DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 16-33 are pending and subject to this Office Action. Claim 31 has been amended. Claims 32 and 33 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, pages 6-12, filed 08 June 2026, with respect to rejection of claims 16-31 under 35 USC § 112 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 31 under 35 USC § 112, claim 31 has been amended to further limit claim 16; as such the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant argues, page 6-7, the combination of Choi in view of Malgat is speculative as Choi fails to teach the internal space of the component is cylindrical; thus there is no basis to assume a particular cross-sectional shape is uniform internal boundary.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees as Choi discloses a cylindrical aerosol generating article having a hollow cooling section that is also cylindrical. Choi teaches the first, cooling, segment can be a tube shape including a hollow inside. [0101] While the Examiner acknowledges that there is no explicit teaching of a cylindrical hollow channel; however, the prior art does disclose the hollow channel as being cylindrical.(see annotated figure 1 below) Additionally, cylindrical articles and channels are common in the art and as such a person having ordinary skill in the art would consider the shape.
Additionally the Applicant argues, page 7-8, that Choi does not disclose an internal diameter for the hollow portion of the filter element. Malgat is not sufficient to teach a possible thickness for the hollow component as the function of the hollow component of Choi and the support element of Malgat do not serve the same purpose. Malgat teaches an additional cooling section and the support element of Malgat is to provide stability and spacing thus would not be considered when looking to determine the thickness of the cooling section of Choi.
The teachings of Malgat are provided to modify the teachings of Choi to teach a possible wall thickness and thus internal diameter of the hollow section of the cooling section. A person having ordinary skill would recognize the hollow nature of the support section that has a length would allow for a degree of cooling of the aerosol generated flowing through that section regardless of its intended use in the design. The prior art of Choi teaches that the hollow first segment can be formed of a polymer material, providing an extensive list of possible materials [0103-0106]. Malgat teaches the hollow support element can also be made of polymeric materials [0051] A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the material could be used for both structural strength and cooling and as such would consider the teachings of Malgat with respect to wall thickness for a hollow section.
The following is a modified rejection based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-22, 25, 27-29, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, et al (KR20200061290A, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided) and further in view of Malgat, et al (US20190075845A1 from IDS dates 04/04/2023).
Regarding claim 16, Choi teaches an aerosol generating article that include a tobacco rod (substrate), a shear plug (upstream element), and a filter element.[0015] Choi teaches that the shear plug is located upstream of the tobacco substrate and thus the aerosol generating article. ([0004], Figure 4) The aerosol generating article, including the shear plug, have a diameter of between 4.8mm and 9.6mm. [0016]. Choi further teaches the tobacco substrate can be between 12mm and 18mm and the filter segment having a length between 20mm and 32mm. [0018]
Choi teaches that the filter element is made up of a first segment and a second segment where the first segment is used to separate the tobacco substrate and the second segment [0099] and is in the form of a hollow tube. [0101] Choi goes on to teach the second segment is used to preform filtration which includes the adsorption of at least one of the substances included in the mainstream smoke. [0107] The second segment is located at the downstream end and used as to filter main stream smoke and thus reads on the mouthpiece element of the instant claim.
The features of Choi are shown in the annotated figure below.
Annotated Figure 1.
Choi is silent with respect to the interior dimensions of the hollow tube portion of the first segment.
Malgat, directed to the design of aerosol generating articles for insertion into a heating device, teaches an aerosol generating article that is comprised of spacer/support element abutting an aerosol generating section and made from a hollow tube of cellulose acetate having a similar length to that of Choi. [0050- 0054 ] The hollow tube section of the article has a wall thickness between 100 micrometer and 300 micrometer [0078] equating to 0.1 mm to 0.3mm.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi by using a hollow tube thickness for the first segment/spacer as taught by Malgat because both Choi and Malgat are directed to aerosol generating articles for insertion into a heating device, Malgat teaches this wall thicknesses have shown to suffice stability requirements for hollow tubes, [0078], and this involves using a known wall thickness for a support element to improve similar products in the same way.
This wall thickness would result in the hollow tube having an inner diameter of 4.2mm -9.4mm. Using the values for both the length, 8mm-16mm, as taught by Choi and the greatest wall thickness inner diameter of a Choi, as modified by Malgat, 4.2mm-9.0mm, would provide an volume in the inner portion of the hollow tube of 433.34 mm3- 4071.50mm3. The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05
Regarding claim 17, Choi teaches the shear plug/ upstream element has a length of between 5mm and 9mm. [0018] This range, as taught by Choi, overlaps the range of the instant claim, and therefore the instant claim is prima facie obvious. See MPEPE 2144.05.
Regarding claim 18, Choi discloses the filter segment is comprised of a first and a second segment. The first segment is located between the tobacco substrate and the downstream second section of the filter. [0040] As shown above in annotated figure 1, the hollow first segment abuts the second segment/ mouthpiece filter.
Regarding claim 19 and 20, Choi, as modified by Malgat, teaches the hollow tube section of the article has a wall thickness between 100 micrometer and 300 micrometer [0078] equating to 0.1 mm to 0.3mm. The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05
Regarding claim 21, Choi discloses that the first segment is a single tubular element. (see annotated figure 1 above)
Regarding claim 22, Choi teaches the first segment may have a length between 8mm and 16mm. [0093] This range, as taught by Choi, overlaps the range of the instant claim, and therefore the instant claim is prima facie obvious. See MPEPE 2144.05.
Regarding claim 25, Choi teaches that the aerosol generating material is a tobacco material [0004] and that the tobacco material can be in the form of strands or chopped sheet of tobacco.[0029] the teaching of chopped sheets of tobacco is considered to read on the shredded tobacco material.
Regarding claim 27, Choi teaches the second segment/ mouthpiece element has a length between 10mm and 18mm. [0093] The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05
Regarding claim 28, Choi teaches the tobacco rod portion of the article has length between 12mm and 18mm. [0018] This range, as taught by Choi, overlaps the range of the instant claim, and therefore the instant claim is prima facie obvious. See MPEPE 2144.05.
Regarding claim 29, Choi teaches a device for accommodating the aerosol generating article discussed in claim 16 includes a heater [0005] there the heater is a tubular heating element that surrounds the aerosol generating article. ([0116], Fig 5)
Regarding claim 31, Choi teaches the second segment is used to filter at least one substance contained in the mainstream smoke [0107] and can be made of cellulose acetate. [0108]
Regarding claim 33, Choi teaches that the first segment, the hollow tube shaped cooling segment, is may have at least one perforation located in the first segment that allows ambient air to enter the first hollow segment and dilute the mainstream smoke. [0086]
Claims 23, 24, 26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, et al (KR20200061290A, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided) and Malgat, et al (US20190075845A1 from IDS dates 04/04/2023), as applied to claim 16, and further in view of Austin, et al (WO2020183164A1).
Regarding claim 23, neither Choi nor Malgat teach that the hollow portion of the filter element can be longer than 15mm.
Austin, directed to the design of aerosol generating articles for use in heating devices, teaches a teaches a hollow tubular element that abuts the aerosol generating material and can have a length of greater than 10mm and less than 50mm. (p10 ln 24) The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi and Malgat by using a hollow tube structure having a length of between 10mm and 50mm taught by Austin because Choi, Malgat, and Austin are directed to aerosol generating articles for use in heating devices, Austin teaches this length can be configured to provide a temperature differential to protect the temperature sensitive material of the filter element (p 21 ln30-32), and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar products in the same way.
Regarding claim 24, Choi is silent with respect to the aerosol substrate containing an aerosol former. Malgat teaches that the substrate can contain an aerosol former [0027] but fails to teach an amount of aerosol former that could be used.
Austin teaches an aerosol former can be added to the aerosol generating substrate that the substrate comprises less than 25% of the aerosol forming substrate (p19 ln 4-5). Austin notes that all % refer to a dry weight basis. (p 23 ln 17-18)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi and Malgat by using the amount of aerosol forming material as taught by Austin because Choi, Malgat, and Austin are directed to aerosol generating articles, Austin teaches such aerosol forming material may improve the delivery of flavour from the aerosol generating material (p 21 ln30-32), and this involves the use of known technique to improve similar products in the same way.
Regarding claim 26, Choi and Malgat are silent as to the density of the aerosol forming substrate density in the smoking article.
Austin teaches an aerosol generating article that has an aerosol generating substrate that has a density of less than 700 milligrams per cubic centimeter. (p 20 ln 1-2) The claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi and Malgat by using the aerosol generating substrate tobacco having a density as taught by Austin because Choi, Malgat, and Austin are directed to aerosol generating articles, Austin teaches such tobacco material has been found to be particularly effective at providing an aerosol generating material which can be heated quickly to release an aerosol, as compared to denser materials (p 20 ln 2-5), and this involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results
Regarding claim 30, Choi and Malgat do not teach that the hollow tube portion of the aerosol generating article would be inserted into the aerosol generating system.
Austin teaches an aerosol generating article that is used with an aerosol provision system. (Abstract) The device comprises an electrically-conductive heating element that surrounds the heating zone that can be tubular [0159] and allows for the insertion of an aerosol generating article into the device for heating. Austin teaches that the article can be fully inserted into the heating assembly ([0176], Figure 4) and that a portion of the mouthpiece protrudes for the device. (p 46 ln 14-16)
As discussed above, Austin teaches that the hollow portion and filter element is between 30mm and 50mm. The prior art further discloses that the majority of the hollow portion is housed in the device when the article is inserted (Figure 4). As such a person having ordinary skill in the art would realize that at least 10mm of the hollow section was located in the heating chamber when the article is being heated.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi and Malgat by using the aerosol generating device to heat the aerosol generating article as taught by Austin because Choi, Malgat, and Austin are directed to aerosol generating articles, Austin teaches using a device to heat the aerosol generating article is sensorially closer to that generated in factory made cigarette (FMC) products than the aerosol produced by other non-combustible aerosol provision systems. (p 37 ln 18-20), and this involves applying a known technique of heating an aerosol generating article to a known product ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, et al (KR20200061290A, hereinafter referring to the English machine translation provided) and Malgat, et al (US20190075845A1 from IDS dates 04/04/2023), as applied to claim 16, and further in view of Hepworth, et al (WO2021255450A1).
Regarding claim 32, The aerosol-generating article according to claim 16, wherein the hollow tubular element is a cardboard tube.
Choi teaches the first segment is a hollow tube that is made of a various materials [0103-0106] noting that the material can be biodegradable.
Hepworth, directed to the design of articles for use in non-combustible aerosol systems, teaches the cooling section can be constructed from various materials including cardboard tubes. (p12 ln 25)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Choi and Malgat by using a biodegradable material such as cardboard as taught by Hepworth because Choi, Malgat, and Hepworth are directed to aerosol generating articles, Hepworth teaches cardboard can provide the appropriate rigidity for a cooling section (p 37 ln 18-20), and this involves a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable result.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755