CTNF 18/247,779 CTNF 78030 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 19, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Akiyama (JP 2006-339834) [cited in IDS] OR Chiba (JP 2019-216165) [cited in IDS] . Akiyama discloses, regarding, Claim 19, A piezoelectric sensor, comprising: a base substrate 31, and a first electrode layer 21, arranged on the base substrate 31; a piezoelectric thin film layer 33, arranged on a side of the first electrode layer facing away from the base substrate (see Figs. 2, 3); an insulating layer 34, arranged on a side of the piezoelectric thin film layer facing away from the base substrate; and a second electrode layer 35, arranged on a side of the insulating layer facing away from the base substrate; wherein the insulating layer is in contact with at least part of the piezoelectric thin film layer (see Figs. 2, 3). Claim 35, A fabrication method for a piezoelectric sensor, comprising: forming a first electrode layer 32 on a base substrate 31; forming a piezoelectric thin film layer 33 on a side of the first electrode layer facing away from the base substrate; forming an insulating layer 34 being in contact with at least part of the piezoelectric thin film layer on a side of the piezoelectric thin film layer facing away from the first electrode layer; and forming a second electrode layer 35 on a side of the insulating layer facing away from the piezoelectric thin film layer (see Figs. 2, 3). Chiba discloses, regarding, Claim 19, A piezoelectric sensor, comprising: a base substrate 25, and a first electrode layer 27, arranged on the base substrate ; a piezoelectric thin film layer 29, arranged on a side of the first electrode layer facing away from the base substrate (see Figs. 2, 3); an insulating layer (since there is an embedded insulation material facing the upper electrode; see abstract; spec description pertaining to Fig. 3), arranged on a side of the piezoelectric thin film layer facing away from the base substrate; and a second electrode layer 28, arranged on a side of the insulating layer facing away from the base substrate; wherein the insulating layer is in contact with at least part of the piezoelectric thin film layer (see Figs. 2, 3). Claim 35, A fabrication method for a piezoelectric sensor, comprising: forming a first electrode layer 27 on a base substrate 31; forming a piezoelectric thin film layer 29 on a side of the first electrode layer facing away from the base substrate; forming an insulating layer (see abstract; Fig. 3) being in contact with at least part of the piezoelectric thin film layer on a side of the piezoelectric thin film layer facing away from the first electrode layer; and forming a second electrode layer 28 on a side of the insulating layer facing away from the piezoelectric thin film layer (see Figs. 2, 3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 – 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama or Chiba in view of Yamada (JP 2000-351212) [cited in IDS] . Akiyama or Chiba discloses the elements above. It is noted that most of the claim limitations are well-known in the art. In that respect, Yamada discloses, regarding, Claim 20, the piezoelectric thin film layer comprises at least one hollow structure, and each of the at least one hollow structure is filled with the insulating layer (see Fig. 1 and spec description to Fig. 1). Claim 21, an orthographic projection of the piezoelectric thin film layer on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the insulating layer on the base substrate (see Figs. 1, 2). Claim 22, an orthographic projection of the insulating layer on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of the piezoelectric thin film layer on the base substrate overlap each other (see Figs. 1, 2). Claim 23, the insulating layer comprises at least one of polymide, silica, or alumina (see Fig. 3B spec description). Claim 24, a thickness of the insulating layer and a thickness of the piezoelectric thin film layer satisfy a following relationship: dpi <0.1*dPZT; wherein d p i represents the thickness of the insulating layer and dPZT represents the thickness of the piezoelectric thin film layer since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller , 105 USPQ 233. Claim 25, a thickness of the insulating layer is greater than or equal to 50 nm; and the thickness of the insulating layer is less than or equal to 200 nm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller , 105 USPQ 233. Claim 26, a thickness of the piezoelectric thin film layer is greater than 0; and the thickness of the piezoelectric thin film layer is less than or equal to 2micrometer since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller , 105 USPQ 233. Claim 27, a capacitance of the piezoelectric thin film layer and a capacitance of the insulating layer satisfy a following relationship: Cpi100 CPZT; wherein Cpi represents the capacitance of the piezoelectric thin film layer and CPZT represents the capacitance of the insulating layer since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller , 105 USPQ 233. Claim 28, a resistance of the piezoelectric thin film layer and a resistance of the insulating layer satisfy a following relationship: Rei 1000 RPZT; wherein Rei represents the resistance of the piezoelectric thin film layer and RPZT represents the resistance of the insulating layer since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller , 105 USPQ 233. Claim 29, a side of the piezoelectric thin film layer facing away from the base substrate is provided with a lyophilic material layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin , 125 USPQ 416. Claim 30, a material of the piezoelectric thin film layer comprises at least one of aluminum nitride, zinc oxide, lead zirconate titanate, barium titanate, lead titanate, potassium niobate, lithium niobate, lithium tantalate, or lanthanum gallium silicate (see claim 2 of Yamada). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the piezoelectric device as disclosed by Akiyama or Chiba and to disclose the limitations pertaining to Yamada for the purpose of improving the voltage and reliability of a piezoelectric device . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 31, 32, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama or Chiba in view of Lee et al . The combined piezoelectric device discloses all of the elements above. However, the combined piezoelectric device does not disclose the elements below. On the other hand, Lee et al discloses, regarding, Claim 31, a side of the first electrode layer facing the piezoelectric thin film layer is provided with a plurality of first columnar structures TE2, TE1 (see Fig. 4). Claim 32, a side of the second electrode layer facing the piezoelectric thin film layer is provided with a plurality of second columnar structures E2 (see Fig. 4). Claim 33, a side of the first electrode layer facing the piezoelectric thin film layer is provided with a plurality of third columnar structures (see Fig. 4); a side of the second electrode layer facing the piezoelectric thin film layer is provided with a plurality of fourth columnar structures (see Fig. 4); and an orthographic projection of each of the third columnar structures on the base substrate does not overlap with an orthographic projection of each of the fourth columnar structures on the base substrate (see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the piezoelectric device as disclosed by Akiyama or Chiba and to disclose the limitations pertaining to Lee et al for the purpose of improving the repair process of electrodes . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama or Chiba in view of Hamada et al . The combined piezoelectric device discloses all of the elements above. However, the combined piezoelectric device does not disclose the elements below. On the other hand, Hamada et al discloses, regarding, Claim 36, the forming the insulating layer being in contact with at least part of the piezoelectric thin film layer on the side of the piezoelectric thin film layer facing away from the first electrode layer (see Chiba or Yamada above), comprises: coating a polyimide material on a side of the piezoelectric thin film layer facing away from the first electrode layer using a wet process (Hamada et al, 0085); and performing high temperature curing on the polyimide material to form an insulating layer (Hamada et al, 0067) being in contact with at least part of the piezoelectric thin film layer on the side of the piezoelectric thin film layer facing away from the first electrode layer (see Fig. 1A). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the piezoelectric device as disclosed by Akiyama or Chiba and to disclose the limitations pertaining to Hamada et al for the purpose improving the piezoelectric material characteristics . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 34, 37, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama or Chiba and Yamada as applied to claim s 19 – 30 above, and further in view of An et al . Yamada discloses, regarding, Claim 37, the piezoelectric thin film layer comprises at least one hollow structure, and each of the at least one hollow structure is filled with the insulating layer (see Fig. 1). Claim 38, an orthographic projection of the piezoelectric thin film layer on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the insulating layer on the base substrate (see Figs. 1, 2). However, the combined piezoelectric device does not disclose the elements below. On the other hand, An et al discloses, regarding, Claim 34, A haptic feedback device, comprising a haptic feedback circuit and the piezoelectric sensor (see abstract); wherein: the haptic feedback circuit is arranged on a side of the second electrode layer facing away from the first electrode layer (see Fig. 5); or the haptic feedback circuit is arranged on a side of the first electrode layer facing away from the second electrode layer; wherein the haptic feedback circuit is configured to generate a voltage pulse in accordance with a received instruction to cause a structural body to vibrate (see Fig. 5). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the combined piezoelectric device as mentioned above and to disclose the limitations pertaining to An et al for the purpose of minimizing loss of the driving force in an actuator. Examiner Notes The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R – 07.2015] VI. PRIOR MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP ₴ 2123. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Julio C. Gonzalez whose telephone number is (571)272-2024. The examiner can normally be reached M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abdullah Riyami can be reached at 5712703119. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Julio C. Gonzalez/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 2831 February 23, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 2 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 3 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 4 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 5 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 6 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 7 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 8 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 9 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 10 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 11 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 12 Art Unit: 2831 Application/Control Number: 18/247,779 Page 13 Art Unit: 2831