DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gupta, M.; Kumar, P.; Bahadur, V.; Kumar, K.; Parmar, V. S.; Singh, B. K. Eur. J. Org. Chem. 2018, 896-900 [IDS 7/16/26].
Regarding claims 7 and 10-11: Gupta et al. (Eur. J. Org. Chem. 2018, 896-900) discloses aroylation of N-methylquinolone [Scheme 1, X = N-CH3], wherein N-methylquinolone 6 is reacted with benzaldehyde 7 to afford 8b [Table 4]. Gupta et al. (Eur. J. Org. Chem. 2018, 896-900) discloses 4‐methylbenzaldehyde, 4‐bromobenzaldehyde and 2‐fluorobenzaldehyde as aldehydes 4 [Table 3].
While Gupta et al. (Eur. J. Org. Chem. 2018, 896-900) does not specifically disclose reacting N-methylquinolone 6 with 4‐methylbenzaldehyde, 4‐bromobenzaldehyde and/or 2‐fluorobenzaldehyde as aldehyde 7, if one of ordinary skill in the art is able to “at once envisage” the specific compound within the generic chemical formula, the compound is anticipated. One of ordinary skill in the art must be able to draw the structural formula or write the name of each of the compounds included in the generic formula before any of the compounds can be “at once envisaged.” One may look to the preferred embodiments to determine which compounds can be anticipated. In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 133 USPQ 275 (CCPA 1962) [see MPEP 2131.02].
Note Scheme 1:
[Scheme 1];
8b:
[Table 4];
Reaction of 6 with 4‐methylbenzaldehyde:
[Scheme 1; Tables 3-4];
Reaction of 6 with 4‐bromobenzaldehyde:
[Scheme 1; Tables 3-4];
Reaction 6 with 2‐fluorobenzaldehyde:
[Scheme 1; Tables 3-4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta, M.; Kumar, P.; Bahadur, V.; Kumar, K.; Parmar, V. S.; Singh, B. K. Eur. J. Org. Chem. 2018, 896-900 as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 9: Gupta et al. (Eur. J. Org. Chem. 2018, 896-900) discloses the basic claimed photoinitiator [as set forth above with respect to claim 7]; wherein Gupta et al. (Eur. J. Org. Chem. 2018, 896-900) discloses R as H or OMe [Scheme 1].
A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979) [see MPEP 2144.09].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 18 are allowable.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Tomisawa et al. (Chem. Pharm. Bull. 1974, 22, 2091) discloses the synthesis of 3-benzoyl-1‐methyl-2(1H)‐quinolone (VII). There is no motivation to include 50 to 99.9 wt% of an ethylenically unsaturated compound and 0.1 to 35 wt% of VII. Tomisawa et al. (Chem. Pharm. Bull. 1974, 22, 2091) does not disclose a photoinitiator of formula (Ia) with R’1 as a substituted aryl corresponding to instant claim 7.
Kaya et al. (WO 2004/103974) discloses the compounds are used in medicinal compositions and selectively acts on cannabinoid receptors [abstract]. There is no motivation to include 50 to 99.9 wt% of an ethylenically unsaturated compound and 0.1 to 35 wt% of 2-C-5. Kaya et al. (WO 2004/103974) does not disclose a photoinitiator of formula (Ia) with R’1 as a substituted aryl corresponding to instant claim 7.
Maiti et al. (Synlett 2011, 14, 2001) discloses the synthesis of 6m. There is no motivation to include 50 to 99.9 wt% of an ethylenically unsaturated compound and 0.1 to 35 wt% of 6m. Maiti et al. (Synlett 2011, 14, 2001) does not disclose a photoinitiator of formula (Ia) with R’1 as a substituted aryl corresponding to instant claim 7.
While Gupta, M.; Kumar, P.; Bahadur, V.; Kumar, K.; Parmar, V. S.; Singh, B. K. Eur. J. Org. Chem. 2018, 896-900 discloses aroylation of N-methylquinolone [Scheme 1, X = N-CH3; R1 = aryl], wherein R can be OMe [Scheme 1, R = OMe], Gupta et al. (Eur. J. Org. Chem. 2018, 896-900) does not disclose aroylation of N-methylquinolone having at least two Rs as OMe (instant claim 12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767