DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
The limitations “first interface means” and “second interface means” as stated in claim 1 invoke interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The application specification further defines the interface means to include one of electromagnets (page 12 line 6), sleeve flanges (page 12 line 13), or gaskets (page 12 line 25). However, the specification goes on to state that there are many possibilities for interface means (page 13 lines 13-15). Due to the open ended specification for what constitutes an “interface means”, for the purposes of this examination, said limitation has been interpreted to mean any structure that results in a sealing connection between two surfaces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the hydrogen peroxide" in line 13 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the hydrogen peroxide" in line 15 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the hydrogen peroxide" in line 17 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fenn (US 5277654 A).
Regarding claim 1, Fenn teaches a cart-window assembly comprising a cart for moving material to/from a clean room (wheeled apparatus for transporting contaminated asbestos workers to decontamination facility, abstract) and at least one window adapted to allow the communication between a dirty space and said clean room (Figure 5 shows the entrance of the decon unit “62” to communicate between the cart “10” and the decon unit “80”); wherein said cart comprises: a compartment (Figure 2 showing interior of transfer enclosure “18”), at least one protected door adapted to alternatively allow accessing the compartment and hermetically closing the compartment (enclosure is provided with latched door, column 5 lines 28-30, and door creates airtight seal when closed and latched, column 5 lines 35-36), a ventilation system (air inlet with HEPA filter and fan to create positive within enclosure, abstract), and first interface means surrounding the protected door (sealing flap extending around door, abstract); wherein said window comprises: a panel which can be alternatively be open or sealing closed (entrance is selectively sealed by a flap seal, column 1 lines 57-58), and second interface means extending along the periphery of the panel wherein the first interface means and the second interface means are mutually complementary and allow the cart to be firmly coupled to the window in a reversible manner, so as to define a gap therebetween which is sealingly closed (sealing flap around cart door has Velcro strap that corresponded to Velcro strip on the decontamination chamber, abstract, Figure 4 front wall of decon chamber “70a” sealingly attached to cart “10” via Velcro straps “64”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenn in view of Kellogg (US 11000613 B1).
Regarding claim 2, Fenn teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the ventilation system of the cart is adapted to create a laminar air flow inside the compartment. However, Kellogg teaches wherein the ventilation system of the cart is adapted to create a laminar flow inside the compartment (laminar air flow system, column 8 lines 7-8).
Fenn and Kellogg are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of transportable clean room devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the transfer cart taught by Fenn with the laminar system taught by Kellogg because Kellogg teaches the laminar air flow system will provide an air curtain that helps protect against airborne pathogens (column 8 lines 11-12).
Regarding claim 3, Fenn teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the cart further comprises a biodecontamination system. However, Kellogg teaches wherein the cart further comprises a biodecontamination system (transportable chamber with airborne sterilizing agent generator, abstract).
Fenn and Kellogg are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the transfer cart taught by Fenn with the biodecontamination system taught by Kellogg because Kellogg teaches that effective sterilization will reduce the risk of microbial borne infections (Column 3 lines 55-56).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fenn and Kellogg teaches all aspects of the current invention including wherein the biodecontamination comprises a lamp adapted to emit an ultraviolet germicidal irradiation (UV sterilized air, column 7 lines 56-57, Kellogg).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Fenn and Kellogg teaches all aspects of the current invention including wherein the biodecontamination system comprises an HP apparatus (hydrogen peroxide generator, column 12 lines 14-15, Kellogg) and a first conduit adapted to introduce a flow of hydrogen peroxide-based HP mixture into the compartment (hydrogen peroxide floods the chamber when the generator is turned on, column 16 lines 7-9, Kellogg).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Fenn and Kellogg teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the cart further comprises one or more main catalysts placed along the ventilation system, downstream of the compartment and adapted to ensure the splitting of the hydrogen peroxide molecules into water and oxygen. However, Kellogg further teaches one or more main catalysts placed along the ventilation system (Figure 3 catalytic converter placed in the air return register “115” downstream of the chamber “100”), downstream of the compartment and adapted to ensure the splitting of the hydrogen peroxide molecules into water and oxygen (catalyst degrade hydrogen peroxide into water and oxygen, column 14 lines 34-35).
Fenn and Kellogg are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the sterilizing transfer cart taught by Fenn and Kellogg with the catalyst taught by Kellogg because Kellogg teaches running the air through the catalyst allows the air in the chamber to be suitable for occupancy again (column 16 lines 24-26).
Regarding claim 8, while the combination of Fenn and Kellogg does not explicitly teach a third conduit for hydrogen peroxide distribution or one or more ancillary catalyst, it has been established that the duplication of parts is not sufficient to differentiate an invention over prior art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide additional hydrogen peroxide conduits to achieve the desired decontamination gas distribution and additional catalysts to achieve occupancy suitability (See MPEP 2144.04 VI (B)). Additionally, Kellogg teaches the entire system is transportable which would include the catalyst (abstract). Moreover, the making of a part separable is not sufficient to differentiate prior art. Therefore it would have been obvious to make the ancillary catalyst removeable to achieve the needed exhaust support as necessary (See MPEP 2144.04 V (C)).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenn.
Regarding claim 7, Fenn teaches wherein the cart comprises a second conduit connecting the interior of the compartment to a mouth outside of the compartment (Figure 1 exhaust port “20”). While Fenn does not explicitly state wherein the mouth is between the protected door and the first interface means, Fenn does teach where the work area and the marginal region surrounding the opening into the work region (Figure 4 “70a”) must be kept negative pressure (column 6 line 65). Additionally, it has been established that a rearrangement of parts is not sufficient to differentiate an invention over prior art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to place the exhaust port between the protected door and the first interface means to achieve the desired internal pressure and air supply through a rearrangement of parts (See MPEP 2144.04 VI (C)).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenn in view of Tanimoto (US 9086225 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Fenn teaches all aspects of the current invention as discussed above except wherein the window further comprises a mouth between the panel and the second interface means connected to a fixed HP system. However, Tanimoto teaches wherein the window comprises a mouth between the panel and the second interface means connected to a fixed HP system (Figure 3 gas supply chamber “66” supplies hydrogen peroxide to pass box area “8” before item enters clean chamber “2” via internal door “18”).
Fenn and Tanimoto are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of sterile cleanrooms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sterilizing transfer cart with the window that supplies hydrogen peroxide taught by Tanimoto because Tanimoto teaches decontamination supply to the pass box area enables introduction of an object into the operation area while maintaining a sterile environment (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Fenn and Tanimoto teaches all aspects of the current invention including wherein the window further comprises a second ventilation system comprising an exhaust filter and fixed catalyst (Figure 3 catalyst “104” decomposes and detoxifies decontamination gas before it is discharged from the pass box area “8”, Tanimoto).
Regarding claim 11, Fenn teaches providing a cart in the dirty space according the claim 1 and a first window assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1); coupling the cart to the first window by the interface means so as to form a first gap (people mover releasably coupled to a work area, column 4 lines 26-27); sealing closing the first gap (entrance is selectively sealed by a flap seal, column 1 lines 57-58); opening the panel of the first window (flap seal opening opens into an air lock chamber, column 6 line 68); opening the protected door of the cart (door to the people mover is opened into the decon unit, column 8 lines 12-13); sealingly closing the protected door (air tight seal when the door is closed, column 5 line 35); sealingly closing the panel of the first window (closable flap seal opening, column 6 line 68-column 7 line 2); and uncoupling the cart from the first window of the first clean room (flaps are peeled away from cooperating strips on work area entrance, column 7 lines 37-39); transporting the cart to the second room (moves people mover to the entrance of the decon unit, column 7 lines 46-48); coupling the cart to the second window by the interface means as to form a second gap (flaps pressed against cooperating strips arranged about the entrance to decon unit, column 7 lines 56-58); opening the panel of the second window (opening of the airlock region of the decon unit, column 7 lines 59-60); opening the protected door of the cart (workers open the door into the airlock, column 7 lines 58-59); sealingly closing the protected door (door may then be closed, column 7 line 62); sealingly closing the panel of the second window (closable flab arranged between airlock and room, column 6 lines 42-44); uncoupling the cart from the second window of the second clean room (flaps peeled away from the decon unit entrance, column 7 lines 62-63), but does not teach transferring clean material from a first clean room to a second clean room, biodecontaminating the first gap, eliminating the hydrogen peroxide residues from the first gap, biodecontaminating the second gap, and eliminating the hydrogen peroxide residues from the second gap. However, Tanimoto teaches transferring clean material from a first clean room to a second clean room (transfer the object from the first relay pass box to the next relay pass box (paragraph [0056]), biodecontaminating the first gap (Figure 3 gas supply chamber “66” supplies hydrogen peroxide to pass box area “8” before item enters clean chamber “2” via internal door “18”), and eliminating the hydrogen peroxide from the first gap (Figure 3 catalyst “104” decomposes and detoxifies decontamination gas before it is discharged from the pass box area “8”, Tanimoto). While Tanimoto does not explicitly teach biodecontaminating the second gap, and eliminating the hydrogen peroxide from the second gap, it has been established that the duplication of parts is not sufficient to differentiate an invention over the prior art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the steps of biodecontaminating the gap and eliminating the hydrogen peroxide from the gap to achieve a sterile transfer between clean rooms (See MPEP 2144.04 VI (B)).
Fenn and Tanimoto are considered analogous to the current invention as described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the transfer method taught by Fenn with the decontamination steps taught by Tanimoto because Tanimoto teaches such decontamination will enable the introduction of an object into an operation area while maintaining a sterile environment (abstract).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fenn in view of Kellogg and Tanimoto.
Regarding claim 12, Fenn teaches a method for transferring dirty material from a dirty space to clean room (transporting contaminated workers to a decontamination facility, abstract), comprising the steps of: providing a cart of an assembly according to claim 1 in the dirty space (see rejection for claim 1); providing the clean room with a window of an assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1); opening a door of the cart (door opening into the air lock at the entrance to the work area, column 7 lines 29-30); loading the dirty material into the compartment (contaminated personnel enter enclosure, column 7 lines 34-35); sealingly closing the door (air tight seal when the door is closed, column 5 line 35); coupling the cart to the window of the clean room by the interface means as to form a gap (flaps pressed against cooperating strips arranged about the entrance to decon unit, column 7 lines 56-58); sealingly closing the gap (flaps arranged around the entrance create a seal, column 7 lines 56-57 and 61); opening the panel of the window (opening of the airlock region of the decon unit, column 7 lines 59-60); opening the protected door of the cart (workers open the door into the airlock, column 7 lines 58-59); sealingly closing the protected door (door may then be closed, column 7 line 62); sealingly closing the panel of the window (closable flab arranged between airlock and room, column 6 lines 42-44); uncoupling the cart from the window of the clean room (flaps peeled away from the decon unit entrance, column 7 lines 62-63), but does not teach biodecontaminating the gap, the interior of the compartment, and the material; eliminating the hydrogen peroxide residues from the gap and the compartment or unloading the clean material from the compartment. However, Tanimoto teaches biodecontaminating the gap and the material (Figure 3 gas supply chamber “66” supplies hydrogen peroxide to pass box area “8” before item enters clean chamber “2” via internal door “18” and object introduced to pass box, paragraph [0019]); eliminating the hydrogen peroxide residues from the gap (Figure 3 catalyst “104” decomposes and detoxifies decontamination gas before it is discharged from the pass box area “8”, Tanimoto); and unloading the clean material from the compartment (arranged to introduce an object into the operation area from the pass box, abstract), and Kellogg teaches biodecontaminating the compartment (hydrogen peroxide floods the chamber when the generator is turned on, column 16 lines 7-9) and eliminating the hydrogen peroxide residue from the compartment (Figure 3 catalytic converter placed in the air return register “115” downstream of the chamber “100”).
Fenn, Tanimoto, and Kellogg are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the transfer method taught by Fenn with the decontamination steps taught by Tanimoto because Tanimoto teaches such decontamination will enable the introduction of an object into an operation area while maintaining a sterile environment (abstract). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to combine the transfer method taught by Fenn with the decontamination steps taught by Kellogg because Kellogg teaches effective sterilization will reduce the risk of microbial borne infections (Column 3 lines 55-56) and running the air through the catalyst allows the air in the chamber to be suitable for occupancy again (column 16 lines 24-26).
Regarding claim 13, Fenn teaches a method for transferring dirty material from a dirty space to clean room (transporting contaminated workers to a decontamination facility, abstract), comprising the steps of: providing a cart of an assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1); providing the clean room with a window of an assembly according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1); coupling the cart to the window of the clean room by the interface means as to form a gap (flaps pressed against cooperating strips arranged about the entrance to decon unit, column 7 lines 56-58); sealingly closing the gap (flaps arranged around the entrance create a seal, column 7 lines 56-57 and 61); opening the panel of the window (opening of the airlock region of the decon unit, column 7 lines 59-60); opening the protected door of the cart (workers open the door into the airlock, column 7 lines 58-59); sealingly closing the protected door (door may then be closed, column 7 line 62); sealingly closing the panel of the window (closable flab arranged between airlock and room, column 6 lines 42-44); uncoupling the cart from the window of the clean room (flaps peeled away from the decon unit entrance, column 7 lines 62-63); moving the cart (moves people mover to the entrance of the decon unit, column 7 lines 46-48); opening a door of the cart (workers open the door into the airlock, column 7 lines 58-59), but does not teach but does not teach biodecontaminating the gap, the interior of the compartment, and the material; eliminating the hydrogen peroxide residues from the gap and the compartment or unloading the clean material from the compartment. However, Tanimoto teaches biodecontaminating the gap and the material (Figure 3 gas supply chamber “66” supplies hydrogen peroxide to pass box area “8” before item enters clean chamber “2” via internal door “18” and object introduced to pass box, paragraph [0019]); eliminating the hydrogen peroxide residues from the gap (Figure 3 catalyst “104” decomposes and detoxifies decontamination gas before it is discharged from the pass box area “8”, Tanimoto); and unloading the clean material from the compartment (arranged to introduce an object into the operation area from the pass box, abstract), and Kellogg teaches biodecontaminating the compartment (hydrogen peroxide floods the chamber when the generator is turned on, column 16 lines 7-9) and eliminating the hydrogen peroxide residue from the compartment (Figure 3 catalytic converter placed in the air return register “115” downstream of the chamber “100”).
While the combination of Fenn, Tanimoto, and Kellogg does not explicitly teach that the cart is inside of the clean room, it has been established that the rearrangement of parts is not sufficient to differentiate an invention from prior art. Additionally, Fenn teaches wherein the cart is configured to easily fit through doorways (column 3 line 43) enabling its use inside of a clean room. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the cart on the inside of the clean room to achieve desired transfer into the clean room (See MPEP 2144.04 VI (C)).
Fenn, Tanimoto, and Kellogg are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the transfer method taught by Fenn with the decontamination steps taught by Tanimoto because Tanimoto teaches such decontamination will enable the introduction of an object into an operation area while maintaining a sterile environment (abstract). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to combine the transfer method taught by Fenn with the decontamination steps taught by Kellogg because Kellogg teaches effective sterilization will reduce the risk of microbial borne infections (Column 3 lines 55-56) and running the air through the catalyst allows the air in the chamber to be suitable for occupancy again (column 16 lines 24-26).
Conclusion
/K.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799