DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2020-0139612, filed on 10/26/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8-9 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (WO2019117342A1 – foreign copy provided; US20200358047A1 used as English-equivalent – see IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a secondary battery [pars. 0031-33,0039-40,0048; Figs. 1A-2B] comprising:
an electrode assembly 120;
a case 110 in which the electrode assembly is accommodated; and
a cap assembly 140 which is coupled to the top of the case and comprises a cap-up 141 having opening 141d, a safety vent 143 provided under the cap-up and having a notch 143d to be ruptured at a predetermined pressure or higher, and a cap-down 146 provided under the safety vent and electrically connected to the electrode assembly,
wherein the notch is exposed through the opening.
Regarding Claim 8, Kim discloses wherein a gas vent hole 146b located below the notch is formed in the cap-down [par. 0039; Figs. 2A,B].
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses the battery further comprising a gasket 148 positioned between the cap assembly and the case [pars. 0039-40; Figs. 2A-2B].
Claim(s) 1-9 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim 2 (US20110008654A1 – see IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim 2 discloses a secondary battery 100 [pars. 0073-78,0082,0085, Figs. 5,15-17] comprising:
an electrode assembly 110;
a case 200 in which the electrode assembly is accommodated; and
a cap assembly 300 which is coupled to the top of the case and comprises a cap-up 310 having opening 312, a safety vent 320 provided under the cap-up and having a notch 324 to be ruptured at a predetermined pressure or higher, and a cap-down 600 provided under the safety vent and electrically connected to the electrode assembly (i.e., via lead 420),
wherein the notch is exposed through the opening.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim 2 discloses wherein the area of the opening includes an inner area positioned inside the notch and an outer area positioned outside the notch based on the line where the notch is formed, and the inner area is larger than the outer area (best seen in Fig. 15).
Regarding Claim 4, Kim 2 discloses wherein the cap-up includes a terminal portion protruding upward [par. 0076; Fig. 5], a coupling portion positioned on an outer periphery of the terminal portion and coupled to the safety vent (i.e., the outermost periphery of the cap-up which is coupled to the safety vent via PTC element 350), and a connection portion connecting the terminal portion and the coupling portion, and the opening is formed in the connecting portion [pars. 0074-76; Figs. 5,15].
Regarding Claim 5, Kim 2 discloses wherein an inner area of the opening is determined by a diameter of the terminal portion and a diameter of the notch [Figs. 5,15].
Regarding Claim 6, Kim 2 discloses wherein an outer area of the opening is determined by a diameter of the notch and a diameter of the connecting portion [Figs. 5,15].
Regarding Claim 7, Kim 2 discloses wherein the diameter of the notch is larger than the diameter of the terminal portion and smaller than the diameter of the connecting portion [Figs. 5,15].
Regarding Claim 8, Kim 2 discloses wherein a gas vent hole 610 located below the notch is formed in the cap-down [pars. Figs. 5,8-9,15].
Regarding Claim 9, Kim 2 discloses the battery further comprising a gasket 400 positioned between the cap assembly and the case [par. 0074; Figs. 5,15].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim2, as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 3, Kim 2 discloses wherein the inner area is set to about 55% of the total area of the opening, which is close enough to the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Conclusion
HAROON S. SHEIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751