a rail instrumented by sensors located at different positions on the rail (FIG. 3: C1-C4), wherein the sensors output corresponding measured signals when a train traveling on the rail passes the sensors. The method comprises performing an inter-correlation calculation between the measured signals to analyze the amplitude, frequency, signal shape, and frequency spectrum to characterize the rail defects (page 5, 6th paragraph and page 6, 7th paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Antonell’s method to performing the correlation calculation between the measured signals in order to characterize the rail defects as taught by Olivier (page 5, 6th paragraph and page 6, 7th paragraph).
Antonell also discloses the following claims:
Regarding to claim 7: wherein the distributed acoustic sensor comprises an optical fiber arranged along the track and the monitoring signals are backscattered signals of an input signal which is provided to the optical fiber, wherein the position of a rail vehicle moving on the track is provided (paragraph [0020]: The system uses an optical fiber 3 comprising at least two sensors (4-5) arranged along the rail 2, wherein the signals associate with the sensors 4-5 indicate the components of light back-reflected by the sensors 4-5 to acquire the information on the direction of travel and position of the railway vehicles (Abstract)).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Antonell (EP 1902923) in view of Sloman (WO 02/060738) and Olivier (WO 2020025390), and further in view of Jian et al. (WO 2014/032390).
Antonell, as modified, discloses the claimed invention as discussed above except wherein the method is carried out for a plurality of predefined positions.
Jian et al. discloses a railway track monitoring system comprising a plurality of sensors for monitoring the railway track at a plurality of positions (FIG. 1: The sensors 5 arranged along the railway 8 for monitoring the railway at a plurality of positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Antonell’s method, as modified, to arrange a plurality of sensors at a plurality of positions along the railway to monitor the railway to improve the traveling safety as taught by Jian et al. (Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LAM S NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853